190 Pages « < 16 17 18 19 20 > » Bottom

Working for PETRONAS V2, How to get a job, benefits, culture etc

Carl Johnson
post Apr 16 2014, 05:43 PM

232 posts

how petronas pay compare to other o&g ins ??
sojurn
post Apr 17 2014, 01:00 AM

286 posts

QUOTE(msismail @ Apr 16 2014, 02:15 PM)
I suggest go for EPF Account 2. but try to nego first. they'll be tough at first but just play along. I managed to get installment plan suit to my financial.

the good thing is, there's no interest imposed.
But how did they calculate how much you "owe"?

I assume pro-rata is a given. Any further discounts on top of that?

Some of my friends that left claim that they only had to pay a relatively small amount. Just wondering what your experience was.
miaopurr
post Apr 17 2014, 09:45 AM

587 posts

hi, got a question about two of petronas divisions.

what's the difference between PTSSB (Petronas Technical Services S/B) and GTS (Group Technical Solutions)?
vox9802
post Apr 17 2014, 09:56 AM

46 posts

QUOTE(miaopurr @ Apr 17 2014, 09:45 AM)
hi, got a question about two of petronas divisions.

what's the difference between PTSSB (Petronas Technical Services S/B) and GTS (Group Technical Solutions)?
If im not mistaken both are the same. You got an offer from them?
miaopurr
post Apr 17 2014, 09:59 AM

587 posts

QUOTE(vox9802 @ Apr 17 2014, 09:56 AM)
If im not mistaken both are the same. You got an offer from them?
no la. a friend asked. i guess he got an offer or maybe he was considering joining either one.
msismail
post Apr 17 2014, 10:09 AM

297 posts

QUOTE(sojurn @ Apr 17 2014, 02:00 AM)

Some of my friends that left claim that they only had to pay a relatively small amount. Just wondering what your experience was.
My case is a bit diff. I didn't get an offer after grad since that was during the low period (2009 - they don't hire as many as they used to).

So, there were about 20pax of us (from Australia) need to pay flat rate 90k (installment) or 70k lump sum (the total amount spent range is from 300k to 400k).

they'll give a letter on how much u owe them.

Or, u might want to go thru your offer letter.
TSazraeil
post Apr 17 2014, 07:38 PM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

QUOTE(sojurn @ Apr 16 2014, 08:00 PM)

To be safe, do a conservative estimate on how much you owe them (Basically, how much was your tuition fees and how much stipend per month) for the duration of your study. Add maybe an extra 20-25% on top of that for the tickets that they pay for you and also for the fees/allowance they paid for the Pre-U that you did in Malaysia (Banting I assume)

After that, pro-rate that with the remaining bond you have, in your case 35% and see if you can live with paying the bond with the extra income that you get by working with another company.

Mine was 250K and since I only had 3.5 months left on my bond, I paid the 7500 ringgit owed to them.
iamakmalramli
post Apr 18 2014, 03:57 PM

Can someone please advise me on INSTEP? Didnt get the whole picture of it just yet. Will be going to the interview this sunday (20th apr). Can someone please explain what i should do to prepare myself. What will the questions be like? What r the qualities they looking for? What should i do to please the interviewer? And where will i be i after finish instep? Needdd hellllpppp. Thank youu.
vox9802
post Apr 23 2014, 06:17 PM

46 posts

Anyone got offer recently from petronas?
duckverve
post Apr 23 2014, 08:14 PM

22 posts

Hi. Ive been following this thread when I start to get a call and an email from Petronas. A lot of info and tips here. Will update my timeline on the interview stages if I get an offer from them.
Boyz88
post Apr 23 2014, 08:28 PM

84 posts

Hi every one. Is it true that petronas always hired sum1 that have 'cable' and petronas scholar? It's so hard for public being recruited by petronas. Feel free to leave ur comments. Thanks.
blue16
post Apr 23 2014, 09:26 PM

Metal Box-Blue16
618 posts

QUOTE(Boyz88 @ Apr 23 2014, 08:28 PM)
Hi every one. Is it true that petronas always hired sum1 that have 'cable' and petronas scholar? It's so hard for public being recruited by petronas. Feel free to leave ur comments. Thanks.
for me,i have the same feeling with you. I believed they have some quota need to follow.
msismail
post Apr 24 2014, 11:14 AM

297 posts

QUOTE(Boyz88 @ Apr 23 2014, 09:28 PM)
I did have that tot before. I even didn't attend any mock interviews for I always think that PETRONAS would hire scholars. rclxm9.gif But then, I didn't get hired (even the SI during my final year was cancelled). - received letter of release, means no more connection/privilege as a scholar. period. sad.gif

But, last month, I've got an interview call, not even applying for any positions... icon_rolleyes.gif

so, it's kinda tricky. rclxub.gif

the best way is to plan ur career path that suits eventually, PETRONAS interest. for example, if u work for O&G company, it's likely for u to get hired. experienced personnel is preferred. thumbup.gif
duckverve
post Apr 24 2014, 12:49 PM

22 posts

Hello. Just to share with u guys. I have no cable with petronas. I have 4years experience working, degree in local uni, not a Pet scholar, just try my luck for 2nd time (prev I had submitted my resume on June 2013).
I) 5/2/2014 Submit my resume
2)20/3/2014 Got a phone call from Pet for a chit chat session
3) 21/3/2014 1st chit chat session
4)26/3/2014 Result 1st chit chat sesson -unsuccessful because dont meet the criteria
5) 1/4/2014 Got a 2nd inv for ano dept for chit chat session (so i consider here my 2nd chit chat session)
6)2/4/2014 2nd chit chat session
7) 3/4/2014 - selected for SI
8) 16/4/2014 - my SI with no role play
9) ..... Still waiting for the result

abdz
post Apr 24 2014, 04:55 PM

111 posts

QUOTE(duckverve @ Apr 24 2014, 12:49 PM)
Hello. Just to share with u guys. I have no cable with petronas. I have 4years experience working, degree in local uni, not a Pet scholar, just try my luck for 2nd time (prev  I had submitted my resume on June 2013).
I) 5/2/2014 Submit my resume
2)20/3/2014 Got a phone call from Pet for a chit chat session
3) 21/3/2014 1st chit chat session
4)26/3/2014 Result 1st chit chat sesson -unsuccessful because dont meet the criteria
5) 1/4/2014 Got a 2nd inv for ano dept for chit chat session (so i consider here my 2nd chit chat session)
6)2/4/2014 2nd chit chat session
7) 3/4/2014 - selected for SI
8) 16/4/2014 -  my SI with no role play
9) ..... Still waiting for the result
good for you. my question is what are your qualification and what position did u applied?

if it's engineer related position (or drilling, or anything technical) for me is just ordinary. they always get priority to be called by petronas whistling.gif

but if business related background (for example business admin, management)... i salute u thumbup.gif

would like to know your tips too hmm.gif

even in this thread bisnes background (not related to anything engineer, drilling or technical bla bla bla) that want to apply for petronas are being sidelined rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by abdz: Apr 24 2014, 04:59 PM
duckverve
post Apr 24 2014, 05:40 PM

22 posts

QUOTE(abdz @ Apr 24 2014, 04:55 PM)
good for you. my question is what are your qualification and what position did u applied?

if it's engineer related position (or drilling, or anything technical) for me is just ordinary. they always get priority to be called by petronas whistling.gif

but if business related background (for example business admin, management)... i salute u thumbup.gif

would like to know your tips too  hmm.gif

even in this thread bisnes background (not related to anything engineer, drilling or technical bla bla bla) that want to apply for petronas are being sidelined rolleyes.gif
Hi. I am in banking sector area. Graduated in accounting. The dept offer is under finance.
duckverve
post Apr 24 2014, 05:44 PM

22 posts

QUOTE(abdz @ Apr 24 2014, 04:55 PM)

would like to know your tips too  hmm.gif

It is under finance. I am in banking area. I have no experience working with O&G.
Boyz88
post Apr 25 2014, 11:51 AM

84 posts

QUOTE(msismail @ Apr 24 2014, 11:14 AM)
I did have that tot before. I even didn't attend any mock interviews for I always think that PETRONAS would hire scholars. rclxm9.gif  But then, I didn't get hired (even the SI during my final year was cancelled). - received letter of release, means no more connection/privilege as a scholar. period. sad.gif

But, last month, I've got an interview call, not even applying for any positions... icon_rolleyes.gif

so, it's kinda tricky. rclxub.gif

the best way is to plan ur career path that suits eventually, PETRONAS interest. for example, if u work for O&G company, it's likely for u to get hired. experienced personnel is preferred. thumbup.gif
Really?wow..that good for u man.i can avoid to think like that bcoz all my friend that work with petronas have sum1 inside or in easy way to say they use cable. I'm not jealous but feet disappointed with this situation. Many of u I believe wants to work there but didn't have any opportunity even calling for an iv.hmmm..

aaqil268
post Apr 25 2014, 12:01 PM

Is it true that if you're a petronas scholar, you're confirmed a job at petronas? If that is you do well..

This post has been edited by aaqil268: Apr 25 2014, 12:03 PM
duckverve
post Apr 25 2014, 06:06 PM

22 posts

Still waiting for the result. Haiiihhhhh why take so long. I knw others took abt a year even. But seriesly cannot tahan waiting.

190 Pages « < 16 17 18 19 20 > » Top

0.0376sec    0.63    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 08:23 PM