Android TV Box

ranger2020
post Feb 4 2016, 10:34 AM

214 posts

QUOTE(cvshi515 @ Jan 31 2016, 05:00 PM)
Just got my neo u1. Been testing around, so far so good. Just the default kodi was having some issues with super repo so I uninstalled and reinstalled the one from Google store. Srill, I am looking for a good source for Malaysia channels and Chinese drama smile.gif. Any recommendations
Mine sharing where you got it from and the price?
ranger2020
post Feb 15 2016, 02:23 PM

214 posts

QUOTE(goshinguy @ Feb 11 2016, 01:44 PM)
Hello all,

I'm quite new in the xbmc world .. just wondering is the new Hypptv Box/ (huawei) ( the white one ) can handle xbmc/ kodi app well?

I noticed that the hypptv wont allow any app to access the external SD card .. so the storage is quite limited.

For example at the moment I have installed Popcorntime app into the Hypptv box but it wont allow to buffer for a large File above 1.3GB saying no available space but I have a 32GB miniSD card installed. The ROM left around 1.2GB

Thanks for those who can help
If you want to run kodi, you need a better box. try googling minix box.
ranger2020
post Mar 7 2016, 01:48 PM

214 posts

QUOTE(busyman @ Mar 4 2016, 09:18 PM)
noted, thanks mate, will scot for good seller now smile.gif
if you intend to use kodi, better get box with 8/16g memory. definately xioami box may not be able to cater for Kodi. but for basis viewing, get anyting within your budget.
ranger2020
post Mar 7 2016, 01:52 PM

214 posts

QUOTE(samiovic @ Mar 1 2016, 10:32 AM)
Hi guys,

I am looking for a an android box, that shouldn t be very expensive,budget RM500.

I am also looking for channel package that includes Bein sport channels, as being Juve fan I do not get to watch their games, Thanks to Astro.

Any advise will be appreciated. thank u
I would think Minix 8XH plus would be a good buy, stable box.
ranger2020
post Mar 7 2016, 02:00 PM

214 posts

QUOTE(marketstore @ Feb 28 2016, 10:41 PM)
anyone had experience with minix u1 and xidoo x6...I am torn between both of them....need some advice....I am using it for a 4K TV just for movies and mainly kids watches tv like 6hrs in a row. tq
i using U1 now, so far no issue

ranger2020
post Mar 14 2016, 11:54 AM

214 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Jan 2 2016, 09:53 PM)
i have little knowledge about nas, only that it is a storage server networked to stream to any device u wish in a lan.

i play most of my stuff via local usb/hdd.

wifi streaming used mainly for online material.

i have thought a nas for some time now, but then i felt no big need.

that day has yet to come. biggrin.gif
samba is a generic term, windows call it file sharing.

to get samba to work, u need to allow the pc to be accessed by yr device.

once u set that, accessing from the device is just using the usual pc id and pw.

it is simple and effective for home lan use, incl bluray and 4k material.
hi,

What is the different between using Samba to stream via PC and plugging the hard disk to the TV box for playing the hd content?

ranger2020
post Mar 14 2016, 04:52 PM

214 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Mar 14 2016, 12:54 PM)
depending on yr equipment and efficiency of yr local network, it can zero difference for basic hd videos. however, for larger files esp those with hd audio, streaming may not be smooth.

also, less effort.. some people stream direct from pc since yr file is originally in pc, why bother to copy to hhd, turn on device and play local at device? some people are also set up such that several hdd's are attached to pc (or some nas station), stream everything from a central point.

me, i samba the smaller videos from pc, then delete them. larger, better ones for collection, i put on hdd first for later local playback.
thanks mate.
ranger2020
post Apr 7 2016, 10:10 AM

214 posts

Hi, anyone know how to set autostart for a particular apk?
ranger2020
post Apr 11 2016, 09:54 AM

214 posts

QUOTE(fkinmeng @ Apr 7 2016, 08:58 PM)
thanks for feedback.

i rarely use kodi, just for casual weekend football, hence not sure if i want to spend rm400 on it. sad.gif
if this is your first box, you can try M8s. i have minix neo U1 for heavy duty and M8s (bought it for around RM200) for casual usage.
ranger2020
post May 3 2016, 11:22 AM

214 posts

QUOTE(mindrunner @ May 1 2016, 06:13 PM)
Dear Gurus,

How do I watch Iflix with my CS918 Android box ? I donwloaded the app through the app store, but it wont play movies, just load them. bye.gif
probably u need to forget about iflix. is a not so useful app
ranger2020
post May 3 2016, 03:57 PM

214 posts

QUOTE(boyboy2020 @ May 3 2016, 03:21 PM)
browse through almost every page of this thread for info before make up my mind to change my current c2pid media box (Philips HMP8100/98 with OS of 4.1.1 FW) to minix U1 or Nvidia Shield. Many current apps is not compatible.

Can any pro recommend which 1 to go for? Main purpose is to have it to watch HK Drama, and 90s to current HK movies, and English movie for free..and game. At the same time, can recommend me any androids apps to watch the above??

My ISP is maxis 10mpbs and the router is located in the storeroom thus the coverage can only get maximum 3 bar for my current noob philips media box.

Appreciate for you guys & girls help!
for a start you can try out cheap M8s box, alternatively if u have the budget. get minix neo x8-h plus. But avoid Mibox at all cost (personal opinion).
ranger2020
post May 3 2016, 04:11 PM

214 posts

QUOTE(boyboy2020 @ May 3 2016, 04:01 PM)
I think i will straight for for Minix Neo U1. To save the hassle and trouble!! just wanna settle my wife demand to watch HK drama with just few simple click on apps.

Thanks for the recommendation!!

Definitely will avoid mibox..my fren regret buying that!!one lighting struck, that mibox say byebye already. doh.gif
please be warned that operating a tv box is not as a matter of plug and play, one need to do a lot of reading and at least some basic tech knowledge to operate. if you just need to click and point on apps. a basic tv box will do (by the way, i using Neo U1 now). of course you may need to subscribe to a paid iptv. Please also take note take Minix does not support Netflix HD.
ranger2020
post May 3 2016, 04:13 PM

214 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ May 3 2016, 04:02 PM)
only HK ones?

that's a little tough.

there are some in KODI - e.g. kissasian, azdrama... mostly in SD.

or find ahem iptv.
mandarin stuff - tons of them, plenty in HD.
i remember someone was saying HK Drama is meant for Malaysian. even the honkies themself don't watch much of HK Drama biggrin.gif
ranger2020
post Jun 6 2016, 11:43 AM

214 posts

QUOTE(jacky91 @ Jun 5 2016, 04:21 PM)
Hi guys smile.gif

So now I have 2 options on hand... MiniX and Mi Box...

Am getting it for my parents, to watch HK drama and news (international and local)

The 2 options I listed seems to be having almost the same price...can anyone tell me what are the pros and cons of that 2?

Thanks a lot!!!
please avoid Mibox at all cost.
ranger2020
post Jun 6 2016, 02:00 PM

214 posts

QUOTE(jacky91 @ Jun 6 2016, 12:45 PM)
why? can share your thought?
Noted. Will check it out!
i think i have shared in v1 thread. anyway, in short, you may have issue of memory shortage and most importantly, mibox doesnt support google playstore (though you may be able to jailbreak). but since your price for both minix and mibox are the same, better get minix.
ranger2020
post Jun 6 2016, 03:23 PM

214 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Jun 6 2016, 02:31 PM)
this one, i think is heavily geoblocked on hk side.

will probably need hk vpn to run it.
Yup, Viu is not available outside HK

ranger2020
post Jun 9 2016, 02:39 PM

214 posts

anyone heard of MKTV app? i tried installed but cant get connection to the app. some suggest to change DNS to 8.8.8.8. But after i did that still cant get it works. any advice?
ranger2020
post Jun 9 2016, 04:50 PM

214 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Jun 9 2016, 02:46 PM)
mario kart tv?

if u provide the link(s), can check.
http://www.mediafire.com/download/0tyl4i6gjr0h2se/MKTv.apk

try installed and test
ranger2020
post Jun 10 2016, 11:49 AM

214 posts

QUOTE(ashenzint @ Jun 10 2016, 10:58 AM)
planning to buy MXQ PRO 4K Amlogic Tvbox S905 5.1.1 Android Lolipop TV MXQ 4K PRO IPTV, is it ok?
i using Minix U1 and M8S. i dun recommend Mxq (read some bad reviews about it).
ranger2020
post Jun 11 2016, 10:25 AM

214 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Jun 9 2016, 08:50 PM)
hmm.. this one is interesting.

the apk works.

however...

.. it is so similar to imgtv, (or mangotv like all himedia box users know) that i think it is a imgtv spinoff.
.. has more hk, taiwanese content.
.. but... like imgtv, it does not work very well, needs a china VPN for HD content.
.. some SD channels work, OK.
.. CCTV and other live tv channels also there, but no as stable or reliable as other apps.

thanks for sharing.
added:

i tried a bit more on this apk.

hmm... it is actually quite good! thumbup.gif

much of it works quite well, vod or live tv.

there is a variety of canto, japanese, korean and taiwanese shows too - all chinese subs only.

180 china & int'l live tv channels, some in HD.

i think u couldn't get it going becos yr speed is lacking.

this app appears to be a washed down copy of imgotv (a legit iptv in china) but with a few other things thrown in.

nice, thanks! biggrin.gif
I was on Viu channel last night, came across an adver on EURO, not sure they got live or not

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.1075sec    0.83    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 06:28 AM