491 Pages « < 364 365 366 367 368 > » Bottom

Car Tint Advice - V2, Raytech, Vkool, Huper Optic, 3M or .....

widget
post May 10 2021, 08:55 AM

1,156 posts

QUOTE(ayamxxx @ May 10 2021, 08:24 AM)
can i know how much for the V40 tint front windscreen? just got a minor crack windscreen on wife x70. will proceed with insurance claim
As per my earlier post #7296, RM1.4k for V40

This post has been edited by widget: May 10 2021, 08:55 AM
widget
post May 10 2021, 09:03 AM

1,156 posts

QUOTE(Duckies @ May 10 2021, 08:53 AM)
Ya wo. Mine is Berjaya Sompo as well. I asked the Kepong service center and they say they can change to Rhinepro only. If want to change to other brand need to pay myself and then submit the claim.

Rhinepro okay also kot hmm.gif
Rhinepro should be OK kot hmm.gif

If you do at Bermaz, they can only give you the lousy SkyTint
Even their technicians ask me to do the tint outside tongue.gif
But they asked me to wait for at least 3 days for the windscreen seal/glue to really cure or harden before I send for tinting.
Duckies
post May 10 2021, 09:15 AM

Rubber Ducky
9,804 posts

QUOTE(widget @ May 10 2021, 09:03 AM)
Rhinepro should be OK kot  hmm.gif

If you do at Bermaz, they can only give you the lousy SkyTint
Even their technicians ask me to do the tint outside  tongue.gif
But they asked me to wait for at least 3 days for the windscreen seal/glue to really cure or harden before I send for tinting.
Hmm...Kepong service center macam will do everything within a day hmm.gif

Aiya. RFID replacement not covered hahaha

This post has been edited by Duckies: May 10 2021, 09:18 AM
ayamxxx
post May 10 2021, 09:25 AM

4,062 posts

QUOTE(Duckies @ May 10 2021, 09:15 AM)

that rfid is not covered. once open consider broken. need to spend another rm35
widget
post May 10 2021, 09:31 AM

1,156 posts

QUOTE(Duckies @ May 10 2021, 09:15 AM)

Can be done within 1 day as they will apply the tint on the windscreen first before they fix the tinted windscreen to the car.

But if they install the windscreen without tinting, have to wait for a few days for the seal cure before can send for tinting.

As for RFID sticker, previously when I used Hamel, the RFID cannot be detected/difficult to read when install on windscreen. So have to do try and error to check if the new tint doesn't interfere with the RFID

This post has been edited by widget: May 10 2021, 09:35 AM
Thalmes
post May 10 2021, 08:11 PM

Genie Pig!
1,799 posts

Is double tinting advisable? New car now comes with solar + security but for sure won’t be dark enough.

Except for the rear (due to heater) - will you recommend double tinting for others or best to remove the original and put a better one?

Double tint concern - affecting visions and voiding warranty.
BlackGold
post May 12 2021, 12:56 AM

172 posts

QUOTE(Thalmes @ May 10 2021, 08:11 PM)
Is double tinting advisable? New car now comes with solar + security but for sure won’t be dark enough.

Except for the rear (due to heater) - will you recommend double tinting for others or best to remove the original and put a better one?

Double tint concern - affecting visions and voiding warranty.
Dont double tint as u will regret later.u will get blurry view especially at night.now im looking for pro to remove my rear tint without ruining the defroster.
Anyone here can suggest any sifu?
https://youtu.be/pZHWss305gI
shimiky
post May 13 2021, 12:55 AM

Sharing my feedback from my cars tinting experience early this year
thanks to bro dog999 for various brand quotations for comparison and help to set appt for Raytech SS2

took Raytech MC for Myvi, mid range, done @ Raytech SS2,
-good service by shop SA
-after using for 6months, can feel the car not so hot driving mid-day, no need to blast full aircon
-just need around 5-10minutes to cool down after park under hot sun
-no charge for removal of old tint

took Hamel Platinum Series for vios, decided to try their "photochromic" tint
*been using Aircool for past 13 years (price 1k)
-also good service by Hamel Kelana Jaya
-after using for 4 months, satisfied with the coolness provided by the tint
- can feel the car not so hot driving mid-day, no need to blast full aircon (felt better than Raytech MC) *maybe becos slightly more expensive also
- cool faster than Raytech MC when go in after park under hot sun
- back de-mister spoilt during removal of old tint , but SA already informed beforehand it may happen during removal
- kena charge RM80 for removal of old tint (maybe because i got discounted price, so they wanna untung abit back)

please contact dog999 if want to find out the prices
*tips - try to nego more when u r at the shop also

Generally happy with both tints, considering mid range 1k+-ish , of course cant compare the feeling when sitting inside car tinted with top range tints (2-3k)

This post has been edited by shimiky: May 13 2021, 01:01 AM
ayamxxx
post May 14 2021, 07:13 PM

4,062 posts

QUOTE(white_ra @ May 14 2021, 03:18 PM)
Sifu can pm for shop name ?

I am trying to replace windscreen plus tint.

Want to avoid the poor quality.
Pm done.

The shop for the windscreen replacement and services was good. Except the tint they offered is secondary. On whatapps messages, due to my insurance claim is extra, they told eligible to get great tint at 90-95% IRR.

After install within 3 days bubbling at side. Claim warranty straight to their tint vendor shop. Ask to get same spec, was told it is the same. After install feel hot. Went to Llumar Kajang near home, 3M tint meter shown 55% IRR.

Damn what a lost for my insurance claim extra.
ayamxxx
post May 14 2021, 07:15 PM

4,062 posts

QUOTE(widget @ May 10 2021, 09:31 AM)
Can be done within 1 day as they will apply the tint on the windscreen first before they fix the tinted windscreen to the car.

But if they install the windscreen without tinting, have to wait for a few days for the seal cure before can send for tinting.

As for RFID sticker, previously when I used Hamel, the RFID cannot be detected/difficult to read when install on windscreen. So have to do try and error to check if the new tint doesn't interfere with the RFID
For RFID, i prefer to install it at shop with the sensor device. They will suggest which area is the best signal. My bro CX5 initially thought the headlamp is best area, the signal shown the windscreen it is. So install there and no issues on all toll

This post has been edited by ayamxxx: May 14 2021, 07:16 PM
widget
post May 15 2021, 11:35 AM

1,156 posts

QUOTE(ayamxxx @ May 14 2021, 07:15 PM)
For RFID, i prefer to install it at shop with the sensor device.  They will suggest which area is the best signal. My bro CX5 initially thought the headlamp is best area, the signal shown the windscreen it is. So install there and no issues on all toll
Yes, that is the best option.

I installed the RFID back in October 2018 when it was just launched, the so called RFID-pilot users.
Luckily I installed at RFID fitment canter at Chan Sow Lin toll plaza where their staff have the sensor to check the RFID reading.

During the early RFID stage, they only have external RFID sticker, unlike now where they also have internal RFID sticker that can be installed on the interior side of the windscreen.

Their staff tried placing the sticker on top left windscreen, but the reading was very poor, hence they installed on my left headlamp. Some Hamel users also reported the same problem that they cannot install the RFID on the windscreen, which I believed is due to the tint material.

Thalmes
post May 15 2021, 08:20 PM

Genie Pig!
1,799 posts

Has anyone used / heard of “Shield Smith” tinting based in KL?

They have some interesting package and would love to hear feedback, if any.
jasonhor
post May 17 2021, 06:00 PM

210 posts

Any 3M dealer here can quote me Crystalline tint for X50 including sunroof. Thanks.
warlock89
post May 20 2021, 11:21 AM

161 posts

Hello guys, newbie here looking for advise on car tint . . I'm going to get my CX5 soon and would like to get some advise on the tint to be used. I see mostly recommend to remove the original tint except the rear . . .
ayamxxx
post May 20 2021, 01:57 PM

4,062 posts

QUOTE(warlock89 @ May 20 2021, 11:21 AM)
Hello guys, newbie here looking for advise on car tint . . I'm going to get my CX5 soon and would like to get some advise on the tint to be used. I see mostly recommend to remove the original tint except the rear . . .
CX5 already come with Skytint and u already paid rm2.2k+ compulsory for that. The spec is ok for side and rear but front windscreen is suck, IRR55%, while rest around is IRR97%.

copy paste from cx5 car club:
The Skytint is actually from Konica Minolta. The specs for the skytint are as below:
Front - VLT-85%, Solar Energy Rejection-34%, Infrared-55%,UV-99.9%
Side and rear- VLT-70%, Solar Energy Rejection-50%, Infrared-97%,UV-99.9%

if i were u, i just replace the front windscreen with tint at 97-99% IRR if want to safe money. if want to spend, just double tint all tint windows while replace the front
warlock89
post May 23 2021, 12:32 AM

161 posts

QUOTE(ayamxxx @ May 20 2021, 01:57 PM)
CX5 already come with Skytint and u already paid rm2.2k+ compulsory for that. The spec is ok for side and rear but front windscreen is suck, IRR55%, while rest around is IRR97%.

copy paste from cx5 car club:
The Skytint is actually from Konica Minolta. The specs for the skytint are as below:
Front - VLT-85%, Solar Energy Rejection-34%, Infrared-55%,UV-99.9%
Side and rear- VLT-70%, Solar Energy Rejection-50%, Infrared-97%,UV-99.9%

if i were u, i just replace the front windscreen with tint at 97-99% IRR if want to safe money. if want to spend, just double tint all tint windows while replace the front
That is a very good suggestion, bro....
That compulsory car tint is really sucks as mentioned whole over the forum...
I might follow your suggestion....
warlock89
post May 24 2021, 10:37 AM

161 posts

any sifu here heard before Haverkamp and Huten?
SC quote me RM850 for windscreen nia . .
dogbert_chew
post May 25 2021, 08:00 PM

1,566 posts

QUOTE(warlock89 @ May 24 2021, 10:37 AM)
any sifu here heard before Haverkamp and Huten?
SC quote me RM850 for windscreen nia . .
Totalgard charged me RM400 for HRV windscreen. Almost as good as 3M crystalline before it was removed for Puspakom. My personal perception.

This post has been edited by dogbert_chew: May 25 2021, 08:04 PM
zombie24
post May 30 2021, 09:38 AM

805 posts

Looking to retint my car with better quality tint.any good places to go around puncak jalil/bukit jalil area?
hOnGhOnG
post May 31 2021, 02:25 PM

203 posts

QUOTE(ry8128 @ Mar 16 2019, 01:22 PM)
Manage to claim warranty for my raytech film, without question, except for normal inspection. This is a very good plus point.

However, when I ask why it got peeled off just after 2.5 years, they give me this reply: "due to excessive car washing. When we wash the car, we will wipe inside of the windshield. So the multiple wipes + the dirt/chemical on the cloth makes it peeled off". To be frank, i really do not see this coming from a so called professional car tinter. What a whole load of bullshit answer. One of the most stupid explananation i ever heard in my life. I just lost the mood to talk more on this, else my temper gonna rise up.

Next, I request for a solar meter test on my car film (raytech always promise their customer on this test). And I was denied, even when i request 3 times. Reason? Is due to inconsistent sunlight (it is very sunny that time), and the meter is too sensitive. Bloody hell, another cb answer i get.

I just drove off my car after this, after they replace the film. On my way back, i touch my dashboard after 10 mins driving in aircond, and the dash board is hot like f***. Take note i am installing the highest range product that cost 3k (ultra 70 + rx).

Conclusion, this will be my first and last time with raytech. The products do looks good on paper, but in actual usage is very bad. I feel like i am being scammed. I will definitely not recommend this brand to any forumer, friends and family members.

Lord Gitsy, this is a major disappointment. Btw, i am glad for your support even though my car was tinted in other states/branches. Thanks for the explanation and advice. But raytech products really does sucks, so do their customer service.
lol... even my cheapo RM800 tint still survive until now 5 6 years already. Regular Bangla carwash. really la guys, marketing brand good but did you compare with other non branded tint.

491 Pages « < 364 365 366 367 368 > » Top

0.0331sec    0.58    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 05:56 PM