Your Home Theater Setup.. v2, Let's share..

htkaki
post May 21 2014, 08:59 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

Long time didn't hear from you, hm. Did you manage to get the cables that you wanted?
htkaki
post May 26 2014, 01:57 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

Very impressive there. If the room is near square, how the REW accuracy will be affected?
htkaki
post Jun 6 2014, 10:58 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(elhefe77 @ May 31 2014, 06:26 AM)
Hushymushy... di mana ada racun hifi... di situ saya ada hahaha

My gear basic only.... dream of having projector shattered... due to hall limitation... frust...

With proper amplification and speaker... sure ok one putting speakers behind screen.

Whenever you are free... come over lah... looonnggg time didnt see u....
Wah! Really humble. That also considered as basic. tongue.gif
htkaki
post Jun 8 2014, 06:01 AM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(carcrazy @ Jun 7 2014, 11:23 AM)
max, his new room gonna be awesome!!..
he has a capable hifi lover contractor  rclxms.gif
New room? That I didn't know. Met him yesterday to deliver poison to him. I thought it is still the open hall on 1st floor.

hm, they did try to install projector but space issue. I guess his next on the list will be dual subs IF the new poison passed with flying colours.
htkaki
post Jul 15 2014, 07:14 AM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

Nice layout there for 7.2. Is the back wall a window?
htkaki
post Jul 16 2014, 11:24 AM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(paskal @ Jul 15 2014, 10:51 AM)
plan ahead for dolby atmos/dts mda. in case it becomes mainstream.
which it almost certainly will, judging from the amount of new movies mixed to the format.
Yes. Those new projects that we undertake, we ask the owners whether to build it in or not as 'future proof'

Paskal, have you watch at the Dolby Atmos cinema at 1U? I intend to try it out when I am free.
htkaki
post Jul 27 2014, 10:13 AM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(dirtrun @ Jul 25 2014, 02:08 PM)
LOL,

Talking abt too much time - I went surfing at Hifi4Sale n there is a decent sub for sale at 3k.. keke .. Rythmik LV12s - ported .. thou'

Sold by non other than our bro ...

D
Bro, the LV12S is on promo now. Considerably lower than that.
htkaki
post Jul 28 2014, 10:36 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

I get mine from Monoprice.com. Thus far, it did not fail for all 3D projectors.
htkaki
post Aug 1 2014, 06:58 AM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(lazzy_dogg @ Jul 30 2014, 11:26 PM)
can i know how much tax need to be paid to our custom to clear for monoprice?
Cable tax rate is high in Malaysia. I was taxed once due to the bulk cables. 30% import duty and 10% sales tax on total amount including shipping. Effectively, it is more than 40% tax.

It is a lot higher than the 26.5% tax on electronic items.
htkaki
post Aug 27 2014, 11:36 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(hushymushy @ Aug 27 2014, 12:57 PM)
hi guys....need some recommendation here

i have a budget of about rm4k for a fixed screen
looking at 120" size....any good recommendations?
How about Grandview screen?

http://www.grandviewscreen.com/fixed-frame-series/

120" is close to RM3,000
htkaki
post Feb 8 2015, 12:00 AM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(carcrazy @ Feb 6 2015, 09:22 PM)
Paskal,
Wat to do, owner never allow me bigger project..lol
anyway the speaker excels in large scale imaging, dynamics and full-bodied midrange to give u the 'realisme' feel
will post the sub later when its done veneering

if u like to hear a bigger speaker, do come to this year KLAV mariott show. I have prepared an exciting 7 feet tall speaker..pls intro urself when u see me..
The demo will be conducted in a fully analog rig system
peter32,
Surround ideally shd be similar speaker as the front if budget allows it
Vic, can I have lunch in your room?
htkaki
post Feb 8 2015, 04:25 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(carcrazy @ Feb 8 2015, 02:06 AM)
Max sifu,
dun char kow me lar..keke
why dun we have lunch together daily during klav show..even better
whic room r u at this year
Same room, Vic.

Fingers crossed. If have time, we go makan. You are getting the same room?
htkaki
post Mar 27 2015, 06:54 AM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

I would skip the Onkyo. It is no longer using Audyssey. Its own room correction SW is not as good. Check out those comments in avsforum.
htkaki
post Mar 19 2016, 12:19 AM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

I have these. IIRC, I had those as below :-

Dolby TrueHD
DTS-HD Master Audio
Onkyo
Klipsch
B&W
Pioneer
Optoma
htkaki
post Jul 19 2016, 04:30 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(sonerin @ Jul 18 2016, 07:50 PM)
Can explain how does the ddrc-24 work in home theater setup ? I am total noob in dsp
You will need DDRC-88A for your case. Not one but two since it is only 8 channels. So, in a 7.1.4, you need 2. It is basically a room correction device but with a more powerful equalisation as well as better flexibility in user setting. Having said that, sampling resolution is capped at 48kHz. Those with huge collection of hi-rez files may be disappointed.

Datasat uses Dirac Live.

htkaki
post Jul 19 2016, 08:40 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(jamesleetech @ Jul 19 2016, 05:33 PM)
What about playing blurays which have DTS Master Audio that supports a maximum of 24bit 192KHz. I think even DTSX support up to 24 bit 96 KHz. When you say that people with DSD64 384KHz audio files and 24bit 192KHz FLACs may be disappointed, then people who play blurays will also find the Dirac DDRC-88A not suitable. Have I got anything wrong here? Please correct me if I am wrong.

The Dirac specs page for DDRC-88A mentioned the internal processing and sampling rate at 32bit 48KHz BUT did not say anything about the Audio Input Connectivity, BUT both the nanoAVR HDA and nanoAVR stated the Audio Input Connectivity supported sample rate from 44.1k to 192kHz which is within the bluray audio specs.

Also, what about people who uses XLR connections from Pre-Amp/AV Processor to 7.1 channel Power Amp... so, will Dirac nanoAVR HDA or nanoAVR DL be better for Home Theatre using HDMI connections, without using RCA connections? Dirac nanoAVR HDA and nanoAVR DL have 2 HDMI inputs and 1 output.

https://www.minidsp.com/products/ht-series/nanoavr-dl

https://www.minidsp.com/products/ht-series/nanoavr-hda

Obviously SSJBen is giving the thumbs up  :thumbsup: to his Dirac DDRC-24 for his subs. I think the Dirac DSP products should be better than Audyssey or YPAO so what is the situation for people who wants to use the entire 7.1.2 channels (with Atmos/DTSX) with XLR connections to different power amps. Will nanoAVR HDA or nanoAVR be the one that is suitable in such cases? If it is and if it is better than Audyssey, Room Perfect or YPAO, then Dirac is a viable alternative for better room acoustics solution.

This is unfamiliar territory for me so I hope you or SSJBen will be able to clarify clearer for me.
For your reading :

http://www.avsforum.com/forum/90-receivers...c-live-box.html
htkaki
post Jul 19 2016, 08:43 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(sonerin @ Jul 19 2016, 06:48 PM)
Is just another different type of auto correction like YPAO or mcacc
A very powerful one like I mentioned. Been tempted to get 2. Have to finish my things first before getting it. We discussed this quite some time ago with anfieldude. I think Skylinestar already bought it but dunno which model
htkaki
post Jul 19 2016, 09:13 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(sonerin @ Jul 19 2016, 08:58 PM)
Indeed is powerful. I am just too lazy to do it. 😜
I had the umik mic. Got it years ago. If you want, I can lend it to you

Forgotten. You need to learn REW first tongue.gif Download the software into your laptop. Read the REW instructions in HomeTheaterShack.com.

We first experimented with REW about 8 years ago if my memory did not fail me. It was posted in this forum by anfieldude. We did a few including my ht system back then.

This post has been edited by htkaki: Jul 19 2016, 10:16 PM
htkaki
post Jul 19 2016, 10:12 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(jamesleetech @ Jul 19 2016, 05:33 PM)
What about playing blurays which have DTS Master Audio that supports a maximum of 24bit 192KHz. I think even DTSX support up to 24 bit 96 KHz. When you say that people with DSD64 384KHz audio files and 24bit 192KHz FLACs may be disappointed, then people who play blurays will also find the Dirac DDRC-88A not suitable. Have I got anything wrong here? Please correct me if I am wrong.

The Dirac specs page for DDRC-88A mentioned the internal processing and sampling rate at 32bit 48KHz BUT did not say anything about the Audio Input Connectivity, BUT both the nanoAVR HDA and nanoAVR stated the Audio Input Connectivity supported sample rate from 44.1k to 192kHz which is within the bluray audio specs.

NanoAVR

NanoAVR HD

DDRC88

look at its output sample rate. Only NanoAVR HD at 96kHz

That's the reason why I am holding back

htkaki
post Jul 19 2016, 10:15 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

kazekage_09, what is your budget for it?

This post has been edited by htkaki: Jul 19 2016, 10:17 PM

0.1328sec    0.68    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 04:09 AM