123 Pages « < 54 55 56 57 58 > » Bottom

Fixed Deposit Rates in Malaysia V5

bbgoat
post Jan 26 2014, 08:37 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Jan 26 2014, 02:16 AM)
BR pays interest monthly (RM 20K minimum): 4.55% rate -- negotiable, depending on deposit amount, but minimum RM 100K only can negotiate.
I twisted BR's ABM's arm and able to get nego rate for <100k. So it seems that BR's rate is always negotiable. Depends on who you talk to in the branch. tongue.gif

But it may be a one time off event ........................ hmm.gif

This post has been edited by bbgoat: Jan 26 2014, 08:38 PM
bbgoat
post Jan 26 2014, 08:42 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Jan 26 2014, 12:02 AM)
Waah, wait till i tell my mom that BR do give out hampers this year!
I got 2 hampers last year for 2 accounts. This year expected to receive only one as they tightened their criteria for giving out hamper. Anyway the content of the hamper is nothing to shout about. Just better than not receiving anything. tongue.gif
TSdavinz18
post Jan 26 2014, 09:40 PM

начинаещ
7,142 posts

QUOTE(MNet @ Jan 26 2014, 06:02 PM)
got my jan pay on 20th with bonus and completion bonus...>RM30k all goes to charity cause
Really shocking.gif that's "great" biggrin.gif
Human Nature
post Jan 26 2014, 09:58 PM

- student of human nature -
26,528 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Jan 26 2014, 08:42 PM)
I got 2 hampers last year for 2 accounts. This year expected to receive only one as they tightened their criteria for giving out hamper. Anyway the content of the hamper is nothing to shout about. Just better than not receiving anything.  tongue.gif
I recall last year, have to call up and ask about it. Then this year totally none. Few years back, received bird nest etc. Maybe coz moved some fund to OCBC already.
bbgoat
post Jan 26 2014, 10:10 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Jan 26 2014, 09:58 PM)
I recall last year, have to call up and ask about it. Then this year totally none. Few years back, received bird nest etc. Maybe coz moved some fund to OCBC already.
Yes, they looked at the amount you keep at their branch as far as I know. smile.gif
500Kmission
post Jan 26 2014, 10:25 PM

789 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Jan 26 2014, 02:16 AM)
You can check out BR 5 years FD rate here:
http://www.bankrakyat.com.my/web/guest/deposits-account-i-

Versus MBSB 5 years FD:
http://www.mbsb.com.my/deposits_fixed_mudharabah.html

BR pays interest monthly (RM 20K minimum): 4.55% rate -- negotiable, depending on deposit amount, but minimum RM 100K only can negotiate.

MBSB pays interest every 6 months (total 12 interest payments): 4.7% -- no negotiable regardless of the amount.

Both BR and MBSB do not have PIDM protection.

BR has more branches than MBSB nationwide.
My FD pay once a year (4.75% p.a.). Rate is the most important. Still stick with MBSB then. laugh.gif
BoomChaCha
post Jan 26 2014, 10:54 PM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Jan 26 2014, 08:37 PM)
I twisted BR's ABM's arm and able to get nego rate for <100k. So it seems that BR's rate is always negotiable. Depends on who you talk to in the branch.  tongue.gif

Wah.. you are a "leng chai" and good negotiator wor.. thumbup.gif
Thanks for the info.

About one member here just mentioned BR is no longer issuing banker's check, but when I picked-up
my hamper 2 days ago, BR confirmed that they can issue BR banker's check for uplifting matured FD;
or either wire transfer.

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Jan 26 2014, 09:58 PM)
I withdrew all my OCBC matured FDs since last year December and moved to BR.
Now left some Smart Savers accounts, maybe will close all of them after Chinese New Year.

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Jan 26 2014, 10:10 PM)
Yes, they looked at the amount you keep at their branch as far as I know.  smile.gif
I guess my existing funds did not help much for my latest 1 year FD rate; I was supposed to negotiate first
before I put there..my mistake.. sad.gif

QUOTE(500Kmission @ Jan 26 2014, 10:25 PM)
My FD pay once a year (4.75% p.a.). Rate is the most important. Still stick with MBSB then.  laugh.gif
You got 4.75% rate during their promotion in late 2012..??
MBSB pays interest to you once per year..? I think you can request MBSB to pay you interest every 6 months..?
Or maybe your 4.75% package only pays you interest once per year..? hmm.gif
As far as I know, 4.7% (pay interest every 6 months) is straightly not negotiable, regardless of the big amount.
You are so lucky... thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by BoomChaCha: Jan 27 2014, 12:25 AM
bbgoat
post Jan 26 2014, 11:07 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Jan 26 2014, 10:54 PM)
Aiyo... you also twisted her lxgs la..  brows.gif
For sure it is one time off event loh... since you already KO her and put her on a stretcher...  biggrin.gif
Declaration: I am straight ........... The BR ABM is a guy, ha ha ha. tongue.gif

BoomChaCha
post Jan 26 2014, 11:17 PM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Jan 26 2014, 11:07 PM)
Declaration: I am straight ........... The BR ABM is a guy, ha ha ha.  tongue.gif
Maybe you want to try something different leh.. brows.gif .. just kidding la... biggrin.gif

Usually you speck with BR ABM in English or Bahasa?
I usually speak Bahasa with all of them..

500Kmission
post Jan 26 2014, 11:23 PM

789 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Jan 26 2014, 10:54 PM)
Aiyo... you also twisted her lxgs la..  brows.gif
For sure it is one time off event loh... since you already KO her and put her on a stretcher...  biggrin.gif

Wah.. you are a "leng chai" and good negotiator wor..  thumbup.gif
Thanks for the info.

About one member here just mentioned BR is no longer issuing banker's check, but when I picked-up
my hamper 2 days ago, BR confirmed that they can issue BR banker's check for uplifting matured FD;
or either wire transfer.
I withdrew all my OCBC matured FDs since last year December and moved to BR.
Now left some Smart Savers accounts, maybe will close all of  them after Chinese New Year.
I guess my existing funds did not help much for my latest 1 year FD rate; I was supposed to negotiate first
before I put there..my mistake..  sad.gif
You got 4.75% rate during their promotion in late 2012..??
MBSB pays interest to you once per year..? I think you can request MBSB to pay you interest every 6 months..?
Or maybe your 4.75% package only pays you interest once per year..?  hmm.gif
As far as I know, 4.7% (pay interest every 6 months) is straightly not negotiable, regardless of the big amount.
You are so lucky...  thumbup.gif
Ya, can't change already, it bind with 5 years.
BoomChaCha
post Jan 26 2014, 11:37 PM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(500Kmission @ Jan 26 2014, 11:23 PM)
Ya, can't change already, it bind with 5 years.
It is still a good deal lah....
Do you receive any hamper from MBSB so far..?
500Kmission
post Jan 26 2014, 11:39 PM

789 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Jan 26 2014, 11:37 PM)
It is still a good deal lah....
Do you receive any hamper from MBSB so far..?
Nope. EPF keep all the hamper laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif
tbheng
post Jan 27 2014, 07:00 AM

1,188 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Jan 26 2014, 08:37 PM)
I twisted BR's ABM's arm and able to get nego rate for <100k. So it seems that BR's rate is always negotiable. Depends on who you talk to in the branch.  tongue.gif

Can share your negotiated rate and tenure? Thanks.
bbgoat
post Jan 27 2014, 08:26 AM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Jan 26 2014, 11:17 PM)
Maybe you want to try something different leh..  brows.gif   .. just kidding la...  biggrin.gif

Usually you speck with BR ABM in English or Bahasa?
I usually speak Bahasa with all of them..
Would try it if you want to do it together so that can share the experience loh. brows.gif tongue.gif

I speak to the ABM in English. Forced to speak to the counter staff in broken Bahasa rclxub.gif but do force them to listen to my English most of the time. Ha ha. rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by bbgoat: Jan 27 2014, 08:27 AM
enriquelee
post Jan 27 2014, 10:24 AM

Don't ask for more, ask for COKE
10,510 posts

BR = Bank Rakyat.
ABM = ?
bbgoat
post Jan 27 2014, 10:44 AM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(enriquelee @ Jan 27 2014, 10:24 AM)
BR = Bank Rakyat.
ABM = ?
ABM = Assistant Branch Manager biggrin.gif
enriquelee
post Jan 27 2014, 10:46 AM

Don't ask for more, ask for COKE
10,510 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Jan 27 2014, 10:44 AM)
ABM = Assistant Branch Manager  biggrin.gif
Haha. I see i see. I thought is another institute.
BR got FD? It seems more like an investment account.
fkinmeng
post Jan 27 2014, 11:55 AM

6,373 posts

so no cny special fd rate? sad.gif
bearbear
post Jan 27 2014, 12:08 PM

You'll Never Walk Alone!~!~
10,061 posts

QUOTE(fkinmeng @ Jan 27 2014, 11:55 AM)
so no cny special fd rate? sad.gif
so far the best with PIDM;

4.12% 3 years Ambank - expired mid-Jan not sure if they extended the promo
3.7% 6 months HL Mach
3.6% 12 months Affin - not promo always valid

This post has been edited by bearbear: Jan 27 2014, 12:09 PM
nakedtruth
post Jan 27 2014, 12:32 PM

931 posts

QUOTE(500Kmission @ Jan 26 2014, 10:25 PM)
My FD pay once a year (4.75% p.a.). Rate is the most important. Still stick with MBSB then.  laugh.gif
Is MBSB protected by PIDM?

123 Pages « < 54 55 56 57 58 > » Top

0.0284sec    0.79    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 08:18 PM