Fixed Deposit Rates in Malaysia V5

500Kmission
post Jan 24 2014, 11:40 PM

789 posts

QUOTE(RO Player @ Jan 24 2014, 11:30 PM)
knn....i taking out my money out... vmad.gif
I think you have high interest deposit to their account, so they don't have balance to give you hamper.

The hamper may give to those put high saving with low interest, e.g. some old auntie or uncle put million in saving account with around 0.5% p.a. interest.
500Kmission
post Jan 25 2014, 07:20 PM

789 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Jan 25 2014, 06:36 PM)
I don't think so lah... maybe the branch manager woman like "leng chai" matured old man leh....?  biggrin.gif

You also got hamper from BR ma..  smile.gif
Also includes Top Goat.. but not me lah...  biggrin.gif

------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Hamper from BR  ---->  [attachmentid=3831357]

What inside the BR hamper  ---->  [attachmentid=3831362]
(1) One box of Marsh Mallow Candy (soft cotton type)
(2) One box of Wafer Rolls biscuit
(3) One box of Gustoso Hyperball snack
(4) 3 bottles of Fish Essence drink
(5) One bottle of Valentino Sparking Red Grape drink (product of Belgium)

I noticed this BR hamper was packed in late September 2013, because they put
Sing Chew Jit Poh newspaper which dated 21 Sept 2013 as cushion on the bottom
of the orange color hamper basket.

------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Hamper form RHB Bank ---> [attachmentid=3831377]

What inside the RHB hamper ---> [attachmentid=3831378]
(1) One box of Lychee black tea leaf
(2) One set of chopstick
(3) 2 bottles of Bird's Nest drink
(4) Some small pieces of chocolate with gold color wrapping

---------- end of hampers report ------------
you must have put a lot of money in BR and RHB.
500Kmission
post Jan 26 2014, 01:15 AM

789 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Jan 26 2014, 01:03 AM)
young man .. ??  I wish I was...  biggrin.gif

Yes, don't expect too high from BR hamper.  Most foods contain high glucose and sodium.

If compared to last year, last year hamper was bigger and contained more foods like Beryl chocolate.
But this year no chocolate....  sad.gif
I think BR gives away hampers every year...
How much interest BR given for 5 years FD? Maybe I switch MBSB to BR.
500Kmission
post Jan 26 2014, 10:25 PM

789 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Jan 26 2014, 02:16 AM)
You can check out BR 5 years FD rate here:
http://www.bankrakyat.com.my/web/guest/deposits-account-i-

Versus MBSB 5 years FD:
http://www.mbsb.com.my/deposits_fixed_mudharabah.html

BR pays interest monthly (RM 20K minimum): 4.55% rate -- negotiable, depending on deposit amount, but minimum RM 100K only can negotiate.

MBSB pays interest every 6 months (total 12 interest payments): 4.7% -- no negotiable regardless of the amount.

Both BR and MBSB do not have PIDM protection.

BR has more branches than MBSB nationwide.
My FD pay once a year (4.75% p.a.). Rate is the most important. Still stick with MBSB then. laugh.gif
500Kmission
post Jan 26 2014, 11:23 PM

789 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Jan 26 2014, 10:54 PM)
Aiyo... you also twisted her lxgs la..  brows.gif
For sure it is one time off event loh... since you already KO her and put her on a stretcher...  biggrin.gif

Wah.. you are a "leng chai" and good negotiator wor..  thumbup.gif
Thanks for the info.

About one member here just mentioned BR is no longer issuing banker's check, but when I picked-up
my hamper 2 days ago, BR confirmed that they can issue BR banker's check for uplifting matured FD;
or either wire transfer.
I withdrew all my OCBC matured FDs since last year December and moved to BR.
Now left some Smart Savers accounts, maybe will close all of  them after Chinese New Year.
I guess my existing funds did not help much for my latest 1 year FD rate; I was supposed to negotiate first
before I put there..my mistake..  sad.gif
You got 4.75% rate during their promotion in late 2012..??
MBSB pays interest to you once per year..? I think you can request MBSB to pay you interest every 6 months..?
Or maybe your 4.75% package only pays you interest once per year..?  hmm.gif
As far as I know, 4.7% (pay interest every 6 months) is straightly not negotiable, regardless of the big amount.
You are so lucky...  thumbup.gif
Ya, can't change already, it bind with 5 years.
500Kmission
post Jan 26 2014, 11:39 PM

789 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Jan 26 2014, 11:37 PM)
It is still a good deal lah....
Do you receive any hamper from MBSB so far..?
Nope. EPF keep all the hamper laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif
500Kmission
post Jan 27 2014, 11:35 PM

789 posts

QUOTE(nakedtruth @ Jan 27 2014, 12:32 PM)
Is MBSB protected by PIDM?
Nope, but protected by EPF. laugh.gif

This post has been edited by 500Kmission: Jan 27 2014, 11:35 PM
500Kmission
post Jan 27 2014, 11:46 PM

789 posts

QUOTE(victorian @ Jan 27 2014, 07:17 PM)
Hi what do you guys think of Fixed Deposit? Yes the returns might be low but it is a guaranteed investment. Or should I go for other means of investment ?
Diversification is most common method.
500Kmission
post Jan 28 2014, 10:07 PM

789 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Jan 28 2014, 10:02 AM)
Shareholders in a sdn bhd, or bhd company are not liable to the liabilities of their company.

So we cannot say it is "protected" by EPF, even although EPF is the largest shareholders of the company.
I know, that is why I put a laugh.gif for it.
500Kmission
post Mar 2 2014, 11:33 AM

789 posts

QUOTE(plumberly @ Mar 2 2014, 11:23 AM)
Doing some checking this weekend and noted that some of my FDs are missing. How do I know? I have a spreadsheet with the amount and due date. Cannot find the paper copies of the FD.

From your experience, what can I do with the missing FDs? Police report and then the bank?

Call bank whether the amount of FD is missing or not. If not, tell bank to reissue. If yes, make police report.

0.0577sec    0.84    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 01:45 PM