Working in Singapore V15

SUSrobertchoo
post Nov 8 2013, 06:02 PM

5,753 posts

QUOTE(smiley.kambing @ Nov 8 2013, 02:15 PM)
just wondering does most employer allow muslim to pray and do they allocate a prayer room in the office?

also, is it easy to find a mosque for friday prayer?
prayer rooms in office? No. Never seen one. Space is a premium and they are not going to pay a premium so that a minority few can pray.
If yr a muslim and expect the same convenience or treatments u get in msia, you are in for a wake up call. Even halal food is hard to find (but not impossible unless its fast food). Mosque don't appear in every neighbourhood and taking time off for prayers on fri is frowned upon. And if you think the non muslims in msia are anti muslims wait till you hear what ordinary sgians say about muslims.

This post has been edited by robertchoo: Nov 8 2013, 06:07 PM
SUSrobertchoo
post Nov 13 2013, 10:06 PM

5,753 posts

QUOTE(snowbell8 @ Nov 13 2013, 06:30 PM)
Not much jobs for malaysian in the advertisement sad.gif

Those never state only Singaporean/SPR, can I apply those?? or if stated malaysian then only can apply..dunno which company hires malaysian for fresh graduate..
Malaysian fresh grad? Harder than to find a needle in a haystack.
Currently what the news was (if i read it correctly) is that companies will have to advertise in a job bank meant for Singaporeans for at least 3 months(?). Only if they fail to find a suitable candidate are they allowed to open the application to the foreigners. This applies to job <SGD12k so as a fresh grad its highly unlikely they will have difficulties finding local grad to fill the vacancy.

This post has been edited by robertchoo: Nov 13 2013, 10:07 PM
SUSrobertchoo
post Nov 18 2013, 07:24 PM

5,753 posts

QUOTE(adam09 @ Nov 18 2013, 03:29 PM)
It seems sg had tighter restrictions in foreign worker
Its hard to look for job now in sg?
My cousin just manage to get an EP approved by MOM after appeal by his company (being rejected the first time.)
And he has >8 years working experience and earns >SGD6k p.m.
So you tell me easy or hard.
SUSrobertchoo
post Nov 18 2013, 11:27 PM

5,753 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Nov 18 2013, 11:01 PM)
Graduates means the section of the Singaporean workforce who are degree holders. To discern them from non-graduate Poly diploma/ITE holders and skilled/unskilled labourers.

If I remember correctly, Singstat puts the average salary of degree holders in Singapore at around $7K.
I thought its dependant on the number of years of experience, the sector and the position (whether management or not)
I'm quite sure degree holder in Singapore in the Manufacturing sector, <10 years experience and not in management postition for example, do not earn an average of SGD7k.

This post has been edited by robertchoo: Nov 18 2013, 11:27 PM
SUSrobertchoo
post Nov 30 2013, 12:05 AM

5,753 posts

QUOTE(wangdu @ Nov 28 2013, 09:23 PM)
hi all..
Currently i have an offering from MNC bank in SG to work for them.
It's a big decision, since i need to downgrade and become Sys Admin. The salary is ok but need to work on shift plus every weekend.

Can i survive with 8k salary in SG?, as im not a PR & there no CPF.
Or should i move near J.B?
Wow. Didn't know your life is only worth SGD8k p.m.
Work like a slave for SGD8k working shift and on weekend to me is a big NO.

SUSrobertchoo
post Dec 4 2013, 10:58 PM

5,753 posts

QUOTE(razo2 @ Dec 4 2013, 10:12 AM)
These people dont know how bad the economy is now. Tell them dam lucky got job that pays your bills.
Actually the SG economy and job market is pretty good. You need to be in the right sector with the right skillset and now the right residency status.
Banking and finance is still booming in SG (except for Investment Banking and Trading in general)

This post has been edited by robertchoo: Dec 4 2013, 10:58 PM
SUSrobertchoo
post Dec 9 2013, 11:54 AM

5,753 posts

QUOTE(JohnJon82 @ Dec 9 2013, 10:26 AM)
Single room. Day day chap fan. Walk to work. Entertainment is overloaded work.
Wah spartan life. But question is how long can you keep it up? Is it worth it? When you reach 40 you will realise that you just threw all your youth away for a couple thousand bucks...youth you will never ever get back....
SUSrobertchoo
post Dec 9 2013, 02:08 PM

5,753 posts

QUOTE(rotinhell @ Dec 9 2013, 12:24 PM)
Hey all, i'm a fresh grad in mechanical engineering from MY and looking for a job in SG but have applied through JobStreet for nearly 2 months and have no response so far... do you think something wrong somewhere?

TQ smile.gif
Yes something is very wrong. Those imbeciles singaporean employers don't know what they are doing. They are idiots coz they don't recognise talent like yours and are downright rude with no reply in 2 months. In fact they should reply no more than 24 hours to just hand you the job no question asked........singapore has some pretty stupid employers...sheesh... rolleyes.gif
SUSrobertchoo
post Dec 9 2013, 10:38 PM

5,753 posts

QUOTE(JohnJon82 @ Dec 9 2013, 05:12 PM)
Have been living that lifestyle for few years now. Don't feel comfortable having good life served by waitress in restaurants. HDB hawkers more down to earth and warming wub.gif . Youtube, TVB drama. CC opposite house, hit badminton, gym with 3 dollar. Then weekend cycle to library enjoy aircon and books. Ok ma.

Actually what is the recommended life? 9-5 and then what people do at night ah? Go out and spend money?
Go geylang
SUSrobertchoo
post Jan 9 2014, 04:09 PM

5,753 posts

QUOTE(lssh @ Jan 9 2014, 11:46 AM)
Hi, I just joined a company in SG, it's my first job in SG. But, I think it's not the right one for me, so I'm looking for a new job.
I plan not to list out this short working experience on my résumé, and tell the interviewer that I've never work in SG.

My problem is, will my future employer find out when they apply working visa for me?
Pls help, thanks notworthy.gif
Your records will be with MoM. If your future employer checks and found out that you lied on your cv, then good luck to you. Being fired is the last of your concern.
SUSrobertchoo
post Jan 9 2014, 04:13 PM

5,753 posts

QUOTE(crapp0 @ Jan 9 2014, 04:10 PM)
Just becoz you lied to your employer, why should mom be concerned?
MoM is concerned if that employer filed a report against him for lying on his cv. If I can recall correctly before you can collect s pass or ep when you fill in the forms, you must declare that the info provided is true and accurate.

This post has been edited by robertchoo: Jan 9 2014, 04:14 PM
SUSrobertchoo
post Jan 9 2014, 04:38 PM

5,753 posts

QUOTE(crapp0 @ Jan 9 2014, 04:26 PM)
Does omission of information in your CV qualifies you as "lying" if everything you state in your CV is accurate and true?

How can you lie about something when you never state it in the document in the first place?
Yes. The onus is on you to ensure all the details you filled in are correct. The documents with MoM regarding your previous employment history and the cv submitted to your future company must telly. Otherwise if they check and find out, then you're toast. You can't say you left out or forgot or whatever. Its no excuse.
SUSrobertchoo
post Jan 9 2014, 04:55 PM

5,753 posts

QUOTE(crapp0 @ Jan 9 2014, 04:52 PM)
Does MoM check previous employment history for all applicants? or is it on a request basis?
Hard to say. But as long as anyone file a complain or during a random audit and you suay suay kena caught then good luck.
SUSrobertchoo
post Jan 14 2014, 10:09 AM

5,753 posts

QUOTE(wlcling @ Jan 13 2014, 10:59 PM)
And that's why I'm spending almost 6k yearly for insurance plans..

Meanwhile be Sg citiZen get HDB then save for a private property before retire then get out of Sg and enjoy the rent from both properties
What kind of insurance costs you 6k yearly? PRS?
SUSrobertchoo
post Jan 27 2014, 11:10 PM

5,753 posts

QUOTE(raenson @ Jan 27 2014, 01:34 PM)
Hi all, i knew there's thread exist about working in SG and am taking time to read through it. But i still want to get more information by asking on my own thread so it won't derail much and hopeful that i get the most out of it.

I recently broke up with my gf of 7 years and with that i want to move on and start over in SG. Looking for job now. but planning to move there even before i get an offer.

Why? well think it might help fasten my application/interview if i were already reside in SG. do you think so? <-- help me answer this ya smile.gif

Financially i am okay. (i think) had some saving that could support me for atleast a year jobless. biggrin.gif and i do earn interest here and there and a rental yield.
Deduct my mortgage & hire purchase and i am left with cash around SGD 2K monthly.

Now my question begin, help me answer please  notworthy.gif i'll add whenever i have new one in mind. smile.gif

1. How much does the rent for studio apartment/ bachelor pad in SG on average monthly? i want to stay alone. (recommend me a place)
2. I need internet, mobile etc, how to do that
3. Can i use my car in SG for extended period of time? I have a 5 years old E92 that i'm planning to bring over if POSSIBLE tongue.gif (if not possible, will sell it)
4. While waiting for better placement, do you think working as Real Estate Negotiator might help?
5. I was planning to limit my expenses to SGD 3k monthly until i get a job, is that enough?

Thank you all.
And what do you hope to achieve by going to SG? To forget your GF and start anew? Trust me, when the boredom sets in, you will be thinking about her even more. you're gonna be suicidal esp if you do not have many friends/relatives to support you in Sg. Get over her first then come to SG.
SUSrobertchoo
post Feb 7 2014, 08:49 PM

5,753 posts

QUOTE(Sammyking @ Feb 7 2014, 05:21 PM)
Hmm, I have heard of cases like this happen in Australia. Not sure about Sg. Don't be fooled by some HR tho. They can say any bs if they want to pay you low. I've been told before by some HR that their company (MNC btw) pay according to CGPA results for fresh grad. So if it's high CGPA, get high salary..if get a lower CGPA then you get paid lower. I don't think there's such a thing as I believe they have a fixed salary scale for certain positions. Correct me if I'm wrong.
Some of the more ridiculous reasons given by HR in SG to supress your pay is "Oh you're malaysian? That means you can take a lower salary since SGD1=RM2.6 therefore its still a gain to you even if we pay you 30% below market rate"....
SUSrobertchoo
post Mar 1 2014, 12:24 PM

5,753 posts

QUOTE(Chealsea @ Mar 1 2014, 12:00 PM)
got offer 1.6 for degree fresh grad acc, too low?
1.6k is more like fresh diploma holders pay. And I'm talking about 2-3 years ago. Now i'm quite sure it has risen.
SUSrobertchoo
post Mar 16 2014, 11:48 PM

5,753 posts

QUOTE(nubJeff @ Mar 16 2014, 09:54 PM)
Sales position? Such as? I'm applying sales position as well, but not personal banker or mortgage from bank only.. Is it investment holding company also difficult to enter?
Mortgage banker no good meh?
I always see them sitting in showroom waiting for durian to drop.

SUSrobertchoo
post Mar 18 2014, 09:15 AM

5,753 posts

QUOTE(mules @ Mar 17 2014, 07:46 PM)
I was also thinking of getting into banking sales, in fact i have attended an interview here and failed miserably due to my insignificant resume.  If i am in KL, i think i can get into any major banks without any problem based on my experience but it is a different ball game in Singapore. 

First, banking jobs in Sg is the upper sales jobs second only to trading firms, so you are fighting a place with the Singaporeans whom are hassle free applicant and protected species of Sg that will contribute to their singapore % workers.

Second, you will need to fight the pinoys whom are superior in telemarketing and very good looking.  Looks count in sales.

And last but not least almost any position in Singapore have a lot of applicants.  To be chosen you need to stand out from the rest, so you have to pull out all your ace cards right from the beginning.

the moment i walked out from the interview room i met the next applicant whom are pinoy guy with look so good i wondering why is he applying for a sales job, he is so confident that he smile at me and actually shake my hand wishing me good luck.  Damn, i know i wont be getting the call that night.

*this is entirely my personal thinking and in no way backed by actual data btw banking is not a rosy industry now if you are targeting mortgage, loans and credit cards.
You forgot to mention about the indians and chinese who can do twice the workload and take half the pay.
SUSrobertchoo
post Mar 23 2014, 01:47 PM

5,753 posts

QUOTE(razo2 @ Mar 23 2014, 10:59 AM)
If you're not singaporean by citizenship you better not bring up all these kinds of things (even if you're a PR).
The last thing you need is for them (singaporeans) to tell you to balik malaysia.
And it is you who took their jobs.

0.0240sec    0.47    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 07:59 PM