205 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Bottom

Your Home Theater Setup.. v2, Let's share..

hushymushy
post May 24 2014, 02:31 PM

1,708 posts

QUOTE(paskal @ May 23 2014, 03:27 PM)
bro your proposed room size, the 16'x27' issit already built?
hi paskal.......pending for DBKL approval.
architect submitted entire house reno to DBKL.....

so yeah pretty much i would say the 16' x 27' is confirmed.

skeelee.....i wished i have the opportunity to put my audio speakers behind the screen......however don't think it is possible....
unless i shift the screen to 5 feet away from the wall.....hide the audio and HT speakers behind the screen, which will block sound from my audio speakers

Cardas golden rule is a yes and no thing....

if following Cardas's rules

my speakers required to be 7.152' feet from rear wall and 4.4' from side wall......that's going to be a challenge for the screen.

This post has been edited by hushymushy: May 24 2014, 02:38 PM
paskal
post May 24 2014, 03:39 PM

armchair commando couch potato
2,801 posts

QUOTE(hushymushy @ May 24 2014, 02:31 PM)
hi paskal.......pending for DBKL approval.
architect submitted entire house reno to DBKL.....

so yeah pretty much i would say the 16' x 27' is confirmed.

skeelee.....i wished i have the opportunity to put my audio speakers behind the screen......however don't think it is possible....
unless i shift the screen to 5 feet away from the wall.....hide the audio and HT speakers behind the screen, which will block sound from my audio speakers

Cardas golden rule is a yes and no thing....

if following Cardas's rules

my speakers required to be 7.152' feet from rear wall and 4.4' from side wall......that's going to be a challenge for the screen.
120" screen, 15 feet away will only give you 32.7 degrees fov at the first row and only 24.8 degrees at the second row. that is if you're planning on introducing a second row. i would, especially with that length.

thx suggestion that i've read around is to keep 36 degrees for the last row. and like skeelee pointed, sweet spot should be around 45 degrees and 50 degrees maximum for the front rows.
hushymushy
post May 24 2014, 03:41 PM

1,708 posts

hhhhmmmmm u guys r right......and perhaps mixing d audio with HT is a bad idea?
sonerin
post May 24 2014, 04:39 PM

8,739 posts

Not really. Is also depend on your expectation.
paskal
post May 26 2014, 11:08 AM

2,801 posts

QUOTE(hushymushy @ May 24 2014, 03:41 PM)
hhhhmmmmm u guys r right......and perhaps mixing d audio with HT is a bad idea?
it's a good idea. i'm planning such an implementation.
rough drawing in sketchup i think you could separate the HT setup and audio setup in the same room. just ngam ngan fit for separate audio speakers without blocking the view.

to calculate a good ceiling height, put your nett room dimension into this to calculate room modal distribution:
http://www.bobgolds.com/Mode/RoomModes.htm

you might wanna put your room dimension and listening position into REW room simulator.
it's so accurate, it's scary. sweat.gif

my current room:
the actual measured response:

read around on the net, people are also saying the simulator is pretty darn accurate.
it accurately predicted the peak at 35hz, the null at 40 and 50hz and the large peak at 60-70hz.
null at 80, peak at 90, then null at 100.

shocking.gif
paskal
post May 26 2014, 11:20 AM

2,801 posts

overlaid. not to scale.
but check the pattern.

focus on the <120hz because i've implement an lpf filter on the sub.

pretty darn accurate i'd say. because there's a large closet at the back of the room. the simulator needs a rectangular room for calculation.
htkaki
post May 26 2014, 01:57 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

Very impressive there. If the room is near square, how the REW accuracy will be affected?
paskal
post May 26 2014, 05:41 PM

2,801 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ May 26 2014, 01:57 PM)
Very impressive there. If the room is near square, how the REW accuracy will be affected?
not as bad as i thought it would be.
let's say 10'x12' as per most second room in most houses would be. with 9' ceiling.
92" screen, mounted at the wall, listening position 9 feet away, 40.6 degrees field of view.

single sub, center of the room

dual sub co located at the corner. improved the room response somewhat.

the null at ~100hz is because of the listening position 3 feet away from the wall.
1130/(3*4) = 94.16, room mode plus boundary reflection at that area causing a huge null that's hard to correct.
hushymushy
post May 26 2014, 11:56 PM

1,708 posts

interesting
elhefe77
post May 27 2014, 04:42 PM

163 posts

Hushymushy... if u want to put speakers behind screen.. get a perforated screen... then OK...
hushymushy
post May 30 2014, 07:43 PM

1,708 posts

elhefe.......sini you pun ada....
nampak giler hifi gear in your place man

yeah thinking about that......but tested it at a couple of places....the sound seems mellowed
elhefe77
post May 31 2014, 06:26 AM

163 posts

Hushymushy... di mana ada racun hifi... di situ saya ada hahaha

My gear basic only.... dream of having projector shattered... due to hall limitation... frust...

With proper amplification and speaker... sure ok one putting speakers behind screen.

Whenever you are free... come over lah... looonnggg time didnt see u....
hushymushy
post May 31 2014, 01:22 PM

1,708 posts

Hey bro....yeah man....long time didn't catch up
Last we meet was almost 10years ago!!
siauann
post Jun 5 2014, 04:46 PM

Music-Movies-Coffee
3,375 posts

i dunno if this is being discuss before
can we setup a 3.1 system? a pair of front + centre + sub? or
better to setup a 2.1 system? movies more than listening to music
setup in a living room and surround installation is a problem
sonerin
post Jun 5 2014, 05:01 PM

8,739 posts

Yes you certainly can for both. Is just personal preference

This post has been edited by sonerin: Jun 5 2014, 05:02 PM
ch_r_is
post Jun 6 2014, 02:47 PM

167 posts

I need to buy a home theatre system as my current one seems to be faulty... Its a Sony one, cant remember what model.. bought it like 8-9 years ago...

Do you have any recommendations? I would probably need to buy a new tv too as my sony bravia looks like gonna crash soon...

Please help...
ktek
post Jun 6 2014, 03:38 PM

小喇叭
13,187 posts

QUOTE(siauann @ Jun 5 2014, 04:46 PM)
i dunno if this is being discuss before
can we setup a 3.1 system? a pair of front + centre + sub? or
better to setup a 2.1 system? movies more than listening to music
setup in a living room and surround installation is a problem
of course. 3.1 is better as it give a more firm "middle stage" in movie dialogs.
u can achieve surround feel by changing the facing direction (toe in toe out) of left right speakers
htkaki
post Jun 6 2014, 10:58 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(elhefe77 @ May 31 2014, 06:26 AM)
Hushymushy... di mana ada racun hifi... di situ saya ada hahaha

My gear basic only.... dream of having projector shattered... due to hall limitation... frust...

With proper amplification and speaker... sure ok one putting speakers behind screen.

Whenever you are free... come over lah... looonnggg time didnt see u....
Wah! Really humble. That also considered as basic. tongue.gif
carcrazy
post Jun 7 2014, 11:23 AM

189 posts

max, his new room gonna be awesome!!..
he has a capable hifi lover contractor rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by carcrazy: Jun 7 2014, 11:24 AM
hushymushy
post Jun 7 2014, 11:58 PM

1,708 posts