Car Tint Advice - V2, Raytech, Vkool, Huper Optic, 3M or .....

arvind13
post Apr 24 2026, 11:02 AM

408 posts

Male

QUOTE(KenDiriwan @ Apr 23 2026, 03:24 PM)
The current heatwave won, went TotalGard ceramic series.
Difference is day and night.
Absolute worth every penny.
Marn is super easy to deal with
Hey bro.. just to check if it would be better to go for Infusion Pro i/o Ceramic Plus due to the slightly higher TSER % although the TSER difference seems to be only +- 3% ? Price difference about RM300++. hmm.gif
ayamxxx
post Apr 24 2026, 02:36 PM

4,190 posts

Male

QUOTE(arvind13 @ Apr 24 2026, 11:02 AM)
Hey bro.. just to check if it would be better to go for Infusion Pro i/o Ceramic Plus due to the slightly higher TSER % although the TSER difference seems to be only +- 3% ?  Price difference about RM300++.  hmm.gif
Need to google ceramic tint vs sputter tint. Works differently, one is absorbing the infrared one is reflecting the infrared iinm.

But if 99% IRR, should be good already
constant_weight
post Apr 24 2026, 03:27 PM

952 posts

QUOTE(ayamxxx @ Apr 24 2026, 02:36 PM)
Need to google ceramic tint vs sputter tint. Works differently, one is absorbing the infrared one is reflecting the infrared iinm.

But if 99% IRR, should be good already
This is a little bit of misconception.

The accurate definition is sputter is the manufacturing process that deposit the tiny particles on the film, nice and perfectly even (thus the HD clearity). As opposed to colour dye or other older technology to deposit the particles.

Both metallic and ceramic films (or even fancy carbon/graphene) use sputter process in modern age.
Some brands abuse "sputter" as bombastic words, like most people don't know what it actually means.

Metallic high reflection, ceramic high absorption. This concept is correct, a lot of modern films use hybrid mix of metallic and ceramic particles.
Enough metallic to reflect but not enough to interfere modern communications.

100% ceramic can be hot when car is stopped or moving at very slow speed over long time. It needs air over the film to help dissipate the heat.

This post has been edited by constant_weight: Apr 24 2026, 03:33 PM
Nicknamed666
post Apr 25 2026, 05:21 PM
N
172 posts

For those who went to Totalgard kepong before, how was their worksmapship? And which package did you take? Considering whether to take it or the Drivefit tint. Thanks
Aimer247
post Apr 27 2026, 10:29 AM
A
72 posts

QUOTE(KingArthurVI @ Feb 9 2026, 06:10 PM)
Hey guys, getting a new Model 3 Performance and got quoted the following for V-Kool
Is this an overall ok package? Paging Cavino big bro also  notworthy.gif

They said can't do VK on the roof also otherwise will block all signals, which make sense also, so using SolarGard 10% VLT for roof
Please share your V-Kool contact.

Or if anyone have contact for authorized V-Kool isntaller also please share. Thanks.
KenDiriwan
post Apr 28 2026, 10:53 AM

2,284 posts

QUOTE(arvind13 @ Apr 24 2026, 11:02 AM)
Hey bro.. just to check if it would be better to go for Infusion Pro i/o Ceramic Plus due to the slightly higher TSER % although the TSER difference seems to be only +- 3% ?  Price difference about RM300++.  hmm.gif
Well i was just looking for cheapest series due to cannot tahan the heat recently. Plus i was planning to change car soon tongue.gif
But it seems they are pushing Infusion series more than others. If i were to drive my car few years more, i would take the better series to enjoy ROI out of it.

QUOTE(Nicknamed666 @ Apr 25 2026, 05:21 PM)
For those who went to Totalgard kepong before, how was their worksmapship? And which package did you take? Considering whether to take it or the Drivefit tint. Thanks
I hesitated for years to have installed at their factory lot, finally they have their own automotive installation shop at Kota Damansara and i went for it. Workmanship-wise its all good.
Plus i could lepak at OneUtama/Curve while waiting.. lolz
KingArthurVI
post Apr 28 2026, 02:11 PM

BWOAHHHH
1,185 posts

Male

QUOTE(Aimer247 @ Apr 27 2026, 10:29 AM)
Please share your V-Kool contact.

Or if anyone have contact for authorized V-Kool isntaller also please share. Thanks.
Did mine at ArmorShield Penang on Greenlane, sorry if you’re not from Penang. If you are, PM me and I share direct contact for more discount.
Aimer247
post May 3 2026, 08:19 PM
A
72 posts

It's okay. Initally thought wanted to support local brand try some "value for money" tint. In the end still get V-Kool. Topkek
ayamxxx
post May 3 2026, 09:03 PM

4,190 posts

Male

QUOTE(Aimer247 @ May 3 2026, 08:19 PM)
It's okay. Initally thought wanted to support local brand try some "value for money" tint. In the end still get V-Kool. Topkek
What's the price range for V-Kool now? Last time my family car did that back in 2008. Not sure the price back then
virtualgay
post May 5 2026, 11:29 AM

3,489 posts

Male
got a RM500 raytech tint voucher from proton as i bought a new car from them.. not sure worth to install raytech or not as raytech easily cost over 2k for a SUV... any recommendation or advice?
Cavino
post May 5 2026, 12:40 PM

858 posts

Male
QUOTE(virtualgay @ May 5 2026, 11:29 AM)
got a RM500 raytech tint voucher from proton as i bought a new car from them.. not sure worth to install raytech or not as raytech easily cost over 2k for a SUV... any recommendation or advice?
Did you ever wonder why ppl bought high end car when they could get similar size local car at a fraction of the price?

Both cars can get you from Point A to B with comfort some more.

That is becoz ppl have different perspective of what comfort and performance is. Some don't bother with comfort and go for performance. Some prefer premium material in the cars while some don't bother as long as it can do the job. Some want 100% comfort but some 70% is already great and don't bother with more premium and comfort material for the balance of 30%.

Some pay RM500 for 2% increment of comfort, some say not worth the price for that 2%. It depends on how you look at it and how much you willing to pay to squeeze every drop out of it. Some don't bother coz the default amount is already great enuf for them. However some think default amount just not what they want, the want to max out the comfort.
Some ppl 26 degree in temp is just right but for some, already sweating, the heat tolerance level for each person is different thus the different expectation.

So it is difficult to answer it is worth it to install Raytech.

I myself spend 3K to installed Irispro premium metallic sputter tint to max out the heat rejection for the selected VLT. However some feel 1K tint already feel as good. That 1K tint does not feel as good to me but for that guy, he feels good already...So is he right or am I right? Different expectation, different comfort limit and different budget.

You want absolute premium with extra features like better anti-glare, max out heat rejection for the VLT, blue light protection, you got to pay for it but if you ok with 1K or less tint, by all means if that how you feel, then it is the tint you want.

This post has been edited by Cavino: May 5 2026, 12:45 PM
alexei
post May 6 2026, 05:28 PM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,942 posts

QUOTE(virtualgay @ May 5 2026, 11:29 AM)
they have ceramic and sputtering films, research a bit more and see what you prefer
any film is better than no film, and these reputable brands will not have issues when you need to remove them down the road

I did mine, and I'm going Vkool

0.0691sec    0.76    9 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th May 2026 - 09:15 AM