Working in Singapore V15

Fiona Chin
post Jan 21 2014, 05:30 PM

1,172 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Jan 21 2014, 02:38 PM)
And pay the 24% p.a. interest rate and cash advance fees?
Errr... 24% p.a. interest only if can't pay the bill right? Credit cards only used to cater for his emergency case with his already own cash parked at higher interest rate account. Got one month to convert the funds to cash and pay the bills. No asking him to over swipe beyond his saving, that one is another issue.

BT fees around 1 to 3 % 2-3 days until cash available or instant cash at 5%, say you have the amount and park it somewhere else other than bank account in SG, 1-2 years down the road can cover the BT fees already if you ever need that cash from BT (most of the time the big price tag item can be settle by credit cards). If nothing happen then you earn already. Taking others' money for your emergency case and using your own cash for something else icon_rolleyes.gif .
seantang
post Jan 21 2014, 05:36 PM

With Adult Supervision Only
6,624 posts

QUOTE(Fiona Chin @ Jan 21 2014, 05:30 PM)
Errr... 24% p.a. interest only if can't pay the bill right? Credit cards only used to cater for his emergency case with his already own cash parked at higher interest rate account. Got one month to convert the funds to cash and pay the bills. No asking him to over swipe beyond his saving, that one is another issue.
Interest free period between cc transaction and due date of balance only applies to purchase transactions. Pulling cash from your cc is a cash advance, not purchase transaction. Interest starts accruing and upfront fees apply immediately upon the withdrawal transaction.

Unless you park your cash in your CC account, you're going to be paying significant charges.

This post has been edited by seantang: Jan 21 2014, 05:45 PM
JohnJon82
post Jan 21 2014, 06:07 PM

716 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Jan 21 2014, 05:36 PM)
Interest free period between cc transaction and due date of balance only applies to purchase transactions. Pulling cash from your cc is a cash advance, not purchase transaction. Interest starts accruing and upfront fees apply immediately upon the transaction.

Unless you park your cash in your CC account, you're going to be paying significant charges.
Think she talking balance transfer or fund transfer. I took one before, UOB put 50k cash (the CSO said the max amount is around 75% of the card's credit limit) into my OCBC saving account, with 1.5% processing fee (nego with them say you got better offer from other bank and they will push this fee down), 12 months interest free instalment with minimum payment each month like a credit card. Bought some shares, then end of the 12 months period sold it and pay it lump sum back. Borrowing 50k money for a year with only 750 extra charge, not bad I think. Can apply online, call the CSO, or the CSO will call you once in a while and bug you.

Something like this, not sure why can't find it anymore in UOB website:

http://info.maybank2u.com.sg/personal/card...s-transfer.aspx
seantang
post Jan 21 2014, 06:17 PM

With Adult Supervision Only
6,624 posts

QUOTE(JohnJon82 @ Jan 21 2014, 06:07 PM)
Think she talking balance transfer or fund transfer. I took one before, UOB put 50k cash (the CSO said the max amount is around 75% of the card's credit limit) into my OCBC saving account, with 1.5% processing fee (nego with them say you got better offer from other bank and they will push this fee down), 12 months interest free instalment with minimum payment each month like a credit card. Bought some shares, then end of the 12 months period sold it and pay it lump sum back. Borrowing 50k money for a year with only 750 extra charge, not bad I think. Can apply online, call the CSO, or the CSO will call you once in a while and bug you.

Something like this, not sure why can't find it anymore in UOB website:

http://info.maybank2u.com.sg/personal/card...s-transfer.aspx
This is basically a personal overdraft or personal loan, which they channel to you through a CC. Banks also do it by sending you a check for $XXXX which you can bank into any account.

But generally, withdrawing cash from a credit card is the most expensive option out there.

studyboy
post Jan 21 2014, 07:58 PM

522 posts

Edit: Ignore this thank you!

This post has been edited by studyboy: Jan 21 2014, 09:05 PM
SUSalaskanbunny
post Jan 21 2014, 09:30 PM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(athrun300 @ Jan 21 2014, 03:31 PM)
Guys, anybody hoot new landed property in Nusajaya/Bukit Indah area? Need some recommendation. HH is too expensive and i am a poor fag. Now i am actually looking at Iskandar Sunway.
if u cant afford HH, dont need to look at sunway...

anyway, why dont look at subsale houses at south bkt indah? those that are between bkt indah n HH? seems to be priced reasonably...

if really want value, go for prima homes... but i heard all gone liao

if got $$$ go for ecobotanic.. heard sold out.... or ...

this one look great but cant afford cry.gif

JohnJon82
post Jan 21 2014, 10:10 PM

716 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Jan 21 2014, 06:17 PM)
This is basically a personal overdraft or personal loan, which they channel to you through a CC. Banks also do it by sending you a check for $XXXX which you can bank into any account.

But generally, withdrawing cash from a credit card is the most expensive option out there.
O ya the cheque in mail too. So nice some body send me a signed blank cheque. Cheap loan.
jin06
post Jan 22 2014, 10:54 AM

34 posts

i noticed that the EP salary requirement is now $3,300. does it mean that they normally won't offer any position with salary lower than this to outsiders? how possible is it for a fresh grad to get this pay, especially in research field?
Fiona Chin
post Jan 22 2014, 11:40 AM

1,172 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Jan 21 2014, 06:17 PM)

Ya I mean the CC fund transfer which is interest free for an amount of period with some percentage of processing fees. I know some banks offering one day or one hour approval and transfer with 5% processing fee which is almost as convenient as saving it in a bank account since you have to go to the atm to draw the money anyway for both cases.
athrun300
post Jan 22 2014, 12:03 PM

215 posts

QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Jan 21 2014, 09:30 PM)
if u cant afford HH, dont need to look at sunway...

anyway, why dont look at subsale houses at south bkt indah? those that are between bkt indah n HH? seems to be priced reasonably...

if really want value, go for prima homes... but i heard all gone liao

if got $$$ go for ecobotanic.. heard sold out.... or ...

this one look great but cant afford  cry.gif

You meant sunway will cost more than 900k (HH price)?

PRIMA cannot sell in 10 years leh

This post has been edited by athrun300: Jan 22 2014, 12:04 PM
vincentwmh
post Jan 22 2014, 01:13 PM

476 posts

QUOTE(jin06 @ Jan 22 2014, 10:54 AM)
i noticed that the EP salary requirement is now $3,300. does it mean that they normally won't offer any position with salary lower than this to outsiders? how possible is it for a fresh grad to get this pay, especially in research field?
no saying dat fresh grats must start w/ EP cool2.gif
jin06
post Jan 22 2014, 01:21 PM

34 posts

QUOTE(vincentwmh @ Jan 22 2014, 01:13 PM)
no saying dat fresh grats must start w/ EP cool2.gif
How does EP work? So fresh grads can go there with another type of working visa?
Sorry I am a total newbie in this case rclxub.gif
tailtwist
post Jan 22 2014, 04:18 PM

1,564 posts

QUOTE(jin06 @ Jan 22 2014, 01:21 PM)
How does EP work? So fresh grads can go there with another type of working visa?
Sorry I am a total newbie in this case  rclxub.gif
Try google next time
For now
MOM
athrun300
post Jan 22 2014, 04:23 PM

215 posts

My company is able to get EP for employees less than $3300 monthly. Employers can opted for S Pass but there are a quota for that. I believe it's 1 Singaporean to 3 foreigner etc.
jin06
post Jan 22 2014, 07:32 PM

34 posts

ok i got it. initially i thought S Pass is only for technicians.. you know, the real technicians doh.gif
SUSalaskanbunny
post Jan 22 2014, 11:51 PM

Foodie
4,283 posts

why not? here got freshgrad can buy $1.6million condo with her hubby... this actually helps a lot of foreigners that grad from singkie colleges...

QUOTE(athrun300 @ Jan 22 2014, 12:03 PM)
You meant sunway will cost more than 900k (HH price)?

PRIMA cannot sell in 10 years leh
yeaps... or at least for the landed ones..

PRIMA to stay not speculate yo! doh.gif

QUOTE(athrun300 @ Jan 22 2014, 04:23 PM)
My company is able to get EP for employees less than $3300 monthly. Employers can opted for S Pass but there are a quota for that. I believe it's 1 Singaporean to 3 foreigner etc.
my company still hiring EP below $3k flex.gif
razo2
post Jan 24 2014, 11:04 AM

534 posts

QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Jan 22 2014, 11:51 PM)
why not? here got freshgrad can buy $1.6million condo with her hubby... this actually helps a lot of foreigners that grad from singkie colleges...
yeaps... or at least for the landed ones..

PRIMA to stay not speculate yo!  doh.gif
my company still hiring EP below $3k flex.gif
Is that possible blink.gif ?

Dont they have to fill up the form stating their base salary prior to their application for the EP visa?

Man, who will be a sucker to take less salary from a stated black and white.
whereis the love
post Jan 24 2014, 12:05 PM

2,546 posts

guys,where u all normally change SGD > MYR?rate for today?
JohnJon82
post Jan 24 2014, 12:59 PM

716 posts

QUOTE(whereis the love @ Jan 24 2014, 12:05 PM)
guys,where u all normally change SGD > MYR?rate for today?
Arcade, Fountain, Chinatown. Just find a shop where there is long queue. Make sure its not the bakkwa queue if in Chinatown biggrin.gif .
witchx
post Jan 24 2014, 01:17 PM

121 posts

Changed at Tanjong Pagar Plaza yesterday

SGD 1.138 = AUD 1.00

SGD 1 = MYR 25.73

may not be best of rates

This post has been edited by witchx: Jan 24 2014, 01:18 PM

125 Pages « < 68 69 70 71 72 > » Top