125 Pages « < 23 24 25 26 27 > » Bottom

Working in Singapore V15

seantang
post Nov 22 2013, 12:09 PM

With Adult Supervision Only
6,624 posts

QUOTE(GottliebDaimler @ Nov 22 2013, 11:06 AM)
Hence, what I can brain is, I should include accomodation + living expenses into the salary that could be 5k~ SGD? And with the job being a contract position, I should increase it even further?
Employers do not pay you according to how much you want to spend (eg. accommodation & salary). They pay you according to how much your skills, time and energy can contribute to the company.

The only benchmark on how much you can ask is "what is the job description/expectations and how much does a person in Singapore get paid to perform that job description according to those expectations".

Your former salary in Malaysia has no bearing unless what you are going to do in Singapore is exactly the same or very, very similar to what you were doing in Malaysia (plus same size & scope of employer, type of industry etc). In that case, and only in that case, the 1:1 rule of thumb is a pretty good target to aim for.
GottliebDaimler
post Nov 22 2013, 12:10 PM

66 posts

QUOTE(jitshiong @ Nov 22 2013, 11:43 AM)
if u r getting 4k in Malaysia, at least try to get the same in Singapore lo.
in that case, not short changed de ma
then ask urself, with that salary r u satisfied?
enough to make ends meet?
Well, 4k+ MYR and 4k+ SGD, of course twice already.

QUOTE(JohnJon82 @ Nov 22 2013, 11:46 AM)
If you want to earn more then ask for more. If your employer think your job only worth 4k plus then they will find another 4k plus candidate to fill it. If they already underpaid you and you are worth more, they will increase it if you are good.
Appreciate the kind replies. notworthy.gif

I checked the first page on the tax information but the link is broken. I only managed to find their local tax but not expats.
http://mycpf.cpf.gov.sg/Members/Gen-Info/C...es/ContriRa.htm

What would 4-5k SGD be paying? Is it taxed in SG and MY?
GottliebDaimler
post Nov 22 2013, 12:14 PM

66 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Nov 22 2013, 12:09 PM)
Employers do not pay you according to how much you want to spend (eg. accommodation & salary). They pay you according to how much your skills, time and energy can contribute to the company.

The only benchmark on how much you can ask is "what is the job description/expectations and how much does a person in Singapore get paid to perform that job description according to those expectations".

Your former salary in Malaysia has no bearing unless what you are going to do in Singapore is exactly the same or very, very similar to what you were doing in Malaysia (plus same size & scope of employer, type of industry etc). In that case, and only in that case, the 1:1 rule of thumb is a pretty good target to aim for.
Sorry I missed out your reply while writing.

Yes, definitely my COL is not regarded by the employer.

What I am going to do is similar. However, I believe size and scope of employer is definitely bigger. Type of industry is new too.

If I understand correctly, from what you say 1MYR:1SGD ratio is a good target to aim for. What about contractual position, how can we factor this in?
Argiope
post Nov 22 2013, 12:16 PM

300 posts

QUOTE(GottliebDaimler @ Nov 22 2013, 12:10 PM)
I checked the first page on the tax information but the link is broken. I only managed to find their local tax but not expats.
http://mycpf.cpf.gov.sg/Members/Gen-Info/C...es/ContriRa.htm

What would 4-5k SGD be paying? Is it taxed in SG and MY?
CPF is not the tax, that's Malaysia's version of EPF. You should look at IRAS for tax. You need not pay tax in MY anymore as you are already paying in SG.

Assuming you are here for 12 months and getting 48k per annum, you would be paying the government $1.1k (yet to factor in any form of relief/rebate).

For your reference: http://www.iras.gov.sg/irasHome/page04.aspx?id=282

This post has been edited by Argiope: Nov 22 2013, 12:21 PM
GottliebDaimler
post Nov 22 2013, 12:39 PM

66 posts

QUOTE(Argiope @ Nov 22 2013, 12:16 PM)
CPF is not the tax, that's Malaysia's version of EPF. You should look at IRAS for tax. You need not pay tax in MY anymore as you are already paying in SG.

Assuming you are here for 12 months and getting 48k per annum, you would be paying the government $1.1k (yet to factor in any form of relief/rebate).

For your reference: http://www.iras.gov.sg/irasHome/page04.aspx?id=282
Thank you for your assistance notworthy.gif
rawrkun
post Nov 23 2013, 01:06 AM

316 posts

QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Nov 21 2013, 10:54 PM)
Here are the 10 highest paying jobs in Singapore

Are you getting enough?

Singapore – Want to know what you’re worth in today’s job market?

JobStreet.com has published a list of the top 10 highest paying jobs in Singapore to help candidates and hiring managers benchmark their salaries against the market.

This list has been determined through the average salary of all specialisations per position level, based on salaries posted by employers on the JobStreet website this year.

Fresh Graduates

1. Doctor - $3,095

2. Biotechnology - $3,082

3. Process design & control - $3,055

4. Corporate finance - $2,959

5. Financial sales services - $2,857

6. Legal services - $2,825

7. Environmental engineering - $2,781

8. Journalist - $2,781

9. Banking & finance - $2,758

10. IT – software - $2,718

Junior Executives

1. Doctor - $3,722

2. Actuarial science - $3,649

3. IT software - $3,334

4. Legal services - $3,279

5. Corporate finance - $3,248

6. Audit - $3,214

7. Industrial engineering - $3,198

8. Banking & finance - $3,187

9. Database administrator - $3,170

10. Process design & control - $3,144

Senior Executives

1. Financial sales - $4,718

2. Actuarial science - $4,670

3. Banking & finance - $4,635

4 IT software - $4,617

5. Legal services - $4,616

6. Corporate finance - $4,545

7. Laboratory scientist - $4,375

8. Biotechnology - $4,329

9. Chemical engineering - $4,277

10. Audit - $4,246

Managers

1. Chemist - $9,096

2. Corporate finance - $7,305

3. Legal services - $6,950

4. Laboratory scientist - $6,882

5. IT software - $6,642

6. Electrical engineering - $6,619

7. Logistics - $6,561

8. Audit - $6,187

9. Chemical engineering - $6,102

10. Top management - $5,943

Senior Managers

1. Legal services - $14,466

2. Top management - $11,887

3. Audit - $10,343

4. Doctor - $10,153

5. Laboratory scientists - $10,121

6. Sales – IT and engineering - $9,718

7. Marketing - $9,263

8. Electronics engineering - $9,073

9. Biotechnology - $8,949

10. Pharmacy - $8,949

- See more at: http://sbr.com.sg/source/humanresources-ma...h.oyUHiCXP.dpuf
seems a bit on the low side for fresh/junior to mid level....
SUSalaskanbunny
post Nov 23 2013, 09:04 AM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(rawrkun @ Nov 23 2013, 01:06 AM)
junior could be 1-2 years exp n mid 3-5 years exp... or all the avg for all those having those designation.. hmm.gif not quite sure
jitshiong
post Nov 23 2013, 09:07 AM

Trust me, I'm an Engineer
1,868 posts

QUOTE(rawrkun @ Nov 23 2013, 01:06 AM)
Jobstreet figures not so accurate wan...
Mackiddo
post Nov 23 2013, 11:42 AM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

***********************************************************************************

UPCOMING GAME 07/12/13 (SATURDAY)

VENUE : Bendeemer Secondary School
TIME : 4PM - 6PM

***********************************************************************************

https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/3004792
hihihehe
post Nov 23 2013, 04:03 PM

13,789 posts

anyone can recommend me a hotel for couple in JB? We are planning to cross over Sg for interview and back to Johor for staying. It must be near to bus stop that can carry us to Sg
razo2
post Nov 23 2013, 05:25 PM

534 posts

QUOTE(Mackiddo @ Nov 21 2013, 10:36 PM)
15% tax ? your income bracket > s$120k per annum ? The only one I know with that kinda income bracket is Deodorant
There's no cpf for work pass.
I read somewhere that none PR gets a 15% tax.
razo2
post Nov 23 2013, 05:29 PM

534 posts

QUOTE(tailtwist @ Nov 21 2013, 10:55 PM)
foreigners are taxed depending on 2 types...resident or non-resident...residing in Singapore for either more than 183 days in a year or less than 183 days in a year

http://www.iras.gov.sg/irasHome/page.aspx?id=230
http://www.iras.gov.sg/irasHome/page.aspx?id=232
ooo. i go read futher. thank for the info.
SUSalaskanbunny
post Nov 23 2013, 08:37 PM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Nov 23 2013, 04:03 PM)
anyone can recommend me a hotel for couple in JB? We are planning to cross over Sg for interview and back to Johor for staying. It must be near to bus stop that can carry us to Sg
http://www.grandbluewave-johorbahru.com/

pm reign226 as he's a frequent customer there... maybe can get discount brows.gif
hihihehe
post Nov 23 2013, 09:31 PM

13,789 posts

QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Nov 23 2013, 08:37 PM)
http://www.grandbluewave-johorbahru.com/

pm reign226 as he's a frequent customer there... maybe can get discount  brows.gif
Thanks but that is too exp lol. I am looking around RM100 per night
poor_engineer
post Nov 23 2013, 10:29 PM

96 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Nov 23 2013, 09:31 PM)
Check T Hotel located at Jln Wong Ah Fook, walking distance to check point. Book from agoda.com to get cheaper rate.
7 For All Mankind
post Nov 23 2013, 10:56 PM

62 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Nov 23 2013, 01:31 PM)
look for those Boutique hotel.
Argiope
post Nov 23 2013, 11:25 PM

300 posts

QUOTE(razo2 @ Nov 23 2013, 05:25 PM)
I read somewhere that none PR gets a 15% tax.
Then that "somewhere" provided wrong info or you interpreted wrongly. Check IRAS.
SUSalaskanbunny
post Nov 24 2013, 12:10 AM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Nov 23 2013, 09:31 PM)
very hard to find rm100 doh.gif

QUOTE(Argiope @ Nov 23 2013, 11:25 PM)
Then that "somewhere" provided wrong info or you interpreted wrongly. Check IRAS.
i think he got mixed up between taxation terminology 'resident' with permanent resident...
JohnJon82
post Nov 24 2013, 12:18 AM

716 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Nov 22 2013, 02:08 AM)
my gf just got the work pass 1 day after submitted the application. that is fast. now looking for accommodation that not far from little india station
QUOTE(hihihehe @ Nov 23 2013, 04:03 PM)
Coming interview with another GF? Anyway, for 100 RM budget per day you can stay in SG backpacker hostel.

This post has been edited by JohnJon82: Nov 24 2013, 12:22 AM
hihihehe
post Nov 24 2013, 12:48 AM

13,789 posts

QUOTE(JohnJon82 @ Nov 24 2013, 12:18 AM)
Coming interview with another GF? Anyway, for 100 RM budget per day you can stay in SG backpacker hostel.
I mean I am coming over for interview and at the same time she can look for accommodation

anyway I just booked Amansari Express hotel

SG backpacker hotel have to share with other people which is not convenient

125 Pages « < 23 24 25 26 27 > » Top

0.0344sec    0.26    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 09:43 AM