The makeover of my humble abode, Sharing my renovation journey

mrgoodgood
post Mar 24 2014, 09:10 AM

201 posts

Your house is so beautiful~~~ the marble flooring looks good after polishing~

How did you manage to build a concave for the DB box? Mine will just be jutting out from the wall... sad.gif

I like the idea of embedding the pipe into the TV wall. How big is the pipe? How many cables can go through together? Can some of the larger connector head (like VGA) actually go through? I wanted to have that too at the beginning, but gave up the idea because I can't figure out these details...

Your master bathroom is so big!!! Great place to relax and have spa~ biggrin.gif

I noticed your Johnson Suisse sanitary fittings have a different box packaging from mine (mine is Black + Green). Where did you get them from?
monkey9926
post Mar 24 2014, 09:27 AM

292 posts

QUOTE(maxxon @ Mar 23 2014, 10:49 PM)
More random updates:-

- Bought this dust cover for the door where it can be inserted into the hole made for ground lock.

- door guard with chain for bedrooms.
The earlier door guard that I've bought can't be used coz the frame and door are not at same level hence the latch can't be slot in. So, I changed to this chain type instead.
- Magnetic door stopper to avoid banging of door especially on windy days.
- Motion sensor installed on the ceiling to control the led downlight at the entrance, so that it lights up automatically when we step in the house before we reach the light switches.
- Power sockets located at a lower height so that it's hidden behind the tv console. An empty paip has been concealed up to the length where we gonna place our wall-mounted TV. As such, it gonna hide those ugly wires and I do not need a wood backing panel to cover the wires. I just not quite fancy those typical TV panels which can be found in most houses.
There is a master switch installed nearby (inside the DB compartment) for those sockets. The DB compartment will be hidden behind the curtain as the curtain is to be done up to the wall.

looks like everything is well planned. u really put a lot of time and thoughts into it.

my current reno has so many mistakes and unforseen problems that i feel like wanna give up and live below expectations.

my stupid contractor place the bidet pipe outlet too near to WC and now i have to omit the bidet/ see an extension pipe outside. not in one but two toilets!!!! vmad.gif

i m on the verge of crying. so much time spent on the choosing wall tiles and sanitary wares. all fully paid n delivered somore.

sorry for ranting in your thread. tremendous stress over the weekend.

TSmaxxon
post Mar 24 2014, 10:57 AM

773 posts

QUOTE(mrgoodgood @ Mar 24 2014, 09:10 AM)
Your house is so beautiful~~~ the marble flooring looks good after polishing~

How did you manage to build a concave for the DB box? Mine will just be jutting out from the wall... sad.gif

I like the idea of embedding the pipe into the TV wall. How big is the pipe? How many cables can go through together? Can some of the larger connector head (like VGA) actually go through? I wanted to have that too at the beginning, but gave up the idea because I can't figure out these details...

Your master bathroom is so big!!! Great place to relax and have spa~ biggrin.gif

I noticed your Johnson Suisse sanitary fittings have a different box packaging from mine (mine is Black + Green). Where did you get them from?
Thanks.. tongue.gif Your house will soon be transformed into a beautiful sanctuary too! Need lots of patient till everything falls into places.. and it will only start looking nice after tiling and base painting. I went thru the entire process too, and you know what!? I was wishing so hard that I've got a magic wand so that I can get the final result immediately with just one 'trinnnkk~~~'!! rclxm9.gif

Ok... Back to reality~ tongue.gif

- The concave DB compartment comes original from the developer....
Is your DB box next to a window or sliding door? If such, you can cover it up with curtain too.

- About the embedded pipe, it's roughly about 3" in diameter. No problem for the big connectors to go thru even 3 connectors sekaligus! Hehehe..
I suggested this idea to the contractor as I was so reluctant in doing the backing panel. Feel free to adopt this idea if you guys like it! icon_rolleyes.gif

- I think the bathroom is gonna be one of the space that I shall enjoy most. It's a place for me to free up my mind, get a good soak in the essential oil and ofcoz I gotta make sure there is some good music too...such as Norah Jones'.
happy.gif

- I bought my Johnson Suisse items from Ga Hing (Old Klang Rd). Where did you get yours? I thought their packaging are always blue+white? Maybe yours is from the limitted edition?

TSmaxxon
post Mar 24 2014, 11:13 AM

773 posts

QUOTE(monkey9926 @ Mar 24 2014, 09:27 AM)
looks like everything is well planned. u really put a lot of time and thoughts into it.

my current reno has so many mistakes and unforseen problems that i feel like wanna give up and live below expectations.

my stupid contractor place the bidet pipe outlet too near to WC and now i have to omit the bidet/ see an extension pipe outside. not in one but two toilets!!!!  vmad.gif

i m on the verge of crying. so much time spent on the choosing wall tiles and sanitary wares. all fully paid n delivered somore.

sorry for ranting in your thread. tremendous stress over the weekend.
Chill my friend, I feel you really...but everything can be sorted out definitely...
About the bidet pipe, you can just ask the contractor to relocate it. They just got to hack one or two pieces of tiles and alter the piping. The work may looks tedious to you, but most contractor will not have problem to do so, and don't be surprise, it won't take them long. Not even half day's work. However, if things we can accept then just close one eye and let it be lor... If it really affect the functionality or it's a real pain in the eyes then no choice but to rework lor... sweat.gif
I went thru the same things too especially on piping planning and bathroom fittings. After various rectifications earlier on, now that my contractor's plumber will wait till he sees me so that I can point the exact location where to install those fittings... tongue.gif
mrgoodgood
post Mar 24 2014, 01:32 PM

201 posts

QUOTE(maxxon @ Mar 24 2014, 10:57 AM)
Thanks.. tongue.gif  Your house will soon be transformed into a beautiful sanctuary too! Need lots of patient till everything falls into places.. and it will only start looking nice after tiling and base painting. I went thru the entire process too, and you know what!? I was wishing so hard that I've got a magic wand so that I can get the final result immediately with just one 'trinnnkk~~~'!!  rclxm9.gif

Ok... Back to reality~  tongue.gif
- The concave DB compartment comes original from the developer....
Is your DB box next to a window or sliding door? If such, you can cover it up with curtain too.
My DB box is relocated to the back of my front door. I am still thinking if I should build a shoe cabinet there (for storage and also hiding the DB box), but I am really reluctant to do built-in cabinets. Decisions decisions...

- About the embedded pipe, it's roughly about 3" in diameter. No problem for the big connectors to go thru even 3 connectors sekaligus! Hehehe..
I suggested this idea to the contractor as I was so reluctant in doing the backing panel. Feel free to adopt this idea if you guys like it!  icon_rolleyes.gif
That's a really thick pipe! Unfortunately I think I'm too late in the game to adopt this idea - my electrical cables drop directly from the ceiling to the sockets near the TV console area! Anyway, as I'm not really going for a minimalist look, I think I can live with the TV sitting above a nice mid-century modern cabinet~ Now, I just have to find a nice cabinet...

- I think the bathroom is gonna be one of the space that I shall enjoy most. It's a place for me to free up my mind, get a good soak in the essential oil and ofcoz I gotta make sure there is some good music too...such as Norah Jones'.
happy.gif
We decided to leave the luxury and enjoyment to times when we go on holidays and stay in nice hotels/visit nice spas tongue.gif .

- I bought my Johnson Suisse items from Ga Hing (Old Klang Rd). Where did you get yours? I thought their packaging are always blue+white? Maybe yours is from the limitted edition?
Ah.. My mistake... I mixed up Sorento with Johnson Suisse doh.gif

TSmaxxon
post Mar 24 2014, 06:15 PM

773 posts

QUOTE(mrgoodgood @ Mar 24 2014, 01:32 PM)
My DB box is relocated to the back of my front door. I am still thinking if I should build a shoe cabinet there (for storage and also hiding the DB box), but I am really reluctant to do built-in cabinets. Decisions decisions...
That's a really thick pipe! Unfortunately I think I'm too late in the game to adopt this idea - my electrical cables drop directly from the ceiling to the sockets near the TV console area! Anyway, as I'm not really going for a minimalist look, I think I can live with the TV sitting above a nice mid-century modern cabinet~ Now, I just have to find a nice cabinet...

Me too reluctant to do any built-in cab... I am buying most of the furniture off the shelf, except wardrobe and kitchen cab. From my calculation the cost for a built-in wardrobe which i can do it right up to the ceiling is actually not far off from ikea's if not cheaper.

Following is the picture of the hidden tv cable hose after fixing an empty slot in. I measured the pipe which it is 2.5" dia. I thought it shoudn't be an issue if it's slightly off-center, as it is hidden behind the TV.
dp82
post Mar 24 2014, 07:27 PM

862 posts

QUOTE(maxxon @ Mar 24 2014, 06:15 PM)
Me too reluctant to do any built-in cab... I am buying most of the furniture off the shelf, except wardrobe and kitchen cab. From my calculation the cost for a built-in wardrobe which i can do it right up to the ceiling is actually not far off from ikea's if not cheaper.

Following is the picture of the hidden tv cable hose after fixing an empty slot in. I measured the pipe which it is 2.5" dia. I thought it shoudn't be an issue if it's slightly off-center, as it is hidden behind the TV.
This is the 1st time i saw so many 13amp looping in a row. Any particular reason u need so much at tv cabinet area?
TSmaxxon
post Mar 24 2014, 08:29 PM

773 posts

QUOTE(dp82 @ Mar 24 2014, 07:27 PM)
This is the 1st time i saw so many 13amp looping in a row. Any particular reason u need so much at tv cabinet area?
Not all are 13A sockets, just 6 of it with 3 nos on one looping. Need lots of individual sockets coz i do not want to use a multi sockets as it will further the gap between tv console and the wall. Basically, i need sockets for TV, blueray/disc player, media player, home theater system, etc. Don't you think i really need that many of power sockets? tongue.gif

This post has been edited by maxxon: Mar 25 2014, 12:16 AM
azleena
post Mar 25 2014, 09:26 AM

183 posts

I am not a fan of the tv panel either... have yet to convince hubby yet though. Maybe I need to find the perfect media console first. Which may be a treasure hunt in itself. Post a pic of yours when its in place, please, maybe that will help me convince him.

How much did it cost to embed the pipe and touch up again?
SUSsupersound
post Mar 25 2014, 09:36 AM

11,554 posts

With TV panel, you can change it later. Without then it may have a problem next time when want to change design.
TSmaxxon
post Mar 25 2014, 09:57 AM

773 posts

QUOTE(azleena @ Mar 25 2014, 09:26 AM)
I am not a fan of the tv panel either... have yet to convince hubby yet though. Maybe I need to find the perfect media console first. Which may be a treasure hunt in itself. Post a pic of yours when its in place, please, maybe that will help me convince him.

How much did it cost to embed the pipe and touch up again?
Yet to get the final bill from my main con but I don't think he is charging me for that little job... Actually he has done quite some small small things here and there for my favour which I really appreciate. smile.gif

QUOTE(supersound @ Mar 25 2014, 09:36 AM)
With TV panel, you can change it later. Without then it may have a problem next time when want to change design.
If talk about changing of design, don't you think without a built-in cabinet and tv panel can actually allows me to change the console much easier even like once a year? Kakaka~
If I really do not need the pipe in future (which is unlikely unless i sell the house and the new owner got to do it), easy thing to diy actually, just patch the hole up.
mrgoodgood
post Mar 25 2014, 10:01 AM

201 posts

QUOTE(supersound @ Mar 25 2014, 09:36 AM)
Nonsense. It is much harder to change the design if you have a built-in TV panel. Without a fixed TV panel, you can easily change the TV console, update the wall with a coat of fresh paint or wallpaper. You can even add a TV panel later on, if that's your thing.
weikee
post Mar 25 2014, 10:04 AM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(maxxon @ Mar 24 2014, 08:29 PM)
Not all are 13A sockets, just 6 of it with 3 nos on one looping. Need lots of individual sockets coz i do not want to use a multi sockets as it will further the gap between tv console and the wall. Basically, i need sockets for TV, blueray/disc player, media player, home theater system, etc. Don't you think i really need that many of power sockets? tongue.gif
You will have one small challenge, if you plan to put surged protector, is individual socket. So for I find the best surge protector is still Cal-lab and they only have by socket.
monkey9926
post Mar 25 2014, 10:06 AM

292 posts

maxxon,

about the pipe for tv cables, i like the idea but cannot think how the tv power cable head ( the one tht come standard with TV) go throught. i saw yellow cable, for astro is it?

i not very high tech but appreciate if can learn something here.
SUSsupersound
post Mar 25 2014, 10:19 AM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(maxxon @ Mar 25 2014, 09:57 AM)
Yet to get the final bill from my main con but I don't think he is charging me for that little job... Actually he has done quite some small small things here and there for my favour which I really appreciate.  smile.gif
If talk about changing of design, don't you think without a built-in cabinet and tv panel can actually allows me to change the console much easier even like once a year? Kakaka~
If I really do not need the pipe in future (which is unlikely unless i sell the house and the new owner got to do it), easy thing to diy actually, just patch the hole up.
When you conceal everything, it will be very hard when you need to change the cables. That's why with a panel, the wire/cables are hidden behind it and you no need to hack the wall in the first place. Those holes used for holding the panel can be resurface using plaster then paint it back. If going for conceal concept, make sure the hole are big enough for the cable head to pass. My friend did a very big mistake on this, now the cable not concealed and have to go outside.

QUOTE(mrgoodgood @ Mar 25 2014, 10:01 AM)
Nonsense. It is much harder to change the design if you have a built-in TV panel. Without a fixed TV panel, you can easily change the TV console, update the wall with a coat of fresh paint or wallpaper. You can even add a TV panel later on, if that's your thing.
Nonsense? It depends how you see it. Lots of people will say this is nonsense when they engaged an ID. Over the time they will regret, especially they want to change something.

QUOTE(monkey9926 @ Mar 25 2014, 10:06 AM)
maxxon,

about the pipe for tv cables, i like the idea but cannot think how the tv power cable head ( the one tht come standard with TV) go throught. i saw yellow cable, for astro is it?

If you are doing renovation, the proper way are not using PVC pipe(stupid idea actually), is use a big square casing(half of it), with this, you won't have much problem on snaking the cables in or out later on. And it will consume less space compare to round PVC pipe thumbup.gif
McFD2R
post Mar 25 2014, 10:21 AM

1,074 posts

I'm in the midst of renovating my home too and my living room wall will have light weight fiberglass concrete wall panels before I place a wall mount TV and a wall mount sound bar. I'm planning to use only a 2 inch pipe from the sound bar to the TV, and another 2 inch pipe from the sound bar to in between my TV console, which is basically something like an oval wood which you can find in OVAS The Gardens. It can double up as a sitting place in the event there are more guests.

TV to Sound Bar should be fine since only 1x HDMI cable to it. It has a 13A socket behind the wall mount. As for the pipe from sound bar to the TV console, I hope the 2 inch pipe can cater to the Sound Bar power cable and at least 2-3 HDMI cable. I probably would need to pull everything in at the same time so that I don't have hassle next time if I need to add.

I hope that's enough.

This post has been edited by McFD2R: Mar 25 2014, 10:29 AM
monkey9926
post Mar 25 2014, 10:29 AM

292 posts

i think not many ppl wanna go timber panel anymore. it;s too mainstream and so overused. same with wall paper. when i visit my friend;s place she has wallpaper of a brickwall image and another wall with a wood plank image. i almost died laughing. but of course i din show it out.

i like maxxon's master raw cement at master room. or any new inexpensive way of doing id.

then there's this guy i cant remember has a very unique partition for wet and dry kitchen. glass.

then i think wei kee's using stained cement for car porch.

good ideas we take and use if we like. bad ideas, we leave it to the owner. it's their choice.
mrgoodgood
post Mar 25 2014, 10:49 AM

201 posts

How much is your built-in wardrobe per foot run? I have asked for some quotation and either it is a lot more expensive (because I'm not planning to have doors, the carcass needs to be laminated), or the depth of the carcass is very shallow (about a foot). I think they are trying to cut costs here.

My 400cm (>13ft) IKEA configuration came up to RM3330 including all interior fittings that I need. Even if I paid for delivery and installation, it is still a lot cheaper than a custom-made wardrobe. Of course, I'm being cheapo here... blush.gif

I think a 2.5" pipe will allow all connectors (except for the 13A plug) to pass through. The yellow string is used to pull/guide the cables through the pipe? I have that for my UNIFI socket too. Great design!
TSmaxxon
post Mar 25 2014, 10:57 AM

773 posts

QUOTE(mrgoodgood @ Mar 25 2014, 10:01 AM)
You are definitely good in analytical thinking. thumbup.gif I actually did not think of its advantage on the re-painting! Thanks for pointing that out....for me, it's just some idea came to my mind so that I can avoid the tv panel, so I straight away asked it to be done... tongue.gif

QUOTE(weikee @ Mar 25 2014, 10:04 AM)
You will have one small challenge, if you plan to put surged protector, is individual socket. So for I find the best surge protector is still Cal-lab and they only have by socket.
Hmm...can i put the surged protector to the master switch then?

QUOTE(monkey9926 @ Mar 25 2014, 10:06 AM)
maxxon,

I don't have a TV with me right now, but i think it's something like pics below.
user posted image user posted image user posted image

QUOTE(supersound @ Mar 25 2014, 10:19 AM)
If you are doing renovation, the proper way are not using PVC pipe(stupid idea actually), is use a big square casing(half of it), with this, you won't have much problem on snaking the cables in or out later on. And it will consume less space compare to round PVC pipe thumbup.gif
It's a stupid idea from me, a lady who just want results to be realised per the image in her head...
You guys pls improvise it if you like the fundamental idea.
(It's same goes to my polka dots planning that I just simply plot it out using a simple edditing apps in my ipad, I know it looks stupid to some but I just want things done with my least effort).

QUOTE(McFD2R @ Mar 25 2014, 10:21 AM)
I'm in the midst of renovating my home too and my living room wall will have light weight fiberglass concrete wall panels before I place a wall mount TV and a wall mount sound bar. I'm planning to use only a 2 inch pipe from the sound bar to the TV, and another 2 inch pipe from the sound bar to in between my TV console, which is basically something like an oval wood which you can find in OVAS The Gardens. It can double up as a sitting place in the event there are more guests.

TV to Sound Bar should be fine since only 1x HDMI cable to it. It has a 13A socket behind the wall mount. As for the pipe from sound bar to the TV console, I hope the 2 inch pipe can cater to the Sound Bar power cable and at least 2-3 HDMI cable. I probably would need to pull everything in at the same time so that I don't have hassle next time if I need to add.

I hope that's enough.
Wow!! Intresting~ you may want to share the result with us forumers once it's done. rclxms.gif

QUOTE(monkey9926 @ Mar 25 2014, 10:29 AM)
i think not many ppl wanna go timber panel anymore. it;s too mainstream and so overused. same with wall paper. when i visit my friend;s place she has wallpaper of a brickwall image and another wall with a wood plank image. i almost died laughing. but of course i din show it out.

i like maxxon's master raw cement at master room. or any new inexpensive way of doing id.

then there's this guy i cant remember has a very unique partition for wet and dry kitchen. glass.

then i think wei kee's using stained cement for car porch.

good ideas we take and use if we like. bad ideas, we leave it to the owner. it's their choice.
Everyone has got their ideal way of living. There isn't right or wrong. In the forum, we just share what we like and did, propose what we think and remind if we see any part overlooked... icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by maxxon: Mar 25 2014, 11:03 AM
weikee
post Mar 25 2014, 11:05 AM

12,019 posts

There are some work on master switch, I don't know the reliability of the master switch surge protector. So far the best serving me is Cal-Lab is an isolater.

50 Pages « < 27 28 29 30 31 > » Top

0.0396sec    0.60    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 01:17 AM