Working in Singapore V15

athrun300
post Nov 21 2013, 01:37 PM

215 posts

Guys, for people that works in Sg, which bank in Malaysia is easier to get a credit card? I think the banks are using conversion S$ 1 to RM 1 and with literally no credit history in Malaysia (no KWSP etc), it very hard for to get a good credit card for travel.
athrun300
post Dec 15 2013, 02:38 PM

215 posts

QUOTE(studyboy @ Dec 14 2013, 08:59 PM)
Hello everyone! I was wondering how does one find accommodation in Sg? I might be starting a job in the country soon (if the bureaucracy matters go well) and thought it best if I start looking for a place to stay now!  blush.gif
Same like finding accommodation in malaysia.
athrun300
post Jan 21 2014, 03:28 PM

215 posts

QUOTE(lemonzaiii @ Jan 20 2014, 12:58 AM)
hi guys, wanna ask some sifu here about how to find job/interview in singapore from malaysia.

1. do u guys applied online jobstreet/jobdb.etc and travel to singapore for interview?? where do u guys stay then? travel by bus or plane?

2. or just go to singapore 1st, then start looking for job on newspaper and online? what if u cant get a job in 30days, u cant stay longer than that right? and again where do u guys stay then?

3. as a IT fresh grad and finishing my last subject very soon, any suggestions whether i should get experience in msia or try my luck to apply junior/'fresh grad'/'no experience needed' job in singapore? i believe i do have some advantages compared to any other IT fresh grad since i've done some projects during my fyp and internship. P/S* my convocation is held in 2 months later, i was thinking to work in msia for at least 2 months, and after my convocation i will start planning again. any thoughts?
1. Apply jobstreet/jobdb/company website and travel to Singapore for interview. Stay in Johor friends house. Travel by bus

2. My wallet disagree with this method

3. No harm testing Singapore market as fresh graduate. If you cannot secure any RELATED job after say 3 month, then simply means you need more experience or qualification. Please try again in another time.
athrun300
post Jan 21 2014, 03:31 PM

215 posts

Guys, anybody hoot new landed property in Nusajaya/Bukit Indah area? Need some recommendation. HH is too expensive and i am a poor fag. Now i am actually looking at Iskandar Sunway.
athrun300
post Jan 22 2014, 12:03 PM

215 posts

QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Jan 21 2014, 09:30 PM)
if u cant afford HH, dont need to look at sunway...

anyway, why dont look at subsale houses at south bkt indah? those that are between bkt indah n HH? seems to be priced reasonably...

if really want value, go for prima homes... but i heard all gone liao

if got $$$ go for ecobotanic.. heard sold out.... or ...

this one look great but cant afford  cry.gif

You meant sunway will cost more than 900k (HH price)?

PRIMA cannot sell in 10 years leh

This post has been edited by athrun300: Jan 22 2014, 12:04 PM
athrun300
post Jan 22 2014, 04:23 PM

215 posts

QUOTE(jin06 @ Jan 22 2014, 10:54 AM)
i noticed that the EP salary requirement is now $3,300. does it mean that they normally won't offer any position with salary lower than this to outsiders? how possible is it for a fresh grad to get this pay, especially in research field?
My company is able to get EP for employees less than $3300 monthly. Employers can opted for S Pass but there are a quota for that. I believe it's 1 Singaporean to 3 foreigner etc.
athrun300
post Jan 24 2014, 04:58 PM

215 posts

QUOTE(whereis the love @ Jan 24 2014, 12:05 PM)
guys,where u all normally change SGD > MYR?rate for today?
Jurong point
athrun300
post Jan 29 2014, 03:48 AM

215 posts

QUOTE(ricky0111 @ Jan 28 2014, 10:01 PM)
Hey Guys, I'm new here and will be moving to SG soon. I obtained my initial EP and am waiting for a medical checkup and final EP approval. My pass is a Q1 pass.

I would like to ask regarding the mobile plans in SG. I tried comparing the various plans but couldn't really figure out the best one.

1) I will be calling back frequently to Malaysia. (Around 800 minutes/month).
2) My job nature requires me to make calls of about 300 minutes every month.
3) I need 1GB data plan for monthly usage.
4) I currently have a Samsung I9300 (S3)

My question now is:
1) The phone plan is more worth it or should I choose the SIM-only plan? (I do not need a new phone but if it is worth it I will get it)
2) Is there any deposit required for the plan (with or without mobile phone)
3) Which Mobile Provider would you recommend and what package to choose for my requirements?
4) The Caller ID is usually free or do I have to pay for it?Do people in SG usually subscribe to that service?

Hope the sifus here can help. My planned budget is less than SGD100, preferably ard SGD50.

Thx sifus.
1. Phone plan is more worth
2. Ep no need deposit
3. Any provider will do. You have to research which provider signal stronger in your area.
4. IDD has to subscribe for phone plan. Extra sgd5

athrun300
post Feb 27 2014, 01:52 PM

215 posts

QUOTE(aLertz @ Feb 26 2014, 10:33 AM)
hi all,

Just gt a job offer for a software developer job in SG and of course i accepted it. Currently serving 2 months notice in my current company and also planning on the relocation.

Will be working at Ubi Techpark. Still looking for room.

The big problem would be moving my stuffs, still deciding whether to go in by bus or plane as i'm staying in Penang.
Is there any problem bringing my desktop PC into SG? Will the custom tax me for electronic stuff so big?

sorry if it's a noob question since this is my 1st time relocating to another country  biggrin.gif
Flight. For a mere $100 plus you will save at least 8 hours on and off bus, not to mention queuing time at CIQ.
athrun300
post Mar 1 2014, 09:13 PM

215 posts

QUOTE(Chealsea @ Mar 1 2014, 12:00 PM)
got offer 1.6 for degree fresh grad acc, too low?
For engineering, they are getting 2.7k and above. Not sure about acc fresh
athrun300
post Mar 1 2014, 09:16 PM

215 posts

QUOTE(St. Petersburg @ Mar 1 2014, 08:43 PM)
Buy a Sg registered car lar. Easy and solve most of the problems. Just need to convert your licence to Sg licence.
My BTT test in April. Malaysian have to pass this test in order for conversion of driving license. Fee should be below $10 including everything.
athrun300
post Mar 1 2014, 09:19 PM

215 posts

QUOTE(LightningFist @ Mar 1 2014, 09:00 PM)
it's worth it, right

i mean now
Accommodation will eat away at least 30% of the salary leh. Plus food and other things, he would struggle to save although doable if living a prudent life.
athrun300
post Mar 1 2014, 09:23 PM

215 posts

QUOTE(tailtwist @ Mar 1 2014, 09:19 PM)
You will need a driving license extract from JPJ and also SGD50 fee for the conversion. SGD10 is for the BTT only.
Oic. I plan to get the extract after passing BTT. $50 for 5 years doing license is okay bah. But can we still drive in Malaysia after the conversion?
athrun300
post Mar 1 2014, 10:09 PM

215 posts

QUOTE(LightningFist @ Mar 1 2014, 09:27 PM)
if average, just simple/comfortable but eating well, how much is needed do you think?

maybe it's worth it if the pay grows faster?
There are people that live on lesser salary. I know 1 filipino eating cup mee every night in order to save. It can be done but damm sad nia. You can come to sg and try to estimate your expense here to your expected lifestyle before making the move. Just my two cents opinion.

athrun300
post Mar 2 2014, 02:10 PM

215 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Mar 2 2014, 02:05 AM)
rental $300 (share room) $600 (own room)
food $300 (every day light breakfast then 2x chap fan/hawker food)
transport $100
internet/utilities/hp $100
Mine

Rental $500 small room with aircon
Food $350 no cai pang. Breakfast at company
Transport $50 Bus only
Internet/mobile $35 lowest m1 plan with corporate discount
Grocery $30?

athrun300
post Mar 2 2014, 02:12 PM

215 posts

QUOTE(Mackiddo @ Mar 2 2014, 08:36 AM)
yeah. after converted can buy Sg car already smile.gif
Sg car? I just want to drive company car occasionally for lunch or work lah.
athrun300
post Mar 2 2014, 02:18 PM

215 posts

QUOTE(aLBEE88 @ Mar 2 2014, 12:35 AM)
Just rented a single common room near Pioneer MRT for $650...
Pioneer common room $650? I though market price there should be $550 to $600 single room. If $650 include wifi and aircon or walking distance to mrt then should be around that price.
athrun300
post Mar 2 2014, 02:20 PM

215 posts

QUOTE(Night Fury @ Mar 2 2014, 08:32 AM)
I don't have Maybank... And I would still like to get one bank account which ATM machine is abundant. So DBS / POSB / UOB would be my choice. UOB need $1000 deposit @.@ ... Fresh grad mana ada so much $$$$$$$$$$....
The officer in DBS told me that for EP holder, you can use IPA..... but for S-pass, cannot sad.gif
Ask your company for advance salary or first month pay in cek. Use the cek to open the account.

This post has been edited by athrun300: Mar 2 2014, 02:21 PM
athrun300
post Mar 2 2014, 05:01 PM

215 posts

QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Mar 2 2014, 03:01 PM)
500 with aircond? that's pretty cheap...
Keywords is small room. For me the cheaper the better coz sometimes 1-2 month oversea job assignment never stay also. Feel wasted sad.gif
athrun300
post Mar 2 2014, 05:05 PM

215 posts

QUOTE(KoChun @ Mar 2 2014, 04:10 PM)
Why not live in Johor and ride bike into SG to work.
Isn't that more economical and common practise?
Been there and try before. On motorbike at 5am on second link highways. Not easy. But I might move back in the future smile.gif

0.0498sec    0.58    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 12:38 PM