136 Pages « < 24 25 26 27 28 > » Bottom

Enquiries/Recommendations Buying a new laptop? NEED RECOMMENDATIONS? V22, Please FOLLOW the FORMAT TQ~!

nexus2238
post Dec 17 2013, 08:33 AM

4,193 posts

QUOTE(sheng291 @ Dec 17 2013, 03:47 AM)
Dear fellow sifus, anyone is using dell inspiron 14R or 15R?
How's the cooling system?
I am quite satisfied with the spec, cell power and price of it...2.3kg is still acceptable for me, but I need a laptop that can be used without cooling system..Had some hard time with my old lappy that can heat up to 80/90'c
Don't understand. All laptop models (except certain tablet / hybrid) has active cooling system (fan and heat sink), can't survive without them.

Inspiron 14R and 15R is ok, not good, not bad, just ok.
nexus2238
post Dec 17 2013, 08:36 AM

4,193 posts

QUOTE(AE2088 @ Dec 17 2013, 02:07 AM)
what will you take if you given the GE60 2-0D and N56JR ? or maybe the lenovo Y510P too
Y510p, i7-4700MQ + Nvidia GT755M(GDDR5) + (1920x1080)@RM3399[2.7kg], 8GB, 1TB, W8.1, red backlit, swappable ODD, 120w psu, 2 yrs

Then spend the rest of budget to upgrade to onsite warranty and buy 256GB SSD.
Arthur323
post Dec 17 2013, 09:09 AM

Should I buy Asus N550jv ou N56? which are the differences between them?
raymondtong94
post Dec 17 2013, 09:57 AM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(Arthur323 @ Dec 17 2013, 09:09 AM)
Should I buy Asus N550jv ou N56? which are the differences between them?
ASUS N550JV - silver keyboard, GT750M DDR3 graphics card, full HD IPS matte display
ASUS N56JR - black keyboard, GTX760M GDDR5 graphics card, full HD TN matte display
-gemini-
post Dec 17 2013, 10:10 AM

B& OF /B/LOCKAIDS
615 posts

Hi guys,

Any feedbacks on Asus Transformer Book T100TA-DK005H. Maybe concerns for the battery/cooling/other issues?
Just for normal usage like browsing etc
nexus2238
post Dec 17 2013, 10:33 AM

4,193 posts

QUOTE(-gemini- @ Dec 17 2013, 10:10 AM)
Hi guys,

Any feedbacks on Asus Transformer Book T100TA-DK005H. Maybe concerns for the battery/cooling/other issues?
Just for normal usage like browsing etc
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2960043
read this thread.
profdra
post Dec 17 2013, 10:34 AM

38 posts

is there vast difference between FHD & IPS display for photoshop?

thanks.
AE2088
post Dec 17 2013, 11:17 AM

32 posts

QUOTE(nexus2238 @ Dec 17 2013, 08:36 AM)
Y510p, i7-4700MQ + Nvidia GT755M(GDDR5) + (1920x1080)@RM3399[2.7kg], 8GB, 1TB, W8.1, red backlit, swappable ODD, 120w psu, 2 yrs

Then spend the rest of budget to upgrade to onsite warranty and buy 256GB SSD.
how's the battery lasting ? what if this compare to the msi GE40 ? sorry sifus for disturbing you sad.gif sad.gif
pandera999
post Dec 17 2013, 11:42 AM

모든 것​에는 정해진 때​가 있으니
6,214 posts

QUOTE(profdra @ Dec 17 2013, 10:34 AM)
is there vast difference between FHD & IPS display for photoshop?

thanks.
major benefit of an IPS display is its extremely wide viewing angles, meaning colors stay true no matter what angle you view it from.

IPS has Better Color Gamut
IPS has Better Color Accuracy - Blacks appear black, reds appear red, whites appear white.
IPS has Better Viewing Angles – This is of course the feature most noticeable to the average eye and easy to demonstrate as the videos did previously. IPS displays can have viewing angles up to 178-degrees wide.

As a photoshop user an IPS would be better
sheng291
post Dec 17 2013, 12:34 PM

455 posts

QUOTE(nexus2238 @ Dec 17 2013, 08:33 AM)
Don't understand. All laptop models (except certain tablet / hybrid) has active cooling system (fan and heat sink), can't survive without them.

Inspiron 14R and 15R is ok, not good, not bad, just ok.
Opps, typo, I mean 'externa' cooling',

Any recommendation? With the budget 2.5k, most the spec I found is i5-4200U/M with GT 740M,whille this is the only model I can get with higher spec in the price list. Thanks sifu biggrin.gif
profdra
post Dec 17 2013, 12:43 PM

38 posts

QUOTE(pandera999 @ Dec 17 2013, 11:42 AM)
major benefit of an IPS display is its extremely wide viewing angles, meaning colors stay true no matter what angle you view it from.

IPS has Better Color Gamut
IPS has Better Color Accuracy - Blacks appear black, reds appear red, whites appear white.
IPS has Better Viewing Angles – This is of course the feature most noticeable to the average eye and easy to demonstrate as the videos did previously.  IPS displays can have viewing angles up to 178-degrees wide.

As a photoshop user an IPS would be  better
thanks.

is there any other laptop besides N550JV with

i7
8gb ram
GT750
IPS - 15" - 1920x1080

TS[PF] T.J.
post Dec 17 2013, 01:51 PM

24,193 posts

Please follow the format guys nod.gif

This thread is specially made to offer laptop/tablet PC recommendations to EVERYONE
However, in order for us to recommend you with laptops/tablet PCs which suits you the most, we would require some basic information from you. Hence please kindly state your the following when posting:
1. Preferred Brand
2. Budget
3. Usage
4. Preferred laptop/screen size

TS[PF] T.J.
post Dec 17 2013, 01:52 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(profdra @ Dec 17 2013, 12:43 PM)
thanks.

is there any other laptop besides N550JV with

i7
8gb ram
GT750
IPS - 15" - 1920x1080
These?
Different type of i7 though laugh.gif
15.6"
Acer
V7-582PG-74508G52k, i7-4500U + Nvidia GT750M + 24GB mSATA + 500GB HDD + (1920x1080 IPS; touch)@RM3399[2.2kg], 8GB, W8
V7-582PG-74501225k, i7-4500U + Nvidia GT750M + 256GB SSD + (1920x1080 IPS; touch)@RM3999[2.2kg], 12GB, W8.1

And of course, much slimmer = higher heat
profdra
post Dec 17 2013, 02:59 PM

38 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Dec 17 2013, 01:52 PM)
These?
Different type of i7 though laugh.gif
15.6"
Acer
V7-582PG-74508G52k, i7-4500U + Nvidia GT750M + 24GB mSATA + 500GB HDD + (1920x1080 IPS; touch)@RM3399[2.2kg], 8GB, W8
V7-582PG-74501225k, i7-4500U + Nvidia GT750M + 256GB SSD + (1920x1080 IPS; touch)@RM3999[2.2kg], 12GB, W8.1

And of course, much slimmer = higher heat
is this brand laptop durable & how about after sales service & warranty? will use at least 5 years.

N550JV vs V7 which is better ?

thank you very much

This post has been edited by profdra: Dec 17 2013, 03:02 PM
nexus2238
post Dec 17 2013, 03:36 PM

4,193 posts

QUOTE(sheng291 @ Dec 17 2013, 12:34 PM)
Opps, typo, I mean 'externa' cooling',

Any recommendation? With the budget 2.5k, most the spec I found is i5-4200U/M with GT 740M,whille this is the only model I can get with higher spec in the price list. Thanks sifu biggrin.gif
You mean the GT750M right? smile.gif
Inspiron 14R is the cheapest model with GT750M you will find in Malaysia.
nexus2238
post Dec 17 2013, 03:40 PM

4,193 posts

QUOTE(AE2088 @ Dec 17 2013, 11:17 AM)
how's the battery lasting ? what if this compare to the msi GE40 ? sorry sifus for disturbing you  sad.gif  sad.gif
Don't expect good battery run time with that quad core CPU and high medium GPU.
Count yourself lucky if you get 4 hours surfing the web with either models.
sheng291
post Dec 17 2013, 05:28 PM

455 posts

QUOTE(nexus2238 @ Dec 17 2013, 03:36 PM)
You mean the GT750M right? smile.gif
Inspiron 14R is the cheapest model with GT750M you will find in Malaysia.
That's the thing, with that budget most are i5-4200U with GT 740M, only 14R and 15R can give me 4500U with GT750M.
I might need it for medium gaming (assn creed, cod in medium setting), and some engineering drawing, i afraid 4200U +740M might not be able to reach my needs
v_alex85
post Dec 17 2013, 06:17 PM

21 posts

Hi Guys, which is better from the below options, both is around the same price.

1) Dell Vostro 5460 - i5-3777U/4GB/2GB Nvidia GT630/500GB + 32GB mSATA

2) Lenovo G400s - i3-3110M/4GB/Intel HD 4000/128GB SSD/500GB external HDD
nexus2238
post Dec 17 2013, 06:45 PM

4,193 posts

QUOTE(v_alex85 @ Dec 17 2013, 06:17 PM)
Hi Guys, which is better from the below options, both is around the same price.

1) Dell Vostro 5460 - i5-3777U/4GB/2GB Nvidia GT630/500GB + 32GB mSATA

2) Lenovo G400s -  i3-3110M/4GB/Intel HD 4000/128GB SSD/500GB external HDD
Are those 2nd hand units?
G400s never has a factory spec with 128GB SSD smile.gif
In term of general responsiveness, the G400s spec win.
In term of GPU (3D gaming) performance, the 5460 is better (GT630M vs HD4000).
nexus2238
post Dec 17 2013, 06:46 PM

4,193 posts

QUOTE(sheng291 @ Dec 17 2013, 05:28 PM)
That's the thing, with that budget most are i5-4200U with GT 740M, only 14R and 15R can give me 4500U with GT750M.
I might need it for medium gaming (assn creed, cod in medium setting), and some engineering drawing, i afraid 4200U +740M might not be able to reach my needs
Never hurt to have more firepower for those tasks you mentioned smile.gif

136 Pages « < 24 25 26 27 28 > » Top

0.0243sec    0.60    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 09:15 AM