Car Care and Detailing [V3], LYN Automotive Detailing Thread

efaceninja
post Jul 8 2014, 08:18 PM

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Jul 6 2014, 09:39 PM)
Depends,  my car is full of swirls upon delivery

And I personally don't trust outside car wash,  nor am I willing to pay for proper one
mee too. on the first year i normally send outside to wash. but sometimes i just think they do more harm than cleaning it. so now i wash myself, wax myself, and wax polish once in a blue moon.
efaceninja
post Jul 8 2014, 08:25 PM

wanna ask here, not sure if it has been asked before.. icon_question.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif

What's the difference Meguiars Ultimate Liquid Wax and Meguiars White Wax?? anyone knows?
And also difference between Meguiars Ultimate Liquid Wax and Meguiars Ultimate Quick Wax??

12volts got meguiars discount recently.. so.. wanna try some expensive pain care product that i normally wouldn't even think of buying..

This post has been edited by efaceninja: Jul 8 2014, 08:49 PM
efaceninja
post Jul 8 2014, 10:43 PM

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Jul 8 2014, 08:58 PM)
My new inspira is purely washed and detailed by myself,  outside wash /detailer never touch biggrin.gif
rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
right now all my detailing stuffs is a one called PG.. PG MF cloth, polish cloth, clay, polymer, tyre shine, wash.. lols.

normally i just wash with the wash & wax. the result is kinda good. then about 3 months or above and when i rajin enough, i wash & clay <=== super tiring, and then apply the polymer sealant (light abrasive). so far feel ok with this PG brand. last time got used KIT metallic wax, doesn't feel shine enough for me. the wash & wax gives more shine thumbup.gif

always heard of meguiars, but the price is really high. Placed order on Ultimate Quik Wax.. haha the Ultimate series i think is polymer type too right? this one is spray one. the result that i hope for is super super shine rclxm9.gif

so what's your detailing method?? The LYN forum has kept me busy enough, lazy to read mequiars forum somemore..

This post has been edited by efaceninja: Jul 8 2014, 10:45 PM
efaceninja
post Jul 9 2014, 08:17 PM

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Jul 9 2014, 11:07 AM)
Krismas almost half a year passed, sonax fabric waterproof impregnation is still beading/waterproofing strong tongue.gif

noticed this when water from my teh oh ice limau packet dripped over the seats... pretty beads formed and just rolled around the seat and i just use tissue to soak them all up XD
ouch it looks hurts so much when see you pouring water onto your seats, in your video. sweat.gif sweat.gif
efaceninja
post Jul 10 2014, 08:44 PM

QUOTE(iamsobloodysick @ Jul 10 2014, 05:55 PM)
50ml pot, RM xxxx (4 digit).

it is durable but not permanent though. it is WAX!

3months still can sheet the water well.

it is challenging when washing the car, the surface is ultra hydrophobic.
shocking.gif shocking.gif shocking.gif shocking.gif shocking.gif shocking.gif shocking.gif shocking.gif
and i thought MEG is expensive... sweat.gif sweat.gif
efaceninja
post Jul 10 2014, 11:34 PM

looked up on youtube a bit, swissvax is like, almost all the video examples are used on Ferrari and Lambo ONLY shocking.gif shocking.gif shocking.gif
btw, have you guys seen this vid? he uses his hand as the wax applicator shocking.gif shocking.gif (skip to 6 mins 7 s)
http://youtu.be/Flm5VlkZ4eU?t=6m7s

This post has been edited by efaceninja: Jul 10 2014, 11:37 PM
efaceninja
post Jul 11 2014, 06:19 PM

QUOTE(iamsobloodysick @ Jul 11 2014, 08:49 AM)
Swissvax and scholl concept wax can use hand to apply the wax onto the car.

Zymol cannot. It contains petroleum.hands feel awful after the application.
Is bare hand works better than applicator pad ???
efaceninja
post Jul 14 2014, 05:04 PM

QUOTE(shaniandras2787 @ Jul 14 2014, 03:35 PM)
Guys,

I have the Meguiar's Supreme Shine microfibre cloth and after a period of usage, it has accumulated some dirt (dark patches) so I need to know if there's a "proper' way to wash them to prolong their durability or just wash them normally with powdered detergent?
I normally just throw all my car wash towel, including chamois and applicator pads, into washing machine, put some normal cloth detergent i normally ise for wash cloth, and wash as normal... not really sure if i doing it wrong

This post has been edited by efaceninja: Jul 14 2014, 05:07 PM
efaceninja
post Jul 20 2014, 11:46 PM

this thread is like 100 pg long and its V3.. crawled a few dozen page than eye blurred already. so i just gonna list out my method of paint care so far and let sifu sifus comment if i do anything no good and or can improve somewhere..

1. Wash: in the beginning i wash with PG car wash shampoo. the later switch to PG wash & wax. and now Meg Ulti wash & wax.. just wash with MF cloth. after wash, i rinse with water & wipe dry with chamois cloth.

2. clay: i first started claying since 1 yr ago? the first time i clay felt really different. can feel the clay is rubbing off all the particles on the surface. then my subsequent claying session can feel nothing much to be clay off dy. so i actually clayed less and less (longer interval and actually less energy needed for each session). and normally i clay together with washing, meaning i use the car wash shampoo water mixture as my lubricant for clay. using PG wonder clay by the way.

3. polish: i don't do polishing as my car is light coloured (harder to see swirl), and i don't observe any noticeable swirl or scratch yet on the paint. The product that i've close to polishing is the PG polymer sealant. it says don't use on clear surface and can remove light oxidized paint, so i think it is slightly abrasive. so i think its like a 2in1 polish and wax/sealant thing. last time i used this was 3-4 months ago, applied with PG cotton polishing cloth.

4. wax: at first i bought off the shelve KIT metallic paste wax from supermarket. really the shine effect is quite minimal. then i moved on to the PG polymer sealant as mentioned above. the shine effect is about the same. i went to polymer sealant because i don't want to wax every week because its so time consuming. and just recently.. switched to meg Ulti liquid wax. the shine is... fabulous!! read from this thread that this ULW just need to spread a really really thin layer, no need use so much product. i did and is happy with the result, while not wasting too much product.

5. tyre: i usually just wash with a sponge. wait it dry, then spray the PG tyre spray, then wipe with sponge again or else it will look too wet. normally can last for a week or so.

6. rim: ermm... i just normal wash it only with MF cloth. previous few post was talking about rim protection & the products. well.. i keep telling myself don't fall for this poison.... yet.

7. interior: previously just wipe off the dust with a wet MF cloth. recently started using MEG ultimate protectant..

8. windscreen: just try to clay it sometimes during washing.

9. finally, i throw all the applicator pads, MF cloth, polish cloth, chamois cloth, all cloth, into the washing machine and wash with normal cloth washing detergent.

sidenote: this MEG discount recently is really burning a whole in my wallet faster.. already bought 4 of their things recently.. moneyflies.gif moneyflies.gif

wanna ask.. is MEG's product is really as good/worth as their reputation? is there any other brands available here that is as good as MEG for the same/lower amount of price?
efaceninja
post Jul 21 2014, 09:17 PM

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Jul 21 2014, 03:03 AM)

1. so... it means i need to buy another shampoo again??? blink.gif
2. okiee noted. so it also means i'm able to use clay to remove any residue LSP prior i moving on to other brand next time?? btw, what's LSP?? i guess is Last Shine Protectant? Last Step Protectant?
3. saw you bought a spot light a few post back.. i know there's probably big some swirls around the car.. but since i can't see it, then in my mind it ain't there tongue.gif if i saw the swirls.. then hand itchy itchy wanna buy polish again.. moneyflies.gif and then need to do extra step for polishing.. wait till i eventually invest on a DA someday...
4. okiee noted.
5. ermm.. what do you mean? i normally wash the car body first, then wash the rim & tyre worr
6. my car stock brake only. actually the inner side of the rim is almost never really being washed, because my hand can't reach in..
8. actually i once use the rain x alike product (forgot the name, cheapo one la) for my windscreen. then there's one time i accidentally drop a few drops of the thing onto my bonet without myself realising it. now it created a dark colour strip stain on the paint. imagine a dark coloured ink running down a strip on your bonet. i tried to polish it with polish compound, but can't. i felt like i was scrapping my clear coat off and so eventually i forget about trying to remove it and, never use any windscreen rain repellent coating again..
9. okiee.

even if Meg is cheapo product in stateside, i still hope that it is still far better than most off the shelve product in supermarket? Will take note on Sonax & Osren brand.. sometimes it is the problem if availability, can i buy those things online?? or where can i get them easily.. have you used Sonax's wax before? the Xtreme Brilliant Wax 1, and Osren's Synergized Crystal Rock? how are those compare to ULW and what are their prices? all these 3 i believe belong in the same category.. synthetic polymer and natural wax combo which is designed/advertised to shine like natural wax, and durable like synt poly sealant.

so bad that you mention sonax also got promo now... hand itchy itchy.. the BSD sounds really nice.. is it considered as final final spray coat after wax?? but i dunno where can i get sonax products yet.. arrghh i must tahan until my Meg products is finished... moneyflies.gif pluss i still got meg UQW..
efaceninja
post Jul 23 2014, 02:26 PM

Just saw this at a petronas petrol station. Didn't know that petronas brand has wax and also polish too??? Anyone tried before?? Lols.

Appearantly its a spray wax, like the meg UQW. The usage instructions printed at the back also similar: clean car, dry car, spray wax, wipe dry. And also noticed that it only had english and german language on it, no BM. So... developed in german???

This post has been edited by efaceninja: Jul 23 2014, 02:27 PM
efaceninja
post Jul 23 2014, 11:17 PM

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Jul 23 2014, 03:08 PM)
iinm italy/germany (check the labels/country of origin)

seems too good to be true, imported yet damn cheap... and they really need to work on the packaging... at most stations people go vandalize/"steal usage" at those products... i also lazy to buy lol
steal usage?? what you mean? hmm.gif

tomorrow i'm going long distance travel, so just now quickly i washed the car, dried, and then apply UQW. works great, UQW gives the car shine shine very very quick. drool.gif icon_rolleyes.gif but i come to realise that at this rate, UQW will be used too fast (ie if use weekly after every wash).. and UQW ain't exactly cheap. cry.gif

crawled some pages on V2.. you guys were mentioning Meg D156 Detailer Synthetic X-Press™ Spray Wax which comes in 1 gallon.. essentially a same function/product just with different scent. mind sharing where can i get this and how much is it?? notworthy.gif or can i get a cheaper alternative like from osren brand??

btw, UQW smells really nice i thought i was spraying fragrance.

This post has been edited by efaceninja: Jul 23 2014, 11:18 PM
efaceninja
post Jul 24 2014, 01:59 PM

QUOTE(scoutfai @ Jul 24 2014, 10:17 AM)
how come I cannot tag people with the @ now?
]Quazacolt thought me once! But i still don't remember!
efaceninja
post Jul 24 2014, 02:01 PM

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Jul 24 2014, 01:05 PM)
nope; as mentioned, not very keen on trying out "used products" sweat.gif

didn't purposely go hunt other petronas stations though and the one that i frequent have their product displayed in bad condition.
Lols i see what you mean. You mean ppl (maybe the store keeper) take it, spray spray on their car, then put it back to shelve?? But the one i saw still looks unopened la.

Anyway, anyone elses tried??
efaceninja
post Jul 26 2014, 10:25 PM

Wanna ask, is random orbital different from dual action machine? Is the pad attachment system common between them?

Wanna ask because it is often very confusing to me.. like the meg's DA system which utilize standard drill, the pad attachment system i think is different than others right? And RO got speed selector? Like the black & decker RO polisher?
efaceninja
post Jul 30 2014, 08:49 AM

QUOTE(scoutfai @ Jul 29 2014, 09:41 PM)
Another reason is simply for sake of knowledge & curiosity only. Knowing more will not harm mah, right?  tongue.gif
Maybe one day in future got salesman come promote me water softening system and claim something like buy once never need to invest into recharge the resin again, then I know this is a con.
its good knowledge knowing the costs of these things. personally i think it is quite super extreme in caring about hard water / soft water for the purpose of car cleaning! really, detail DETAIL DETAIL! haha
efaceninja
post Jul 30 2014, 09:06 AM

QUOTE(scoutfai @ Jul 27 2014, 12:02 AM)

wow thanks for the great info. cleared some of my doubts rclxms.gif ya ya this is the black decker RO polisher i'm talking about. thanks for pointing out that it uses the loop wrapping cover for the 'pads'. i don't like those wrapping type because i think it is inherently unstable because it is not easy to wrap the thing perfectly onto the rotating sponge. i tried once with this type of wrapping one, one of my friend's machine. without the wrapping, it rotates fine, balance. once attach the wrapping, it become very very unstable. and i think the wrapping pad is super not easy to find.

btw, youtube video should post as this (tips from Quazacolt as well rclxms.gif )
CODE
 [YOUTUBE]3m9gpgT_72k[/YOUTUBE]

prefer a machine with velcro type backing plate, dual-action, with speed selector. If and when i'm going to buy one... normally where can i find those things here in malaysia? don't like Meg's DA using drill as well, because i think it makes the whole thing super tall, and difficult to handle & operating, especially on roof.
efaceninja
post Jul 30 2014, 09:54 AM

i've questions about the MF cloths. basically, how do you determine if a MF cloth is good for the car? purpose is for buffing and/or washing. Or maybe general occasional wiping (like wiping off bird poops).

like, some MF cloth is crazy expensive, for example like the Meg supreme shine (sorry for keep using meg as example tongue.gif ).. i got a piece of it that comes with meg ULW. so i touch it and knows roughly how it feels. and the other day i went to daiso, saw the MF cloth for cars. i touch it, they feel super soft, super nice. if lets say you don't mention the brand name to me and ask me to compare the 2, i would definitely pick daiso's everytime. its way more softer than Meg's one and it cost only RM 5.

they also have one MF cloth with the 'fur' pattern & texture that looks like meg's wash mitt. i never touch meg's wash mitt before so i dunno how it feels. the daiso's 'wash mitt' also feel very soft and nice to touch. you can see the photos below..

Daiso MF cloth. this is one piece, one side is longer fur and one side is short fur. just like the osren's Premium MF cloth

Daiso MF cloth that looks like meg wash mitt

another Daiso MF cloth

so... how do we determine if a MF cloth is good for car?

This post has been edited by efaceninja: Jul 30 2014, 09:55 AM
efaceninja
post Jul 30 2014, 11:56 AM

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Jul 30 2014, 11:36 AM)
megs cloths are actually just cheap china cloths, however they work, and they come with their product, so that's that.

generally, if the cloth is soft/plush/thick enough, it'll do.

as an extended, for washing, you'll want something (be it cloth/mitt/sponge) that can hold suds easily so you don't have to return to your bucket before the cloth/mitt is dirty enough to require washing/rinsing in the clean water bucket

for drying, definitely something that is very absorbent so that it eases the number of passes your cloth have to go through on a panel
definitely should not require any strength/pressure as that could create more defects and drying step is the only step that no product/lubricant is applied which means this is the easiest step to create swirls/marring sad.gif

for waxing/buffing, you'll want a cloth that can easily grab/hold polishing/waxing medium while not rough/hard enough that can potentially create more defects than you're trying to remove.
yup yup, the meg's one got 'made in china' printed right on it. maybe the daiso's one is made in japan rclxm9.gif even better!

hmmm... ok ok so i think the drying part is important, need soft and also absorbent.. i'm using Giant brand chamois cloth, it is definitely good absorbant, but i not sure if it is considered soft or paint/wax finish friendly enough if compare to soft soft plush plush MF cloth.

so... i think i gonno got those daiso cloth for a try. its RM 5 rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
efaceninja
post Jul 30 2014, 05:06 PM

QUOTE(scoutfai @ Jul 30 2014, 01:02 PM)

Osren Malaysia carries one model called Ultramate DA. So far this is the highest input wattage rating DA. I am using this model. Feel working fine for DIYer and weekend warrior.
Price about RM880 by Osren Malaysia.

Meguiar's Malaysia also got its DA (not the drill attachment kind), but it is sold at RM1600 by Hypercoat Malaysia. It is 550Watt, with some features the Ultramate does not have but even so Hypercoat still overprice it by a lot. You can get it from Autobacs Singapore at about RM1k for machine only. Malaysia one is comes with a package.

A even cheaper alternative will be this:
Shinemate

The above are all traditonal DA. with 8mm throw, non-forced.

If you want big throw, either Rupes or the China made copy of Rupes, which is now sold by GoodWellCarCare. I think RM1k per unit.
Forced one so far only Flex, carries by MTIS in Malaysia.

Generally speaking if you buy it personally in Singapore the price will be cheaper than you buy it in Malaysia.

Eih, my youtube video you can't see?
thanks for introducing the machines and where to get'em. ya i think this is the kind of machine i'm looking.. however at this price.. well.. for this and next year better stick to hand job first, save some $$, then buy big next time.

the ultramate DA seems quite okay, since it has the D handle, 2 x size backing pad and comes with a carrying bag some more (not sure if the shinemate got). can easily bring around to friend's/relative's house for some quick part time detailing job ~~! thumbup.gif thumbup.gif

have bookmarked this page. and ya, can't view your youtube video.

This post has been edited by efaceninja: Jul 30 2014, 05:06 PM

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0633sec    0.42    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 05:29 AM