248 Pages « < 12 13 14 15 16 > » Bottom

Android TV Box

s.n.a.g
post Jun 4 2015, 12:56 AM

No Faye. No Live
1,217 posts

guys i just got my mi box mini. having problem with popcorn time, can select movie. no matter how i navigate with the remote, it just wouldn't select any of the movie box.

any solution?
AVFAN
post Jun 4 2015, 11:06 AM

24,449 posts

QUOTE(s.n.a.g @ Jun 4 2015, 12:56 AM)
guys i just got my mi box mini. having problem with popcorn time, can select movie. no matter how i navigate with the remote, it just wouldn't select any of the movie box.

any solution?
check yr device for available internal memory.

popcorn is torrent based, need sufficient internal memory to work well.
if available is small, say 2gb, only small files will work.
if way too small, nothing will work.
if there is >6gb, everything will work.
cchean
post Jun 4 2015, 12:51 PM

176 posts

I've been a user of an android box (less than a month) and I would like to post my experience so far for the benefit of other would be users (hopefully they will find it useful in influencing their decision on what android box to buy or even getting one for the matter). The model i purchased was Himedia Q16 Quad Core.

User experience

I requested the seller to install all the popular apps to play movies for me (showbox, HD cinema, Cartoon HD and some other chinese apps ( i can't write chinese) that i can't name. I also requested for Kodi to be installed with the standard add-ons (Icefilm, 1channel, Genesis, Navi-X etc..)

I plugged it to my 37inch tv via a HDMI cable, and it was working, so no hassle, just plug and play. I tried to navigate using the default remote that came with the box, it was rather hard to navigate. In the end, i plugged in a mouse to help with my navigation. But later on, after using for more than a week, i find it troublesome to bend down all the time to use the mouse and i invested in an airmouse (Mele F10) and i never regretted it. User experience was much smoother with the airmouse.

Content
I was able to stream English movies and series very smoothly with an app called HD cinema (sadly the app no longer works cause the site was taken down around end May 2015). When using Showbox to watch, it was rather a mix experience for me (sometimes smooth, sometimes not). Streaming from Cartoon HD was also smooth so far. However, forum members have suggested to install Popcorn Time or Popcorn 2 U for english contents, which i have yet to try. The box also came with live channels from China, I did not explore much as I do not watch chinese channels. There were some on-demands for chinese movies installed for me (in chinese character). I find that only links from LeTV was smooth, the rest are either unclear or choppy. I installed Dramago and Viki add-on for my Kodi and currently this 2 app is my most used to watch Kdrama with eng subs.

My conclusion so far
Although Q16 has worked very well for me so far, i can't help to think that it works best for users who can read chinese. With the benefit of hindsight I would've bought MiniX8H as it supports Kodi well and caters mostly for those who reads mainly in English. So far I did not regret getting the box as it had provided me hours and hours of entertainment. A reminder: do get an airmouse, trust me

This post has been edited by cchean: Jun 4 2015, 12:54 PM
AVFAN
post Jun 4 2015, 01:34 PM

24,449 posts

QUOTE(cchean @ Jun 4 2015, 12:51 PM)
However, forum members have suggested to install Popcorn Time or Popcorn 2 U for english contents, which i have yet to try.
popcorn has several forks, just get the one for androids.

trust me, q16 is esp good for popcorn!

total memory is 16gb. after all the os, apps, etc., u shud still have 6-8gb at least for popcorn which needs it as is is torrent based.
small memory models can't do that, e.g. q5ii 4gb, left with 1-2gb, can't deal with most files.

i hv both q5ii (jelly bean 4.2) and q16 (kitkat 4.4), not the same but has distinct features:

q5ii - can do astro-on-the go, video color a touch better; can't do popcorn
q16 - big memory is good - handles all apps incl popcorn; pass thru dolby truehd atmos

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Jun 4 2015, 01:37 PM
s.n.a.g
post Jun 4 2015, 08:57 PM

No Faye. No Live
1,217 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Jun 4 2015, 11:06 AM)
check yr device for available internal memory.

popcorn is torrent based, need sufficient internal memory to work well.
if available is small, say 2gb, only small files will work.
if way too small, nothing will work.
if there is >6gb, everything will work.
it loads and everything just that the i can't seem to navigate around the films title. the box border is not highlighted (i assume it's not selected)
i'm using mi box mini.
AVFAN
post Jun 4 2015, 09:34 PM

24,449 posts

QUOTE(s.n.a.g @ Jun 4 2015, 08:57 PM)
it loads and everything just that the i can't seem to navigate around the films title. the box border is not highlighted (i assume it's not selected)
i'm using mi box mini.
pls check the memory!

http://www.engadget.com/products/xiaomi/mi/box-mini/specs/
gross 4gb. after os and apps, u shud hv enough to get the smallest videos.
bigger ones, u will not get. u get a message "insufficient memory".

check this:

yr remote control may not work well with it.
try using a mouse + remote.
some apps need both.

lastly, installation may be bad - erase, re-install.

gahkin
post Jun 4 2015, 10:57 PM

733 posts

anyone can comfrim to me if any android box can output the hdmi and av output at the same time as same function as astro box , becoz i plan to terminate my main astro but i need extend all the screen/source to all upstair 3 room. i would use back my exist equipment splitter to make sure can feed to other room without need buy another android box. please let me know , much appreciation !!
therocker02
post Jun 5 2015, 12:42 AM

51 posts

QUOTE(gahkin @ Jun 4 2015, 10:57 PM)
anyone can comfrim to me if any android box can output the hdmi and av output at the same time as same function as astro box , becoz i plan to terminate my main astro but i need extend all the screen/source to all upstair 3 room. i would use back my exist equipment splitter to make sure can feed to other room without need buy another android box.  please let me know , much appreciation !!
Hi, Gahkin. You can try get one XiaoMi TV box with app installed for the Astrxx Channels. Please let me know if you need it. I am selling it. Thanks. biggrin.gif

MK84
post Jun 5 2015, 03:47 AM

Walking Plague
1,477 posts

Testing a new, super fast Android TV box.

This post has been edited by MK84: Jun 5 2015, 03:47 AM
cchean
post Jun 5 2015, 08:46 AM

176 posts

Wow this "Shield" looks good...how much?

shahrilidzwan
post Jun 5 2015, 09:01 AM

78 posts

QUOTE(MK84 @ Jun 5 2015, 03:47 AM)
Testing a new, super fast Android TV box.

wow super impressed n jelly of u
that looks so good with a stand

rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
MK84
post Jun 5 2015, 10:57 AM

Walking Plague
1,477 posts

QUOTE(cchean @ Jun 5 2015, 08:46 AM)
Wow this "Shield" looks good...how much?
USD$228.46 plus shipping direct from Amazon. Takes about one week to arrive.

QUOTE(shahrilidzwan @ Jun 5 2015, 09:01 AM)
wow super impressed n jelly of u
that looks so good with a stand

rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif
Indeed. Reminds me a bit of the old PS2 slim.

It also runs iFlix.

gahkin
post Jun 5 2015, 01:34 PM

733 posts

anyone can comfrim to me if any android box can output the hdmi and av output at the same time as same function as astro box , becoz i plan to terminate my main astro but i need extend all the screen/source to all upstair 3 room. i would use back my exist equipment splitter to make sure can feed to other room without need buy another android box.  please let me know , much appreciation !!
Anyone ?😁
AVFAN
post Jun 5 2015, 01:57 PM

24,449 posts

check with this seller. i remember someone else asked same question in that thread, there was an answer. can't remember too well...
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/3201002/+660
gahkin
post Jun 5 2015, 04:47 PM

733 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Jun 5 2015, 01:57 PM)
check with this seller. i remember someone else asked same question in that thread, there was an answer. can't remember too well...
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/3201002/+660
hi , mean only 1 way output acccept ? oh no , that will be a high cost for me to invest if need buy 3 unit android box and 3 subcrption for each android and room. sweat.gif

anyway can share with 1 subsciption to 3 box ?
AVFAN
post Jun 5 2015, 04:54 PM

24,449 posts

QUOTE(gahkin @ Jun 5 2015, 04:47 PM)
hi , mean only 1 way output acccept ? oh no , that will be a high cost for me to invest if need buy 3 unit android box and 3 subcrption for each android and room.  sweat.gif

anyway can share with 1 subsciption to 3 box ?
i really dun follow what u mean by "if any android box can output the hdmi and av output at the same time as same function as astro box"

i thought u meant if u can have hdmi output and a second av output from the same android box, i.e. can output to 2 tv's. that's i think possible but better check with seller(s).

but if u mean u want astro channels from an android box, i can't comment. i only know astro is astro, all other boxes are illegit.

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Jun 5 2015, 05:01 PM
gahkin
post Jun 5 2015, 05:00 PM

733 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Jun 5 2015, 04:54 PM)
i really dun follow what u mean by "if any android box can output the hdmi and av output at the same time as same function as astro box"

i thought u meant if u can have hdmi output and a second av output from the same android box, i.e. can output to 2 tv's. that's i think possible but better check with seller(s).

but if u mean u want astro channels from an android box, i can't comment. i only know astro is astro, all other boxes are illegit.
hi sorry to make your confuse my question ... sweat.gif

my question is : separate the screen to another room tv no matter what the android box is play. i wish to split my screen to another room tv by a/v as my same setup using now with astro byond.

my current setup is :

astro ---- hdmi ( main tv )
        ---- a/v ------ to other room tv a/v port input

so i wish to ask , can the android can setup like this ?

android tv ---- hdmi (main tv)
              ----- a/v ---- to other room tv a/v input

Meanwhile i want to use 1 android tv box to serve other 3 room tv as well. unsure.gif

This post has been edited by gahkin: Jun 5 2015, 05:01 PM
AVFAN
post Jun 5 2015, 05:05 PM

24,449 posts

QUOTE(gahkin @ Jun 5 2015, 05:00 PM)
astro ---- hdmi ( main tv )
---- a/v ------ to other room tv a/v port input
what is this A/V in "a/v to other room tv"?

how is it related to the astro box and main tv?

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Jun 5 2015, 05:08 PM
gahkin
post Jun 5 2015, 05:14 PM

733 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Jun 5 2015, 05:05 PM)
what is this A/V in "a/v to other room tv"?

how is it related to the astro box and main tv?
a/v is behide the box got composite output (Red,white,yellow)

the end is av to other room tv is composite input

i mean i need dual output in the sametime by android box , can it works?
AVFAN
post Jun 5 2015, 05:21 PM

24,449 posts

QUOTE(gahkin @ Jun 5 2015, 05:14 PM)
a/v is behide the box got composite output (Red,white,yellow)

the end is av to other room tv is composite input

i mean i need dual output in the sametime by android box , can it works?
ok, i think my original understanding is correct.

you want the hdmi output to tv1.
you want second composite video/l-r audio output to tv 2, 3, 4, yes?

like i said, check with the seller. i can't remember, but maybe answer is yes.
there may be issues with poor signals, low resolution, long cables...
pls check with sellers as not many users use it that way.

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Jun 5 2015, 05:22 PM

248 Pages « < 12 13 14 15 16 > » Top

0.0270sec    0.56    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 02:38 PM