Car Care and Detailing [V3], LYN Automotive Detailing Thread

gacktleong
post Feb 6 2014, 10:20 PM

GLLLL
755 posts

last time i maintain my car using permanon platinum coating + brillianshine car shampoo, after CNY now trying turtle wax carnauba wax + meguairs nxt gen shampoo.

both glossy / shine effect about the same to me (white car), but durability dunno yet...

any sifu can recommend wax/selant/coating that lasts long with weekly car wash? lazy to do detailing eh...
gacktleong
post Apr 22 2014, 05:37 PM

GLLLL
755 posts

guys, do u apply a finishing wax after applying cleaner wax for basic maintenance?
gacktleong
post May 5 2014, 11:27 AM

GLLLL
755 posts

any sifu used fusso coat mirror shine from soft99?

sound promising from the retail description.
gacktleong
post May 6 2014, 02:11 PM

GLLLL
755 posts

QUOTE(g88 @ May 5 2014, 09:13 PM)
dirt film 'attractor'
so law yar?

cos i was using soft99 mirror shine buffless wax paste, n its going to finish soon, mayb wanna try this fusso coat

hmm.gif
gacktleong
post Jun 4 2014, 11:01 AM

GLLLL
755 posts

All sifus,

Wanna ask which way to maintain my car is d better way? My car is a while pearl and sent for polish half yr ago (during cny).

I wash my car using Meguiars NXT Car Wash once or twice in a week (depends on weather).

(A)
Month 1 - Meguiars NXT Car Wash, PG Clay, Meguiars Cleaner Wax, Meguiars NXT Tech Wax 2.0
Month 2 - x
Month 3 - Meguiars NXT Car Wash, PG Clay, Meguiars Cleaner Wax, Meguiars NXT Tech Wax 2.0
Month 4 - x
Month 5 - Meguiars NXT Car Wash, PG Clay, Meguiars Cleaner Wax, Meguiars NXT Tech Wax 2.0
Month 6 - x
Month 7 - Send to Pro to polish & wax

Or (B)
Month 1 - PG Clay, Meguiars Cleaner Wax
Month 2 - Meguiars Cleaner Wax
Month 3 - Meguiars Cleaner Wax
Month 4 - PG Clay, Meguiars Cleaner Wax
Month 5 - Meguiars Cleaner Wax
Month 6 - Meguiars Cleaner Wax
Month 7 - Send to Pro to polish & wax

Thank kiu~

gacktleong
post Jun 4 2014, 11:26 AM

GLLLL
755 posts

QUOTE(KrisMas @ Jun 4 2014, 11:22 AM)
WEEKLY - wash + UQD/UQW (Ultimate Quick Detailer/Ultimate Quick Wax)
MONTHLY - Cleaner Wax + Tech Wax
QUARTERLY - Clay + Cleaner Wax + Tech Wax
ANNUALLY - Clay + polish + Tech Wax OR send to pro for polish & wax

Do the 1st one properly, you might not need to do the 2nd one monthly.
Do the 1st & 2nd one properly, you might not need to do the 3rd one quarterly.
Do the 1st, 2nd & 3rd one properly, you might not need to do the 4th one annually.

Confused yet.....??? tongue.gif  tongue.gif  tongue.gif
As i know cleaner wax has some mild abrasive cleaning agent in it, will it damage the clear coat if using it too frequent like monthly basis?

Got it, but i wish my car to be shinny so mayb i will do it 2nd one consistently

Thanks again~

This post has been edited by gacktleong: Jun 4 2014, 11:30 AM
gacktleong
post Jun 4 2014, 11:32 AM

GLLLL
755 posts

QUOTE(KrisMas @ Jun 4 2014, 11:30 AM)
Not the Megs Cleaner Wax....that one don't have abrasive. It's just a 'chemical cleaner'. SwirlX, ScratchX, Ultimate Polish, etc...those are Megs products that contain abrasives...
QUOTE(g88 @ Jun 4 2014, 11:30 AM)
NO.
How bout Turtle Wax T5A Carnauba Cleaner Wax? I have a whole new bottle at home. sweat.gif

Not sure wan to use it anot after my Mg CW finish

This post has been edited by gacktleong: Jun 4 2014, 11:32 AM
gacktleong
post Jun 4 2014, 11:37 AM

GLLLL
755 posts

QUOTE(g88 @ Jun 4 2014, 11:33 AM)
I will do weekly wash at least ONCE a week. After wash usually will top up with UQD or OCW depend on my mood.

Sometime i will wash > wax + OCW or sealant

If after kena rain or drizzling, the next will DEFINITELY will be pre-soak with foam gun > wash > clay > wax + UQD or Wax (depend how dirty it is)

If outstation kena rain or have heavy rain, the next thing to do is foam lance
Ur car must be really well kept n shines~

i do not have so many equipments, all by hands only ohmy.gif
gacktleong
post Jun 4 2014, 12:08 PM

GLLLL
755 posts

QUOTE(g88 @ Jun 4 2014, 11:58 AM)
typically low usage, covered car park all time. Going out also have to pre-ask the weather god tongue.gif.

Used to have / still owned all the machine detailing product and equipment (which bought to enhance previous old car) but then now with current ride, there are just in kinda of sleeping model.

Focus more toward to maintenance, washing , wax now. No more paint cutting (almost at all), mild polishing maybe once or twice.

Stop purchasing polisher anymore (be it old skool or outdated product)

Last (latest) product was coating on the ride, and now maintaining with top up of wash, clay, wax, sealant, aio, wax booster.

Just wanna minimize the swirl instead cutting (clear coat) it.
Thanks for your generous sharing smile.gif. Last time i was using Permanon Coating, and the effect is not up to my expectation, and have to use the Brilliantshine Shampoo to maintain the caoting, which produced really less foam. So now i come back to traditional waxing method. I guess i should get a polisher instead of using hand dy.

I was thinking to do the Opti Guard too, but mayb next yr, and its pricey as well. Heard from my colleague he is using Soft99 Fusson Coat 9 Months, not sure is it a good buy.

gacktleong
post Jun 4 2014, 02:31 PM

GLLLL
755 posts

QUOTE(g88 @ Jun 4 2014, 02:02 PM)
care to share more about your ride colour, age, condition, parking exposure etc.

do bear in mind you WILL get different input from different sifu...some will recommend you have to 'latest' product or tech thing, some will ask go for 'ease of use' product, some will ask you go for branded (local brand, mid end , and high end)

For me ANY product can perform its DO and DON'T depend how you use it....(just like camera), not neccessary keep buying and trying will make your ride looks 'better'...i was kinda of coming thru this path therefore i am shaking my experience.
Thanks for your advise.

1. Pearl white hatchback, 1.5 y/o
2. Heavy traveler, 80km per day. Passing by dusty construction area along my daily route.
3. Usually park indoor in home & office.
4. Was using Permanon coating previously, but now changing back to wax.
5. Wash at least once in a week.
6. The car currently has no sheeting or beading effect. Glass is maintained with Glaco.

True, some products really expensive... I wish to get the car paint maintain and gloss, and try to wax monthly as an exercise too. Meg cleaner wax + tech wax is my budget limit dy nod.gif

gacktleong
post Jun 4 2014, 03:01 PM

GLLLL
755 posts

QUOTE(g88 @ Jun 4 2014, 02:53 PM)
I would suggest you look for this two product aside from cleaner wax and tech wax. DO get yourself a PermaGlass clay too.

For shampoo, any MG shampoo will do the job.

This shall give u a fairly good maintainance

[attachmentid=3999506][attachmentid=3999507]
Ohh i saw M16 in ACE. ColorX is a AIO product or similar to deep crystal cleaner?
gacktleong
post Jun 4 2014, 03:05 PM

GLLLL
755 posts

QUOTE(Xu3r @ Jun 4 2014, 03:02 PM)
Anyone know that meguiar can clean small scratches or scruffs on plastic area ?

MG GOLD CLASS TRIM DETAILER

This post has been edited by gacktleong: Jun 4 2014, 03:10 PM
gacktleong
post Jun 4 2014, 03:38 PM

GLLLL
755 posts

QUOTE(g88 @ Jun 4 2014, 03:19 PM)
this is the full recommended 'complete' system from Deep Crystal family

[attachmentid=3999540]
Wow! so many steps XD

I guess i will use cleaner wax/ColorX + m16 wax for my monthly maintenance smile.gif rclxms.gif

Thanks~

This post has been edited by gacktleong: Jun 4 2014, 03:42 PM
gacktleong
post Jun 4 2014, 04:29 PM

GLLLL
755 posts

QUOTE(g88 @ Jun 4 2014, 04:27 PM)
thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif
perhaps a polisher too XD

by the way what masking tape u guys using?
gacktleong
post Jun 4 2014, 07:01 PM

GLLLL
755 posts

QUOTE(roxx @ Jun 4 2014, 05:58 PM)
Did you do pre-cleaning / paint correction / polishing before using permanon? Am asking this because wanted to try permanon and I will do as per pre-thingy first before applying permanon platinum..  sweat.gif

As I know brilliant shine contain 10% of the permanon coating, thus less foam will be created. Right?
yeap, last time i at a well-known shop at taman mayang pj, they provide surface preparation before apply. i think the permanon is not bad, just not up to my expectation in water beading + sheeting. the gloss also not as shining as compare to wax.

Ya, i still have ard 500ml brilliant shine. u wan? i sell u cheap cheap haha
gacktleong
post Jun 5 2014, 12:06 AM

GLLLL
755 posts

QUOTE(g88 @ Jun 4 2014, 11:10 PM)
More doesn't mean better protection. It either repeatation of same product from different brand/packing or wasting your time only.
i used zhapalang maskign tape, rm3 per roll, left residue, but not hard to remove la biggrin.gif
gacktleong
post Jun 5 2014, 08:50 AM

GLLLL
755 posts

QUOTE(roxx @ Jun 4 2014, 08:34 PM)
How much?  sweat.gif  sweat.gif

I want to rojak2 in product.. ONR for wash + clay lube - DG431 for APC - UC for compounding - PBA601 for paint bonding - Opti-Seal for paint & wheel coating OR permanon platinum - DG Track Claw for finishing..

Is it too much? Or is there any AIO for all these?  drool.gif
RM30 come collect from me rclxms.gif
gacktleong
post Jun 5 2014, 11:32 AM

GLLLL
755 posts

QUOTE(N33d @ Jun 5 2014, 10:21 AM)
Hi bro, same feeling here. haha
abit disappointed. Might try opti-seal or OCW next. Hope either one last longer and looks better than permanon
Mayb with tat price tag we cannot expect too high hmm.gif
gacktleong
post Jun 6 2014, 03:48 PM

GLLLL
755 posts

QUOTE(roxx @ Jun 6 2014, 12:55 AM)
Went to hardware shop and the guy told me can use wall paint masking tape instead of painters tape.. He said that it will not tear off the car paint..

Does your zhapalang tape could be the same he mentioned to me?
Not sure what the hardware shop guy told u, but i got mine from a stationery shop, no brand. But will leave little residue but can be removed easily by rubbing it off.

QUOTE(scoutfai @ Jun 6 2014, 07:49 AM)
You need to be aware of their level of expectation and definition of "sophisticated work".
To most people, swirl is not even consider a paint problem. Orange Peel is something only nonsense people will complain about. So what is considered okay, acceptable risk to them, might not be acceptable to you at any bit at all. You yourself understand your own demand the best, so you cannot take others' advice for granted and blindly believe it in. Experiment with it, and if the result is within your expectation, continue using it. Otherwise, continue the search.

Cheap masking tape has a tendency to leave glue reside, being over strong or too weak in adhesive power, and some might not be chemically resistant enough so when your product mix with it, the color (if it has one) can actually dissolve and stain your paint. I have once used cheap masking tape during waxing, end up it leaves a lot of glue residue. The residue is so strong that I have to use mild solvent like turpentine to rub it. This does dissolve the glue residue but at the same time it also removes the wax adjacent to it, so I have to delicately apply wax at this area again. It is a double work for me. Learned it once and never repeat the same mistake again.

That does not mean all RM5 masking tape is worthless piece of shit, but you need to evaluate each yourself and once you successfully find one:
1) Share it here of course.  rclxms.gif
2) Stick to the combination that works for you. Like Mike Phillips from Autogeek always say, choose something you like and use it often.
Wise words. Different people have different point of view and expectation.

*Reminds me of advise from brother g88 thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by gacktleong: Jun 6 2014, 03:49 PM
gacktleong
post Aug 6 2014, 09:29 AM

GLLLL
755 posts

Hi guys, i would like to share my experiment on trying Turtle Wax Carnauba Cleaner Wax which is much cheaper than my regular wax which is the Meguair's NXT Generation® Tech Wax® 2.0. Wax is tested on 2 different cars, and they were applied on the same day.

Case 1 - Meguair's NXT Generation® Tech Wax® 2.0 (Discontinued Product)
-White color car, daily drive vechicle, park under car basement most of the time.
-Meg gold class shampoo + 3M Claying before wax is applied by hand.
-Easy to buff, white residue on plastic trim but easy to remove by wipe it off.
-Meg gold class shampoo wash once per week
-Excellent water sheeting & beading effect, great shine on white car
-Easy to wash the tar and dirt in subsequence wash.
-The wax (water sheeting and beading effect) still there after a month, paint feel smooth by hand touching

Case 2 - Turtle Wax Carnauba Cleaner Wax
-Silver color car, car for buying sayur at pasar pagi, park under roof most of the time.
-Meg gold class shampoo + 3M Claying before wax is applied by hand.
-Hard to buff when leave it too long, white residue to plastic trim and hard to remove.
-Meg gold class shampoo wash once per week
-Excellent water sheeting & beading effect, great shine on silver car
-Easy to wash the tar and dirt in subsequence wash, but effect gone lesser after each wash.
-The wax (water sheeting and beading effect) is gone half in 1st car wash, and another half in 2nd wash, and totally gone in 3rd wash.

My conclusion is Turtle Wax Carnauba Cleaner Wax performs as good as Meguair's for the 1st week. However, the wax is gone half in the 1st car wash. I feel dissapointed for my effort to apply the wax by hand and the wax gone in 2 -3 wash. No doubt the product is cheaper in price tag, but durability wise it is not as expected as per advertised.

0.0269sec    0.42    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 05:20 AM