Your Home Theater Setup.. v2, Let's share..
hushymushy
May 19 2014, 11:59 AM
hi all......its been a long time since i've been missing fr my hobby and now recently embarking on my next journey in home entertainment.....
so first off........i have not gotten my HT equipment and still running off my audio rig
i have plans to built my audio room cum ht room ....hence the need for me to understand and collect more info and opinion.
before i get into the equipment details....in my opinion, the room size and built has to be correct first as the first basic fundamentals
potential room size: 16' x 27'. Some say this size is ok. what do you think?
there's been a lot of debates and topics about the walls, roof and floor. My plans: walls: double layer brick, or single layer brick with 80kg rockwool panels all round
ceiling: concrete with plaster ceiling. not sure how else or what else to do
floor: wood laminated 12mm (not sure if i hv the budget for solid wood floor)
question: can i have the room without windows? scared not enuf ventilation and air. any sifu here has done it without windows? if put windows.....how to sound proof?
projector screen size: what's the recommended screen size for such a room? out of my thoughts.....my current audio rig is going in with a separate ht 5.1speakers
my current speakers are floor standers about 1.15m tall each.....therefore it might block the lower part of the screen if mounted too low
the ht speakers, i have plans to place it behind d screen. the screen will be fixed at the 16' wall, 3feet away from the wall using wood frames and black velvet cloth the 3 feet is for me to hide the HT speakers
power wiring: since my 3 phase power is in the process approval.....i'm planning to separate 1 dedicated phase for the audio room (however the aircon and non audio/video will be from another phase)
1. use same DB box for the entire 3 phase and just split the phase and fuses accordingly? or
2. two separate DB box where 2 phase for other usage and 1 dedicated for AV. So far can't find any audio grade......for me.....zero power filtration and pure copper would do
3. power cable gauge? anyone tried using bigger AWG sizes like 8AWG? or normal 14awg/12awg is sufficient?
here comes my plans for the equipment:
HT setup: Projector: 4k projector. Not decided which one, but am highly interested in Sony for the time being. Any other recommendation?
Screen: 100" to 120". as long as it fits, maximizes and not being blocked by my speaker
HT amp: LX57.
HT speakers: few brand in mind.....KEF, Jamo, Mission....budget about 10k for 5.1
Bluray: Oppo 105 & my current Dune HD Max
cables: don't plan to fit any boombastic cables.....probably standard power cords, standard 1.4 hdmis and vandamme speaker cables. power conditioner probably only for the source only.
since my audio rig is complete......no changes to it.....
anyone know where to find those nice cozy HT room chairs? better is come with motorized recliner......just a thought......but if budget tak cukup....then settle for normal sofa first
hushymushy
May 19 2014, 07:39 PM
paskal.....having just 1 double layer wall...wouldn't the sound be abit imbalance? i'm talkng from an audiophile perspective....HT probably not much effect as the amp can be recalibrated.
any suggestion on where to put the projector?
rear wall? ceiling mount?
hushymushy
May 20 2014, 12:07 PM
you've got a point too.....
my plan is to sit 15' from the screen. my floor stander will be 8 feet apart.....or even 8'6" apart (and no, i'm not a believer that speakers must be 6' apart). can't have the floor stander too close, unlike book shelves the speaker positioning is neither right or wrong. its what sounds best to the ears.
Sonus Faber Elipsa or Stradavari can go 10feet apart given the right amp power....
i believe that the larger the speakers, the more room you need to let it breathe.....just like the Wilson Audio.....whether its Sasha, Puppy or Alexandra.....you need the room space....
so probably a 120" will snug in comfortably....
This post has been edited by hushymushy: May 20 2014, 05:00 PM
hushymushy
May 20 2014, 04:57 PM
QUOTE(zenjiazenjia @ May 20 2014, 04:51 PM) Does below quote consider reasonable? Onkyo TX-NR525 x 1 SET> RM2200 Wharfedale Diamond 122 x 1 PR > RM1300 Wharfedale Diamond 101C x 1 PC > RM950 Proficient Audio C610 x 1 PR > RM1200 Wharfedale S-10e Subwoofer x 1 PC > 950 have not heard of proficient audio before....rear surrond speakers? but the rest seems right.
hushymushy
May 20 2014, 05:29 PM
well....do shop around before you decide....can't comment much
you can take a look at other speaker brands like Jamo, PSB, KEF Mission and many more.
best to audition it before deciding.....
hushymushy
May 21 2014, 09:34 AM
Pascal...agreed on the good quality wiring.... Am thinking of screened power cables pure copper for the ht room.....
hushymushy
May 21 2014, 11:38 PM
QUOTE(htkaki @ May 21 2014, 08:59 PM) Long time didn't hear from you, hm. Did you manage to get the cables that you wanted? hi max......nope......didn't manage to get the XLOs. while i was in bangkok, was at KS&Sons.....they used to distribute XLO.....they stopped distributing now had an intensive session with Walter and sort of surprised that the Reference 2 was actually better than the Reference 3. Same goes for the Signature. I am now on a mixture of Transparent Reference MM2 for spkr cables and interconnets with Nordost power cables. Bought the transparents from Bangkok....used units......shall i say demo run in units at 60% of the price. The Nordost power cables is somewhat better than the XLO Reference 2 power cords that i hv.....
hushymushy
May 24 2014, 02:31 PM
QUOTE(paskal @ May 23 2014, 03:27 PM) bro your proposed room size, the 16'x27' issit already built? hi paskal.......pending for DBKL approval. architect submitted entire house reno to DBKL..... so yeah pretty much i would say the 16' x 27' is confirmed. skeelee.....i wished i have the opportunity to put my audio speakers behind the screen......however don't think it is possible.... unless i shift the screen to 5 feet away from the wall.....hide the audio and HT speakers behind the screen, which will block sound from my audio speakers Cardas golden rule is a yes and no thing.... if following Cardas's rules my speakers required to be 7.152' feet from rear wall and 4.4' from side wall......that's going to be a challenge for the screen. This post has been edited by hushymushy: May 24 2014, 02:38 PM
hushymushy
May 24 2014, 03:41 PM
hhhhmmmmm u guys r right......and perhaps mixing d audio with HT is a bad idea?
hushymushy
May 26 2014, 11:56 PM
interesting
hushymushy
May 30 2014, 07:43 PM
elhefe.......sini you pun ada.... nampak giler hifi gear in your place man
yeah thinking about that......but tested it at a couple of places....the sound seems mellowed
hushymushy
May 31 2014, 01:22 PM
Hey bro....yeah man....long time didn't catch up Last we meet was almost 10years ago!!
hushymushy
Jun 7 2014, 11:58 PM
Dont tell me is the same contractor called starts with Tan
hushymushy
Jun 10 2014, 09:19 AM
unfortunately $$$$ is the biggest show stopper
hushymushy
Jun 17 2014, 08:49 PM
ah victor taikor......no matter how much I squeeze KK....my dream setup is still not within reach...
hushymushy
Jul 24 2014, 11:22 AM
has anyone here with a 7.2 or 9.2 setup?
am thinking of using all wall mount bookshelves units and 2 subs
i noticed in the cinema they use wall mounted speakers.....
3 feet to 4 feet high from floor for home?
3 channel in front, 2 to left wall and 2 to right wall, 2 rear wall
assuming one unit bookshelve estimated 1k each.....9 units would be 9k subs maybe 3k each? total 15k for the speakers and subs.....
what do you guys think?
hushymushy
Jul 24 2014, 12:59 PM
my room is going to be 27' long x 16' wide toying between a 7.2 and 9.2 setup
hushymushy
Jul 25 2014, 09:49 AM
wah lau....burst budget liao
hushymushy
Jul 28 2014, 03:27 PM
dear sifu sifu.....
since the past few days until now am kinda free due to long weekends.... been reading this HDMI cables over and over
conflicting reviews and story....so i wan't to hear from those here
like i've mentioned before......Oppo 105D as the source LX86 pioneer amp
sony VPL-HW50ES/B projector with a screen size probably 130" to 150"
i read about some technical write ups saying as long as the throughput test comply with 1.4 (example), between company A and B, there is no difference.
then comes the cable specialist that says their 1.4 hdmi is better than the rest......
i plan to use a 10m to 15m hdmi cable from the pioneer amp to the projector.
what's your opinion?
hushymushy
Jul 29 2014, 09:55 AM
has anyone heard of Sarowin cables? http://www.msb.my/webshaper/store/viewProd...kProductItem=61i'm using it at home currently and so far i'm ok with the quality the price is also reasonable i think 5meter for rm80