248 Pages « < 96 97 98 99 100 > » Bottom

Android TV Box

devilywan88
post Jun 7 2016, 07:54 PM

GGMU
654 posts

QUOTE(benangmerah @ Jun 7 2016, 12:30 PM)
yeap ..comcast xfinity
i paid rm120 for 1 year sub... with premium package can get more than hundred for live channel..below is my channel listing screenshot for sports channel....
pm me detail for this bro..tq
voncrane
post Jun 7 2016, 08:02 PM

Noir et fier!
7,118 posts

QUOTE(eagle008 @ Jun 7 2016, 12:52 PM)
"Depends on you.. Astro free user here for at least 5 years.. Saved thousands over the years."
bro, how you did that. mind to share it ?
You only need to look.. The answers are all around us and have been shared repeatedly.. Real hands-on maintenance required. To head down the cord cutting path, you must be a willing participant and deal with the occasional downtime. Else, best to stick with the likes of Astxx.. Good thing is, setting up such is wayyy easier to do today than a couple of years ago.
cheryl15
post Jun 7 2016, 08:29 PM

62 posts

QUOTE(benangmerah @ Jun 7 2016, 01:03 PM)
.. are the channels in sd (480, 540, 576) or hd (720, 1080)? depend on ur speed connection..highest can get 1080p with 20mbps.
.. do u find them stable and reliable?..yeap..very stable and reliable to streaming live channel...
.. what internet speed r u on?.mine is 30mbps coz im streaming ultra HD on netflix ..for xfinity 10 to 20mbps just enough ..
.. (if u hv tried) how does it compared with netflix in terms of ease of use, navigation, etc.?..ezy to navigate..the UI is quite user friendly..can install xfinity tv go on android and connect to TV...im using sony z ultra as my android box...very tha powderfull..  thumbup.gif
.. do u subscribe direct with app in google playstore?..nope..im bought sharing account from local 3rd party seller with warranty 1 to 1 replace if got problem..so far 2 years ady without problem...
Hi, I just got a xfinity account, I have streamyx 8Mbps and I'm using getflix dns service.
However the video quality of the live channels I get is very low SD quality...
Is it because I don't have enough internet speed?
AVFAN
post Jun 7 2016, 09:13 PM

24,453 posts

QUOTE(eagle008 @ Jun 7 2016, 12:52 PM)
"Depends on you.. Astro free user here for at least 5 years.. Saved thousands over the years."
bro, how you did that. mind to share it ?
from the >2 years in this section, let me share with you how people like voncrane and me do it.

.. u must have decent internet speed, 10mbps or higher.
.. u must NOT insist on certain requirements, e.g. cantonese wahlaitoi, every live EPL game 100%.
.. u must NOT insist every chinese, korean, japanese video MUST have english or malay subtitles.

if u can accept that, there is more than enough to fill your eyes with a decent box and good internet speed:

.. english movies, tv shows - with or without eng subs, in HD
.. chinese movies, tv shows - with only chinese subs, in HD
.. live tv for international news, some SD, some HD
.. live sports - some in SD, some in HD, some with foreign language commentary e.g. spanish, russian, chinese, etc.
.. popular family, kids, documentary channels - mix of SD and HD, some with foreign language subs like vietnamese, serbian, portuguese.

of course, will take quite some work.

DIY is the only way. becos there is a need to update; will lose apps/channels, find new.

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Jun 7 2016, 09:17 PM
voncrane
post Jun 7 2016, 09:32 PM

Noir et fier!
7,118 posts

QUOTE(cheryl15 @ Jun 7 2016, 08:29 PM)
Hi, I just got a xfinity account, I have streamyx 8Mbps and I'm using getflix dns service.
However the video quality of the live channels I get is very low SD quality...
Is it because I don't have enough internet speed?
Most likely or number of simultaneous users.... Keep trying though as it might ramp up..

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Jun 7 2016, 09:13 PM)
from the >2 years in this section, let me share with you how people like voncrane and me do it.

.. u must have decent internet speed, 10mbps or higher.
.. u must NOT insist on certain requirements, e.g. cantonese wahlaitoi, every live EPL game 100%.
.. u must NOT insist every chinese, korean, japanese video MUST have english or malay subtitles.

if u can accept that, there is more than enough to fill your eyes with a decent box and good internet speed:

.. english movies, tv shows  - with or without eng subs, in HD
.. chinese movies, tv shows  - with only chinese subs, in HD
.. live tv for international news, some SD, some HD
.. live sports - some in SD, some in HD, some with foreign language commentary e.g. spanish, russian, chinese, etc.
.. popular family, kids, documentary channels - mix of SD and HD, some with foreign language subs like vietnamese, serbian, portuguese.

of course, will take quite some work.

DIY is the only way. becos there is a need to update; will lose apps/channels, find new.
Took the words right out of my mouth.. biggrin.gif
cheryl15
post Jun 8 2016, 12:12 AM

62 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ Jun 7 2016, 09:32 PM)
Most likely or number of simultaneous users.... Keep trying though as it might ramp up..
Took the words right out of my mouth..  biggrin.gif
Yeah looks like it's internet speed problem...
The best quality I can get is 480p(i thk) without lag.. sometimes it also got sudden pq drop..
I have tried watching hd/fhd? on my dekstop, and the pq is really good, but it lags in my case sad.gif
Wish that unifi is available at my place...
Anyway it serves excellent for watching live sports, movies and kids contents, provided you have good internet speed >10mbps(preferably unifi).
Fortunately I had a cheaper alternative and spent less than RM 50 for the account doh.gif
P.s. there's cc option available, great for watching movies

coo|dude
post Jun 8 2016, 09:54 AM

Cool By The Pool!
1,064 posts

hello.. any recommendation for android tv box that is like an USB stick, where I can just stick it to my TV's HDMI port and use it directly? Thanks..
cchean
post Jun 8 2016, 10:37 AM

176 posts

QUOTE(coo|dude @ Jun 8 2016, 09:54 AM)
hello.. any recommendation for android tv box that is like an USB stick, where I can just stick it to my TV's HDMI port and use it directly? Thanks..
For USB stick, the plug and play one will be google chromecast, you can buy from lazada.
Good for: youtube, Netflix (need to pay sub), Viki, iflix (need to pay sub).
You cannot install Kodi on it.

Others will be Roku stick, but need more config to make it work, definitely not plug and play
coo|dude
post Jun 8 2016, 12:48 PM

Cool By The Pool!
1,064 posts

QUOTE(cchean @ Jun 8 2016, 10:37 AM)
For USB stick, the plug and play one will be google chromecast, you can buy from lazada.
Good for: youtube, Netflix (need to pay sub), Viki, iflix (need to pay sub).
You cannot install Kodi on it.

Others will be Roku stick, but need more config to make it work, definitely not plug and play
Google Chromecast is not an android box, I thought? The latest Chromecast is now an Android box instead of casting? I am really looking for an android box where I can install apks on it and watch it freely on any TV without the hassle of taking out/connecting back cables.
AVFAN
post Jun 8 2016, 01:02 PM

24,453 posts

QUOTE(coo|dude @ Jun 8 2016, 12:48 PM)
Google Chromecast is not an android box, I thought? The latest Chromecast is now an Android box instead of casting? I am really looking for an android box where I can install apks on it and watch it freely on any TV without the hassle of taking out/connecting back cables.
u can google and find all sorts of android sticks and pc sticks.

there is no thread on any stick, no one seems to want to discuss much...?

at this time, these sticks while cost as much as boxes but are much less capable.

but i also think the time is about right now that some good sticks should be coming out.

since the latest smart tv's come with excellent androids, no reason it can't be on a stick, albeit a long and large one. tongue.gif

d2z
post Jun 8 2016, 02:20 PM

398 posts

wahai all sifu. sorry lazy to search.

please recommend me tv box for:
iflix
popcorn
tonton

if possible:
teamviwer & chrome remote desktop

budget: RM350-400

This post has been edited by d2z: Jun 8 2016, 02:23 PM
cchean
post Jun 8 2016, 02:23 PM

176 posts

QUOTE(coo|dude @ Jun 8 2016, 12:48 PM)
It is not an "android box". If that is the case, i think you are better off buying the normal android box. My two cents.
hardcoreangel
post Jun 9 2016, 02:09 PM

121 posts

Hi bro's.

I'm lack of experience regarding this my i just unsubscribe asteruk.

What do u guys can recommend for me ? i'm using TIME broadband 100mbps.

My preference is Astro Sport, HBO,Discovery etc etc.

And how this things work?I mean got contractor come for installation or just DIY?

Please advice.
ranger2020
post Jun 9 2016, 02:39 PM

214 posts

anyone heard of MKTV app? i tried installed but cant get connection to the app. some suggest to change DNS to 8.8.8.8. But after i did that still cant get it works. any advice?
AVFAN
post Jun 9 2016, 02:46 PM

24,453 posts

QUOTE(ranger2020 @ Jun 9 2016, 02:39 PM)
anyone heard of MKTV app? i tried installed but cant get connection to the app. some suggest to change DNS to 8.8.8.8. But after i did that still cant get it works. any advice?
mario kart tv?

if u provide the link(s), can check.
sepet
post Jun 9 2016, 03:59 PM

148 posts

internet 1mbps still can use this box?
jagged
post Jun 9 2016, 04:04 PM

757 posts

Is there much difference compared to Unify TV Box..?
AVFAN
post Jun 9 2016, 04:15 PM

24,453 posts

QUOTE(sepet @ Jun 9 2016, 03:59 PM)
internet 1mbps still can use this box?
1mbps = 125KBps.

can get the lowest quality of streams.

assuming connection is stable and in full.

QUOTE(jagged @ Jun 9 2016, 04:04 PM)
Is there much difference compared to Unify TV Box..?
there all kinds of boxes, the main differences being the android version and memory.

TM's hypp box:
android 4.4.2
0.6/1.9gb
https://gfxbench.com/device.jsp?benchmark=g...&testgroup=info

the higher grade boxes today are:
android 6.0
2/16gb

hyppbox can do a few things, but not too many, not too much.

frankly, i think it is good idea to learn with the hyppbox, then move on to a better one.
ranger2020
post Jun 9 2016, 04:50 PM

214 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Jun 9 2016, 02:46 PM)
mario kart tv?

if u provide the link(s), can check.
http://www.mediafire.com/download/0tyl4i6gjr0h2se/MKTv.apk

try installed and test
jagged
post Jun 9 2016, 05:38 PM

757 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Jun 9 2016, 04:15 PM)
1mbps = 125KBps.

can get the lowest quality of streams.

assuming connection is stable and in full.
there all kinds of boxes, the main differences being the android version and memory.

TM's hypp box:
android 4.4.2
0.6/1.9gb
https://gfxbench.com/device.jsp?benchmark=g...&testgroup=info
the higher grade boxes today are:
android 6.0
2/16gb

hyppbox can do a few things, but not too many, not too much.

frankly, i think it is good idea to learn with the hyppbox, then move on to a better one.
Thanks for the info, I installed Kodi on my Unify box and it ran with any problem except for Youtube.

248 Pages « < 96 97 98 99 100 > » Top

0.0232sec    1.18    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 03:36 PM