91 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Bottom

Shall we have a diet/workout post?, To Help Each Other.

PowerHouse
post Aug 15 2006, 02:20 PM

237 posts

QUOTE(malaysianPotato @ Aug 15 2006, 09:13 AM)
coffee seems to provide you with energy because of its caffiene content, it stimulates the CNS giving you what seems to be "more" energy and better coordination if taken in the right amounts. iirc its also a metabolic stimulant.

as with all drugs there are draw backs to drinking coffee or consuming any product with caffiene over a long period of time. if you like drinking coffee for the taste and such then drink it but if you're drinking it as some sort of diet drink dont.
but potato, why does bodybuilder takes black coffee with no sugar when they do the dieting?
darkwolfie
post Aug 15 2006, 03:27 PM

291 posts

Please comment, potato:

Breakfast:
Noodles - one large hawker plate/bowl serving. Usually chinese style.

Lunch:
Sandwich/Bun/Cereal/nan
Target are food with low fat, hi carb.

Dinner:
2 bowls of rice with standard chinese dishes.

Workout:
Monday - Usually break, if workout, its cardio - threadmill, stairmaster
Tues - Studio cycling - 40 mins
Wed - Body pump
Thurs - Cardio - as above
Fri - Body pump or cardio crossed with weights. Weights are optimised for maximum reps (about 15 times per set) and not heavy weights.
Sat - rest
Sunday - Badminton

My objective is to burn fat and subsequent weight loss.

This post has been edited by darkwolfie: Aug 15 2006, 03:28 PM
yeeck
post Aug 15 2006, 10:47 PM

3,572 posts

QUOTE(darkwolfie @ Aug 15 2006, 03:27 PM)
Please comment, potato:

Breakfast:
Noodles - one large hawker plate/bowl serving. Usually chinese style.

Lunch:
Sandwich/Bun/Cereal/nan
Target are food with low fat, hi carb.

Dinner:
2 bowls of rice with standard chinese dishes.

Workout:
Monday - Usually break, if workout, its cardio - threadmill, stairmaster
Tues - Studio cycling - 40 mins
Wed - Body pump
Thurs - Cardio - as above
Fri - Body pump or cardio crossed with weights. Weights are optimised for maximum reps (about 15 times per set) and not heavy weights.
Sat - rest
Sunday - Badminton

I think you need to modify your breakfast and lunch. Reduce those high carb stuff if you wanna lose weight.
malaysianPotato
post Aug 15 2006, 11:12 PM

I need more space to write stuff here...
2,816 posts

QUOTE(PowerHouse @ Aug 15 2006, 02:20 PM)
but potato, why does bodybuilder takes black coffee with no sugar when they do the dieting?
i dont know, i dont even know if they actually do that. wait for darklight to comment on this. where did you get your "bodybuilder's" diet list anyway?

QUOTE(darkwolfie @ Aug 15 2006, 03:27 PM)
Please comment, potato:

**snip**

you're eating alot of carbs what about your vegies and meats?

what do you mean by "monday - usually break?
what do you do with your weights? dumbells or barbell or etc?
what is body pump >.<'''
T+1
post Aug 15 2006, 11:37 PM

1,368 posts

QUOTE(PowerHouse @ Aug 15 2006, 02:20 PM)
i m addicted to coffee.
caffeine help burn fat as fuel during exercise
FleshWound
post Aug 15 2006, 11:51 PM

76 posts

QUOTE(yeeck @ Aug 15 2006, 10:41 AM)
True, drinking coffee do make your heart palpitations go higher, I've experienced it before. An even worse case happened to a friend of mine, she goes hyperactive ('crazy') if she drinks coffee.  shakehead.gif
same goes for me. i become restless after a cup of coffee. i can workout longer but i can't seem to push heavy weights without losing form.
PowerHouse
post Aug 15 2006, 11:55 PM

237 posts

QUOTE(malaysianPotato @ Aug 15 2006, 11:12 PM)
i dont know, i dont even know if they actually do that. wait for darklight to comment on this. where did you get your "bodybuilder's" diet list anyway?
i got it from my fren and my experiences
malaysianPotato
post Aug 16 2006, 12:38 AM

2,816 posts

QUOTE(PowerHouse @ Aug 15 2006, 11:55 PM)
i got it from my fren and my experiences
so... basicly your list is what your friend takes and what you take? hardly what i'd consider to be a bodybuilder's diet in general.
PowerHouse
post Aug 16 2006, 01:12 AM

237 posts

QUOTE(malaysianPotato @ Aug 16 2006, 12:38 AM)
so... basicly your list is what your friend takes and what you take? hardly what i'd consider to be a bodybuilder's diet in general.
yup.. i just thought that people here might want to try it out...
TSpizzaboy
post Aug 18 2006, 10:35 AM

9,495 posts

Hey, i'm taking 10 eggs a day. 2 yolks, the rest of the yolks, I feed the dogs.

AFAIK whole eggs give 6GMS of protein and the whites provide 4GMS. So I shud presume I'm consuming approxmiatelly 46GMS of protein from the eggs a day.

So i'm kinda like spending RM14 a week on eggs alone. Is there anything else that can supplement the protein of eggs?
Besides, eggs taste yucky after 1 month.....

malaysianPotato
post Aug 18 2006, 10:51 AM

2,816 posts

might wanna send your dog for a health checkup... cholestrol and all that.
TSpizzaboy
post Aug 18 2006, 12:36 PM

9,495 posts

it ain't my dog

it's some poor strays that wander around sometimes, just waiting for the unreasonable ******* municipal to shoot them in the neck.
anyway, still havent' got the question answered.
PowerHouse
post Aug 18 2006, 03:16 PM

237 posts

QUOTE(pizzaboy @ Aug 18 2006, 10:35 AM)
Hey, i'm taking 10 eggs a day. 2 yolks, the rest of the yolks, I feed the dogs.

AFAIK whole eggs give 6GMS of protein and the whites provide 4GMS. So I shud presume I'm consuming approxmiatelly 46GMS of protein from the eggs a day.

So i'm kinda like spending RM14 a week on eggs alone. Is there anything else that can supplement the protein of eggs?
Besides, eggs taste yucky after 1 month.....
try fish then, tuna fish boiled. " the protein of eggs" can only be found in the eggs itself. jk smile.gif

This post has been edited by PowerHouse: Aug 19 2006, 02:18 AM
ShenWoo
post Sep 1 2006, 04:53 AM

Sir Shen Knight The 2nd
842 posts

*This post was in jiko's diet diary topic. Moved here due to out of topic post tongue.gif

[The following lines are semi spontaneous line without reading the last 13 pages]

I was at 93-95 kilos before during my weight peak. The formula?

Afternoon = Economy Rice with Sweet and Sour Fried meat mixes with flour, looks like rocks

Evening= After class, when to the newly open 7-11 to get slurpy (A BIG NONONO)

Dinner = Some rice with deep fried meat or fried noodles

Supper = Roti Telur with Milo Ais. Alternate days are banana shake.

So from a slim 82 (I'm born big, never reach below 80 in my life) I plum to 92Kgs or 95 Kgs.

The moral? The oil, flour, carbohydrates (From banana shake) and late night snacks make me gain weight in fat in as little as 1 month. Nearly 9 kilos
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
So I did a few rescue extreme steps that only lasted one semester with one subject.

Morning: OATS with milo or sunlac milk. occasionally nasi lemak or rava thosai with teh o panas kurang manis.

Reason: Morning is the most important meal of the day, increase your metabolism too. Also don't worry about dieting in the morning because most probably they get digested by night fall

Midmorning: Snacks like Mc Vitees McNoobs or oats again. Maybe whole meal bread or the ultra expensive gardenia health bread (forgot the name, comes in blue, yellow and red I think)

Reason: Keep your energy high and also metabolism. Metabolism burns fat, that's why we exercise. The metabolism comes in when your stomach digest the food, better if its complicated carbohydrates like oats or whole meal.

Afternoon: Lunch, now since we had some thing like before, we are not so famish to gobble down our meals. Get something like steam chicken, chicken in black sauce, assam fish or just plain fish with some veggies. Portion should be a fist for each dish. As for rice, I started with less then a portion, then slowly none at all.

Reason: Any meat not fried is good for losing weight as oil not only give of the fat in us, we get pimples easily too. Vegetables are important to make sure the meat gets digested properly because of the fiber. I once ate meat only, resulting extremely long time in the toilet. Then less rice is always good as rice is the main culprit for weight gain. Make sure a portion (fist size) for meat and veggies. Rice also try to keep less then a portion

Evening: About 3-4 pm, hungry will come back as the result of not eating too much rice. So either go for some whole meal bread, biscuits, oats with milo kosong. Never, i mean never go for the typical Malaysian tea meals sold by malay stalls (pisang goring, mee hoon, mee, cucur udang). You can buy poh piah, just tell them not to add the pork's lard (The crunchy part of the poh piah).

Reason: When we feel hungry, our stomach is telling us we need to eat. Starving our self like those typical people on diet is a bad method as mood swings tend to occur (dont kacau me lah!) and muscle loss. This also keeps the metabolism level up.

Dinner: Should be about 6-7 pm. Usually I go for steam or white chicken rice, yong tau fu or chee cheong fun. If I don't exercise after my meal, then less rice is eaten. Some times the noodles are skipped altogether except the meaty parts. Of course tell the aunty or uncle not to add the noodles otherwise food is wasted.

Reason: As you can see, nothing is fried or oily is on the list. The problem with most M'sian food is that the good ones are mostly fried. Also no carbohydrates (rice or noodles) after 6pm when no exercising is done after the meal. Because carbs taken at this time tend to be turned to fat as we get less active in the night (at home watching dramas or blogging).

Supper: Have a milo kosong, maybe 2-3 pieces of whole meal bread. Boiled white eggs if you like. Skim milks with milo are also nice.

Reason: You must be wondering why I take snacks right? Since it's bad for us in general. Actually the snacks is taken so that the stomach won't be too hungry when we sleep. An empthy stomach will tend to use our body muscle as a source of energy to last the night. This is bad for body builders. But the snacks I took are light in general, mostly in liquid form with zero oil.

Q&A:

Why so many meals? 5 of them? Won't I gain weight?
This is a common misconception by people who have little information on dieting. The reason 5 meals are taken is to ensure our body was a steady supply of energy to keep us going. If 3 meals are taken, they are usually in bigger portions. We will tend to get sleepy and drowsy because of the sudden intake of large meals. The common feeling of being famish or greedy can be avoided also. How is the calculation for the meal intake? Take your typical meal and break into two parts. That's how much we should eat. 6 are even better if you can find the time.

But, eating boiled food everyday will make meals so dull? Die lah like that, become zombie.
To overcome that, once a week just go crazy on what you like to eat. If you want to eat pizza hut for lunch and KFC for dinner is alright. Think of that day like a reward for our hard dieting routine. For 6 days, you focus on your diet, telling your self you can have that nice big ice cream or murtabak you always wanted to eat. This also helps keep us sane and not become zombie like. I had 2 or 3 buffets during my dieting process and I still lose weight.

What exercise we need to do? How often?
Well, it works for me 6 days a week because I only had 1 class to attend. I alternate between aerobics and weight lifting. Aerobics in my definition is jogging, running, play sports like squash, cycling or climbing a steep hill like Bukit Beruang. Anything that builds up a sweat makes us feel breathless after it is aerobics. When weight lifting, aim for high repetition but less weight as high metabolism is our aim, not muscle building (Bodybuilders might disagree but it works for me). Usually I end the day with 2 or 3 boiled egg whites with HL milk.

That's all?
Need more info? Can PM me. But bare in mind I'm no more 83Kgs like I used to due to studies, trying to aim back to 85Kgs now.

PS: Sorry for the long post.... got crazy while writing about my diet plans hahahaha. Spelling errors are expected as I'm bad in spelling and misspelling them.

Of course it's open to criticism. Cheers
zx12
post Sep 3 2006, 12:33 AM

717 posts

when you guys say rice with chicken, how is the chicken cooked?..

i have access to fried or curry.. which one is better?.. i usually take the breast as i like them best n heard they are less fatty.. no skin..
malaysianPotato
post Sep 3 2006, 01:56 AM

2,816 posts

errr depends on how its fried and how rich the curry is? if its a light pan grill/fry with minimal oil i'd say it'd be healthier than going with a full heavy curry?
windows_sux
post Sep 3 2006, 04:27 PM

75 posts

QUOTE(zx12 @ Sep 3 2006, 12:33 AM)
when you guys say rice with chicken, how is the chicken cooked?..

i have access to fried or curry.. which one is better?.. i usually take the breast as i like them best n heard they are less fatty.. no skin..
boss dua-dua tu can kill ur body...hahah go for stim chicken...i know its hard but u have to try ....u can eat curry only during weekend..if u teringin sangat nak makan that kinda foods..... icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by windows_sux: Sep 3 2006, 04:28 PM
malaysianPotato
post Sep 3 2006, 06:39 PM

2,816 posts

imo it really depends on what you're eating for, if you're bodybuilding or a pro-athlete where you have to keep to a strict diet then obviously you skip on both and go for the healthier options.

if you're just working out to get in decent/good shape and live a healthy life, aslong as you're not just eating junk all the time and have a good general diet eating "normal" foods like curries or fried foods 3-4times a week is fine.

zx12
post Sep 3 2006, 07:03 PM

717 posts

QUOTE(windows_sux @ Sep 3 2006, 04:27 PM)
boss dua-dua tu can kill ur body...hahah go for stim chicken...i know its hard but u have to try ....u can eat curry only during weekend..if u teringin sangat nak makan that kinda foods..... icon_rolleyes.gif
yea.. i know steamed is better.. but its not available to me.. n i dunno how to cook tongue.gif
yeeck
post Sep 3 2006, 08:55 PM

3,572 posts

QUOTE(zx12 @ Sep 3 2006, 07:03 PM)
yea.. i know steamed is better.. but its not available to me.. n i dunno how to cook tongue.gif
If you have no other choice but only fried chicken (KFC?), try to remove as much of the deep fried skin as possible and take only the white flesh.

91 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Top

0.0242sec    0.59    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 11:05 PM