Fixed Deposit Rates in Malaysia V5

nakedtruth
post Oct 8 2013, 10:10 AM

931 posts

QUOTE(plumberly @ Oct 8 2013, 09:31 AM)
Need some feedback from those who have experienced this.

Suppose I have an FD with BR at 0.1% higher than the normal rate. On maturing, if I leave it without withdrawing, will it be renewed at the higher rate? Or back to the normal rate?

it will back to board rate..
nakedtruth
post Oct 8 2013, 10:13 AM

931 posts

QUOTE(guy3288 @ Oct 7 2013, 11:52 PM)
Just opened 2 junior FDs. The 3.98% rate is still available. But need to open a SA (no book), min RM20.00, I asked them no monthly interest  why need SA? End of 1 yr i will take all together.

Free gift from Kuwait Finance is so 'kiddy'- 2 sets of stationery and a generic  cheapo pen. BR better anytime.

But the service is good, i spent only 10 mins signing the forms and she delivered the FD to my office 7.0pm. She offers to come and collect cheque for future placement.

Pro: Got PIDM
      can avoid putting too many eggs in BR basket.
Con: No monthly interest, so  can lose upto RM33 a year for every    50k compared to if there is monthly interest payment.

but what to do?no better rates around.....
Yeah KFH is very good service and fast maybe not many customer around... went to Kota Damansara and Taman Permata branch
nakedtruth
post Oct 14 2013, 01:19 PM

931 posts

any good FD after October? The HL one seem very low others end after October.
nakedtruth
post Oct 27 2013, 10:30 AM

931 posts

QUOTE(MNet @ Oct 26 2013, 03:56 PM)

With that I foresee the country will face very big challenge in 2015 and the GST is likely reduced or withdrew in 2017 in preparation of GE14.
can simply to reduce increase so easily meh? sure opposition will taruk kaw kaw.
but with BN is endless possibilities.

nakedtruth
post Nov 7 2013, 09:36 AM

931 posts

[quote=cherroy,Nov 4 2013, 09:56 PM]
kambing...

think u already know... this again has been extended to Feb 2014.

i like it, saves me the trouble for looking for anything since this is 5.2%, payable qtrly!

hope it goes on and on until bnm raise rates like hell for watever reason... tongue.gif

nb... tis is a cimb frnid, a klibor based structured deposit, not fd...

[/quote]

FRNID is not a FD.
A structured investment is not a FD.
Interest is not guaranteed, and only given if meet the criteria set, if condition is not favourable, one may get nothing from it as well, depended on the structured investment set.

[/quote]

what is the product name? can give more details.

nakedtruth
post Nov 19 2013, 06:42 PM

931 posts

i just placed a FD at Bank Rakyat 3 months at 3.65%. But i did not get FD cert on the spot because i'm using bank draft and new customer. They will mail me the cert instead after 3 days. I want to ask is this a normal practice? Thank you.
nakedtruth
post Nov 20 2013, 06:19 PM

931 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Nov 19 2013, 07:31 PM)
Did you ask them to mail it to you ? BR operate slightly different from other banks. I even have ABM saying want to send the cert to my house.  tongue.gif
yea i had requested them to mail to my house. is just normal mail post not registered post.
nakedtruth
post Nov 20 2013, 06:20 PM

931 posts

QUOTE(eleven dragon @ Nov 19 2013, 10:45 PM)
It is normal practice for BR, usually it takes 3 days, you can either go to their branch and get the cert; OR, ask them to send to you via mail.  I collected myself at their branch last time after 3 days.
But if you show them CASH for your intended FD on the spot, then you'll get your cert on the spot too, of which i just did it yesterday =)
o. this is my first time deal with BR. Nowadays is not safe to bring cash around not even 1k...
nakedtruth
post Dec 30 2013, 05:51 PM

931 posts

QUOTE(plumberly @ Dec 30 2013, 03:07 PM)
Just airing my frustration with BR.

My FD was due last Thurs and I went to the bank to withdraw. But the computer system was down. Waited for 30 mins there hoping that it would be back on line. Left after 30 mins as it was not back on line.

Called the bank to see if the system was back on line. Only got ringing tone and no one answered. So went to the bank again. Only to find out that the system was still off line. Something wrong with their fiber optic line which also affected their phones. Thus my call earlier did not get through. Asked them to call me once the system was ready.

Called again on Fri (phone was working) and said the system was still down.

Called the bank this morning to ask about their online system. Said system was working. Went to the bank and to my horror, it was packed with customers (being the end of the month). There were about 30+ customers ahead of me and I left the bank. Came back after 1 hr and I still had 15 customers ahead of me! Came back another 1 hr later and my queue number has past. Nonetheless, I went to see the section head and she tried to help me after I explained to her the multiple trips I have made to the bank trying to withdraw my FD.

When I asked whether I would get interest for the past 4 days as I could not withdraw when it was due (system was down), initially, the gent said no. I complained and later after their discussion behind the scene, they gave me the 4 days interest. Enough for 2 or 3 durians. Ha.

Just for the slightly higher FD rate, I went for BR. Now this problem, wasting my petrol, parking tickets, time, etc. Is it worth it? If I needed the money for some urgent or important payments, is the bank liable for such unable to withdraw problem?

Maybe once in a blue moon, it is OK. If it becomes too regular, then I will switch to other banks.

P/S For your infor, went to another bank this afternoon, the system was down as well. Don't know why so many down systems at the end of this year. Suggest that you call the bank before you go to the banks today or tomorrow.
which branch? so you move your fund to other bank with better FD rate?
nakedtruth
post Jan 27 2014, 12:32 PM

931 posts

QUOTE(500Kmission @ Jan 26 2014, 10:25 PM)
My FD pay once a year (4.75% p.a.). Rate is the most important. Still stick with MBSB then.  laugh.gif
Is MBSB protected by PIDM?
nakedtruth
post Jan 28 2014, 09:49 AM

931 posts

QUOTE(500Kmission @ Jan 27 2014, 11:35 PM)
Nope, but protected by EPF.  laugh.gif
100%? Same like PIDM?
nakedtruth
post Feb 20 2014, 09:42 AM

931 posts

QUOTE(RO Player @ Feb 19 2014, 10:53 PM)
5 tips to help you retire early..no need RM1mil in bank.. sleep.gif

next logical/stress free tips...

good one.

nakedtruth
post Feb 24 2014, 04:27 PM

931 posts

QUOTE(Gary1981 @ Feb 24 2014, 12:21 AM)
Went to mach ask for better rate of my maturing FD, sad to say 3.7% is their best current offer. They told me to wait till my FD mature and normally notification offer will alert me..
the offer is for new customer or existing?
any promotion for new customer?
the FD duration for the offer? 1year or less?

0.0544sec    0.71    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 11:23 PM