491 Pages « < 456 457 458 459 460 > » Bottom

Car Tint Advice - V2, Raytech, Vkool, Huper Optic, 3M or .....

ayamxxx
post May 16 2024, 12:52 PM

4,062 posts

QUOTE(dogbert_chew @ May 16 2024, 12:48 PM)
Bro,

Which route you drive usually encounter rocks..

Want to avoid it 😅
heading to Lumut from KL, back and forth, using those trunk roads, after exit Sungkai PLUS highway. back then the highway yet to be completed as of now. Too many lorry there

This post has been edited by ayamxxx: May 16 2024, 12:55 PM
dwRK
post May 16 2024, 06:11 PM

the consummate chartist
6,248 posts

QUOTE(billyboy @ May 11 2024, 02:19 PM)
Has anyone bought tint film from taobao and tried installing? 

Easier to buy, maybe tougher to install……
bought 4 different films from shopee... for testing n diy...

on my 7th time trying today... finally managed window install without much drama... hahaha

im quite skillful n handy... and this has been quite a challenging and learning experience

after the 6th try... was thinking give up and just go with totalgard

This post has been edited by dwRK: May 16 2024, 07:18 PM
Rammygn
post May 16 2024, 07:34 PM

90 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ May 16 2024, 06:11 PM)

on my 7th time trying today... finally managed window install without much drama... hahaha

im quite skillful n handy... and this has been quite a challenging and learning experience

Haha. Congrats! Your perseverance is heroic. 👌🏼
dwRK
post May 16 2024, 08:22 PM

the consummate chartist
6,248 posts

QUOTE(Rammygn @ May 16 2024, 07:34 PM)
Haha. Congrats! Your perseverance is heroic. 👌🏼
thanks... it was really a humbling experience... so frustrating... makes me question myself throughout... hahaha

ayamxxx
post May 16 2024, 09:33 PM

4,062 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ May 16 2024, 06:11 PM)

or u could just bring the rolls to tint shop nearby and pay for the installation instead rclxms.gif
dwRK
post May 16 2024, 10:33 PM

the consummate chartist
6,248 posts

QUOTE(ayamxxx @ May 16 2024, 09:33 PM)
or u could just bring the rolls to tint shop nearby and pay for the installation instead  rclxms.gif
i install for testing... doesn't have to be perfect, but might as well take the opportunity to learn and do it properly

right now, left side windows and right side windows have different tints... biggrin.gif

by the time am done... i probably expert liao with final installation... laugh.gif

neekun
post May 17 2024, 11:12 AM

I'm a Mac
2,573 posts

QUOTE(SportyHandling @ May 13 2024, 04:13 PM)

Original quoted prices for Titanium Plus are RM3k+ but in reality it starts at RM1.2k+. There are further discounts too if you are lucky.
Bro, the said the promo is over :-(

Do share if you know who to contact to get the promo price. Thanks!
neekun
post May 17 2024, 11:33 AM

I'm a Mac
2,573 posts

QUOTE(Cavino @ Feb 27 2024, 07:54 AM)
DX series has a obviously better heat resistance than D series, not on paper but on real life feel. You can seriously consider it if the price is not too much difference.
DX as in Diamond?

Cavino
post May 17 2024, 03:58 PM

842 posts

QUOTE(neekun @ May 17 2024, 11:33 AM)
DX as in Diamond?
Diamond 60X (DX60), not in website. Instead of titanium double sputter, it add upgraded additional silver sputter to the nano-titanium sputter layer. Silver sputter is one of the best heat metal used for tint for heat resistant but do come with oxidization risk. Nano titanium has no such risk tho.

They added extra layer of material (whatever that is) to minimize oxidization of silver. It has noticeable better heat resistance but also noticeable dimmer with hazy light greenish internal lighting vs golden Diamond 60 (D6). It terms of brightness, I prefer D60 better but DX60 does really better heat resistance. My civic has D60 FWS, DX60 side. Persona DX60 FWS...so sort of can compare under direct sunlight on the back of the palm. On paper VLT only 2% lesser for DX60 but it is noticeable in real life, still the meter VLT reading is indeed only 2% less than D60. Maybe is the colouring make it somehow dimmer (some might like it) but I prefer brighter if possible. At night both very clear, no difference.
neekun
post May 17 2024, 07:05 PM

I'm a Mac
2,573 posts

QUOTE(Cavino @ May 17 2024, 03:58 PM)
Diamond 60X (DX60), not in website. Instead of titanium double sputter, it add upgraded additional silver sputter to the nano-titanium sputter layer. Silver sputter is one of the best heat metal used for tint for heat resistant but do come with oxidization risk. Nano titanium has no such risk tho.

They added extra layer of material (whatever that is) to minimize oxidization of silver. It has noticeable better heat resistance but also noticeable dimmer with hazy light greenish internal lighting vs golden Diamond 60 (D6). It terms of brightness, I prefer D60 better but DX60 does really better heat resistance. My civic has D60 FWS, DX60 side. Persona DX60 FWS...so sort of can compare under direct sunlight on the back of the palm. On paper VLT only 2% lesser for DX60 but it is noticeable in real life, still the meter VLT reading is indeed only 2% less than D60. Maybe is the colouring make it somehow dimmer (some might like it) but I prefer brighter if possible. At night both very clear, no difference.
No wonder can't find DX in website. I don't think I like it cause I don't like greenish / brownish internal lighting, prefer clear light.

You have experience with TotalGard Titanium Plus, brightest is VLT40 with TSER 75. I like the high TSER as I assume it should be very good in blocking all the heat but still can't decide should take the risk to use on front windscreen and front passenger as this will violate JPJ rule gao gao hahaha!

Another choice will be RhinePro Diamond11, VLT70 but TSER 58 only ( https://rhinepro.com.my/diamond.html ). I guess even with this also on front windscreen will fail JPJ if kena check cause the windscreen itself for sure had some sort of light tint already.

Decision decision decision hmm.gif
dwRK
post May 18 2024, 02:06 PM

the consummate chartist
6,248 posts

QUOTE(neekun @ May 17 2024, 07:05 PM)
No wonder can't find DX in website. I don't think I like it cause I don't like greenish / brownish internal lighting, prefer clear light.

You have experience with TotalGard Titanium Plus, brightest is VLT40 with TSER 75. I like the high TSER as I assume it should be very good in blocking all the heat but still can't decide should take the risk to use on front windscreen and front passenger as this will violate JPJ rule gao gao hahaha!

Another choice will be RhinePro Diamond11, VLT70 but TSER 58 only ( https://rhinepro.com.my/diamond.html ). I guess even with this also on front windscreen will fail JPJ if kena check cause the windscreen itself for sure had some sort of light tint already.

Decision decision decision  hmm.gif
58 tser is quite high for 70 vlt... best i can find for diy is 56 tser at this vlt.. am testing a darker 65 vlt and it has a worse 52 tser...

ayamxxx
post May 18 2024, 02:21 PM

4,062 posts

QUOTE(neekun @ May 17 2024, 11:12 AM)
Bro, the said the promo is over :-(

Do share if you know who to contact to get the promo price. Thanks!
think that's a long time ago price promotion, when they kinda started the brand, 4-5 years ago. not sure maybe can contact the Totalgard seller.
ayamxxx
post May 18 2024, 02:24 PM

4,062 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ May 18 2024, 02:06 PM)
58 tser is quite high for 70 vlt... best i can find for diy is 56 tser at this vlt.. am testing a darker 65 vlt and it has a worse 52 tser...
quite happy with 50% VLT especially the front windscreen, the sunlight is too bright and makes me dislike driving at noon time, so 50% VLT is what I choose. I faced a few police roadblocks with no issue, never faced a JPJ roadblock since iirc 2014.
dwRK
post May 18 2024, 02:51 PM

the consummate chartist
6,248 posts

QUOTE(ayamxxx @ May 18 2024, 02:24 PM)
quite happy with 50% VLT especially the front windscreen, the sunlight is too bright and makes me dislike driving at noon time, so 50% VLT is what I choose. I faced a few police roadblocks with no issue, never faced a JPJ roadblock since iirc 2014.
yeah 50% vlt still looks quite clear on fws...

i am testing 65% vlt for fws and 55% vlt for windows mainly for the looks... these two are blueish... there's no size for 55% vlt for my fws, des why no choice try 65%...

lyc1982
post May 19 2024, 02:43 PM

ExpectNoMercy
2,329 posts

QUOTE(neekun @ May 11 2024, 03:04 PM)
Me too same info was given by the SA. He said usually if our car tint of front windscreen still visible can see the person inside, the police will not ask us go jpj to test during roadblock. But I thought during roadblock they can use the device to immediately test and know the vlt already.  I am deciding vlt 70 for jpj compliant or 40 for more cooling at my front windscreen.  Any experiences to share ?
for my car...initially wanted to go 15% only for FWS...then think about it again, when driving at night might be a hazard when it's too dark

in the end, installed 40% for FWS

during roadblocks like you said - if driver is visible to police/jpj outside, they won't whip out the meter device to test
neekun
post May 19 2024, 06:48 PM

I'm a Mac
2,573 posts

QUOTE(lyc1982 @ May 19 2024, 02:43 PM)
for my car...initially wanted to go 15% only for FWS...then think about it again, when driving at night might be a hazard when it's too dark

in the end, installed 40% for FWS

during roadblocks like you said - if driver is visible to police/jpj outside, they won't whip out the meter device to test
Thanks for sharing. I guess I need to go and see the actual 40% vlt is really how dark from outside. Then only decide to take it or take the 70%.

ayamxxx
post May 19 2024, 07:11 PM

4,062 posts

QUOTE(neekun @ May 19 2024, 06:48 PM)
Thanks for sharing. I guess I need to go and see the actual 40% vlt is really how dark from outside. Then only decide to take it or take the 70%.
At current climate will suggest 40% VLT 😄
neekun
post May 20 2024, 03:22 AM

I'm a Mac
2,573 posts

QUOTE(ayamxxx @ May 19 2024, 07:11 PM)
At current climate will suggest 40% VLT 😄
Yea ideally 40% is better as TSER is 75%. But need to check too if it’s too dark later attractive to police and kena disturb hahaha
Cavino
post May 20 2024, 09:21 AM

842 posts

QUOTE(neekun @ May 17 2024, 07:05 PM)

Decision decision decision  hmm.gif
D60 is very clear to me (actually VKool Elite has green hue outside but yet inside, its actually very light brownish hue lighting for me), so no difference when I replace VKool Elite with D60 except for it's slightly dimmer in brightness (still very clear and sharp but put side by side with VKool Elite, VLT56 vs VLT64 has noticeable brightness difference). Unfortunately DX does have clear but light greenish lighting making it even more dimmer than original expectation. Still sharp and clear tho, my proton persona are good with DX60 FWS, really worked in hot sunlight. That is why I say I prefer the D60 for FWS. Both still looked clear, likely wont get stop at roadblock.

I noticed, those VLT 50 to 70, really no difference at night, all super clear and sharp. For me, the VLT gaps (at least for clear tint 50-70) only makes a difference in daylight.
It is when you go Puspakom, borderline 70% might fail depending on your car windscreen quality. I also in opinion keeping around 50 very good liao, 40 might be a bit more obvious on darkness tint detection but then again, Ayam never kena stop. IMO, as long as it is above VLT 50% especially around VLT60, very safe liao, at least in roadblock unless your luck is actually deep down in drain.

I am a bit sceptical tho, on high TSER claim especially on lower end or priced tint, unless experienced the tint in person, I would take those claim with a pinch of salt. That is why multiple opinion of real life users are more practical, but then again everyone got their own expectation, some say Totalgard good but those with higher expectation find it lacking, can't say who is right. Personal preference vs price ratio. Even 3M got it's detractor (maybe scammed with false tint????).

IMO, One of the best clear tint with proven good heat reflection, VKool Elite at 70VLT goes around TSER 55 only, I think. That is using silver-based and other rare metal sputter on heat reflection. However other nano-tech are improving. VKool Elite is using older tech since it is already there for so many years (I might be wrong, maybe they do incremental update), other brands with newer nano-tech might slowly or have exceed them..

This post has been edited by Cavino: May 20 2024, 09:31 AM
ayamxxx
post May 20 2024, 09:35 AM

4,062 posts

QUOTE(neekun @ May 20 2024, 03:22 AM)
Yea ideally 40% is better as TSER is 75%. But need to check too if it’s too dark later attractive to police and kena disturb hahaha
my other car just changed to 40% VLT front windscreen after windscreen replacement, best to drive with this on noon time. Night still clear from inside.

This post has been edited by ayamxxx: May 20 2024, 09:37 AM

491 Pages « < 456 457 458 459 460 > » Top

0.0314sec    0.91    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 11:34 PM