130 Pages « < 112 113 114 115 116 > » Bottom

Car Care and Detailing [V3], LYN Automotive Detailing Thread

bakry
post Aug 5 2014, 04:10 PM

385 posts

QUOTE(efaceninja @ Aug 5 2014, 11:30 AM)
LT need dilution one ah? will keep in mind (for when IF i really buy it).  Also if for D156 spray wax, need dilution as well?

Meg Ultimate Quik Detailer
RM 70 / 650ml  (RM70 discount 20% = RM56)

Last Touch
RM150 / 7560 ml = 11.5 bottle UQD = worth 11.5 * RM56 = RM664 worth of UQD! (after 20% discount somemore)  drool.gif  drool.gif  drool.gif its like 77% discount!
Daiso has the exact same thing!! (not kiwi brand la)  but upon my first polish on my shoe, the sponge fall off from the plastic holder already haha.
Lol. RM5, bang. confirm cabut. haha
g88
post Aug 5 2014, 04:57 PM

1,631 posts

detailing is more about maximising the product capability + your skillset...

similar to photography. If you dunno know how to take a good picture even give you a expensive camera your image may turn sux...

anyhow pratice, practice and pratice will improve your skill before more on to more effective/easy of use product.

A BIG NO NO is NEVER follow ' MY FRIEND SAID THIS product IS GOOD then you go buy' but the UNFORTUNATE part is majority ppl will go thru this to gain more experience.

I still with my old product which i think going to last me for another 3-5 years (2-3 years also i was saying the same thing..) till now the product till have that 'much' in a way wink.gif
Quazacolt
post Aug 5 2014, 05:29 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(g88 @ Aug 5 2014, 04:57 PM)
detailing is more about maximising the product capability + your skillset...

similar to photography. If you dunno know how to take a good picture even give you a expensive camera your image may turn sux...

anyhow pratice, practice and pratice will improve your skill before more on to more effective/easy of use product.

A BIG NO NO is NEVER follow ' MY FRIEND SAID THIS product IS GOOD then you go buy' but the UNFORTUNATE part is majority ppl will go thru this to gain more experience.

I still with my old product which i think going to last me for another 3-5 years (2-3 years also i was saying the same thing..) till now the product till have that 'much' in a way wink.gif
highly agreed thumbup.gif
kalvinkhoo
post Aug 5 2014, 09:42 PM

239 posts

QUOTE(scoutfai @ Aug 5 2014, 01:00 PM)
Yes, I do have a feeling this shop has a bit high profit margin.
But they do carry a lot of stuff that you only get to see in foreign website.
What shop is it? I wonder??? hmm.gif hmm.gif

QUOTE(KrisMas @ Aug 5 2014, 02:37 PM)
I would think Gorilla Glue would be more suited for the task.
You mean the gallons? Well...here and there...friends and acquaintances...but normally from local dealers and/or agents. LYN Trade section is a good place to start looking..... brows.gif
Haha... Whats the besting about Gorilla Glue? Hehe....
Nice nice and regulat or good agents or dealers u wanna intro? notworthy.gif notworthy.gif
efaceninja
post Aug 5 2014, 10:33 PM

QUOTE(KrisMas @ Aug 5 2014, 11:49 AM)
Last Touch is Megs Quick Detailer equivalent - the reddish bottle, not Ultimate Quick Detailer - the black bottle.

Megs Ultimate Quick Detailer equivalent would be M135 - Mirror Glaze Synthetic Spray Detailer

D156 is Synthetic X-Press Spray Wax, equivalent to Ultimate Quick Wax

I seldom see much of Megs Quick Detailer around anymore. Not sure whether it's still around or not. But if I'm not mistaken they're around RM45 or so for a 16oz bottle.
ooh ok ok ic thanks for enlightening notworthy.gif
so what's the different between this D155 & M135?? I think Mirror Glaze line is more pro and also more expensive eh?
a quick search on google, most says that D155/QD works better as clay lube than M135/UQD. For for quick detailing purpose, M135/UQD still better, give better gloss, etc, but not good as clay lube. Also read some say when use as clay lube, D155 dilution 1:1. If use as QD, no dilution. but i suppose i can use 1:1 dilution as QD purpose also? hmm.gif want to save that bit bucks lol

rework my calculation a bit:
Meg Quik Detailer (red bottle one)
RM 45 / 473ml (RM45 discount 20% = RM36)

Last Touch
RM150 / 7560 ml = 16 bottle QD = worth 16 * RM36 = RM576 worth of QD! (after 20% discount somemore) drool.gif drool.gif drool.gif its like 76% discount/ or RM 8.63 / bottle of QD

Is thinking to get D155 & D156 rolleyes.gif for me i think its like the maintenance twin?? same as UCompound & UPolish normally referred as twin.

This post has been edited by efaceninja: Aug 6 2014, 08:28 AM
efaceninja
post Aug 6 2014, 08:31 AM

QUOTE(plankton @ Aug 5 2014, 11:58 AM)
Ive been looking for the Petronas Wash and Wax for quite some time now, went to at least 6 diff stations but all dont have it. If you see it selling at a Petronas station in Klang Valley, or if you want to sell me your unopened bottle let me know smile.gif thx.

Since you're hunting for this, means that you've used this before? Is it good?
gacktleong
post Aug 6 2014, 09:29 AM

GLLLL
755 posts

Hi guys, i would like to share my experiment on trying Turtle Wax Carnauba Cleaner Wax which is much cheaper than my regular wax which is the Meguair's NXT Generation® Tech Wax® 2.0. Wax is tested on 2 different cars, and they were applied on the same day.

Case 1 - Meguair's NXT Generation® Tech Wax® 2.0 (Discontinued Product)
-White color car, daily drive vechicle, park under car basement most of the time.
-Meg gold class shampoo + 3M Claying before wax is applied by hand.
-Easy to buff, white residue on plastic trim but easy to remove by wipe it off.
-Meg gold class shampoo wash once per week
-Excellent water sheeting & beading effect, great shine on white car
-Easy to wash the tar and dirt in subsequence wash.
-The wax (water sheeting and beading effect) still there after a month, paint feel smooth by hand touching

Case 2 - Turtle Wax Carnauba Cleaner Wax
-Silver color car, car for buying sayur at pasar pagi, park under roof most of the time.
-Meg gold class shampoo + 3M Claying before wax is applied by hand.
-Hard to buff when leave it too long, white residue to plastic trim and hard to remove.
-Meg gold class shampoo wash once per week
-Excellent water sheeting & beading effect, great shine on silver car
-Easy to wash the tar and dirt in subsequence wash, but effect gone lesser after each wash.
-The wax (water sheeting and beading effect) is gone half in 1st car wash, and another half in 2nd wash, and totally gone in 3rd wash.

My conclusion is Turtle Wax Carnauba Cleaner Wax performs as good as Meguair's for the 1st week. However, the wax is gone half in the 1st car wash. I feel dissapointed for my effort to apply the wax by hand and the wax gone in 2 -3 wash. No doubt the product is cheaper in price tag, but durability wise it is not as expected as per advertised.

TSKrisMas
post Aug 6 2014, 09:43 AM

QUOTE(kalvinkhoo @ Aug 5 2014, 09:42 PM)
Haha... Whats the besting about Gorilla Glue? Hehe....
Nice nice and regulat or good agents or dealers u wanna intro?  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif
Normal super glue would harden the foam, making it brittle and destroying it. Gorilla glue would soak into and fused with the foam, it bond with the foam structure, and doesn't cure as hard and brittle as super glue.

QUOTE(efaceninja @ Aug 5 2014, 10:33 PM)
so what's the different between this D155 & M135?? I think Mirror Glaze line is more pro and also more expensive eh?
a quick search on google, most says that D155/QD works better as clay lube than M135/UQD.  For for quick detailing purpose, M135/UQD still better, give better gloss, etc, but not good as clay lube.  Also read some say when use as clay lube, D155 dilution 1:1.  If use as QD, no dilution.  but i suppose i can use 1:1 dilution as QD purpose also? hmm.gif want to save that bit bucks lol

Is thinking to get D155 & D156  rolleyes.gif for me i think its like the maintenance twin?? same as UCompound & UPolish normally referred as twin.
D155 (or Megs Quick Detailer) is 'traditional' QD, for light cleaning with a little bit of gloss enhancer - provide no protection.
M135 (or Megs Ultimate Quick Detailer) is a QD with added hydrophobic (water beading) booster/enhancer, for topping up and 'boosting' water beading - add a little bit of protection.
D156 (or Megs Ultimate Spray Wax) is a spray wax for maintenance/topping up of existing wax - add more protection than D135 but less than normal waxes/sealants.

For use as clay lube, better go for D155 or Megs Quick Detailer as it's meant for lubricating the surface for safer removal and cleaning of light dusting (some even use it as a 'no rinse' or 'waterless' wash). M135 and D156 also got lubricant but its only meant to facilitate the easy spreading of the polymer/wax/sealant...so it's not meant to lubricate the surface per se. Furthermore, M135 is also loaded with solvent that *could* damage clay bars cuz, I kid you not, it can remove some weaker waxes/sealants and also minor water spots. Not sure about the effect of D156 cuz I haven't try it as a clay lube before.

For QD job, I tend to also dilute D155 at 1:1 and spray it more liberally than 'normal'...much like using a 'no rinse' or 'waterless' wash. I know the instructions says to use it neat but it's just my personal preference and it worked for me. Maybe I just didn't get the technique/method right but most of the time I would get *very* light marring.

You might be onto something there....D155 & D156 being a 'maintenance twin'. But just be careful with the QD though. For me, it worked quite well as a clay lube but I just couldn't make it work as 'light cleaner' of dust other right after a good wash.
kalvinkhoo
post Aug 6 2014, 09:47 AM

239 posts

QUOTE(efaceninja @ Aug 5 2014, 10:33 PM)
a quick search on google, most says that D155/QD works better as clay lube than M135/UQD.  For for quick detailing purpose, M135/UQD still better, give better gloss, etc, but not good as clay lube.  Also read some say when use as clay lube, D155 dilution 1:1.  If use as QD, no dilution.  but i suppose i can use 1:1 dilution as QD purpose also? hmm.gif want to save that bit bucks lol

rework my calculation a bit:
Meg Quik Detailer (red bottle one)
RM 45 / 473ml  (RM45 discount 20% = RM36)

Last Touch
RM150 / 7560 ml = 16 bottle QD = worth 16 * RM36 = RM576 worth of QD! (after 20% discount somemore)  drool.gif  drool.gif  drool.gif its like 76% discount/ or RM 8.63 / bottle of QD

Is thinking to get D155 & D156  rolleyes.gif for me i think its like the maintenance twin?? same as UCompound & UPolish normally referred as twin.
We should join venture since is worth that much for a QD!! :] drool.gif drool.gif

TSKrisMas
post Aug 6 2014, 09:53 AM

Great review and observations. Good info too. Just a suggestion though, to be fair and to get the real feel of the differences, it's better to use it both on the same car (or better still at the same time - normally we'd do a 50/50, something like half the front hood with one and the other half with another), so that the product would be exposed to the same treatment and circumstances. This does sound a bit OCD but, just to be fair to both brands/products... tongue.gif
TSKrisMas
post Aug 6 2014, 09:57 AM

QUOTE(kalvinkhoo @ Aug 6 2014, 09:47 AM)
We should join venture since is worth that much for a QD!! :] drool.gif  drool.gif
Worst case:
RM45/473ml = RM0.09/ml
RM150/3.78L = RM0.04/ml

....already a little more than 50% saving... tongue.gif go go go....HAHAHAHA.....
TitanLok
post Aug 6 2014, 10:36 AM

22 posts

Hi Sifus, anyone can tell me where can I get the tripod detailing halogen light? I was looking for it quite some times ago, been asked few hardware shop but they are not selling.

Appreciate the sharing! Thanks!
gacktleong
post Aug 6 2014, 10:44 AM

GLLLL
755 posts

QUOTE(KrisMas @ Aug 6 2014, 09:53 AM)

Great review and observations. Good info too. Just a suggestion though, to be fair and to get the real feel of the differences, it's better to use it both on the same car (or better still at the same time - normally we'd do a 50/50, something like half the front hood with one and the other half with another), so that the product would be exposed to the same treatment and circumstances. This does sound a bit OCD but, just to be fair to both brands/products... tongue.gif
True, i see most ppl doing that way. But i afraid to do that on my car, not sure will it cause un-even color tone later XD.
gacktleong
post Aug 6 2014, 10:45 AM

GLLLL
755 posts

QUOTE(TitanLok @ Aug 6 2014, 10:36 AM)
Hi Sifus, anyone can tell me where can I get the tripod detailing halogen light? I was looking for it quite some times ago, been asked few hardware shop but they are not selling.

i know ACE selling those spot-light type (those construction site use it during night time), ard 60 bucks
scoutfai
post Aug 6 2014, 12:42 PM

433 posts

QUOTE(TitanLok @ Aug 6 2014, 10:36 AM)

Not sifu but have good infor to share.
Click
I actually wish to buy a set from him but I then realize I am limited by my house tight space, so it will be even more inconvenient.
I resort to using ultra bright lumen flashlight.

For more self learning on detailing light, can watch

You have to start watching at 11:50. Part 2 never found it in youtube though.

This post has been edited by scoutfai: Aug 6 2014, 12:46 PM
efaceninja
post Aug 6 2014, 05:29 PM

QUOTE(KrisMas @ Aug 6 2014, 09:43 AM)
Normal super glue would harden the foam, making it brittle and destroying it. Gorilla glue would soak into and fused with the foam, it bond with the foam structure, and doesn't cure as hard and brittle as super glue.

For QD job, I tend to also dilute D155 at 1:1 and spray it more liberally than 'normal'...much like using a 'no rinse' or 'waterless' wash. I know the instructions says to use it neat but it's just my personal preference and it worked for me. Maybe I just didn't get the technique/method right but most of the time I would get *very* light marring.

You might be onto something there....D155 & D156 being a 'maintenance twin'. But just be careful with the QD though. For me, it worked quite well as a clay lube but I just couldn't make it work as 'light cleaner' of dust other right after a good wash.
why the master here knows so much about a super glue as well... sweat.gif lols

Anyway, if i buy D155, my original main purpose would be as a kind of very light duty cleaner worr. meaning like a QD wipe after washing car, or QD wipe before wax (if i do wax), or QD wipe after wax. Or sometimes OCD want to wipe off those very fine dust 2-3 days after a car wash. And of course as clay lube as well (currently use shampoo mix) I suppose QD mist & wipes will not damage the wax layer right? (ULW here).

if i get D156 as well, will plan to spray it once a month. but D156 also seems more expensive than D155. and not sure if can be used with 1:1 dilution as well haha.

QUOTE(kalvinkhoo @ Aug 6 2014, 09:47 AM)
We should join venture since is worth that much for a QD!! :] drool.gif  drool.gif
for D155, i plan to get one for myself only rolleyes.gif rolleyes.gif can use for like.. many yearssss
for D156, maybe need share share a bit haha.

This post has been edited by efaceninja: Aug 6 2014, 05:37 PM
Quazacolt
post Aug 6 2014, 06:24 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(efaceninja @ Aug 6 2014, 05:29 PM)
because master. brows.gif
TSKrisMas
post Aug 6 2014, 08:29 PM

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Aug 6 2014, 06:24 PM)
because master.  brows.gif
Bodek ka??!! tongue.gif tongue.gif tongue.gif

Learned by mistake ma....and most of the time learned AFTER doing the mistake...so I just share shre only just in case it might help you guys to avoid the same mistake cuz some times...well, lots of the times, the mistakes could be very costly. One guess how I got to know this....hahaha....
Quazacolt
post Aug 6 2014, 08:57 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(KrisMas @ Aug 6 2014, 08:29 PM)
Bodek ka??!!  tongue.gif  tongue.gif  tongue.gif

Learned by mistake ma....and most of the time learned AFTER doing the mistake...so I just share shre only just in case it might help you guys to avoid the same mistake cuz some times...well, lots of the times, the mistakes could be very costly. One guess how I got to know this....hahaha....
a bit lo blush.gif

hmm you poured glue instead of compound on your foam pads? tongue.gif
LazyJin
post Aug 6 2014, 10:03 PM

14 posts

if i get D156 as well, will plan to spray it once a month.  but D156 also seems more expensive than D155.  and not sure if can be used with 1:1 dilution as well haha.
D156 is meant to be used on a clean surface - no dust / dirt - and will leave a hydrophobic layer of protection, while D155 is meant to clean light dust / dirt. They serve different purposes and shouldn't be compared?

130 Pages « < 112 113 114 115 116 > » Top

0.0308sec    0.69    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 03:29 PM