491 Pages « < 448 449 450 451 452 > » Bottom

Car Tint Advice - V2, Raytech, Vkool, Huper Optic, 3M or .....

ayamxxx
post Apr 12 2024, 10:26 PM

4,061 posts

QUOTE(gabwst17 @ Apr 12 2024, 01:08 PM)
Hey man, wanted to get your feedback. How has it been after 2-3years usage?
3 years plus now it still working ok (not sure if check on meter) but the heat rejection still not making the car interior hot as low IRR Tint. My windows are all with lower VLT, 50% front windshield and windows while rear with lowest VLT available.
katsumoto2011
post Apr 12 2024, 11:29 PM

219 posts

Seeing you guys talk alot about tint....

Just wanna share some info.....

Do you guys know , V-Kool , Huper Optic , Llumar are all the same parent company ?

All are make on the same freaking factory on the same machine.

That just the branded ones not even including those so call OEM or house brand......
shouheng95
post Apr 14 2024, 12:39 PM

18 posts

Anyone installed irspro diamond series at the front wind screen? I see their catalogue they only offer highesr 60% vlt? Will it become issue with jpj?
dwRK
post Apr 14 2024, 01:53 PM

the consummate chartist
6,247 posts

QUOTE(shouheng95 @ Apr 14 2024, 12:39 PM)
Anyone installed irspro diamond series at the front wind screen? I see their catalogue they only offer highesr 60% vlt? Will it become issue with jpj?
definitely not legal... only if kena ops jpj tint gelap...

dwRK
post Apr 14 2024, 02:00 PM

the consummate chartist
6,247 posts

QUOTE(katsumoto2011 @ Apr 12 2024, 11:29 PM)
Seeing you guys talk alot about tint....

Just wanna share some info.....

Do you guys know , V-Kool , Huper Optic , Llumar are all the same parent company ?

All are make on the same freaking factory on the same machine.

That just the branded ones not even including those so call OEM or house brand......
same owner yes...

but different technologies... different machines... different price point...etc etc...

best house brand tint from China may beat worst vkool tint from eastman... anyways just saying

amscouzach57
post Apr 14 2024, 03:29 PM

535 posts

QUOTE(ayamxxx @ Apr 12 2024, 10:26 PM)
3 years plus now it still working ok (not sure if check on meter) but the heat rejection still not making the car interior hot as low IRR Tint. My windows are all with lower VLT, 50% front windshield and windows while rear with lowest VLT available.
I'll be tinting my new car with Totalgard when I collect it next month.

Your testimony convinced me.
dogbert_chew
post Apr 14 2024, 03:35 PM

1,565 posts

QUOTE(amscouzach57 @ Apr 14 2024, 03:29 PM)
I'll be tinting my new car with Totalgard when I collect it next month.

Your testimony convinced me.
Same here, the tint is good and effective after 2+ years.

Just need to be assertive with the clerk Marn to ensure he allocate experience installer. Else multiple visits during work hours to redo.
Cavino
post Apr 15 2024, 08:33 AM

842 posts

QUOTE(Sir_Jim @ Apr 12 2024, 07:52 PM)
for 3k metallic, prolly I will go for llumar or xpel metalised tints.. at least if thing happened, still can claim at other branch... for irispro, i don;t know if they allowed so as most local brands can only claim warranty with the respective outlets instead of all other dealers. be safer than sorry.
I'm not sure if Irispro has dealers but warranty can be claimed at any Irispro branches.

This post has been edited by Cavino: Apr 15 2024, 08:55 AM
Cavino
post Apr 15 2024, 08:37 AM

842 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Apr 12 2024, 07:00 PM)
glastec omega looks like have better stats than vkool... but i dunno anyone using it...

after weeks of searching found a few shopee tints with great stats too... bought a bunch for testing smile.gif feel like buying a meter too...

anyways for now will use my face for testing them vs vkool... biggrin.gif
Many tints claimed heavenly stats but in reality, most just doesn't work in real life performance. Some worked as claimed but after a year or 2, quality degraded until feel no tint.
You really have to buy a meter to test the tint and then re-test them after a year of real life usage.
Cavino
post Apr 15 2024, 08:45 AM

842 posts

QUOTE(shouheng95 @ Apr 14 2024, 12:39 PM)
I have one car with Diamond 60 FWS. Real life VLT reading is 56% on FWS for my car. It looks clear although if put side by side comparison with VKool Elite 70%, it is dimmer with more golden hue external reflection. At night, no reflection lor. If no put side by side, looks clear to me, likely won't get stop during operasi. Operasi normally target those cars with obvious dark tint, 60% is not dark, its more towards clear tint than dark unless you darn unlucky.

However Puspakom sure cannot pass. Then again, VKool Elite with stated 71-73% VLT also cannot pass Puspakom. Only those tints with 80% listed VLT can pass but if you want good heat resistance from them, you can forget about it. But got tint better than no tint, at least they filter most UV out reducing UV damage on dashboard (besides heat damage).

This post has been edited by Cavino: Apr 15 2024, 08:53 AM
dwRK
post Apr 15 2024, 08:56 AM

the consummate chartist
6,247 posts

QUOTE(Cavino @ Apr 15 2024, 08:37 AM)
Many tints claimed heavenly stats but in reality, most just doesn't work in real life performance. Some worked as claimed but after a year or 2, quality degraded until feel no tint.
You really have to buy a meter to test the tint and then re-test them after a year of real life usage.
this glastec more expensive than vkool... too expensive to try... cant find their source/manufacturer anywhere also... lol...

last week i peeled off my vkool from front windscreen... sputter layer is purplish chrome... easy to peel... yesterday i peeled off my rear vkool... but it is so brittle... and sputter layer is different colour, brownish chrome... looks and feel totally different from the front... feel like kena con 20 years ago...

dwRK
post Apr 15 2024, 09:00 AM

the consummate chartist
6,247 posts

QUOTE(Cavino @ Apr 15 2024, 08:45 AM)
I have one car with Diamond 60 FWS. Real life VLT reading is 56% on FWS for my car. It looks clear although if put side by side comparison with VKool Elite 70%, it is dimmer with more golden hue external reflection. At night, no reflection lor. If no put side by side, looks clear to me, likely won't get stop during operasi. Operasi normally target those cars with obvious dark tint, 60% is not dark, its more towards clear tint than dark unless you darn unlucky.

However Puspakom sure cannot pass. Then again, VKool Elite with stated 71-73% VLT also cannot pass Puspakom. Only those tints with 80% listed VLT can pass but if you want good heat resistance from them, you can forget about it. But got tint better than no tint, at least they filter most UV out reducing UV damage on dashboard (besides heat damage).
actually vkool elite will pass puspakom... i got "puspakom pass" stickers...

ayamxxx
post Apr 15 2024, 10:18 AM

4,061 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Apr 15 2024, 09:00 AM)
think on puspakom, the windscreen will always reject cz VLT, some windscreen already cw its VLT percentage even putting 70% VLT will results it lower than requirement, hence failed. Front window with 50% VLT this one can be ok or failed.

Good news nowadays, the rear window, rear screen sure pass cz unlimited VLT requirement by JPJ. To be safe, just remove the 3 front window for puspakom.

This post has been edited by ayamxxx: Apr 15 2024, 10:53 AM
Cavino
post Apr 15 2024, 10:19 AM

842 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Apr 15 2024, 09:00 AM)
I failed mine when I do voluntary check to try to see if I want to pass the car to my daughter name a couple years ago. When I do reading on the current VKool Elite recently with Irispro, it read 64% on my FWS VKool Elite. I heard Puspakom have buffer of 10% to fail them but not sure if it is true..or I am just unlucky. Although my previous tinter many years ago say lots of his customer's VKool Elite failed Puspakom although I heard some can pass. So not sure now. Maybe I just got unlucky or my old City FWS is pre-tinted from factory (changed b4 due to cracked to supposedly original Honda FWS).

That is why now I don't bother with FWS being 70%. As long as it is clear looking tint not to get stop during operasi. Will get screwed tho when want to change car ownership but with my City experience, I gave up worrying about them.

This post has been edited by Cavino: Apr 15 2024, 10:34 AM
ayamxxx
post Apr 15 2024, 10:22 AM

4,061 posts

QUOTE(Cavino @ Apr 15 2024, 08:37 AM)
the tint claimed great stats but need to check with meter. if it indeed as per spec on meter, especially the IRR, VLT, TSER (this one not sure got meter to check) it will ok for heat rejection. But again, Metallic based are different vs Ceramic Tint vs Nano Ceramic tint on how it reject heat, some reflective, some absorb heat etc hence different outcome.

agree on 2nd points, degradation depends on quality

This post has been edited by ayamxxx: Apr 15 2024, 10:54 AM
ayamxxx
post Apr 15 2024, 10:24 AM

4,061 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Apr 15 2024, 08:56 AM)
this glastec more expensive than vkool... too expensive to try... cant find their source/manufacturer anywhere also... lol...

last week i peeled off my vkool from front windscreen... sputter layer is purplish chrome... easy to peel... yesterday i peeled off my rear vkool... but it is so brittle... and sputter layer is different colour, brownish chrome... looks and feel totally different from the front... feel like kena con 20 years ago...
only youtubers praise this cz got sponsored by them. if brand new brand but more expansive than reputable brand, I skip
dwRK
post Apr 15 2024, 10:49 AM

the consummate chartist
6,247 posts

yeah... FWS bare glass VLT can be 93-97%... so i guess not all vkool elite will pass... i was just thinking about my car... didn't think about other... lol...

i stand corrected...

vimaa94
post Apr 15 2024, 10:57 AM

49 posts

park.
Cavino
post Apr 15 2024, 01:57 PM

842 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Apr 15 2024, 08:56 AM)

I can't remember when VKool Elite appear. Before elite appear, VKool using VKool-70 for all windscreen and windows. When Elite appear, they use something like Vkool-75 or euro spec with higher VLT (I think about 75%) for FWS. VKool-70 got problem with smart tag then. VKool-75 or Elite don't.

Don't know if VKool still uses the same spec for Elite. Anyway, if your old tints are Elite, then there is high chances the FWS is using different spec than all other screens of the car.
dwRK
post Apr 15 2024, 04:42 PM

the consummate chartist
6,247 posts

QUOTE(Cavino @ Apr 15 2024, 01:57 PM)
I can't remember when VKool Elite appear. Before elite appear, VKool using VKool-70 for all windscreen and windows. When Elite appear, they use something like Vkool-75 or euro spec with higher VLT (I think about 75%) for FWS. VKool-70 got problem with smart tag then. VKool-75 or Elite don't.

Don't know if VKool still uses the same spec for Elite. Anyway, if your old tints are Elite, then there is high chances the FWS is using different spec than all other screens of the car.
my vkool is 2nd gen... 1st gen is best heat rejection, smart tag unfriendly... but worst problem is that it corrodes and turns patchy brown after 3-5 yrs....

anyways got 4 more windows to remove... will see how these compares to the front and rear...

this Elite maybe local branding... i dun find it on vkool usa website but then again i didn't look very hard... anyways...

491 Pages « < 448 449 450 451 452 > » Top

0.0224sec    0.44    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 07:59 PM