Car Tint Advice - V2, Raytech, Vkool, Huper Optic, 3M or .....

pillage2001
post Dec 20 2023, 10:37 AM

1,992 posts

QUOTE(Cavino @ Dec 20 2023, 09:00 AM)
Can check out IrisPro if you are going for higher end tint especially if you are in Klang Valley. The specs are high, metalic-based sputter tint (generally better heat resistance). The best alternative to VKool that I have check out so far. All my cars using VKool Elite but too expensive nowadays, so looking for nearest alternative (3M is one but smart tag got issue, so no go). The manager of Klang Valley outlets are the same person. Responsive and very helpful. That is why I recommend.

At the 2.2K to 3K, you can go for Diamond Series (nano-titanium sputter), Elite or the new Diamond X is using silver sputter that has even higher heat resistance but have risk of oxidation.
However they take a risk and give a warranty of 10 years for that.

The tint has extra HEV Blue Light Protection. Really can consider if going high end. So far I already installed for 2 weeks. Diamond D60 in front and D60X/30X for the rest. Heat resistance is good. The tint is darker tho than VK Elite at 56%, but still looks clear. Can use the Elite tint for front windshield if want lighter one.
Sadly I am not in KL. Will need to do this in PG or wait for a week or two before I go back to KL I'll see if there's any in PG. Also, you did for your Civic? How much was it?
Cavino
post Dec 20 2023, 11:51 AM

842 posts

QUOTE(pillage2001 @ Dec 20 2023, 10:37 AM)
Sadly I am not in KL. Will need to do this in PG or wait for a week or two before I go back to KLĀ  I'll see if there's any in PG. Also, you did for your Civic? How much was it?
Old Civic FD.

Full price near to 2.9K including removal of very old tint (done perfectly, no demister damage) coz I choose the DX Series for the silver metal.

The Diamond series is 2.6k++. Elite abt 2.3k++

Can mixed them but might different colour hue. Anyway even DX30 brown hue, inside also brown colour, different from DX60, greenish brown hue already. Unless you tint the entire car with the same type of tint with same VLT tint.

Penang got, based on the website. Can check it out as an option. It is premium pricing and there are other cheaper tints but if want VKool metal-based sputter (with supposedly similar or better performance), then I think this is the closest with half the cost. The 10 years warranty for the premium series, Diamond, DX, Elite does give some peace of mind and confidence in their product.

1, #1, 9, Lebuh Bukit Kecil 6,
11900 Bayan Lepas, Pulau Pinang
Monday to Saturday
(except holidays)
9.00am-6.00pm
Phone: +6012-249 7313

This post has been edited by Cavino: Dec 20 2023, 11:52 AM
pillage2001
post Dec 20 2023, 12:03 PM

1,992 posts

QUOTE(Cavino @ Dec 20 2023, 11:51 AM)
Old Civic FD.

Full price near to 2.9K including removal of very old tint (done perfectly, no demister damage) coz I choose the DX Series for the silver metal.

The Diamond series is 2.6k++. Elite abt 2.3k++

Can mixed them but might different colour hue. Anyway even DX30 brown hue, inside also brown colour, different from DX60, greenish brown hue already. Unless you tint the entire car with the same type of tint with same VLT tint.

Penang got, based on the website. Can check it out as an option. It is premium pricing and there are other cheaper tints but if want VKool metal-based sputter (with supposedly similar or better performance), then I think this is the closest with half the cost. The 10 years warranty for the premium series, Diamond, DX, Elite does give some peace of mind and confidence in their product.

1, #1, 9, Lebuh Bukit Kecil 6,
11900 Bayan Lepas, Pulau Pinang
Monday to Saturday
(except holidays)
9.00am-6.00pm
Phone: +6012-249 7313
Thanks bro. Just talked to them. They recommended Diamon C60/30 for the car and quoted 2.8k. I think it's along the lines of what you mentioned above. So this would be a step on top of huper/raytech/ecotint you reckon?

I don't see D60x on their site though. Is it like the latest and greatest?

This post has been edited by pillage2001: Dec 20 2023, 12:05 PM
Cavino
post Dec 20 2023, 12:38 PM

842 posts

QUOTE(pillage2001 @ Dec 20 2023, 12:03 PM)
Thanks bro. Just talked to them. They recommended Diamon C60/30 for the car and quoted 2.8k. I think it's along the lines of what you mentioned above. So this would be a step on top of huper/raytech/ecotint you reckon?

I don't see D60x on their site though. Is it like the latest and greatest?
Ya, reckon but in reality I'm no expert on this. Just been surveying for quite awhile since my the proven VKool Elite is out from my budget. So try to go for the next best tint, very few metalic-based tint around. The specs looks great but specs really don't say too much...see those house brand...all super great spec but never last or don't really work well.

Spec wise, yes, it should be above them but in reality not truly proven yet. The other brands have been long proven (some say good, some say not good...as usual). Wait till 4 or 5 years later I come back review...hahaha.

The 10 years warranty with 10 years performance warranty is one of the key reason I choose this also. That indicate confidence in their product and trying their best to establish themselves in the local market. Hopefully they are still around 10 years later... sweat.gif That is the risk I'm betting on to replace VKool Elite.

DX series not listed. Very new, silver-based instead of nano-titanium....its a mixed sputter anyway, all in but with mostly silver as main ingredient. They mentioned higher heat resistance, better IRR (proven with test kit) but got higher risk of oxidation like VKool. That is where 10 years warranty comes in. Diamond nano-titanium less or no risk of oxidation.

DX is more like security tint coz DX60 is 4mm and DX30 5mm vs Diamond 3mm.

If you really go for it, then nego at least RM2700 or lower if you are using sedan. If mid size SUV, not so sure, maybe bigger size more pricey.
If do at Puchong, JB or Setia Alam, can contact their manager, Lay Ling. Sure can nego to that price for sedan, SUV size don't know.

My price although not much discount, they did a lot for me, arrange for windscreen change at their shop, handle windscreen change documentation, remove old tints, pre-tint, tint claim from insurance, etc. One stop center for my windscreen change, claim and do tinting at same time.

This post has been edited by Cavino: Dec 20 2023, 01:51 PM
pillage2001
post Dec 20 2023, 02:48 PM

1,992 posts

QUOTE(Cavino @ Dec 20 2023, 12:38 PM)
Ya, reckon but in reality I'm no expert on this. Just been surveying for quite awhile since my the proven VKool Elite is out from my budget. So try to go for the next best tint, very few metalic-based tint around. The specs looks great but specs really don't say too much...see those house brand...all super great spec but never last or don't really work well.

Spec wise, yes, it should be above them but in reality not truly proven yet. The other brands have been long proven (some say good, some say not good...as usual). Wait till 4 or 5 years later I come back review...hahaha.

The 10 years warranty with 10 years performance warranty is one of the key reason I choose this also. That indicate confidence in their product and trying their best to establish themselves in the local market. Hopefully they are still around 10 years later... sweat.gif That is the risk I'm betting on to replace VKool Elite.

DX series not listed. Very new, silver-based instead of nano-titanium....its a mixed sputter anyway, all in but with mostly silver as main ingredient. They mentioned higher heat resistance, better IRR (proven with test kit) but got higher risk of oxidation like VKool. That is where 10 years warranty comes in. Diamond nano-titanium less or no risk of oxidation.

If you really go for it, then nego at least RM2700 or lower if you are using sedan. If mid size SUV, not so sure, maybe bigger size more pricey.
If do at Puchong, JB or Setia Alam, can contact their manager, Lay Ling. Sure can nego to that price for sedan, SUV size don't know.

My price although not much discount, they did a lot for me, arrange for windscreen change at their shop, handle windscreen change documentation, remove old tints, pre-tint, tint claim from insurance, etc. One stop center for my windscreen change, claim and do tinting at same time.
I see, you got alot of services along the way. I am getting my Civic this weekend so I guess it's a small sedan?

Noted on the Dx series. I am thinking go to Diamond on the front and the rear screen and maybe something cheaper for the windows since light penerate most from the big screens front and below. Am thinking to go UV90 but the VLT seems either 35% of 55%. Will have to go to their shop to check it out to see how dark it is. Somehow, diff brand of tints differ even at the same VLT.
Cavino
post Dec 20 2023, 03:24 PM

842 posts

QUOTE(pillage2001 @ Dec 20 2023, 02:48 PM)
I see, you got alot of services along the way. I am getting my Civic this weekend so I guess it's a small sedan?

Noted on the Dx series. I am thinking go to Diamond on the front and the rear screen and maybe something cheaper for the windows since light penerate most from the big screens front and below. Am thinking to go UV90 but the VLT seems either 35% of 55%. Will have to go to their shop to check it out to see how dark it is. Somehow, diff brand of tints differ even at the same VLT.
Civic mid-size lar...but most treat price same as small sedan, not axia small but city small.

The DX30 at real life VLT is about 22%, D30 should be a 2% higher kuah. I tot very dark...but not really. From outside can still inside car albeit not so clear, not the 5% dark tint, hard to see. Inside not so dark, brown lighting coming in instead of dark green or just dark like ecotint. At night no problem see at rear screen, quite clear. I think the VLT is just about right, not too dark and not too bright either. If you light brighter lighting like VKool Elite clear around, then better go D60 or above. That is still darker than Elite coz it adds up to 56% VLT. Still bright, but not as clear.

If you intend to use dark screen at rear, then can use the D30. Cut the light by a lot but don't give the dark enclosed space phobia that some really dark tint might have. Just go D60 front and front side, D30 rear and rear side like what most ppl did. Only the front windscreen not JPJ compliant but then any tint at 70% already not compliant. Only 80% can make it.

If use different type of tint for the side, make sure the hue color or lighting penetrating into the cabin is the same color....Wait rear brown color light come in, side green colour come in, might be weird. Even the brown lighting of DX30 and front DX60 clearer/slight greenish lighting already give me a bit of weird feel bit maybe I'm not used to 2 different light penetration in the same car. All my prev tints same type for whole car.

Also 1 of my main reason for tints if UV and Heat penetration that fade the car accs like dashboard, leather seat (heat). So getting a good TSER and high UV all around helps the car seats and door material too....IMO. But in real life, not sure side windows tints matters or not. I just prefer full long term protection since this is going to last at least 10 years (the warranty is 10 years mah). Already get a good car, don't skimp on that...maybe that is why I always go broke...hahaha

This post has been edited by Cavino: Dec 20 2023, 03:33 PM
pillage2001
post Dec 20 2023, 04:51 PM

1,992 posts

QUOTE(Cavino @ Dec 20 2023, 03:24 PM)
Civic mid-size lar...but most treat price same as small sedan, not axia small but city small.

The DX30 at real life VLT is about 22%, D30 should be a 2% higher kuah. I tot very dark...but not really. From outside can still inside car albeit not so clear, not the 5% dark tint, hard to see. Inside not so dark, brown lighting coming in instead of dark green or just dark like ecotint. At night no problem see at rear screen, quite clear. I think the VLT is just about right, not too dark and not too bright either. If you light brighter lighting like VKool Elite clear around, then better go D60 or above. That is still darker than Elite coz it adds up to 56% VLT. Still bright, but not as clear.

If you intend to use dark screen at rear, then can use the D30. Cut the light by a lot but don't give the dark enclosed space phobia that some really dark tint might have. Just go D60 front and front side, D30 rear and rear side like what most ppl did. Only the front windscreen not JPJ compliant but then any tint at 70% already not compliant. Only 80% can make it.

If use different type of tint for the side, make sure the hue color or lighting penetrating into the cabin is the same color....Wait rear brown color light come in, side green colour come in, might be weird. Even the brown lighting of DX30 and front DX60 clearer/slight greenish lighting already give me a bit of weird feel bit maybe I'm not used to 2 different light penetration in the same car. All my prev tints same type for whole car.

Also 1 of my main reason for tints if UV and Heat penetration that fade the car accs like dashboard, leather seat (heat). So getting a good TSER and high UV all around helps the car seats and door material too....IMO. But in real life, not sure side windows tints matters or not. I just prefer full long term protection since this is going to last at least 10 years (the warranty is 10 years mah). Already get a good car, don't skimp on that...maybe that is why I always go broke...hahaha
Am not worried so much about outside cannot see inside, am worried about I cannot see outside clearly when night comes, Lol. I remember my friend tinting dunno what brand tint and her windows were dark as hell, prolly VLT 25% or so. At night I can't really see outside also. Dunno how she drove.

I'll ensure the hue to be roughly the same. I never really take note of the hue in my previous car but then again I have the same tint for all the windows but thanks for the headsup. I might just bite the bullet for all diamond series but see if the boss can give some extra goodies or not. See if he can PPF coat my headlamps to prevent it turning yellowish in the future.

Technically I am downgrading from an Accord to a Civic. Wife's not happy and say it's not nice but it is what it is. lol
Ku9
post Dec 20 2023, 07:53 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(Cavino @ Dec 20 2023, 12:38 PM)

Shop around tint for Toyota cross, can pm the manager contact?
Cavino
post Dec 21 2023, 10:30 AM

842 posts

QUOTE(pillage2001 @ Dec 20 2023, 04:51 PM)
Am not worried so much about outside cannot see inside, am worried about I cannot see outside clearly when night comes, Lol. I remember my friend tinting dunno what brand tint and her windows were dark as hell, prolly VLT 25% or so. At night I can't really see outside also. Dunno how she drove.

I'll ensure the hue to be roughly the same. I never really take note of the hue in my previous car but then again I have the same tint for all the windows but thanks for the headsup. I might just bite the bullet for all diamond series but see if the boss can give some extra goodies or not. See if he can PPF coat my headlamps to prevent it turning yellowish in the future.

Technically I am downgrading from an Accord to a Civic. Wife's not happy and say it's not nice but it is what it is. lol
Semi Luxury to youngster car...but I love CIVIC, just a bit too low, knee macam giving way in near future.

I worry also 22%+ will be too dark at night. Surprisingly, OK wor. Clear enuf at night, got no issue when I drove home from KL to Klang at 9pm and reverse car into car porch. Definitely much darker than clear tint but manageable. It's not the the ecotint 5% dark.
pillage2001
post Dec 21 2023, 03:46 PM

1,992 posts

QUOTE(Cavino @ Dec 21 2023, 10:30 AM)
Semi Luxury to youngster car...but I love CIVIC, just a bit too low, knee macam giving way in near future.

I worry also 22%+ will be too dark at night. Surprisingly, OK wor. Clear enuf at night, got no issue when I drove home from KL to Klang at 9pm and reverse car into car porch. Definitely much darker than clear tint but manageable. It's not the  the ecotint 5% dark.
Yeah, I saw your comments in the FE thread. Lol I have concerns of it being low as well but I don't think I will hold on to this car for more than 5 years given the steering issues. Kinda ridiculous they can still sell cars with the rack issues which is prevalent globally. They should be brought down for this.

Okie, let me go test the tint and then we'll figure out what we wanna get. I might just do Elite as it's almost as good as the diamond on paper. Talked to a Irispro SA and she was willing to give me an upgrade for the FWS to diamond if I take the Elite package.
ryansxs
post Dec 22 2023, 04:46 PM

2,380 posts

Got mine done at my friend's shop in PJ.
IRR 99%, Taiwan film. Worth the money. (still cheaper than those 3M brands, but the quality is comparable)
Yes, smarttag cannot work, but i think i can rely on RFID or touchnGO for that matter.
If you guys, interested...ping me. I can refer you to my friend. Can quote non yahudi price.

Confession
post Dec 22 2023, 10:09 PM

729 posts

QUOTE(ryansxs @ Dec 22 2023, 04:46 PM)
IRR 99%, Taiwan film. Worth the money. (still cheaper than those 3M brands, but the quality is comparable)
Yes, smarttag cannot work, but i think i can rely on RFID or touchnGO for that matter.
If you guys, interested...ping me. I can refer you to my friend. Can quote non yahudi price.
How about the TSER value? PM me please ! Thanks.
cchin8888
post Dec 23 2023, 09:30 AM

362 posts

hi guys,

My car currently tint is
Front = vkool elite
driver/rear window - vkool 55
Already used for 7 years, recently want to do car name transfer, can PASS Puspakom?

ayamxxx
post Dec 23 2023, 09:38 AM

4,062 posts

QUOTE(cchin8888 @ Dec 23 2023, 09:30 AM)
hi guys,

My car currently tint is
Front = vkool elite
Already used for 7 years, recently want to do car name transfer, can PASS Puspakom?

Considering the latest law for VLT, only the rear window and rear windscreen are selamat. Front better to tear off b4 send Puspakom
Ku9
post Dec 23 2023, 11:26 AM

49 posts

Interested. PM please
Wolffeh
post Dec 23 2023, 07:46 PM

59 posts

Where's your friends place bro
buffa
post Dec 24 2023, 01:30 PM

460 posts

QUOTE(cchin8888 @ Dec 23 2023, 09:30 AM)
hi guys,

My car currently tint is
Front = vkool elite

Most likely cannot pass puspakom.
So far never see any tint can pass puspakom. Even my crystal clear, cheapo, tinted-non-existed, 10 years old tint film also kena tear during puspakom checking.
ryansxs
post Dec 24 2023, 02:14 PM

2,380 posts

QUOTE(Wolffeh @ Dec 23 2023, 07:46 PM)
Where's your friends place bro
In PJ. Near to digital mall there.
ryansxs
post Dec 24 2023, 02:16 PM

2,380 posts

QUOTE(Ku9 @ Dec 23 2023, 11:26 AM)
Interested. PM please
ok will PM if you guys interested. I am not getting any commission or whatsoever.
just recommending an alternative film, which is good quality and comparable to famous brands.
Ku9
post Dec 25 2023, 02:36 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(ryansxs @ Dec 24 2023, 02:16 PM)
ok will PM if you guys interested. I am not getting any commission or whatsoever.
just recommending an alternative film, which is good quality and comparable to famous brands.
Sorry. Missed your earlier post

This post has been edited by Ku9: Dec 25 2023, 02:37 PM

0.0300sec    0.41    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 02:13 AM