129 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

Buying a new laptop? NEED RECOMMENDATIONS? V21, Kindly FOLLOW the FORMAT TQ~!

TS[PF] T.J.
post Sep 14 2013, 11:58 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(tanflash1314 @ Sep 14 2013, 11:46 PM)
ic...
Thanks alot yeah biggrin.gif
A question... http://www.game-debate.com/gpu/index.php?g...radeon-hd-7670m

it looks nt much difference?
and 7670m is 128 bit... Is it worth to buy it for +RM200?
Can take a look here a well:
http://www.notebookcheck.net/Computer-Game...ds.13849.0.html

Although many games were not benchmarked yet for the new AMD8670m, for those that were benchmarked, the performance is better nod.gif

This post has been edited by [PF] T.J.: Sep 14 2013, 11:58 PM
Stanic yo
post Sep 15 2013, 12:00 AM

1. asus or lenovo
2 below RM2000
3. School usage
4 preferably 14"
money_rule
post Sep 15 2013, 12:05 AM

182 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Sep 14 2013, 10:35 PM)
Yup, The Y410p/Y510p  is currently the top pick if you are looking for a powerful gaming machine nod.gif These are pretty much the best-speced notebooks for the price~
However, I am not too sure whether software designing really needs such a high-end machine, unless if she is designing games or 3D stuffs  hmm.gif
wad if keep the budget the same but reserve few hundred for ssd or msata?
which model will u recommend den?
thank you =)

TS[PF] T.J.
post Sep 15 2013, 12:16 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(Stanic yo @ Sep 15 2013, 12:00 AM)
1. asus or lenovo
2 below RM2000
3. School usage
4 preferably 14"
Assuming "school usage" doesn't involve gaming laugh.gif
14"
Asus
PRO45VJ-V0056X, i3-3120M +Intel HD4000@RM1999[2.4kg], 4GB, 500GB, W7P
VivoBook S400CA-CA006H, i5-3317U + Intel HD4000 + 24GB mSATA + 500GB + (1366x768; touch)@RM1999[1.76kg], 4GB, W8, 3-cell

Lenovo
S410p, i5-4200U + Nvidia GT720M@RM1999[1.8kg], 4GB, 1TB, W8, 2 yrs
G400s, i5-3230M + Nvidia GT720M@RM1899, 4GB, 1TB, W8

*Prices in RRP, negotiable
*Asus notebooks are alright, the only problem is with Asus Malaysia's very bad after sales support nod.gif
If you don't mind getting an Asus, the Vivobook is a great choice, since it sports an mSATA, which is no longer that common in a RM2k notebook nod.gif
tanflash1314
post Sep 15 2013, 12:37 AM

18 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Sep 14 2013, 11:18 PM)
The price is already in there what? hmm.gif
RM1499 nod.gif
The earlier pick is better though. Both the CPU and GPU are better

putochip123 seems to be giving a 8% promotion on Dell notebooks, might wanna try your luck there happy.gif
https://www.facebook.com/pages/DellAlienwar...ster=ts&fref=ts
Hi... This person is an authorized seller?
I would like to buy with him... But don't know this person can be trusted well or nt... I'm new to lowyat tongue.gif
TS[PF] T.J.
post Sep 15 2013, 12:41 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(tanflash1314 @ Sep 15 2013, 12:37 AM)
Hi... This person is an authorized seller?
I would like to buy with him... But don't know this person can be trusted well or nt... I'm new to lowyat tongue.gif
He is definitely a trusted seller nod.gif
He is the one we always look for when our Dell or Alienware machines (even non-Dell notebooks) needs upgrading~
Very friendly and reliable guy, no worries~
TS[PF] T.J.
post Sep 15 2013, 12:43 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(money_rule @ Sep 15 2013, 12:05 AM)
wad if keep the budget the same but reserve few hundred for ssd or msata?
which model will u recommend den?
thank you =)
If that is the case, I would recommend this one icon_rolleyes.gif
14"
Dell Inspiron 14R, i7-4500U + Nvidia GT750M (GDDR5) @RM2499[2.32kg], 8GB, 1TB(5400rpm), Ubuntu 12.04 , 6 cell; W8SL@RM2699

Use remaining budget for an SSD brows.gif
Again, can find putochip123 for Dell units since he is holding a 8% promotion for this month~ Can ask him to help you with mSATA/SSD upgrades directly as well lol
money_rule
post Sep 15 2013, 01:03 AM

182 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Sep 15 2013, 12:43 AM)
If that is the case, I would recommend this one icon_rolleyes.gif
14"
Dell Inspiron 14R, i7-4500U + Nvidia GT750M (GDDR5) @RM2499[2.32kg], 8GB, 1TB(5400rpm), Ubuntu 12.04 , 6 cell; W8SL@RM2699

Use remaining budget for an SSD  brows.gif
Again, can find putochip123 for Dell units since he is holding a 8% promotion for this month~ Can ask him to help you with mSATA/SSD upgrades directly as well lol
thanks man
i will ask my sis and see what she say ba
haha
thx again =)
appreciate it

Areman
post Sep 15 2013, 01:55 AM

Looking for 15" if possible.
Budget is 2k
Using it to play PES and a small editing software.
tanflash1314
post Sep 15 2013, 04:13 AM

18 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Sep 15 2013, 12:41 AM)
He is definitely a trusted seller nod.gif
He is the one we always look for when our Dell or Alienware machines (even non-Dell notebooks) needs upgrading~
Very friendly and reliable guy, no worries~
Hi...
May I noe what's the difference between

3rd Generation Intel® Core™ i3-3217U processor (3M Cache, 1.8 GHz, with UMA)
3rd Generation Intel® Core™ i3-3217U processor (3M Cache, 1.8 GHz, with 1GB Discrete base)

http://www.dell.com/my/p/inspiron-15-3521/...ch&isredir=true

Actually I just wanted to buy the laptop for dota 2 (medium setting w/smoothly)...
hope the cheapest as it can..

I found this on Dell's official website...
It looks like can choose...
I wonder
(with UMA) or
(with 1GB Discrete base)

is better with graphic card AMD Radeonâ„¢ HD 7670M with 1GB DDR3 VRAM

to play dota 2...

And is it possible to run dota 2 smoothly?

raymondtong94
post Sep 15 2013, 09:16 AM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(Areman @ Sep 15 2013, 01:55 AM)
Looking for 15" if possible.
Budget is 2k
Using it to play PES and a small editing software.
try these :

Dell Inspiron 15, i5-4200U + AMD HD8670M@RM1699, Ubuntu, 6GB, 750GB(5400rpm), 6-cell; W8SL@RM1899
Lenovo G500S, i5-3230M + Nvidia GT720M@RM1699, 4GB, 500GB, FreeDOS
ASUS A550CC-XX530H, i5-3337U + Nvidia GT720M@RM2099[2kg], 4GB, 750GB, W8; colors: black/red/white

prices are negotiable.
raymondtong94
post Sep 15 2013, 09:18 AM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(tanflash1314 @ Sep 15 2013, 04:13 AM)

IINM, both are just the same thing. just the fact the one with 1GB discrete base may be the VRAM.
heliora10
post Sep 15 2013, 12:07 PM

183 posts

hi all sifus,
car got broken into and lost my laptop cry.gif (yes I know how foolish that was, but it was a high traffic brightly lit area and I thought I was going off for a short while nia, lesson learned, do not leave things visible even for 1 min in your car here)

have to buy a laptop ASAP (today/tomorrow) as I use it for everything: work, home, personal etc.

was using a MBA 13" (2012) and loved the built and design, considering getting it again since it's updated with Intel 4th gen Haswell processor and has got phenomenal battery life, however turned off by the relatively low resolution considering a lot of new laptops come with full HD. I'm platform agnostic since I install Windows anyway.

been reading extensively online about laptops, if I were to get a PC ultrabook that's touchscreen, I'd prefer it to come with digitizer stylus, otherwise I don't see much use of the touchscreen myself. but there's not a single one that seems to meet all high specs, especially since Malaysia doesn't have the latest laptops.

currently considering Acer Aspire S7-392 (recommended as the best PC Ultrabook by the wirecutter) but it is not in Malaysia yet (at least I don't see it on the Acer Malaysia website, only the previous gen one which is 391), and it doesn't come with stylus,
or the Sony Vaio Duo 13 which has everything that I look for: Full HD, stylus, great battery life (quoted 11hrs, real world 9hrs+), BUT only 128GB SSD (I want at least 256GB) and the slider form factor is a concern as the angle seems too low!
or Dell XPS 12 but only last gen available here so battery life ain't great and no stylus (as far as I can tell),
or Lenovo Ideapad Yoga 13 but its screen is only 1600x900 (though some say it's great) and no stylus.

bad thing about all above is reviews say all their touchpads ain't great, which seems to be a problem afflicting all Windows laptop, sigh why can't they be as good as Apple.

so below are what I'm looking for:
ultrabook / thin and light, mobility is important as I carry it around with me a lot. weight should be around the same as MBA 13".
screen size: 13" which seems the ideal balance between mobility and screen estate.
screen resolution: Full HD, 1920x1080 (can't stomach a laptop reso much lower than the iPhone)
prefer to have digitizer stylus
storage: at least 256GB SSD
brand: indifferent
budget: RM4k-RM6k
battery life: at least 5hrs in real world usage, obviously higher better

any sifu knows any laptop selling in Malaysia that meets most of the above? wonder if I missed out any laptop when researching.

the thing is if I don't need touchscreen I'll probably just go with MBA or Retina MBP, best reviews among all laptops, but I do find touchscreen with stylus has its use, for writing and drawing.
Fizzy-Fiz
post Sep 15 2013, 12:38 PM

696 posts

budget: up to rm3.5k
size: 13-14, ultrabook

prefer if have ssd and resolution above 1366x768

something that looks clean. good battery life is warranted with ultrabook?

Buying it for a girl. she said she wants something portable and "quick". usage, pretty much nothing other than browsing and movies.

devour
post Sep 15 2013, 01:04 PM

2,227 posts

QUOTE(Fizzy-Fiz @ Sep 15 2013, 12:38 PM)
budget: up to rm3.5k
size: 13-14, ultrabook

prefer if have ssd and resolution above 1366x768

something that looks clean. good battery life is warranted with ultrabook?

Buying it for a girl. she said she wants something portable and "quick". usage, pretty much nothing other than browsing and movies.
Dell xps 13
tanflash1314
post Sep 15 2013, 01:05 PM

18 posts

QUOTE(raymondtong94 @ Sep 15 2013, 09:18 AM)
IINM, both are just the same thing. just the fact the one with 1GB discrete base may be the VRAM.
both are the same thing?

then is it mean if I picked
AMD Radeon HD 7670 1GB Ram means that I will
lose the onboard Intel HD Graphics 4000?
Fizzy-Fiz
post Sep 15 2013, 01:10 PM

696 posts

QUOTE(devour @ Sep 15 2013, 01:04 PM)
Dell xps 13
any other suggestion? was thinking on saving some money

what about the specter i5 13?

other models that caught my eye

1) Samsung s7 ultra: only sub 3k model with fhd
2) envy specter: beautiful
3) vostro 3360: no ssd but can be added.
4) asus vivobooks.
devour
post Sep 15 2013, 01:12 PM

2,227 posts

QUOTE(Fizzy-Fiz @ Sep 15 2013, 01:10 PM)
any other suggestion? was thinking on saving some money

what about the specter i5 13?

other models that caught my eye

1) Samsung s7 ultra: only sub 3k model with fhd
2) envy specter: beautiful
3) vostro 3360: no ssd but can be added.
4) asus vivobooks.
vivobook s300 will be cheapest
Fizzy-Fiz
post Sep 15 2013, 01:15 PM

696 posts

QUOTE(devour @ Sep 15 2013, 01:12 PM)
vivobook s300 will be cheapest
yeah I know, but spec-per-spec not so much different. I assume the pricing (excluding SSD which can just be bought) is due to screen type? I would pay extra for higher reso, significantly better battery life and IPS (doesnt need to have all 3) but there's not so much review on cheap models.
raymondtong94
post Sep 15 2013, 01:53 PM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(tanflash1314 @ Sep 15 2013, 01:05 PM)
both are the same thing?

then is it mean if I picked
AMD Radeon HD 7670 1GB Ram means that I will
lose the onboard Intel HD Graphics 4000?
no. you wont lose the Intel HD4000.

129 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0271sec    0.23    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 11:39 AM