Android TV Box

alwyn75
post Jun 8 2015, 08:14 AM

253 posts

Hi to all sifu here,

I'm newbie to android tv box, my budget is below RM300, I will be using Unifi vip5, currently looking at this box name original Genuine New Mi Box 4k 1080p HD 3rd gen Xiaomi TV Box Mibox Android Box english available, RM249, anyone using this box? Please give your comments....

Appreciate very much

Thank you

This post has been edited by alwyn75: Jun 8 2015, 08:15 AM
cchean
post Jun 8 2015, 08:55 AM

176 posts

QUOTE(munlok30 @ Jun 7 2015, 10:49 PM)
hi guys , can i know what is the latest TV box which is high in demand now ??

what you guys  think about xiaomi mi box ?? any idea ?? any recommendation or  comment ??
I personally recommend Himedia or MiniX. Just my personal opinion. Plenty of support in low yat forum. I own a Himedia Q16, it runs really well, but if you can't really read chinese, getting MiniX is better. Ultimately it depends on your budget.
AVFAN
post Jun 8 2015, 09:06 AM

24,453 posts

QUOTE(alwyn75 @ Jun 8 2015, 08:14 AM)
Hi to all sifu here,

I'm newbie to android tv box, my budget is below RM300, I will be using Unifi vip5, currently looking at this box name original Genuine New Mi Box 4k 1080p HD 3rd gen Xiaomi TV Box Mibox Android Box english available, RM249, anyone using this box? Please give your comments....

Appreciate very much

Thank you
might be better to ask users in this dedicated mi box thread:
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/3561305/+20

QUOTE(cchean @ Jun 8 2015, 08:55 AM)
I personally recommend Himedia or MiniX. Just my personal opinion. Plenty of support in low yat forum. I own a Himedia Q16, it runs really well, but if you can't really read chinese, getting MiniX is better. Ultimately it depends on your budget.

these 2 are very popular.

minix is well known for its customized xbmc/kodi, runs it better than himedia.

if not mistaken, the only disadv is it cannot pass thru dtshdma/dolby truehd audio, will downgrade to core. impt for home theater, not impt for tv audio.

minix is produced in hongkong, meant for int'l markets.
himedia is produced in china, meant for china market.

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Jun 8 2015, 09:15 AM
alwyn75
post Jun 8 2015, 03:20 PM

253 posts

for those who using Minix, have you ever experience Kodi randomly crashed but able to resume immediately? how often it happen? in a movie or in a week?
cchean
post Jun 8 2015, 04:17 PM

176 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Jun 8 2015, 09:06 AM)
might be better to ask users in this dedicated mi box thread:
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/3561305/+20
these 2 are very popular.

minix is well known for its customized xbmc/kodi, runs it better than himedia.

if not mistaken, the only disadv is it cannot pass thru dtshdma/dolby truehd audio, will downgrade to core. impt for home theater, not impt for tv audio.

minix is produced in hongkong, meant for int'l markets.
himedia is produced in china, meant for china market.
I am actually very curious how well does MiniX run Kodi better than Himedia. For me Himedia runs Kodi pretty well, for those of good sources such as Viki and Dramago. I have not experienced any lag.
AVFAN
post Jun 8 2015, 05:36 PM

24,453 posts

QUOTE(cchean @ Jun 8 2015, 04:17 PM)
I am actually very curious how well does MiniX run Kodi better  than Himedia. For me Himedia runs Kodi pretty well, for those of good sources such as Viki and Dramago. I have not experienced any lag.
i actually cannot say much abot that since i hv not used minix.
sellers seem to say it is smoother for kodi, users are happy.

for himedia, q16 quad has been fine for kodi in my experience.
but i can tell you the previous models incl q5ii, dual cores were indeed problematic with xbmc/kodi.
becos the old chipset was not supported by xbmc.
had to do a couple of tweaks incl modifying the buffer size.
so, good for u, u don't see that! biggrin.gif

for me hd audio pass thru is impt, so i never bought minix.

btw, if u hv not updated, q16 has firmware 1.0.8 since may. i just updated.
this new firmware allows dolby truehd atmos audio pass thru - great for those playing the relevant avr and files.
cchean
post Jun 8 2015, 05:41 PM

176 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Jun 8 2015, 05:36 PM)
i actually cannot say much abot that since i hv not used minix.
sellers seem to say it is smoother for kodi, users are happy.

for himedia, q16 quad has been fine for kodi in my experience.
but i can tell you the previous models incl q5ii, dual cores were indeed problematic with xbmc/kodi.
becos the old chipset was not supported by xbmc.
had to do a couple of tweaks incl modifying the buffer size.
so, good for u, u don't see that! biggrin.gif

for me hd audio pass thru is impt, so i never bought minix.

btw, if u hv not updated, q16 has firmware 1.0.8 since may. i just updated.
this new firmware allows dolby truehd atmos audio pass thru - great for those playing the relevant avr and files.
Thanks for sharing. For the firmware, i need to check, i bought my box in May 2015, so i hope it is the latest firmware i have. At the moment, i do not connect my box to any speakers, using only the tv speakers, so the pass through may not be that important for me atm..
AVFAN
post Jun 8 2015, 05:55 PM

24,453 posts

QUOTE(cchean @ Jun 8 2015, 05:41 PM)
At the moment, i do not connect my box to any speakers, using only the tv speakers, so the pass through may not be that important for me atm..
just know that when u hv the right equipment, yr player can handle a 50gb movie file delivering the highest audio quality known on earth. laugh.gif
zamnzammm
post Jun 8 2015, 05:58 PM

33 posts

hi .. everyone.. who want to buy this android tv box

veolo 4k

https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=3598402&hl=
voncrane
post Jun 8 2015, 07:11 PM

Noir et fier!
7,118 posts

QUOTE(cchean @ Jun 8 2015, 04:17 PM)
I am actually very curious how well does MiniX run Kodi better  than Himedia. For me Himedia runs Kodi pretty well, for those of good sources such as Viki and Dramago. I have not experienced any lag.
This is cuz Minix works directly in partnership with the Kodi dev team and so ensures that the software is optimized for their hardware. Used to use an X7 and never had any unexpected issues (ehem tweaks, sources & addons) from my Kodi installation.
cchean
post Jun 8 2015, 09:34 PM

176 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Jun 8 2015, 05:55 PM)
just know that when u hv the right equipment, yr player can handle a 50gb movie file delivering the highest audio quality known on earth. laugh.gif
Haha..i must be really underutilising my Q16 as i mainly use it on my 32 inch 720p tv so that i can watch in the comfort of my room. Will try it more on my living room tv, but no speakers..hmmmm
cchean
post Jun 8 2015, 09:36 PM

176 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ Jun 8 2015, 07:11 PM)
This is cuz Minix works directly in partnership with the Kodi dev team and so ensures that the software is optimized for their hardware. Used to use an X7 and never had any unexpected issues (ehem tweaks, sources & addons) from my Kodi installation.
Thats why whenever a friend ask me which box to buy, i just tell them to buy miniX, although I dont own one...haha

alwyn75
post Jun 9 2015, 12:30 PM

253 posts

Will government ban kodi in the future?
shahrilidzwan
post Jun 9 2015, 04:02 PM

78 posts

QUOTE(alwyn75 @ Jun 9 2015, 12:30 PM)
haha..this is android tv box thread guys, neways
in my opinion, there's not much that people in here can do and affect kodi as it is very open platform. all the sources are from outside eventhough i did find 1 local addons. not sure if local provider can block such apk or its sources whistling.gif whistling.gif

Ngto
post Jun 9 2015, 09:57 PM

4,350 posts

QUOTE(alwyn75 @ Jun 9 2015, 12:30 PM)
Will Govt ban DVD and Blu-ray players ? Some people use them to play pirated movies since the beginning of time, so why aren't they banned yet ? smile.gif

Same for KODI. It is legal software , but if you chose to install privately addons from third party, it is your problem, not the fault of Kodi.
lionelchia1986
post Jun 11 2015, 08:41 PM

172 posts

QUOTE(cchean @ Jun 8 2015, 08:55 AM)
For himedia, any risk of service get terminated due to raid by enforcers?
voncrane
post Jun 11 2015, 09:44 PM

Noir et fier!
7,118 posts

QUOTE(lionelchia1986 @ Jun 11 2015, 08:41 PM)
Think you need to clarify what you mean by service and being raided by enforcers. Ain't nobody gonna kick down your house door cuz you are using an android box.
shahrilidzwan
post Jun 12 2015, 09:45 AM

78 posts

i think our enforcer is busy enough to capture not-paying-gst-product seller at uptown/downtown
btw, why are ppl asking this kinda thing, r u enforcer's spy ah?
lionelchia1986
post Jun 12 2015, 10:38 AM

172 posts

QUOTE(shahrilidzwan @ Jun 12 2015, 09:45 AM)
i think our enforcer is busy enough to capture not-paying-gst-product seller at uptown/downtown
btw, why are ppl asking this kinda thing, r u enforcer's spy ah?
coz my friend got skybox, then after few months the service got terminated. Then find out the server broadcasting those channels got closed down by enforcer. So now his skybox collecting dust.
AVFAN
post Jun 12 2015, 11:08 AM

24,453 posts

QUOTE(lionelchia1986 @ Jun 12 2015, 10:38 AM)
coz my friend got skybox, then after few months the service got terminated. Then find out the server broadcasting those channels got closed down by enforcer. So now his skybox collecting dust.
there r all kinds of boxes, some with dishes, i believe.

a box is a box, it works on what u install in it.

for android boxes:

if u go for those illegit iptv packages, there is surely a risk - either enforcers find a way to stop it or the provider simply goes offline.

if u install the free apps or legit apps that come with the box, there is no reason to worry about anything.

actually, the big task is u finding the time n putting in effort to learn how to get it to work properly - that, i tell u, can be both a joy n a pain! biggrin.gif

248 Pages « < 14 15 16 17 18 > » Top

0.0209sec    0.45    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 09:50 AM