125 Pages « < 67 68 69 70 71 > » Bottom

Working in Singapore V15

ych91
post Jan 20 2014, 01:35 AM

54 posts

QUOTE(lemonzaiii @ Jan 20 2014, 12:58 AM)
hi guys, wanna ask some sifu here about how to find job/interview in singapore from malaysia.

1. do u guys applied online jobstreet/jobdb.etc and travel to singapore for interview?? where do u guys stay then? travel by bus or plane?

2. or just go to singapore 1st, then start looking for job on newspaper and online? what if u cant get a job in 30days, u cant stay longer than that right? and again where do u guys stay then?

3. as a IT fresh grad and finishing my last subject very soon, any suggestions whether i should get experience in msia or try my luck to apply junior/'fresh grad'/'no experience needed' job in singapore? i believe i do have some advantages compared to any other IT fresh grad since i've done some projects during my fyp and internship. P/S* my convocation is held in 2 months later, i was thinking to work in msia for at least 2 months, and after my convocation i will start planning again. any thoughts?
Yeah, I had a dilemma recently similar as your's. Difference is I've only got a Diploma in Business Studies (Accounting) but not a degree in M'sia. Any chances that I can secure a sales job with this qualification perhaps? I'm going SG mainly for the money actually. But heard accommodation expenses cost a bomb sad.gif. Just want to know if there is any decent paying job for a freshie like me? I mean do companies even accept freshies from M'sia? Thinking to either go for a sales job or maybe casino will do, for a start smile.gif.

Really hope the sifus here can enlighten us.

Many thanks!
WB1225
post Jan 20 2014, 08:47 AM

QUOTE(Mackiddo @ Jan 19 2014, 10:31 AM)
bonding is a no-no❌ unless it's a very good deal that your are getting or very poor market condition.
Yeah have the same thought.
crazy25kid
post Jan 20 2014, 09:43 AM

Jack of all trades, master of none...in short, a NUB !!
1,424 posts

hi guys, wanna ask some sifu here about how to find job/interview in singapore from malaysia.

1. do u guys applied online jobstreet/jobdb.etc and travel to singapore for interview?? where do u guys stay then? travel by bus or plane?

2. or just go to singapore 1st, then start looking for job on newspaper and online? what if u cant get a job in 30days, u cant stay longer than that right? and again where do u guys stay then?

3. as a IT fresh grad and finishing my last subject very soon, any suggestions whether i should get experience in msia or try my luck to apply junior/'fresh grad'/'no experience needed' job in singapore? i believe i do have some advantages compared to any other IT fresh grad since i've done some projects during my fyp and internship. P/S* my convocation is held in 2 months later, i was thinking to work in msia for at least 2 months, and after my convocation i will start planning again. any thoughts?

1. apply thru job portals or direct thru company. try to request for a telephone interview or probably skype, but most will require u to travel down once for a face to face. you can either go bunking wif friends or hostel or at relative's place. mode of transportation is up to you and where u are. impossible those from east m'sia can travel by bus. doh.gif doh.gif

2. if u have the bling to survive here with no income, no harm. u can stay for 60 days then barred from entering for 30 days.

3. no harm trying right? just set a "deadline" for when ur trying will have to end.

ych91
post Jan 20 2014, 03:12 PM

54 posts

QUOTE(ych91 @ Jan 20 2014, 01:35 AM)
Yeah, I had a dilemma recently similar as your's. Difference is I've only got a Diploma in Business Studies (Accounting) but not a degree in M'sia. Any chances that I can secure a sales job with this qualification perhaps? I'm going SG mainly for the money actually. But heard accommodation expenses cost a bomb sad.gif. Just want to know if there is any decent paying job for a freshie like me? I mean do companies even accept freshies from M'sia? Thinking to either go for a sales job or maybe casino will do, for a start smile.gif.

Really hope the sifus here can enlighten us.
Many thanks!
Any help please? Really desperate here sad.gif. I hope I'm not against the forum rules but I really do need an insight on these..

Thanks a heap.
yhoong12
post Jan 20 2014, 03:23 PM

Balls Addicted~~
846 posts

I been in your situation before, but last time what i am considering is need to complete the convocation first without troubling anyone, so i apply job and worked at Malaysia until my convocation ended then only started to apply job in SG.

Unless your family member or friend dont mind all the hassle to help you settle everything and all you need to do is just attend the convocation, else i suggest you work in MY and settle everything.

This post has been edited by yhoong12: Jan 20 2014, 03:23 PM
deodorant
post Jan 20 2014, 03:45 PM

Surfing LYN instead of Working.
5,691 posts

Guys, what's best FD/etc for rainy day funds? From what I can see, seems like boils down to SCB bonu$aver vs CIMB regular FD

SCB https://www.sc.com/sg/save/current-bonussaver.html
1.88% on $25k
- need to spend $500 per month on credit card (easy enough)

CIMB http://www.cimbbank.com.sg/index.php?tpt=cimb_sg&tpl=sgdfd
1.1% on 1 year FD
crazy25kid
post Jan 20 2014, 04:03 PM

1,424 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Jan 20 2014, 03:45 PM)
Guys, what's best FD/etc for rainy day funds? From what I can see, seems like boils down to SCB bonu$aver vs CIMB regular FD

1.88% on $25k

1.1% on 1 year FD

if u got 10k la.
http://www.ocbc.com.sg/personal-banking/Ac...bonus-plus.html
Fiona Chin
post Jan 20 2014, 08:56 PM

1,172 posts

1.88% on $25k

1.1% on 1 year FD
Maybank used to be the best and I still using Maybank now for our emergency fund. The 500 spending per month like forcing you to spend. Can get better cash rebate eh from other credit cards.

Since you saving it for your rainy day, suggest you save it else where. Singapore interest rate just can't make it...
OrCaGaL
post Jan 20 2014, 10:05 PM

514 posts

QUOTE(crazy25kid @ Jan 20 2014, 09:43 AM)
1. apply thru job portals or direct thru company. try to request for a telephone interview or probably skype, but most will require u to travel down once for a face to face. you can either go bunking wif friends or hostel or at relative's place. mode of transportation is up to you and where u are. impossible those from east m'sia can travel by bus.  doh.gif  doh.gif

2. if u have the bling to survive here with no income, no harm. u can stay for 60 days then barred from entering for 30 days.

3. no harm trying right? just set a "deadline" for when ur trying will have to end.
really barred from entering for 30 days? my friend got barred for 90days after staying 60days.. unsure.gif

This post has been edited by OrCaGaL: Jan 20 2014, 10:06 PM
seantang
post Jan 20 2014, 11:03 PM

With Adult Supervision Only
6,624 posts

1.88% on $25k

1.1% on 1 year FD
CIMB Starsaver. 0.8% if you deposit $100 or more every month. Simple, no time limits, promo periods, complex conditions/jumping through hoops AND you can go up to $750,000 before a lower rate of 0.5% applies to the excess above 750K. And you get free cheque books/current account as well. And I luv CIMB's preferred customer service... my r/ship manager actually remembers my name and fetches me a drink as he runs behind the counter to kowtim my transactions instead of me queuing.

Reminds me of Alliance Bank in the 90s when they were just a small bank with a few branches, and they were eager for customers.

This post has been edited by seantang: Jan 20 2014, 11:05 PM
razo2
post Jan 21 2014, 08:54 AM

534 posts

QUOTE(studyboy @ Jan 18 2014, 10:45 PM)
Thanks for your reply! I didn't get to read this before I went to Singapore. Still, it is good to know. smile.gif
No worries mate. Sorry for the late replay was at offshore.
deodorant
post Jan 21 2014, 12:06 PM

Surfing LYN instead of Working.
5,691 posts

QUOTE(OrCaGaL @ Jan 20 2014, 10:05 PM)
really barred from entering for 30 days? my friend got barred for 90days after staying 60days..  unsure.gif

60 days at one go or 60 days broken up (each trip less than 30 days)?

QUOTE(crazy25kid @ Jan 20 2014, 04:03 PM)

Wah kaoz this one damn complicated, lol. Read once still don't exactly understand all the t&c.

QUOTE(Fiona Chin @ Jan 20 2014, 08:56 PM)
Maybank used to be the best and I still using Maybank now for our emergency fund. The 500 spending per month like forcing you to spend. Can get better cash rebate eh from other credit cards.
Since you saving it for your rainy day, suggest you save it else where. Singapore interest rate just can't make it...

Well not really 'rainy day' but more like 'emergency i need money now' pool.

QUOTE(seantang @ Jan 20 2014, 11:03 PM)
CIMB Starsaver. 0.8% if you deposit $100 or more every month. Simple, no time limits, promo periods, complex conditions/jumping through hoops AND you can go up to $750,000 before a lower rate of 0.5% applies to the excess above 750K. And you get free cheque books/current account as well. And I luv CIMB's preferred customer service... my r/ship manager actually remembers my name and fetches me a drink as he runs behind the counter to kowtim my transactions instead of me queuing.

http://www.cimbbank.com.sg/index.php?ch=sg...er_st_cur&ac=12 ... seems to have changed to $500/month now. Which anyway isn't a problem. Slight concern on branch location since I work east stay east. Lemme think about it, thanks!

QUOTE(cimb)
2. How can I apply for CIMB Preferred?
To enjoy the privileges of CIMB Preferred, you have to establish a banking relationship with us, worth a minimum of S$250,000 in deposits, investment and/or insurance.
We may also extend invitation, at our discretion, to selected customers based on other qualifying criteria.

Guess I need to queue with the cattle tongue.gif

This post has been edited by deodorant: Jan 21 2014, 12:22 PM
seantang
post Jan 21 2014, 12:21 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Jan 21 2014, 12:06 PM)
http://www.cimbbank.com.sg/index.php?ch=sg...er_st_cur&ac=12 ... seems to have changed to $500/month now. Which anyway isn't a problem. Slight concern on branch location since I work east stay east. Lemme think about it, thanks!
http://www.cimbbank.com.sg/index.php?ch=sg...=6&tpt=cimb_sg#

$100 for savings account. No cheque book, I guess.

QUOTE(cimb)
To enjoy the privileges of CIMB Preferred, you have to establish a banking relationship with us, worth a minimum of S$250,000 in deposits, investment and/or insurance.
We may also extend invitation, at our discretion, to selected customers based on other qualifying criteria.

Home loans, they'll also invite you.

This post has been edited by seantang: Jan 21 2014, 12:25 PM
OrCaGaL
post Jan 21 2014, 12:40 PM

514 posts

60days at one go, continuous 60days. sad.gif

This post has been edited by OrCaGaL: Jan 21 2014, 12:41 PM
Fiona Chin
post Jan 21 2014, 01:04 PM

1,172 posts

Use credit cards lo. No opportunity cost. Need money just swipe. Apply all the banks if you need few hundred Ks. Time deposit not good also if you take the 1 year one, if you draw the money for emergency before mature then lose most of the interest. Or cut it to chunks, maturing at close period. I divide my 6 months salary retrenchment saving to 6 6-month time deposit, one account maturing each month and auto renew, 0.5% Maybank IIRC.

If saving for housing down payment, then go back Malaysia unless you foresee MYR-SGD will drop drastically over your saving period.
crazy25kid
post Jan 21 2014, 01:20 PM

1,424 posts

Wah kaoz this one damn complicated, lol. Read once still don't exactly understand all the t&c.

QUOTE(cimb)

i am queueing wif cattles too
regarding location...should be fine
the 1 in orchard open 7 days a week.
and if lazy...internet banking lo like me...stay north go orchard also 1 hour by train. sweat.gif sweat.gif

QUOTE(seantang @ Jan 21 2014, 12:21 PM)
http://www.cimbbank.com.sg/index.php?ch=sg...=6&tpt=cimb_sg#

$100 for savings account. No cheque book, I guess.
ya...forgo checkbook is 100...i think
that is what was given to me, i opened my account last year
or opt for the islamic banking thing...there is a promo now, until end of march (forgot...they called me yesterday after i submit enquiry)

seantang
post Jan 21 2014, 02:38 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(Fiona Chin @ Jan 21 2014, 01:04 PM)
Use credit cards lo. No opportunity cost. Need money just swipe. Apply all the banks if you need few hundred Ks.
And pay the 24% p.a. interest rate and cash advance fees?

TSjasonkwk
post Jan 21 2014, 02:47 PM

Self Improvement is Masturbation
10,596 posts

deodorant, use secured overdraft by DBS, just need FD as collateral.

rate is around 17% still lower than credit card interest rate.

Please contact your nearest banker for more info.
athrun300
post Jan 21 2014, 03:28 PM

215 posts

1. Apply jobstreet/jobdb/company website and travel to Singapore for interview. Stay in Johor friends house. Travel by bus

2. My wallet disagree with this method

3. No harm testing Singapore market as fresh graduate. If you cannot secure any RELATED job after say 3 month, then simply means you need more experience or qualification. Please try again in another time.
athrun300
post Jan 21 2014, 03:31 PM

215 posts

Guys, anybody hoot new landed property in Nusajaya/Bukit Indah area? Need some recommendation. HH is too expensive and i am a poor fag. Now i am actually looking at Iskandar Sunway.

125 Pages « < 67 68 69 70 71 > » Top

0.0357sec    0.40    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 07:46 PM