129 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Bottom

Buying a new laptop? NEED RECOMMENDATIONS? V21, Kindly FOLLOW the FORMAT TQ~!

raymondtong94
post Sep 15 2013, 05:37 PM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(tengzt @ Sep 15 2013, 05:24 PM)
Oic so which 1 is for laptop ssd have os ?
i google-d it but dun understand.
dont quite get it. do you mean a laptop that has windows installed on SSD? if thats the case, they will be out of your budget.

anyway, the one that sifu TJ suggested comes with mSATA SSD installed as a caching SSD.
bearbear
post Sep 15 2013, 05:38 PM

You'll Never Walk Alone!~!~
10,061 posts

All sifu,

Went to have a look at both Asus X201e, Acer V5 and Lenovo S300.

In term of spec more or less than same on processor.

Really impressed by Lenovo S300, despite been 13 inch still the weight feel almost similar to holding the Asus X201e.

I suppose in term of after sales Lenovo is the one to go for?Some shop don't carry the S300 anymore because it is an 'old' model blink.gif
tengzt
post Sep 15 2013, 05:38 PM

48 posts

QUOTE(raymondtong94 @ Sep 15 2013, 05:37 PM)
dont quite get it. do you mean a laptop that has windows installed on SSD? if thats the case, they will be out of your budget.

anyway, the one that sifu TJ suggested comes with mSATA SSD installed as a caching SSD.
yes i mean it.

Asus VivoBook S551LB-CJ077H 15.6" Laptop/ Notebook
Asus S550CB-CJ102H VivoBook 15.6"

Which better if i only play dota2?
raymondtong94
post Sep 15 2013, 06:07 PM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(tengzt @ Sep 15 2013, 05:38 PM)
yes i mean it.

Asus VivoBook S551LB-CJ077H 15.6" Laptop/ Notebook
Asus S550CB-CJ102H VivoBook 15.6"

Which better if i only play dota2?
both is good for dota 2 as it is not a cpu intensive game.
if you can pay more for the haswell processor, then you can get it. smile.gif
Fizzy-Fiz
post Sep 15 2013, 07:23 PM

696 posts

A bit of extra info

Budget: up to 4k
Preferred size: up to 15'
Preferred brand: none
usage: autocad, c++, altera

would really like something portable but capable. quite worried about the size of the power supply. I dont know how much autocad demands, so please enlighten me on it. No gaming. would like something that looks and feel good.

is it still a long way to go before we see more haswell models?
TS[PF] T.J.
post Sep 15 2013, 08:30 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(Fizzy-Fiz @ Sep 15 2013, 07:23 PM)
A bit of extra info

Budget: up to 4k
Preferred size: up to 15'
Preferred brand: none
usage: autocad, c++, altera

would really like something portable but capable. quite worried about the size of the power supply. I dont know how much autocad demands, so please enlighten me on it. No gaming. would like something that looks and feel good.

is it still a long way to go before we see more haswell models?
Powerful and portable? No problem XD
Definitely this one~
14"
MSI GE40-2OC, i7-4702MQ + Nvidia GTX760M + (1600x900; anti-glare)@RM3499[1.8kg], 4GB, 750GB(7200rpm), W8

*Prices in RRP, negotiable
*Use remaining budget to upgrade RAM to 8GB, and perhaps upgrade the HDD to SSD
TS[PF] T.J.
post Sep 15 2013, 08:33 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(bearbear @ Sep 15 2013, 05:38 PM)
All sifu,

Went to have a look at both Asus X201e, Acer V5 and Lenovo S300.

In term of spec more or less than same on processor.

Really impressed by Lenovo S300, despite been 13 inch still the weight feel almost similar to holding the Asus X201e.

I suppose in term of after sales Lenovo is the one to go for?Some shop don't carry the S300 anymore because it is an 'old' model blink.gif
Yeah, in terms of after sales support, the S300 and the V5 will be the better pick laugh.gif
I've never seen much S300 to be honest haha laugh.gif Sometimes models may become EOL-ed before they are even marketed sweat.gif
PiggyDude
post Sep 15 2013, 09:17 PM

QUOTE(raymondtong94 @ Sep 15 2013, 04:35 PM)
Dell
Inspiron 14R, i5-4200U + Nvidia GT740M + (1366x768, Touch) @RM2299 [2.32kg], 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), W8 , 6 cell
Inspiron 15R, i7-4500U + AMD HD8850M (GDDR5)@RM2449 [2.32kg], 8GB, 1TB(5400rpm), Ubuntu 12.04 , 6 cell; W8SL@RM2649

Lenovo
Z400 touch, i5-3230M + Nvidia GT740M + (1366x768, touch)@RM2199, 4GB, 1TB, W8; 2 years warranty
Z500, i5-3230M + Nvidia GT740M@RM2299[2.2kg], 4GB, 1TB, backlit, W8; 2 years warranty

Toshiba
Satellite L40-AS109Xb/G/W, i5-3337U + Nvidia GT740M@RM2199[Onkyo], 4GB, 750GB, 3 years local warranty; colors: Blue/gold/white

prices are RRP and negotiable.
i would personally dont suggest touch screen models but it seems that non touch models are phased out and pretty hard to find available units, so i have no choice.
Hmm... can't quite decide between Z500 and Satelite L40, any major difference?
tanflash1314
post Sep 15 2013, 10:03 PM

18 posts

QUOTE(raymondtong94 @ Sep 15 2013, 04:30 PM)
dota 2 is not cpu intensive game, so 1.8ghz is not a problem for it. smile.gif
thanks ya... but i google it a lot of people says that dota 2 is quite cpu intensive? I dont really know about this...

so I have 2 problem after tis...
how to know the games is cpu intensive or not?
and
i3-3217u and i5-3317u have very much difference while running dota 2?
i know that 3317u can overclocks but 3217u cannot.

raymondtong94
post Sep 15 2013, 10:23 PM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(PiggyDude @ Sep 15 2013, 09:17 PM)
Hmm... can't quite decide between Z500 and Satelite L40, any major difference?
major difference is the warranty life and processor used. the processor on the Toshiba is an ULV processor (weaker), which is used to save battery life and has 3 years warranty, compared to Lenovo's 2 years warranty.
raymondtong94
post Sep 15 2013, 10:33 PM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(tanflash1314 @ Sep 15 2013, 10:03 PM)
how to know the games is cpu intensive or not?
and
i3-3217u and i5-3317u have very much difference while running dota 2?
i know that 3317u can overclocks but 3217u cannot.
if lets say dota 2 is very lag under single core CPU but very smooth under dual core, means it is CPU intensive and will be bottlenecked by weak processors.

for the 2 processors, no, not very much difference but the integrated graphics (Intel HD4000) has different speed.
tanflash1314
post Sep 15 2013, 11:20 PM

18 posts

Hi... May I know what's the price of this Dell laptop?

http://www.dell.com/my/p/inspiron-15-3521/...en&s=dhs&~ck=mn

i3-3217U processor (3M Cache, 1.8 GHz, with 1GB Discrete base)
Ubuntu Linux 12.04
4GB DDR3L 1600Mhz
AMD Radeon™ HD 7670M with 1GB DDR3 VRAM
15.6"
500 GB SATA
heliora10
post Sep 15 2013, 11:31 PM

183 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Sep 15 2013, 02:41 PM)
Don't think there's any FHD 13" with touch and stylus  hmm.gif
Unless if you buy 3rd party styluses haha

Updated: As mentioned by God lee_what2004 sifu, the Vaio Duo 13 fits the description:
13"
Sony
Vaio SVD13211SGW, i5-4200U + Intel HD4400 + 128GB SSD+ (1920x1080)@RM4999[1.3kg], 4GB, W8SL
Vaio SVP13218PGB, i7-4500U + Intel HD4400 + 256GB SSD + (1920x1080)@RM4999[1.06kg], 4GB, W8SL
ya I know, as of now in Malaysia Sony Vaio Duo 13 is the only Full HD laptop with stylus I think, the others aren't available yet, that's why was seriously considering it.

went to Low Yat just now, Sony was promoting it in the concourse, played with it, decided against it due to 2 deal breakers: 1st is it only comes in 128GB, 2nd is I think the form factor is unwieldy, the sliding mechanism feels a bit flimsy.

checked out the other ultrabooks, none of them seems to feel really good, also 4th gen Intel processor will be coming soon so most of them will be updated soon, including Acer Aspire S7, Lenovo Ideapad Yoga 13, Dell XPS 12 and Asus Zenbook (which wasn't on display sleep.gif). all of them don't have a very good trackpad (maybe a Windows problem), Sony Vaio Pro 13 has a pretty good display though.

at the end of it I think I'll just forgo touchscreen and go with a MacBook, it still feels to me the most well built and the one that gets the basics performing well (definitely the best trackpad), and man the retina display just looks stunning, comparing the display to MBA's makes me do not want to get an MBA.

think I'll prolly borrow someone's laptop to use and wait for the retina MBP to be updated and then get it.
TS[PF] T.J.
post Sep 15 2013, 11:42 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(tanflash1314 @ Sep 15 2013, 11:20 PM)
Hi... May I know what's the price of this Dell laptop?

http://www.dell.com/my/p/inspiron-15-3521/...en&s=dhs&~ck=mn

i3-3217U processor (3M Cache, 1.8 GHz, with 1GB Discrete base)
Ubuntu Linux 12.04
4GB DDR3L 1600Mhz
AMD Radeon™ HD 7670M with 1GB DDR3 VRAM
15.6"
500 GB SATA
The price is already in the link you have provided? hmm.gif
If you are looking for better price, Garage Sales is the place to ask, not here nod.gif
This is a recommendation thread
DevisTey
post Sep 16 2013, 12:01 AM

prefer brand:Lenovo,Asus
budget:3000-3500
usage:gaming,online game blade & soul
size:15:6

thx for recommend(happy.gif)Y
tanflash1314
post Sep 16 2013, 12:03 AM

18 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Sep 15 2013, 11:42 PM)
The price is already in the link you have provided?  hmm.gif
If you are looking for better price, Garage Sales is the place to ask, not here  nod.gif
This is a recommendation thread
no.. the link i provided.. the price is without amd radeon 7670m 1gb vram
Ok. i will go der. anyway thanks ya happy.gif
Can you introduce me a few trusted seller in lowyat?
wanna compare the price for tis specifications...
TS[PF] T.J.
post Sep 16 2013, 12:30 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(tanflash1314 @ Sep 16 2013, 12:03 AM)
no.. the link i provided.. the price is without amd radeon 7670m 1gb vram
Ok. i will go der. anyway thanks ya happy.gif
Can you introduce me a few trusted seller in lowyat?
wanna compare the price for tis specifications...
15.6"
Dell
Inspiron 15, i3-3227U + AMD HD7670M@RM1499, 4GB, 500GB, Linux; W8SL@RM1599
Inspiron 15, i5-3337U + AMD HD7670M@RM1749[2.25kg], 4GB, 750GB(5400rpm), 4-cell, Linux; W8SL@RM1899
Inspiron 15, i5-3337U + AMD HD7670M@RM1799[2.25kg], 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), 6-cell, Linux; W8SL@RM1949
Inspiron 15R, i5-3210M + AMD HD7670M@RM1899[2.65kg], 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), W7HP/W8
Inspiron 15R, i7-3612QM +AMD HD7670M@RM2599[2.74kg], 4GB, 1TB(5400rpm), W8

I've already recommended putochip123 to you, can try and find viper88 as well nod.gif
TS[PF] T.J.
post Sep 16 2013, 12:31 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(DevisTey @ Sep 16 2013, 12:01 AM)
prefer brand:Lenovo,Asus
budget:3000-3500
usage:gaming,online game blade & soul
size:15:6
thx for recommend(happy.gif)Y
15.6"
Asus
N550JV-CN077H, i7-4702MQ + Nvidia GT750M + (1920x1080; IPS matte) + Bluray@RM3699[2.7kg], 4GB, 1TB, W8, backlit keyboard

Lenovo
Y510p, i7-4700MQ + Nvidia GT750M(GDDR5) + (1920x1080)@RM3099[2.7kg], 8GB, 1TB, W8, red backlit, swappable ODD, 120w psu, 2 yrs

Pretty much these two nod.gif
*Prices in RRP, negotiable ya icon_rolleyes.gif

Perhaps can get the Lenovo, then upgrade the HDD to SSD OR extend warranty to 3 years on-site~
DevisTey
post Sep 16 2013, 12:40 AM

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Sep 16 2013, 12:31 AM)
15.6"
Asus
N550JV-CN077H, i7-4702MQ + Nvidia GT750M + (1920x1080; IPS matte) + Bluray@RM3699[2.7kg], 4GB, 1TB, W8, backlit keyboard
Lenovo
Y510p, i7-4700MQ + Nvidia GT750M(GDDR5) + (1920x1080)@RM3099[2.7kg], 8GB, 1TB, W8, red backlit, swappable ODD, 120w psu, 2 yrs

Pretty much these two nod.gif
*Prices in RRP, negotiable ya  icon_rolleyes.gif

Perhaps can get the Lenovo, then upgrade the HDD to SSD OR extend warranty to 3 years on-site~
can u recommends some sellers at lowyat??

TS[PF] T.J.
post Sep 16 2013, 12:43 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(DevisTey @ Sep 16 2013, 12:40 AM)
can u recommends some sellers at lowyat??
Perhaps can try storm88, devour, numbertwo and hikari85? laugh.gif
These are only some of the sellers, there are many more in Garage Sales, and some may offer really great discounts too icon_rolleyes.gif

129 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0260sec    0.31    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 04:04 PM