fruitie
post Jan 21 2017, 04:09 PM

Rise and Shine
72,790 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Jan 21 2017, 03:19 PM)
...its electrical interferences...

the question is...what is generating it? what is picking it up? objective is try to eliminate either one or better both...

I suspect its gonna be tough for you to test, since you don't have a stash of cables, power blocks, dac, etc...

anyway can try these process of elimination first...

1. with everything hooked up, switch off power to the box...leave the speaker power on...got problem?
2. switch power to box on, unplug 3.5mm from the box but leave it near the box...got problem?
3. if 2 got problem, switch power to box off...got problem?
4. Use old 3.5mm to 3.5mm cable...I know only one side got sound but...got problem?
try a different power block to the box if possible...ask friend who has similar or different box to try...
Thanks for the tips. I will try when I'm home later.
Nobody else has this box..

I remembered I had this issue with one sided speaker issue on my white HyppTV box but the box is not with me now.

QUOTE(dwRK @ Jan 21 2017, 03:20 PM)
best try not to use cable... smile.gif
I can't. sad.gif Wanna use BT will break pulak. sad.gif
I will just get a TV and close case then. sad.gif
dwRK
post Jan 21 2017, 05:54 PM

the consummate chartist
6,229 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Jan 21 2017, 04:09 PM)
Thanks for the tips. I will try when I'm home later.
Nobody else has this box..

I remembered I had this issue with one sided speaker issue on my white HyppTV box but the box is not with me now.
I can't. sad.gif Wanna use BT will break pulak. sad.gif
I will just get a TV and close case then. sad.gif
Don't have to be the same box...just wanna check is it yr box problem...ie, their box no buzzz, swap your box...buzzz...

Also if power supply is same...is your supply causing the buzzz...

Go test it on TV...using HDMI & red/white plug...

This test not about one sided sound...wanna check is it new cable problem...ie, old 3.5mm cable no buzzz, new 2-piece cable...buzzz...even though it's only one sided buzzz

If box/supply is problem...quickly exchange lor...

Ok to clarify...i said try not to use cable mean use connector as suggested by botak_wai...less cable less chance of problems...btw shorter is better than longer...

This post has been edited by dwRK: Jan 21 2017, 06:00 PM
fruitie
post Jan 21 2017, 06:59 PM

Rise and Shine
72,790 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Jan 21 2017, 05:54 PM)
Don't have to be the same box...just wanna check is it yr box problem...ie, their box no buzzz, swap your box...buzzz...

Also if power supply is same...is your supply causing the buzzz...

Go test it on TV...using HDMI & red/white plug...

This test not about one sided sound...wanna check is it new cable problem...ie, old 3.5mm cable no buzzz, new 2-piece cable...buzzz...even though it's only one sided buzzz

If box/supply is problem...quickly exchange lor...
Ok to clarify...i said try not to use cable mean use connector as suggested by botak_wai...less cable less chance of problems...btw shorter is better than longer...
OK, noted for your suggestions. notworthy.gif
Seems like can only do during CNY for other boxes.
plumberly
post Jan 21 2017, 08:17 PM

4,761 posts

Using TV 2 apps a fair bit to watch the music videos since I got my Himedia for about a yr now. Like watching channel 411, especially now my favourite Chinese singer, Xie Tian Xiao. Like the drum beats, guitar etc. Only problem is, it is in stereo only.

Like to know where can I get concerts in surround 5.1.

I have tried a few other apps/add-ons but they are all in stereo only.

This post has been edited by plumberly: Jan 21 2017, 08:22 PM
AVFAN
post Jan 21 2017, 10:45 PM

24,453 posts

QUOTE(plumberly @ Jan 21 2017, 08:17 PM)
Using TV 2 apps a fair bit to watch the music videos since I got my Himedia for about a yr now. Like watching channel 411, especially now my favourite Chinese singer, Xie Tian Xiao. Like the drum beats, guitar etc. Only problem is, it is in stereo only.

Like to know where can I get concerts in surround 5.1.

I have tried a few other apps/add-ons but they are all in stereo only.

to my knowledge, all popular china entertainments apps are in 2.0.

dts/dd 5.1 are found in kodi only. china concerts 5.1.. i doubt there is any in kodi.
fruitie
post Jan 22 2017, 12:52 AM

Rise and Shine
72,790 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Jan 21 2017, 03:19 PM)
...its electrical interferences...

the question is...what is generating it? what is picking it up? objective is try to eliminate either one or better both...

I suspect its gonna be tough for you to test, since you don't have a stash of cables, power blocks, dac, etc...

anyway can try these process of elimination first...

1. with everything hooked up, switch off power to the box...leave the speaker power on...got problem?
2. switch power to box on, unplug 3.5mm from the box but leave it near the box...got problem?
3. if 2 got problem, switch power to box off...got problem?
4. Use old 3.5mm to 3.5mm cable...I know only one side got sound but...got problem?
try a different power block to the box if possible...ask friend who has similar or different box to try...
Did the above... Looks like not the box issue but my speaker issue... Even when the box is not powered up, the speakers have that humming noise but soft though... However once plugged to the box it become louder, plugged to laptop the humming noise is gone.

Edit: After I re-powered up and re-plugged in my speakers again, no more obvious humming noise when plugged in to box. I think I can live with it then. smile.gif

Case closed for my case. Thanks for all the help. smile.gif

This post has been edited by fruitie: Jan 22 2017, 01:37 AM
plumberly
post Jan 22 2017, 09:42 AM

4,761 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Jan 21 2017, 10:45 PM)
to my knowledge, all popular china entertainments apps are in 2.0.

dts/dd 5.1 are found in kodi only. china concerts 5.1.. i doubt there is any in kodi.

Was hoping to get some 5.1 concerts to enjoy.

Realised my mistake. Did not know that both A & B main speakers have been selected on my AVR, this disabled the ProLogic II.

Now I can get surround BUT Prologic is not the actual true surround (surround from stereo). So still looking for 5.1 concerts ..... Ha.

plumberly
post Jan 22 2017, 09:46 AM

4,761 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Jan 22 2017, 12:52 AM)
Did the above... Looks like not the box issue but my speaker issue... Even when the box is not powered up, the speakers have that humming noise but soft though... However once plugged to the box it become louder, plugged to laptop the humming noise is gone.
Edit: After I re-powered up and re-plugged in my speakers again, no more obvious  humming noise when plugged in to box. I think I can live with it then. smile.gif

My 2 cents ...

Maybe the speaker membrane is broken/torn?

Open up and check.

That has happened to my HT speakers and also my Pana TV speakers. No, I do not jack up the volume and thus the broken membrane. Ha. Maybe due to the humid weather etc.
dwRK
post Jan 22 2017, 10:16 AM

the consummate chartist
6,229 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Jan 22 2017, 12:52 AM)
Edit: After I re-powered up and re-plugged in my speakers again, no more obvious  humming noise when plugged in to box. I think I can live with it then. smile.gif

thumbup.gif
fruitie
post Jan 22 2017, 11:22 AM

Rise and Shine
72,790 posts

QUOTE(plumberly @ Jan 22 2017, 09:46 AM)
My 2 cents ...

Maybe the speaker membrane is broken/torn?

Open up and check.

That has happened to my HT speakers and also my Pana TV speakers. No, I do not jack up the volume and thus the broken membrane. Ha. Maybe due to the humid weather etc.
laugh.gif I don't know how to open it up. I can buy new set of speakers but not sure what should I do with the current one. laugh.gif
plumberly
post Jan 22 2017, 11:35 AM

4,761 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Jan 22 2017, 11:22 AM)
laugh.gif I don't know how to open it up. I can buy new set of speakers but not sure what should I do with the current one. laugh.gif
Try this first.

Instead of connecting to THE speakers (AA), possible to connect to other speakers which you know are AOK?

If they sound OK now, then likely your AA speakers are faulty, eg broken membrane.

If they sound not OK like the AA speakers, then something is not right with the system (electronic, cable etc).

Even though your speakers AA are not 100% AOK, maybe just bear with them and use this as the justification for the next upgrade? Ha.
fruitie
post Jan 22 2017, 12:38 PM

Rise and Shine
72,790 posts

QUOTE(plumberly @ Jan 22 2017, 11:35 AM)
Try this first.

Instead of connecting to THE speakers (AA), possible to connect to other speakers which you know are AOK?

If they sound OK now, then likely your AA speakers are faulty, eg broken membrane.

If they sound not OK like the AA speakers, then something is not right with the system (electronic, cable etc).

Even though your speakers AA are not 100% AOK, maybe just bear with them and use this as the justification for the next upgrade? Ha.
Yes, that's my plan to borrow from friends to try out. smile.gif
plateau
post Jan 22 2017, 02:58 PM

Don't Touch My Stars™
984 posts

Hi all. Need recommendations for an android box. Mostly will be used for kodi (exodus, live sports, movies etc), YouTube as these are the basic stuff that I need.

Got astro already. But maybe there are boxes that can help replace astro? Not a priority though.

Budget probably less than rm300. Rm200 better.

TIA
dwRK
post Jan 22 2017, 03:46 PM

the consummate chartist
6,229 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Jan 22 2017, 12:38 PM)
Yes, that's my plan to borrow from friends to try out. smile.gif
I seriously doubt it's deteriorated speaker foam/paper surround. IMHO that is a wrong diagnosis...reason being the speaker plays fine when connected to your PC.

You can try connecting to your phone... I suspect it will be OK too.

The problem is likely caused by inferior design, mismatch impedance, & cable issues.

The box has a line level output...it is expecting a high impedance load. Headphone output is designed to drive low impedance load...and your edifier is probably designed for this. This mismatch can cause parasitic oscillation...
fruitie
post Jan 22 2017, 03:52 PM

Rise and Shine
72,790 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Jan 22 2017, 03:46 PM)
I seriously doubt it's deteriorated speaker foam/paper surround. IMHO that is a wrong diagnosis...reason being the speaker plays fine when connected to your PC.

You can try connecting to your phone... I suspect it will be OK too.

The problem is likely caused by inferior design, mismatch impedance, & cable issues.

The box has a line level output...it is expecting a high impedance load. Headphone output is designed to drive low impedance load...and your edifier is probably designed for this. This mismatch can cause parasitic oscillation...
Yes, you are right. No issue when plugging to my mobile phone. smile.gif

That's a high end term but I think I got what you meant there. biggrin.gif
klmkucai
post Jan 25 2017, 12:26 AM

57 posts

QUOTE(plateau @ Jan 22 2017, 03:58 PM)
Hi all. Need recommendations for an android box. Mostly will be used for kodi (exodus, live sports, movies etc), YouTube as these are the basic stuff that I need.

Got astro already. But maybe there are boxes that can help replace astro? Not a priority though.

TIA
Can someone help us. I need to replace astro as well. Preferably can get astro's channels too.
jonn zee
post Jan 25 2017, 06:40 AM

602 posts

QUOTE(klmkucai @ Jan 25 2017, 12:26 AM)
Can someone help us. I need to replace astro as well. Preferably can get astro's channels too.
NST
voncrane
post Jan 25 2017, 06:40 AM

Noir et fier!
7,118 posts

QUOTE(plateau @ Jan 22 2017, 02:58 PM)

TIA
QUOTE(klmkucai @ Jan 25 2017, 12:26 AM)
Help is already available.. Read the thread.. These type of questions get asked too frequently and have been answered.

This post has been edited by voncrane: Jan 25 2017, 06:41 AM
dwRK
post Jan 25 2017, 09:29 AM

the consummate chartist
6,229 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ Jan 25 2017, 06:40 AM)
Help is already available.. Read the thread.. These type of questions get asked too frequently and have been answered.
Answer is simple... Nvidia Shield...AOTG.... laugh.gif

Ya every day or so same questions...pening...

248 Pages « < 221 222 223 224 225 > » Top

0.0264sec    1.22    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 11:16 PM