129 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Buying a new laptop? NEED RECOMMENDATIONS? V21, Kindly FOLLOW the FORMAT TQ~!

TS[PF] T.J.
post Sep 13 2013, 07:35 PM, updated 12y ago

24,193 posts

Notebook Recommendations! by PF T.J., on Flickr

Walao, the Recommendations thread V20 sure ended very fast laugh.gif
Time for V21 yo~

This thread is specially made to offer laptop/tablet PC recommendations to EVERYONE
However, in order for us to recommend you with laptops/tablet PCs which suits you the most, we would require some basic information from you. Hence please kindly state your the following when posting:
1. Preferred Brand
2. Budget
3. Usage
4. Preferred laptop/screen size

Laptop models and associated prices can be found here: LYN Notebook Price Catalog V4

Please do your research properly before buying ya, there are ORIGINAL and REFURBISHED notebooks out there. So don't get conned! icon_rolleyes.gif icon_rolleyes.gif

With the help of the sifus here, we hope that you will be able to find the best laptop for your usage~
Happy Hunting!

Thanks alot to God lee_what2004 sifu for his time in giving recommendations and updating the pricelist~

Special thanks to nexus2238, raymondtong94 sifus for their relentless participation in this thread, I'm sure many are grateful for your recommendations happy.gif Keep it up guys~

The following are the links to the previous threads:

This post has been edited by [PF] T.J.: Oct 12 2013, 02:36 PM
TS[PF] T.J.
post Sep 13 2013, 07:35 PM

24,193 posts

Top Contributors of V20 rclxm9.gif
Its thanks to these guys that the recommendation thread is still alive and kicking! rclxms.gif Thank you so much dear contributors, hope you guys can keep up the good work, and share your knowledge notworthy.gif notworthy.gif

nexus2238@488 posts!!!!!
devour@144 posts!!!!
raymondtong94@102 posts!!!
arc x@97 posts!!

*Contributors as in those who actually provide unbiased, useful information icon_rolleyes.gif

@nexus sifu, at this rate your should be OP already brows.gif brows.gif

This post has been edited by [PF] T.J.: Sep 13 2013, 07:44 PM
samueltan777
post Sep 13 2013, 08:45 PM

18 posts

1. Asus [or any other reliable brand]
2. Rm2000 net
3. Office use and lite editing
4. preferably 15.6" [might consider 14" too]

Thank you guys...in advance =D
TS[PF] T.J.
post Sep 13 2013, 08:52 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(samueltan777 @ Sep 13 2013, 08:45 PM)
1. Asus [or any other reliable brand]
2. Rm2000 net
3. Office use and lite editing
4. preferably 15.6" [might consider 14" too]

Thank you guys...in advance =D
First customer laugh.gif laugh.gif
Can consider these for 15 inchers (not really a lot of options for a RM2k budget unfortunately):

Dell
Inspiron 15, i5-4200U + AMD HD8670M@RM1699, Ubuntu, 6GB, 750GB(5400rpm), 6-cell; W8SL@RM1899
Vostro 5560, i3-3120M + Nvidia GT630M@RM2009[2.2kg], 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), W8, ODD

Toshiba Satellite L850-1024X/XR/XW, i5-3230M + AMD HD7670M@RM1899, 2GB, 500GB, W8SL, 2 years local warranty, RM50 shopping voucher; colors: black/red/white

More options for 14" notebooks:
Acer E1-472G-54204G75k, i5- 4200U + Nvidia GT720M@RM1899, 4GB, 750GB, W8

Asus K46CM-WX059V, i3-3217U + Nvidia GT635M@RM1899[2kg], 2GB, 500GB, 4-cell battery, W7HP, OD

Dell Inspiron 14-3421, i5-3337U + Nvidia GT625M@RM1649[1.99kg], Ubuntu, 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), 6-cell; W8SL@RM1899

Dell Inspiron 14R, i5-3337U + Nvidia GT625M@RM1699[2.33], 4GB, 750GB(5400rpm), Linux; W8SL@RM1999

HP Envy4-1238TX, i5-3337U + AMD HD8750M@RM2099[Beats][1.75kg], 2GB, 500GB(5400rpm), W8

Lenovo Z400, i5-3230M + Nvidia GT740M@RM2099, 4GB, 1TB, W8; 2 years warranty; colors: chocolate *EOL-ed

Toshiba
Satellite L840-1056X/XR/XW, i5-3230M + AMD HD7670M@RM1999, 2GB, 500GB, W8SL; 2 years warranty; colors: black/red/white
Satellite M840-1070XR/XW, i5-3230M + AMD HD7670M@RM1999, 2GB, 500GB, W8SL; 2 years local warranty; colors:red/white

*Prices in RRP, negotiable
* Try to fork out some money for warranty extension to 3 years if applicable (especially Dell) icon_rolleyes.gif

raymondtong94
post Sep 13 2013, 09:00 PM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Sep 13 2013, 07:35 PM)
Top Contributors of V20  rclxm9.gif
Its thanks to these guys that the recommendation thread is still alive and kicking!  rclxms.gif Thank you so much dear contributors, hope you guys can keep up the good work, and share your knowledge  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif
nexus2238@488 posts!!!!!
devour@144 posts!!!!
raymondtong94@102 posts!!!
arc x@97 posts!!

*Contributors as in those who actually provide unbiased, useful information  icon_rolleyes.gif

@nexus sifu, at this rate your should be OP already  brows.gif  brows.gif
gratz on the V21 topic. biggrin.gif
but dont you consider yourself as part of the contributor? tongue.gif
TS[PF] T.J.
post Sep 13 2013, 09:06 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(raymondtong94 @ Sep 13 2013, 09:00 PM)
gratz on the V21 topic. biggrin.gif
but dont you consider yourself as part of the contributor? tongue.gif
Thanks thanks, keep up the good work man notworthy.gif
TS not considered one la haha laugh.gif
samueltan777
post Sep 13 2013, 09:13 PM

18 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Sep 13 2013, 08:52 PM)
First customer  laugh.gif  laugh.gif
Can consider these for 15 inchers (not really a lot of options for a RM2k budget unfortunately):

Dell
Inspiron 15, i5-4200U + AMD HD8670M@RM1699, Ubuntu, 6GB, 750GB(5400rpm), 6-cell; W8SL@RM1899
Vostro 5560, i3-3120M + Nvidia GT630M@RM2009[2.2kg], 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), W8, ODD

Toshiba Satellite L850-1024X/XR/XW, i5-3230M + AMD HD7670M@RM1899, 2GB, 500GB, W8SL, 2 years local warranty, RM50 shopping voucher; colors: black/red/white

More options for 14" notebooks:
Acer E1-472G-54204G75k, i5- 4200U + Nvidia GT720M@RM1899, 4GB, 750GB, W8

Asus K46CM-WX059V, i3-3217U + Nvidia GT635M@RM1899[2kg], 2GB, 500GB, 4-cell battery, W7HP, OD

Dell Inspiron 14-3421, i5-3337U + Nvidia GT625M@RM1649[1.99kg], Ubuntu, 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), 6-cell; W8SL@RM1899

Dell Inspiron 14R, i5-3337U + Nvidia GT625M@RM1699[2.33], 4GB, 750GB(5400rpm), Linux; W8SL@RM1999

HP Envy4-1238TX, i5-3337U + AMD HD8750M@RM2099[Beats][1.75kg], 2GB, 500GB(5400rpm), W8

Lenovo Z400, i5-3230M + Nvidia GT740M@RM2099, 4GB, 1TB, W8; 2 years warranty; colors: chocolate *EOL-ed

Toshiba
Satellite L840-1056X/XR/XW, i5-3230M + AMD HD7670M@RM1999, 2GB, 500GB, W8SL; 2 years warranty; colors: black/red/white
Satellite M840-1070XR/XW, i5-3230M + AMD HD7670M@RM1999, 2GB, 500GB, W8SL; 2 years local warranty; colors:red/white

*Prices in RRP, negotiable
* Try to fork out some money for warranty extension to 3 years if applicable (especially Dell)  icon_rolleyes.gif
Thanks man...that was a really quick reply !! =D

yeah i know Rm2000 cant get much...Btw...lets say I increase my budget:

1. Asus [or any reliable brand]
2. Rm2200
3. Office / lite editing
4. 14 - 15.6"

**ps. Is LENOVO a reliable brand ?? like the z400, g400s, g500s..are they reliable ?
**and which shop in lowyat do u recommend.
**sorry for asking so many questions..I am very new to lowyat forum and a newbie in selecting laptops. =/

This post has been edited by samueltan777: Sep 13 2013, 09:18 PM
nexus2238
post Sep 13 2013, 09:14 PM

4,193 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Sep 13 2013, 07:35 PM)
@nexus sifu, at this rate your should be OP already  brows.gif  brows.gif
no lah, TJ, you are doing a good job rclxms.gif I just drop by when things are going slow, and lately it happen quite frequently tongue.gif
TS[PF] T.J.
post Sep 13 2013, 09:27 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(samueltan777 @ Sep 13 2013, 09:13 PM)
Thanks man...that was a really quick reply !! =D

yeah i know Rm2000 cant get much...Btw...lets say I increase my budget:

1. Asus [or any reliable brand]
2. Rm2200
3. Office / lite editing
4. 14 - 15.6"

**ps. Is LENOVO a reliable brand ?? like the z400, g400s, g500s..are they reliable ?
**and which shop in lowyat do u recommend.
**sorry for asking so many questions..I am very new to lowyat forum and a newbie in selecting laptops. =/
For that budget, I would consider these:
14"
Acer V5-473PG-54204G50, i5-4200U + Nvidia GT740M +(1366x768;touch)@RM2299, 4GB, 500GB,W8 *no OD

Asus
K46CB-WX060H, i5-3337U + Nvidia GT740M@RM2199[2kg], 2GB, 750GB, W8, 4-cell, OD
VivoBook S400CA-CA006H, i5-3317U + Intel HD4000 + 24GB mSATA + 500GB + (1366x768; touch)@RM1999[1.76kg], 4GB, W8, 3-cell

Dell
Vostro 5460, i5-3230M +Nvidia GT630M@RM1899[1.54kg], 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), Ubuntu 12.04, 3 cell; W8SL@RM2099
Inspiron 14R, i5-4200U + Nvidia GT740M@RM2049 [2.32kg], 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), W8 , 6 cell

Lenovo
Z400, i5-3230M + Nvidia GT740M@RM2099, 4GB, 1TB, W8; 2 years warranty; colors: chocolate *EOL-ed
Z400 touch, i5-3230M + Nvidia GT740M + (1366x768, touch)@RM2199, 4GB, 1TB, W8; 2 years warranty

Sony SVF14217SG, i3-3227U + Nvidia GT740M + (1366x768; touch)@RM2299, 4GB, 500GB, W8SL; colors:black/white/pink

Toshiba Satellite L40-AS109Xb/G/W, i5-3337U + Nvidia GT740M@RM2199[Onkyo], 4GB, 750GB, 3 years local warranty; colors: Blue/gold/white

15.6"
Dell Inspiron 15, i5-4200U + AMD HD8670M@RM1699, Ubuntu, 6GB, 750GB(5400rpm), 6-cell; W8SL@RM1899

Lenovo Z500, i5-3230M + Nvidia GT740M@RM2299[2.2kg], 4GB, 1TB, backlit, W8; 2 years warranty

Toshiba Satellite L50-A100X/XW, i5-3230M + Nvidia GT740M@RM2199[Onkyo], 4GB, 750GB, W8SL; 3 years local warranty; colors:silver/white

This time, I would probably go for Dell + 3 years warranty extension (~RM250), or Toshiba units since they already come with 3 years warranty laugh.gif

QUOTE(nexus2238 @ Sep 13 2013, 09:14 PM)
no lah, TJ, you are doing a good job  rclxms.gif I just drop by when things are going slow, and lately it happen quite frequently  tongue.gif
Appreciate your help man haha~
Do recommend more yo, I don't mind one... been here many years liao, its getting very very monotonous laugh.gif
I spent more time at Photography thread now, more interactive, and learning loads of new stuffs rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by [PF] T.J.: Sep 13 2013, 09:27 PM
raymondtong94
post Sep 13 2013, 09:33 PM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(nexus2238 @ Sep 13 2013, 09:14 PM)
no lah, TJ, you are doing a good job  rclxms.gif I just drop by when things are going slow, and lately it happen quite frequently  tongue.gif
sifu nexus also doing a lot of good job here. thumbup.gif
keep it up.

quite free at the moment, so i will be back to the suggesting thread some weeks. smile.gif

This post has been edited by raymondtong94: Sep 13 2013, 09:34 PM
TS[PF] T.J.
post Sep 13 2013, 09:35 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(raymondtong94 @ Sep 13 2013, 09:33 PM)
sifu nexus also doing a lot of good job here. thumbup.gif
keep it up.

quite free at the moment, so i will be back to the suggesting thread some weeks. smile.gif
Thank you thank you notworthy.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif

Update: Added a silly cover photo lol Didn't want to put my AW photo to avoid people calling me biased laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif

This post has been edited by [PF] T.J.: Sep 13 2013, 09:38 PM
blackshot
post Sep 13 2013, 11:04 PM

48 posts

Hi there....I just saw that MSI MALAYSIA NB has a promotion for GE60 GT750 for rm2899

So this has make me in a dilemma to choose among lenovo y410p GT750 , msi ge60 GT750 , or a MBA 11' since these laptops' price are all around the same.

Budget : 2.5-3k (as low as possible)

Brand : any will do

Usage : gaming (d2 , fc3 , bf , cod ETC) , M'soft office , watching movies brows.gif ETC

Size/Weight : doesn't matter , the lighter the better I think?

Concern : as I read some post in LYN before , that lenovo y10p has issue of heat on keyboard area and wifi connection failure , I know all these are purely depends on luck , but I wanted to own a hassle free laptop.

So guys which of the 3 above suits my taste :3 I need something that best bang for bucks T_T

Thanks ya guys . notworthy.gif

4sell
post Sep 13 2013, 11:31 PM

108 posts

What about a lappy around rm1k for office use and movie watching? With hdmi port.
xiaojie1320
post Sep 14 2013, 12:39 AM

1. Preferred Brand: Any reliable brand
2. Budget: below 3.5k
3. Usage: Computer Science student, 3D online game 【Eg: Blade&Soul http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DEL59vRieW4 and etc】
4. Preferred laptop/screen size: 14" above
-SSD

Any recommendation? smile.gif
raymondtong94
post Sep 14 2013, 09:36 AM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(xiaojie1320 @ Sep 14 2013, 12:39 AM)
1. Preferred Brand: Any reliable brand
2. Budget: below 3.5k
3. Usage: Computer Science student, 3D online game 【Eg: Blade&Soul http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DEL59vRieW4 and etc】
4. Preferred laptop/screen size: 14" above
-SSD

Any recommendation? smile.gif
ASUS
S551LB-CJ120H, i5-4200U + Nvidia GT740M@RM2699[2.4kg], 4GB, 750GB, W8, 3-cell

Dell
Inspiron 14R, i7-4500U + Nvidia GT750M (GDDR5) @RM2499[2.32kg], 8GB, 1TB(5400rpm), Ubuntu 12.04 , 6 cell; W8SL@RM2699
Inspiron 15R, i7-4500U + AMD HD8850M (GDDR5)@RM2449 [2.32kg], 8GB, 1TB(5400rpm), Ubuntu 12.04 , 6 cell; W8SL@RM2649

Lenovo
Y410p, i7-4700MQ + GT750M(GDDR5)@RM2899, 8GB, 1TB, W8, red backlit, 120w psu, swappable ODD, 2 years warranty
Y510p, i7-4700MQ + Nvidia GT750M(GDDR5) + (1920x1080)@RM3099[2.7kg], 8GB, 1TB, W8, red backlit, swappable ODD, 120w psu, 2 yrs

use the remaining budget to slap in a SSD. best SSDs :
Plextor M5 Pro 256GB - best for performance
Kingston V200+ 240GB - best for value
Tenzho
post Sep 14 2013, 09:42 AM

114 posts

Been using this old laptop for 4 years now, wanted to change a good new laptop. Could use some help here!

1. Any Brands also can!
2. RM 2,500
3. Most of time used for Photoshop and video editing. But also able to play latest high graphic games with medium settings.
4. bigger than 14" screen size

Thank you!!

This post has been edited by Tenzho: Sep 14 2013, 09:44 AM
raymondtong94
post Sep 14 2013, 09:44 AM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Sep 13 2013, 09:35 PM)
Thank you thank you  notworthy.gif

Update: Added a silly cover photo lol Didn't want to put my AW photo to avoid people calling me biased  laugh.gif  laugh.gif  laugh.gif
haha. laugh.gif
but putting the alienware photo is quite good looking instead of dragon looking MSI. laugh.gif

QUOTE(blackshot @ Sep 13 2013, 11:04 PM)

if you want hassle free, you can opt for MSI GE60. it is true that the Y410P has faulty units in its history but i can tell you that all units have lemon. so it is really depending on luck most of the time.

in the mean time of warranty, if your laptop is still within it, request a total replacement is better a lot then sending it back to a service center for repairs.

however, i have some options for you too :

Dell
Inspiron 14R, i7-4500U + Nvidia GT750M (GDDR5) @RM2499[2.32kg], 8GB, 1TB(5400rpm), Ubuntu 12.04 , 6 cell; W8SL@RM2699
Inspiron 15R, i7-4500U + AMD HD8850M (GDDR5)@RM2449 [2.32kg], 8GB, 1TB(5400rpm), Ubuntu 12.04 , 6 cell; W8SL@RM2649

use the remaining budget to upgrade warranty to 3 years to prevent hassles and peace of mind.
raymondtong94
post Sep 14 2013, 09:49 AM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(Tenzho @ Sep 14 2013, 09:42 AM)
Been using this old laptop for 4 years now, wanted to change a good new laptop. Could use some help here!

1. Any Brands also can!
2. RM 2,500
3. Most of time used for Photoshop and video editing. But also able to play latest high graphic games with medium settings.
4. bigger than 14" screen size

Thank you!!
not sure whether these units are still available. but you can try look for it at Dell authorized retailers in Low Yat which is next to coffee bean.

Dell
Inspiron 15, i5-3337U + AMD HD7670M@RM1799[2.25kg], 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), 6-cell, Linux; W8SL@RM1949
Inspiron 15, i5-4200U + AMD HD8670M@RM1699, Ubuntu, 6GB, 750GB(5400rpm), 6-cell; W8SL@RM1899 (new unit, no worries)

Lenovo
G500S, i5-3230M + Nvidia GT720M@RM1699, 4GB, 500GB, FreeDOS

prices are negotiable. smile.gif
Tenzho
post Sep 14 2013, 09:57 AM

114 posts

QUOTE(raymondtong94 @ Sep 14 2013, 09:49 AM)
not sure whether these units are still available. but you can try look for it at Dell authorized retailers in Low Yat which is next to coffee bean.

Dell
Inspiron 15, i5-3337U + AMD HD7670M@RM1799[2.25kg], 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), 6-cell, Linux; W8SL@RM1949
Inspiron 15, i5-4200U + AMD HD8670M@RM1699, Ubuntu, 6GB, 750GB(5400rpm), 6-cell; W8SL@RM1899 (new unit, no worries)

Lenovo
G500S, i5-3230M + Nvidia GT720M@RM1699, 4GB, 500GB, FreeDOS

prices are negotiable. smile.gif
Thanks, I might consider the Lenovo G500S. The Lenovo Y series are kinda expensive.
Btw, I heard from many of my friends that Dell is the suckiest brand ever... Is there a reason to it?
Just wondering...
raymondtong94
post Sep 14 2013, 10:04 AM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(Tenzho @ Sep 14 2013, 09:57 AM)
Btw, I heard from many of my friends that Dell is the suckiest brand ever... Is there a reason to it?
Just wondering...
no reason for it and please do keep in mind branding doesnt play part in a laptop's quality build. no matter where you go and buy, there are still lemon units in the particular brand.

so thats why electronic products are guaranteed with a limited warranty time. if you want hassle free, choose the one that has the best warranty support, which goes to Dell.

AND, i have always been pursue forumers to insist on total replacement when it comes to trouble with their laptops. even it is a small problem, a big problem will appear soon if you send the laptops for repair.

129 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0286sec    0.58    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 11:37 PM