Android TV Box

cchean
post Jun 4 2015, 12:51 PM

176 posts

I've been a user of an android box (less than a month) and I would like to post my experience so far for the benefit of other would be users (hopefully they will find it useful in influencing their decision on what android box to buy or even getting one for the matter). The model i purchased was Himedia Q16 Quad Core.

User experience

I requested the seller to install all the popular apps to play movies for me (showbox, HD cinema, Cartoon HD and some other chinese apps ( i can't write chinese) that i can't name. I also requested for Kodi to be installed with the standard add-ons (Icefilm, 1channel, Genesis, Navi-X etc..)

I plugged it to my 37inch tv via a HDMI cable, and it was working, so no hassle, just plug and play. I tried to navigate using the default remote that came with the box, it was rather hard to navigate. In the end, i plugged in a mouse to help with my navigation. But later on, after using for more than a week, i find it troublesome to bend down all the time to use the mouse and i invested in an airmouse (Mele F10) and i never regretted it. User experience was much smoother with the airmouse.

Content
I was able to stream English movies and series very smoothly with an app called HD cinema (sadly the app no longer works cause the site was taken down around end May 2015). When using Showbox to watch, it was rather a mix experience for me (sometimes smooth, sometimes not). Streaming from Cartoon HD was also smooth so far. However, forum members have suggested to install Popcorn Time or Popcorn 2 U for english contents, which i have yet to try. The box also came with live channels from China, I did not explore much as I do not watch chinese channels. There were some on-demands for chinese movies installed for me (in chinese character). I find that only links from LeTV was smooth, the rest are either unclear or choppy. I installed Dramago and Viki add-on for my Kodi and currently this 2 app is my most used to watch Kdrama with eng subs.

My conclusion so far
Although Q16 has worked very well for me so far, i can't help to think that it works best for users who can read chinese. With the benefit of hindsight I would've bought MiniX8H as it supports Kodi well and caters mostly for those who reads mainly in English. So far I did not regret getting the box as it had provided me hours and hours of entertainment. A reminder: do get an airmouse, trust me

This post has been edited by cchean: Jun 4 2015, 12:54 PM
cchean
post Jun 5 2015, 08:46 AM

176 posts

Wow this "Shield" looks good...how much?

cchean
post Jun 5 2015, 05:33 PM

176 posts

QUOTE(MK84 @ Jun 5 2015, 10:57 AM)
USD$228.46 plus shipping direct from Amazon. Takes about one week to arrive.
Indeed. Reminds me a bit of the old PS2 slim.

It also runs iFlix.

[attachmentid=4474347]

Wow when did iflix support nvidia shield. I think my Himedia box has not been supported yet.
cchean
post Jun 8 2015, 08:55 AM

176 posts

QUOTE(munlok30 @ Jun 7 2015, 10:49 PM)
hi guys , can i know what is the latest TV box which is high in demand now ??

what you guys  think about xiaomi mi box ?? any idea ?? any recommendation or  comment ??
I personally recommend Himedia or MiniX. Just my personal opinion. Plenty of support in low yat forum. I own a Himedia Q16, it runs really well, but if you can't really read chinese, getting MiniX is better. Ultimately it depends on your budget.
cchean
post Jun 8 2015, 04:17 PM

176 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Jun 8 2015, 09:06 AM)
might be better to ask users in this dedicated mi box thread:
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/3561305/+20
these 2 are very popular.

minix is well known for its customized xbmc/kodi, runs it better than himedia.

if not mistaken, the only disadv is it cannot pass thru dtshdma/dolby truehd audio, will downgrade to core. impt for home theater, not impt for tv audio.

minix is produced in hongkong, meant for int'l markets.
himedia is produced in china, meant for china market.
I am actually very curious how well does MiniX run Kodi better than Himedia. For me Himedia runs Kodi pretty well, for those of good sources such as Viki and Dramago. I have not experienced any lag.
cchean
post Jun 8 2015, 05:41 PM

176 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Jun 8 2015, 05:36 PM)
i actually cannot say much abot that since i hv not used minix.
sellers seem to say it is smoother for kodi, users are happy.

for himedia, q16 quad has been fine for kodi in my experience.
but i can tell you the previous models incl q5ii, dual cores were indeed problematic with xbmc/kodi.
becos the old chipset was not supported by xbmc.
had to do a couple of tweaks incl modifying the buffer size.
so, good for u, u don't see that! biggrin.gif

for me hd audio pass thru is impt, so i never bought minix.

btw, if u hv not updated, q16 has firmware 1.0.8 since may. i just updated.
this new firmware allows dolby truehd atmos audio pass thru - great for those playing the relevant avr and files.
Thanks for sharing. For the firmware, i need to check, i bought my box in May 2015, so i hope it is the latest firmware i have. At the moment, i do not connect my box to any speakers, using only the tv speakers, so the pass through may not be that important for me atm..
cchean
post Jun 8 2015, 09:34 PM

176 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Jun 8 2015, 05:55 PM)
just know that when u hv the right equipment, yr player can handle a 50gb movie file delivering the highest audio quality known on earth. laugh.gif
Haha..i must be really underutilising my Q16 as i mainly use it on my 32 inch 720p tv so that i can watch in the comfort of my room. Will try it more on my living room tv, but no speakers..hmmmm
cchean
post Jun 8 2015, 09:36 PM

176 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ Jun 8 2015, 07:11 PM)
This is cuz Minix works directly in partnership with the Kodi dev team and so ensures that the software is optimized for their hardware. Used to use an X7 and never had any unexpected issues (ehem tweaks, sources & addons) from my Kodi installation.
Thats why whenever a friend ask me which box to buy, i just tell them to buy miniX, although I dont own one...haha

cchean
post Jul 3 2015, 09:11 AM

176 posts

[quote=AVFAN,Jul 2 2015, 11:43 PM]
let me chip in... biggrin.gif

i have himedia q5ii for 1.5 yrs and q16 for almost a year now. very happy.

never used minix.

I must say that Q16 has been working very well for me after using it for a few months. No complaints so far..
cchean
post Jul 10 2015, 03:50 PM

176 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Jul 4 2015, 12:54 PM)
there is this app:
http://tvapp.so/

below was recently discussed in another thread:
i got great news for himedia q16 owners. update yr firmware to latest 1.0.9 and this tvapp will work, in hd. thumbup.gif

you will recognize many of the popular iptv hd channels, enjoy!

other android boxes should be able to do same with latest firmwares.
How do you upgrade the firmware to 1.0.9 for Q16? Where do you get it? Thanks in advance sifu
cchean
post Jul 30 2015, 05:18 PM

176 posts

QUOTE(shinchan5347 @ Jul 30 2015, 04:49 PM)
I am looking for application that have quality near to ASTRO..is it available?
Shinchan. I don't think it exist.
cchean
post Jul 31 2015, 06:50 PM

176 posts

I used Kodi (Phoenix tv) to watch football game. The streaming was smooth but pic quality is not good. If i sub to cloud.tv, will the quality of pic be better? Anyone has experience?
cchean
post Aug 12 2015, 08:10 PM

176 posts

QUOTE(yumchala @ Aug 12 2015, 03:33 PM)
I'm using an android tv box, namely CS918. It is quite ok to me (consider cheap comparing to those Minix model) since I didn't plant to spend a lot on these tv box. The specs seems ok and using it been good (smooth and no issues installing apps from google play). It is preinstall with Kodi and have no problem streaming videos in Kodi (sometimes facing longer time to stream as mine only internet speed of 4mb)

My question is, when want to stream videos from chinese apps (e.g VST, Togic and etc), it is always lag very slow. Is this normal?
China sites are usually not smooth. That is also my experience.
cchean
post Aug 13 2015, 09:19 AM

176 posts

Hi AV Fan

Have you tried installing NBC Live app on Himedia Q16? Can't seems to download it from playstore. Would I be able to download thru Kodi? I actually have the sub to NBC

Cheers

cchean
post Aug 13 2015, 10:01 AM

176 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Aug 13 2015, 09:41 AM)
if it is an android app, it will work.

i am not big sports fan...

some apps are not in playstore, need to find on the web

if u show me the right link, i can try it.

but i know there is nbc live sports or something in MOBDRO.
Managed to find the Kodi add-on. Tried it on my phone, looks ok. Will try on my box when I am home tonight.
cchean
post Aug 13 2015, 05:24 PM

176 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Aug 13 2015, 02:33 PM)
where in kodi do you find this nbc live?

i found nbcsn in bbts, is that it? it is in 1080p!
Apparently it is already included in the fusion repository. Just went to video add-on to add it.
However, you need to have a sub to watch it's premium contents (such as live football)
cchean
post Aug 13 2015, 05:37 PM

176 posts

The following was the instruction i followed

To install this add-on you must do so from the Add-on manager from within Kodi/XBMC by going to:
Settings
Add-ons
Install from repository (v15) / Get add-ons (v14)
Kodi/XBMC add-on repository
Video Add-ons
NBC Sports Live Extra
Install
cchean
post Aug 13 2015, 07:31 PM

176 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Aug 13 2015, 06:39 PM)
ya, i just tried it.

needs membership id/pw, so.... no use! laugh.gif
Yeah. Need to pay. In fact I have subscribed. First day actually, and it was smooth and video was quite clear. Although it does not reach even 720p quality. I suspect it is 460p.
cchean
post Aug 13 2015, 07:39 PM

176 posts

It is widely advertised by izzu. But you need to get VPN also to prevent geoblock.
cchean
post Aug 17 2015, 08:47 AM

176 posts

QUOTE(leonardgood @ Aug 14 2015, 11:01 PM)
Hi to all sifus,

i thought of apply for unifi 5mbs. And then subscribe NBC sports channel and purchase the VPN.. 

So will it be lag when watching it? or have anyone here experienced before and can give me some comment?

Just be mindful of NBC sports. Their app is very buggy. In fact nothing could stream last weekend, i read from the internet that it was NBC's problem. It certainly did not worked well for me during the weekend. I hope it is only an exceptional glitch and not a frequent occurrence. But when NBC works, the video quality is good, close to Astro HD.

Hope my feedback helps.

0.1099sec    0.46    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 10:27 AM