125 Pages « < 25 26 27 28 29 > » Bottom

Working in Singapore V15

mozane
post Nov 28 2013, 01:04 AM

160 posts

recent years there were number of private institutions upgraded to university such as HELP college > HELP University, APIIT > Asia Pacific University (APU), Taylor's College > Taylor's University, etc

When you're filling up the Employment Application Form / Application Form to apply for the Work Permit (for MOM). What do you fill up the name of the institution/university column if you obtained the degree when it was still a college? (new name / the name at the time you obtained your degree)

** it matters to submit to the MOM?

This post has been edited by mozane: Nov 28 2013, 01:08 AM
SUSalaskanbunny
post Nov 28 2013, 01:20 AM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(SolId SnaKe @ Nov 27 2013, 04:11 PM)
and bro.. another thing is..... I mean im jz a junior in auditing... I erm might be abit slow so maybe yea.. I duuno will survive or not...

before I went for the interview last week, I was damn hyped and pumped up for this.. now that its confirmed and I got it, I chicken out dunno y...

a lot of thoughts in my mind now and its like a drastic change in my COMFORT LIFE right now (this is where I intend to change it)..

my thoughts and doubts include, dunno can survive or not, (if cannot survive come back abit malu.. yea, im abit egoistic but humble).. then dunno how the spore culture is over there (friends working there say its like a heaven bla bla but maybe he got used to it)
just come la.. . doh.gif

QUOTE(Fiona Chin @ Nov 27 2013, 06:06 PM)
Favors non-bumis also not good. What if competent bumis? Favors the competent can.

In SG I actually never been discriminated against before, at least not direct to my face, behind my back I don't know. Equal chance of opportunity, pay raise, promotion etc with all the colleagues. Not even in school when I am studying here.
u r singkie liao...

QUOTE(mozane @ Nov 28 2013, 01:04 AM)
recent years there were number of private institutions upgraded to university such as HELP college > HELP University, APIIT > Asia Pacific University (APU), Taylor's College > Taylor's University, etc

When you're filling up the Employment Application Form / Application Form to apply for the Work Permit (for MOM). What do you fill up the name of the institution/university column if you obtained the degree when it was still a college? (new name / the name at the time you obtained your degree)

** it matters to submit to the MOM?
whatever written on ur piece of paper, put that.. save d hassle of explaining
mozane
post Nov 28 2013, 11:29 AM

160 posts

QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Nov 28 2013, 01:20 AM)
whatever written on ur piece of paper, put that.. save d hassle of explaining
you mean if you studied at college A malaysia and obtained the degree from University B australia. we should put "University B" at the "Institution" column?
i thought it also create hassles :/ confusing

edit: what's the accepted way by MOM?

This post has been edited by mozane: Nov 28 2013, 11:35 AM
SUSalaskanbunny
post Nov 28 2013, 09:26 PM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(mozane @ Nov 28 2013, 11:29 AM)
you mean if you studied at college A malaysia and obtained the degree from University B australia. we should put "University B" at the "Institution" column?
i thought it also create hassles :/ confusing

edit: what's the accepted way by MOM?
yeaps.. put B, what confusion? u state there A, they check ur paper A, they call up A... if all are valid no prob and no questions asked
jitshiong
post Nov 29 2013, 08:01 AM

Trust me, I'm an Engineer
1,868 posts

QUOTE(wangdu @ Nov 28 2013, 09:23 PM)
hi all..
Currently i have an offering from MNC bank in SG to work for them.
It's a big decision, since i need to downgrade and become Sys Admin. The salary is ok but need to work on shift plus every weekend.

Can i survive with 8k salary in SG?, as im not a PR & there no CPF.
Or should i move near J.B?
8k...if u cannot survive, i dunno how other ppl survive with much much lesser
wlcling
post Nov 29 2013, 09:05 AM

Hippidy Hoppidy
2,711 posts

hi all..
It's a big decision, since i need to downgrade and become Sys Admin. The salary is ok but need to work on shift plus every weekend.

No cpf means u draw most of the salary into bank account other than yearly income tax!

8k sure comfortable! I see ppl earn 4k and without commitments can travel Europe yearly and buy latest gadgets la...

I'd say go for it before Sg becomes even harder for foreigners to enter... Hop on the bandwagon before it's too late!
Fiona Chin
post Nov 29 2013, 10:36 AM

1,172 posts

hi all..

Studio or 2 bedroom condo = 2k
Car installment = 2k
Petrol, ERP, Parking = 800
PUB, Mio, Cable, Broadband, Handphone = 800
Atas dining every weekend = 1200
Normal restaurant dining everyday = 1200
Grocery, Miscellaneous = 800
Tax = xxx

Wah lao, 8k where got enough. Recommend to stay IN JB, not near JB.

Or you can do the normal path:

1. Accoms SGD600 (varies)
2. Food SGD500 (varies)
3. Transport SGD60
4. Entertainment SGD300 (strip it off if wanna save)
5. Shopping $$$

Perfect-Stranger
post Nov 29 2013, 11:05 AM

做人如果没梦想,同咸鱼有甚么分别
1,593 posts

QUOTE(razo2 @ Nov 23 2013, 06:25 PM)
I read somewhere that none PR gets a 15% tax.
You will get a taxation of 15% of your total income if you quit your job or work less than 6 months.

yiivei
post Nov 29 2013, 11:48 AM

~WooLaLa~
1,933 posts

QUOTE(Perfect-Stranger @ Nov 29 2013, 11:05 AM)
You will get a taxation of 15% of your total income if you quit your job or work less than 6 months.
hmm...

As long as he/she (foreigner) is in SG for <183 days, then he/she will be taxed at 15%. >183 days tax at resident rate.

Not exactly about quitting or working for >/< 6 months.

Correct me if i'm wrong.

This post has been edited by yiivei: Nov 29 2013, 11:48 AM
yiivei
post Nov 29 2013, 11:49 AM

~WooLaLa~
1,933 posts

hi all..

8k? In S$ or MYR?

This post has been edited by yiivei: Nov 29 2013, 11:50 AM
crazy25kid
post Nov 29 2013, 11:50 AM

Jack of all trades, master of none...in short, a NUB !!
1,424 posts

QUOTE(yiivei @ Nov 29 2013, 11:48 AM)
hmm...

As long as he/she (foreigner) is in SG for <183 days, then he/she will be taxed at 15%. >183 days tax at resident rate.

Not exactly about quitting or working for >/< 6 months.

Correct me if i'm wrong.

u get tax because u have income
u have income because u are working sweat.gif sweat.gif
u dun expect babies, children and students to be taxed right?

yiivei
post Nov 29 2013, 11:52 AM

~WooLaLa~
1,933 posts

QUOTE(crazy25kid @ Nov 29 2013, 11:50 AM)
u get tax because u have income
u have income because u are working  sweat.gif  sweat.gif
u dun expect babies, children and students to be taxed right?
What i mean is that he can be here in Jun-XX, then only start to work in Jul-XX, then his working period in SG could be <183 days? Isn't it?

I think we are talking bout employment, don't we? Does it has any relation to babies, children or student?

fattchoy
post Nov 29 2013, 11:54 AM

123 posts

hi all..

Sure you can. 8K salary in SG is good money.
crazy25kid
post Nov 29 2013, 12:20 PM

Jack of all trades, master of none...in short, a NUB !!
1,424 posts

QUOTE(yiivei @ Nov 29 2013, 11:52 AM)
What i mean is that he can be here in Jun-XX, then only start to work in Jul-XX, then his working period in SG could be <183 days? Isn't it?

I think we are talking bout employment, don't we? Does it has any relation to babies, children or student?

laugh.gif laugh.gif to be anal abt it...u mentioned foreigner in general tongue.gif tongue.gif
anyway, my bad there.

you are right...it seems that if one was here in june, start works at july or later, the scenario of work < 183 , stay > 183.
it seems that they look at the stay period according to iras

JohnJon82
post Nov 29 2013, 12:42 PM

716 posts

QUOTE(crazy25kid @ Nov 29 2013, 12:20 PM)
laugh.gif  laugh.gif to be anal abt it...u mentioned foreigner in general  tongue.gif  tongue.gif
anyway, my bad there.

you are right...it seems that if one was here in june, start works at july or later, the scenario of work < 183 , stay > 183.
it seems that they look at the stay period according to iras
How about those that work for Singapore company but based overseas and not in Singapore > 183 days?
ThanatosSwiftfire
post Nov 29 2013, 05:24 PM

Irregular
2,787 posts

8k can la. LOL
Some families here dun even make 8k income!
Mackiddo
post Nov 29 2013, 05:41 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

hi all..

this is the killer. A lot of people do not like to work on weekends.

This post has been edited by Mackiddo: Nov 29 2013, 05:41 PM
razo2
post Nov 29 2013, 10:03 PM

534 posts

QUOTE(Perfect-Stranger @ Nov 29 2013, 11:05 AM)
I dont think i will work less than 6 months biggrin.gif. Not after i accepted my offer and paid my down payment for my place. lol.

Thanks for the advice mate smile.gif.

This post has been edited by razo2: Nov 29 2013, 10:04 PM
studyboy
post Nov 29 2013, 10:31 PM

522 posts

Hi all! Could you help me with a query? Is there a UEN and an ACRA registration number for MOE Sg? I am in the midst of filling in my S-Pass form and encountered columns for them! My employer will be MOE Sg so are the two numbers even applicable?

Thank you very much in advance for your kind replies!

This post has been edited by studyboy: Nov 29 2013, 10:32 PM
SUSrobertchoo
post Nov 30 2013, 12:05 AM

5,753 posts

hi all..

Wow. Didn't know your life is only worth SGD8k p.m.
Work like a slave for SGD8k working shift and on weekend to me is a big NO.

125 Pages « < 25 26 27 28 29 > » Top

0.0401sec    0.34    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 02:11 AM