NUS Admission Application AY2014/15, Welcome to join our big family in Sg!

iamonlyhuman
post Feb 18 2014, 09:30 PM

93 posts

Do we have any Malaysian seniors who studied/is studying Pharmacy in NUS?
iamonlyhuman
post Feb 28 2014, 05:38 PM

93 posts

QUOTE(Kahsing @ Feb 18 2014, 10:45 PM)
Hi there  smile.gif . Oh yes, we do have seniors who are Pharmacy majors who come from different backgrounds including Cambridge A-Levels, STPM, SAT and Singapore A-levels.
Anyone gets into Pharmacy last year with Cambridge A Levels?
iamonlyhuman
post Mar 2 2014, 02:41 AM

93 posts

QUOTE(Kahsing @ Mar 1 2014, 09:05 PM)
I'm not exactly sure whether there are any Malaysians getting Pharmacy last year using Cambridge A levels(we do have SAT and SG A levels though) but there are a few 2 years ago. You will stand a chance if you obtain good results in your A levels. All the best  smile.gif
Have 4A*s but I left my 'exceptional talents & achievement' section blanked sad.gif kinda worried about it sad.gif really hope to get Pharmacy sad.gif
iamonlyhuman
post Mar 2 2014, 10:38 AM

93 posts

QUOTE(Kahsing @ Mar 2 2014, 10:11 AM)
That is very good !! thumbup.gif There's no need to worry too much since this section only bears some(not much) influence on the outcome decision unless you took part in International Olympiad Competitions or something....and now the application for A-levels is closed, all you have to do is to wait for their reply and hope for the best. Good Job  rclxms.gif
Thank you!! You are studying or studied in NUS? Hope that I can be your junior! biggrin.gif
iamonlyhuman
post Mar 2 2014, 12:35 PM

93 posts

QUOTE(Kahsing @ Mar 2 2014, 12:14 PM)
Haha you're welcome  smile.gif I'm in my first year majoring in Chemistry. Good luck for your application and hope to see you in MSL UFO9  biggrin.gif
Wow you are majoring in Chemistry!! My second choice is Science and I hope to major in Chemistry too because my favourite subjects are Chemistry & Biology! Can I know what is your pre-u qualification? And can I ask why you want to do Chemistry?
I am thinking if I should do Pharmacy in Malaysia or Chemistry in NUS/NTU (since it is very unlikely for me to get Pharmacy so I think I can get Science in NUS or Chemistry & Biological Chemistry in NTU). NUS & NTU are my dream universities and I hope to work in Singapore after I graduated! But my Chemistry lecturer and friends don't encourage me to go for Chemistry as they say Chemistry is not a professional course and they say there is no job for Chemistry graduates sad.gif they say Pharmacy is a professional course so it is better. But I think there is way too many people are doing Pharmacy in Malaysia already and I can't work in Singapore if I study Pharmacy in Malaysia sad.gif so dilemma! Hope to hear your opinion!
iamonlyhuman
post Mar 2 2014, 03:00 PM

93 posts

QUOTE(Kahsing @ Mar 2 2014, 02:18 PM)
Glad to know that you're so keen on studying in Singapore  smile.gif I applied to NUS using my STPM results(I was in the Biology Stream) with Science being my first choice. Well, when I was applying, I did face a dilemma between Chemistry and Pharmacy. In the end I chose chemistry because I wasn't very interested in the medical field(or drugs)  and Chemistry fulfills my interests more(i'm more interested in the fundamentals smile.gif).
Non professional degrees doesn't mean there are no jobs for it. In fact, there are a wide range of occupations that require chemistry majors like academia, R&D, pharmaceuticals, petrochemicals, polymer industries, biomedical and many more. Furthering your studies is also an option upon getting your BSc. degree. To me, what's most important is to choose a major which you truly enjoy and not what others want you to do or what kind of jobs you will get in the future(you only live once...so enjoy the most out of it!!  smile.gif ). As for in Singapore, a career in Pharmacy is quite good as Singapore requires more pharmacists since its pharmaceutical industry is expanding. To be a qualified pharmacist in singapore, you would need to register with the Singapore Pharmacy Council after 12 months of pre-registration training. You can find out more info in these websites...
http://www.nus.edu.sg/registrar/nusbulleti...mbsc-pharm-hons
http://www.nus.edu.sg/registrar/nusbulleti...ience/chemistry

Wish you all the best  biggrin.gif
Not really sure if I am interested in drugs but I enjoy to know human biology (its structure, how the kidney/liver/lungs and etc carry out their activities/functions, the blood sugar level (insulin & glucagon) and etc!). Anyway I don't like biotechnology and gene tech, only enjoy human biology! I enjoy Chemistry A Levels syllabus (inorganic, organic and physical chemistry, rate of reaction, NMR and etc!) but I don't like nanotechnology part :/ Chemistry A Levels don't include much syllabus about drugs tho, only very very little, and it is not really important in our exam sad.gif

This post has been edited by iamonlyhuman: Mar 2 2014, 03:04 PM
iamonlyhuman
post Mar 2 2014, 03:48 PM

93 posts

QUOTE(Kahsing @ Mar 2 2014, 03:27 PM)
It should be find since you love human biology. From what my pharmacy friends told me, you need to learn a lot about human anatomy and physiology if you're entering pharmacy. Quite some chemistry is also involved in it also.
So Chemistry (BSc) doesn't involve any biology? Does it involve DNA and something like that?
iamonlyhuman
post Mar 2 2014, 04:10 PM

93 posts

QUOTE(Kahsing @ Mar 2 2014, 04:00 PM)
For Chemistry major, topics like proteins and DNA will be covered in one of the core modules(Fundamentals of Biochemistry). However, not much biology will be involved throughout the entire course(as biology is more towards life sciences). Majority of topics taught in Chemistry would be physical, inorganic and organic chemistry, analytical chemistry, experiments in chemistry and etc....unless for medicinal chemistry specializations where more biochemistry topics will be taught in year 3 and 4. However, you can take life sciences(biology) modules as electives, minor or even second major.
notworthy.gif wow thank you so much!! smile.gif
In fact that I don't really understand about the minor and second major sweat.gif does it mean I have to attend both chemistry and life science class? So sorry to be so troublesome cry.gif
iamonlyhuman
post Mar 2 2014, 04:37 PM

93 posts

Just read through NUS website and found that I can major in Chemistry and minor in Life Science, then I can also study human biology yay! It seems so interesting!
Can I know will it be very stress and hard for me if I take up major in Chem and minor in Life Science?
iamonlyhuman
post Mar 2 2014, 05:34 PM

93 posts

Thank you so much @Kahsing! Hope to see you in NUS! biggrin.gif
iamonlyhuman
post Mar 3 2014, 01:01 PM

93 posts

QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Mar 2 2014, 11:30 PM)
well... should had written something even if it is not relevant..

anyway... just found out this course is super affordable...  rclxms.gif  friend told me it is cheap because it is new, after that they would increase the fees  rclxms.gif recommending it to someone else...

http://mim.nus.edu/admissions/33-programme-fees
My brother told me that it is better to write nothing than write something irrelevant lol
iamonlyhuman
post Mar 4 2014, 08:54 AM

93 posts

QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Mar 4 2014, 08:25 AM)
yeaps... she got the one wif aircond n toilet attached... which u say it exist at u-town only..

waaa, big sis dun bully bunny hor.... sue and bite for slander  tongue.gif

hmm, i think the guard wont bother if mix for a night a two unless ur cluster mate reports on u
not ssay irrelevant lar... 'exceptional talents & achievement' is very broad and vague... it doesnt specify academic or skills.. even helping out local charity will help...

to try and fail is better than not trying... like in exam, wrong answer u get 0 but at least u tried... if u didnt write anything u get straight 0
But NUS application for A Levels students is closed now sad.gif can I still fill in that part? Anyway I will try to email NUS.
Thank you for your words! smile.gif

This post has been edited by iamonlyhuman: Mar 4 2014, 09:00 AM
iamonlyhuman
post Mar 5 2014, 07:57 AM

93 posts

QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Mar 4 2014, 10:52 PM)
lol... just leave it ler since u hv already submitted  doh.gif
Lol sorry to say I already email-ed them and they allow me to add that part in lol.
iamonlyhuman
post Mar 5 2014, 11:31 AM

93 posts

QUOTE(Kahsing @ Mar 5 2014, 10:05 AM)
Sorry, I made a slight mistake about the previous statement...it's SAM not SAT... smile.gif
SAM student?! Wow then he/she must be very very good I guess?
iamonlyhuman
post Mar 5 2014, 07:15 PM

93 posts

QUOTE(iZhaoFenG @ Mar 5 2014, 05:29 PM)
Eh iamonlyhuman, can i know the email of the admission office you sent to?

Wanted to ask them something too haha. Couldn't find their email.
Go to 'www.nus.edu.sg' > Admission (Undergraduate) > Contact.
Then you can find it from there!
iamonlyhuman
post Mar 27 2014, 01:22 PM

93 posts

QUOTE(AlwinKaiEn @ Mar 27 2014, 12:53 PM)
If I get ATAR of 90 and above for Australian Year 12 (eg. SAM, NSW HSC), does it guarantees an admission into NUS?
Even 4.0 in stpm and 4A* in A Levels don't guarantee a place in NUS.
iamonlyhuman
post Apr 2 2014, 11:25 AM

93 posts

I got offered for my second choice, Science sad.gif
Anyone knows how the appeal works? As I want to appeal for my first choice, Pharmacy.
iamonlyhuman
post Apr 3 2014, 12:17 PM

93 posts

QUOTE(iZhaoFenG @ Apr 2 2014, 04:54 PM)
OMG! I want science sad.gif
Emailed NUS and asked them about appealing for higher-ranked choice of course and they said it is highly unlikely our appeal will be approved. Sigh.
Anyway, I know it may sounds a bit offensive, but the indicative grade profile for NUS state that 90th percentile to enter Science is AAA/A for Singapore CAL. I guess our CAL A* equals to their A. I think 4A*s is required to enter Science. http://www.nus.edu.sg/oam/gradeprofile/sprogramme-igp.html
Anyway do you hear anything from NTU? My friend who has 4A*s got his offer for Chem Eng already! I did not get anything yet! :/ I think you can wait for your NTU offer and see how thing goes as you apply for Maths in NTU right?
iamonlyhuman
post Apr 3 2014, 01:15 PM

93 posts

QUOTE(xp080613 @ Apr 3 2014, 12:44 PM)
congratulations!!! anyway may i know how you are informed you get admission? they will email us or we need to log in time by time ?
Yes, they emailed me yesterday morning to inform my admission. I did not log in the website for quite some time as I thought the offer will only come in May or June. Quite suprising that it came so fast.

This post has been edited by iamonlyhuman: Apr 3 2014, 01:32 PM
iamonlyhuman
post Apr 3 2014, 04:05 PM

93 posts

Sorry -deleted-

This post has been edited by iamonlyhuman: Apr 3 2014, 04:12 PM

0.0290sec    0.32    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 01:37 AM