Working in Singapore V15

yhoong12
post Nov 8 2013, 02:38 PM

Balls Addicted~~
846 posts

QUOTE(LegendLee @ Nov 8 2013, 01:21 AM)
Have you ever stayed with someone that stinks so badly that people can recognise you from smell alone ?
How about someone with a few kg of leftovers under their bed ?
Shoes/slippers are good for public toilets, streets and room too. The same pair BTW.
Or clothing cupboard that smells of piss, heck the entire place smells of piss.

Dirty usually means a whole different level when it comes to a certain group of people.
As dirty as some Malaysian and Singaporean may be, I've not met anyone who qualify in the above 4 criteria.
Well, last time i have bedbug issue with malaysians. the bed is very obvious with begbug spot on it yet she still use it. rclxub.gif
yhoong12
post Dec 23 2013, 05:53 PM

Balls Addicted~~
846 posts

smrt train and bus services be extended christmas eve
yhoong12
post Jan 3 2014, 02:53 PM

Balls Addicted~~
846 posts

QUOTE(waynefly @ Jan 3 2014, 01:40 PM)
Because this is 3rd interview and I request to have video conference interview since 1st interview do like that (2nd interview I drove to sg). So they said they can offer me flight ticket for this time interview.

Sure I ok lo  tongue.gif
Wow, that is very nice. i thnk the 3rd interview should be briefing you more details on the job and see if you still interested or not.But by providing you the flight ticket already show you they want you !! rclxms.gif thumbup.gif

congratz !! rclxm9.gif
yhoong12
post Jan 8 2014, 05:09 PM

Balls Addicted~~
846 posts

QUOTE(JohnJon82 @ Jan 8 2014, 02:46 PM)
Illegal AND action was taken. Some company sued a group of people for downloading anime and brought them to court donkey years ago. Each fined 2k IIRC. SPF come knocking your door. So landlord is not kiasu kiasi.

Another one stealing wifi jailed...
So many people in SG, can they find out who is downloading who is not? shocking.gif
yhoong12
post Jan 9 2014, 10:15 AM

Balls Addicted~~
846 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Jan 9 2014, 02:12 AM)
The ISPs definitely know who. They definitely have all the records of all your internet activity.

So there's no issue whether they know out not. They do.

Then it's a question of what they are going to do with that knowledge. If you keep your nose clean, never get into trouble or create trouble... chances are that nothing will happen to you your entire life. But if you one day, somehow attract the attention and displeasure of the powers that be, you can bet they will bring it all this evidence to make your life difficult.
Oic. thanks for the info
glad to know that i still can download and wont get me into trouble.

yhoong12
post Jan 9 2014, 02:06 PM

Balls Addicted~~
846 posts

QUOTE(cherryl9 @ Jan 9 2014, 01:09 PM)
thanks! downloaded the app but it requires my NRIC/FIN number. i don't have any of these. How ah?
i have only normal visa/mastercard/diners.
If you are working here , you should have FIN number, is the work pass number issued by SG government. if you don't have any of that,
other than reload machine at MRT station, you can use the AXS machine where they provide reload service as well, but restricted to DBS/POSB
yhoong12
post Jan 13 2014, 05:56 PM

Balls Addicted~~
846 posts

QUOTE(waynefly @ Jan 13 2014, 05:53 PM)
Yes, I do not have Degree and just Professional Cert.
So far MoM do not recognize professional cert so I have to get WP since no more quota for SP.
Now my concern is whether we need to declare tax with the said amount.
I thought tax declaration should be applicable to everyone regardless Pass? hmm.gif
yhoong12
post Jan 20 2014, 03:23 PM

Balls Addicted~~
846 posts

QUOTE(lemonzaiii @ Jan 20 2014, 12:58 AM)
hi guys, wanna ask some sifu here about how to find job/interview in singapore from malaysia.

1. do u guys applied online jobstreet/jobdb.etc and travel to singapore for interview?? where do u guys stay then? travel by bus or plane?

2. or just go to singapore 1st, then start looking for job on newspaper and online? what if u cant get a job in 30days, u cant stay longer than that right? and again where do u guys stay then?

3. as a IT fresh grad and finishing my last subject very soon, any suggestions whether i should get experience in msia or try my luck to apply junior/'fresh grad'/'no experience needed' job in singapore? i believe i do have some advantages compared to any other IT fresh grad since i've done some projects during my fyp and internship. P/S* my convocation is held in 2 months later, i was thinking to work in msia for at least 2 months, and after my convocation i will start planning again. any thoughts?
I been in your situation before, but last time what i am considering is need to complete the convocation first without troubling anyone, so i apply job and worked at Malaysia until my convocation ended then only started to apply job in SG.

Unless your family member or friend dont mind all the hassle to help you settle everything and all you need to do is just attend the convocation, else i suggest you work in MY and settle everything.

This post has been edited by yhoong12: Jan 20 2014, 03:23 PM
yhoong12
post Feb 6 2014, 05:42 PM

Balls Addicted~~
846 posts

QUOTE(Sammyking @ Feb 6 2014, 04:45 PM)
Ya that taxi driver who drove me asked me to pay $10 on top of the metered fair which was already $15 plus. He complained and say no taxi driver want to go and pick passengers up from Woodlands checkpoint coz so far and always jam etc. etc. then he say that's why there's $10 surcharge. He knows I'm new to this place coz he asked me which way to take and I told him I was new so I don't know which way to take. Luckily I wasn't silly enough to believe I had to pay this $10 surcharge  shakehead.gif
So in the end you didnt pay right? Taxi driver make alot noise?
yhoong12
post Feb 7 2014, 10:33 AM

Balls Addicted~~
846 posts

QUOTE(lunayan @ Feb 7 2014, 08:20 AM)
Hi everyone. I will be working in Sg for 3 mths (posted there for work). Just wondering if I run out of SGD (plan to bring about SGD1k for a start), can I use my Msian debit card at ATMs in SG? Or is it advisable to open an account to TT money (bear in mind only short period of 3 mths).
SGD 1K for everything in first month? room rental? but how they give you salary? to your malaysia bank account?

you can alway go to JB there on weekends to withdraw money, i think you can get better rate compare with withdraw money in SG use malaysia debit card(currency convert by bank)
yhoong12
post Feb 7 2014, 11:25 AM

Balls Addicted~~
846 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Feb 7 2014, 11:14 AM)
Cross border to JB?!? At the kind of relatively low amounts he's changing, you want him to go through all the hassle of bus fares, border crossings, etc etc, just to get maybe $5 or $10 extra? hmm.gif

lunayan If you have maybank then maybank SG atms give you decent exchange rates. And maybe CIMB too (not too sure on this one). Other banks you might get screwed a bit on the cross-border transaction fee.
well, no harm providing suggestion as i not sure the difference between those two method. smile.gif
yhoong12
post Feb 12 2014, 09:04 AM

Balls Addicted~~
846 posts

QUOTE(louis6 @ Feb 11 2014, 11:01 PM)
Hi, can I start finding job in SG only after I get into SG ?
Why not, only if your financial is deep enough to support until you get a job and first month salary.
yhoong12
post Feb 12 2014, 03:45 PM

Balls Addicted~~
846 posts

QUOTE(OrCaGaL @ Feb 12 2014, 01:48 PM)
yeah unless u got siblings or parent(s) staying there.
Erm, got siblings or parents staying in SG then you can stay longer than 60 days? hmm.gif
yhoong12
post Feb 19 2014, 10:17 AM

Balls Addicted~~
846 posts

QUOTE(LittleR0ck @ Feb 19 2014, 02:34 AM)
Oh ok
What kind of common criteria do Singaporean employees need? like speaking english/chinese? Im ok with these 2
Erm, if you really started to apply job in SG, you should see all the requirement stated there, including language used.
yhoong12
post Feb 21 2014, 10:59 AM

Balls Addicted~~
846 posts

QUOTE(doogiedog @ Feb 21 2014, 09:10 AM)
The way i read it is that if you continue stay in sg for more than 12 months (and never exit singapore) then you cannot drive car without sg licence. Even if it is Msia car also cannot. But if you every now and then go back to malaysia, then should not be a problem since Msia is part of the ASEAN countries.

Also, make sure you have proper insurance when driving the car. private car, better make sure you got the necessary insurance i.e: you are one of the named driver in the policy. Else later accident, you (or your fren) may have to pay for damages from your own pocket.

BTW, I got friends working here with EP everyday driving with a malaysia licence. so not a problem.

If you really plan to work long term in SG, better get your licence converted.
If according to what you said, go out to JB and come in again, is consider exit singapore and not stay more than 12 months, that mean there are no reason to convert license? hmm.gif
Your malaysia friend driving a SG car using malaysia license?
yhoong12
post Mar 13 2014, 11:46 AM

Balls Addicted~~
846 posts

QUOTE(cwcw @ Mar 12 2014, 09:39 PM)
if my working place is near to kranji mrt..which area should i stay better? jurong east or yi shun?
rental fees is the most consideration.
btw, red line or green line to kranji, which 1 is actuali more faster and wont so peak in the morning?
Green line to kranji? you need to change to red line at jurong east then travel to kranji as well.
is there any reason that only jurong east and yi shun is in your consideration?
yhoong12
post Mar 21 2014, 11:18 AM

Balls Addicted~~
846 posts

QUOTE(peterG @ Mar 20 2014, 09:54 PM)
regarding this, can anyone confirm for me? i scare after i reject company A, when come to S-Pass application from company B, i will get in trouble, since my friend told me that the application is base on some sort of scoring system..  cry.gif

* I'm yet to accept company B's job offer
Just reject and take the risk on company B. You are facing this dilemma because you wanted company B more than company A. No one can confirm with you because if like i confirm with you that you will not get your pass from company B approved, but you got approved then you will say i am cheater, vise versa as well.

Take your risk get big return ??

0.0494sec    0.50    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 12:13 PM