The makeover of my humble abode, Sharing my renovation journey
Mar 25 2014, 03:34 PM
773 posts Joined: Dec 2010 |
Haha... So, I should not be afraid to show my stupid works or stupid ideas (but pls don't laugh at me ok
Mar 25 2014, 03:37 PM
292 posts Joined: Sep 2013 |
Mar 25 2014, 03:39 PM
supersound,
since u know everything i got a question for you, i have installed steel door frame and will install solid wood doors for my bedrooms. i also like architrave. can i install wooden architrave to steel GI door frame? |
Mar 25 2014, 03:58 PM
11,554 posts Joined: Aug 2009 |
QUOTE(monkey9926 @ Mar 25 2014, 03:39 PM) supersound, I doubt so, as aluminum are easier on this.since u know everything i got a question for you, i have installed steel door frame and will install solid wood doors for my bedrooms. i also like architrave. can i install wooden architrave to steel GI door frame? And I not "knows" everything, just that being a house owner for 8 years and all those silly mistakes made makes me know what is good and what is not. This is a process path we will go when buying a house. From the location and renovation. Initially you won't accept what others said, when it comes to -be remarks. Then will only knows over the time. |
Mar 26 2014, 02:32 PM
maxxon,
for car porch floor, you have put pebbles as borders. what about the skirting? |
Mar 26 2014, 03:07 PM
Mar 26 2014, 04:04 PM
372 posts Joined: Dec 2007 |
QUOTE(maxxon @ Mar 23 2014, 10:04 PM) Glad that u like this sharing. New house definitely less thing to touch. Anything you touch, money is flying away! Finally, I have finalized on my contractor as well as designs for kitchen and rooms. Tks for your adv above. Feel like starting my own thread on the progress, but I don't think as am detailed as you though.Actually, mine took months for the initial stage which included doing homeworks on what do we want on aesthetic and material, most important matching those we want with the available budget. Adjustment on budget is happening from beginning till now! It took me quite sometimes in sourcing contractors and getting quotations too. One contractor even took me 3 weeks (chasing after chasing) to comes up with a quotation. I won't bother his quote if not that I saw one forumer posted quite good reputation of him with reasonable price. However, his quote is not as 'cheap' as claimed but ok lar.. His delay in quotation pissed me so I ended up hiring my current contractor who did my neighbor's house. Choosing a good contractor basically need some 'luck' too...do get a few quotations and avoid those who easily promise you that everything can be done. Avoid the far off cheapest quotation too, coz what I realized from contractor who charge not-so-cheap nor expensive are less likely to abandon the job. Reason being they have already factored in some extra little jobs that they are most probably going to cover during the renovating process....instead of asking the owner to top up each time when there happens to incur some extra job, even it's just some minor works. Nobody will do business with no profit, hence they ask for money, whereas the owner feel annoyed when keep topping up money. There comes the conflict and the tendency of abandoned works.... |
Apr 6 2014, 05:23 AM
QUOTE(weikee @ Mar 25 2014, 01:59 PM) Saw some Belkin's surge protector in Best Denki 1U. Now only that I understand how's the surge protector looks like the power extention and how it functions as a protector. Also, now that I understand that I really do not need that many sockets as you guys said..... I think I will get one of those surge protector with insurance coverage like this Belkin's or Cal-lab as recommended. As it gonna be a big amount to be spent on TV and home theatre, It definitely feels better to be covered with such insured surge protector lor... I should just leave those other sockets un-used or for the less usage or less valuable appliances then... ![]() |
Apr 6 2014, 06:18 AM
Getting a bit lazy lately on the updates.
Here you go with some kitchen cabinet updates:- Quite a number of LYN members PM-ed me asking the progress of my kitchen cabinet. Why? Because the company that I booked (paid rm1k deposit during an exhibition), Maxime Design has got a not-so-pleasant review from other LYN members here. Me too like other forumers, had the same thought of canceling my booking, kiss and say goodbye to the RM1k deposit... However, after some struggling on 'yes' or 'no', I decided to give them a chance as the guy who serves me has been quite responsive and sincere, not like those 'un-reachable' sales person that other forumers have met. I know that I've got to be 200% extra careful dealing with them. I kept reminding him to be as detail as possible too. I will make sure most things that we discussed are written in black and white, either on paper, email or text. What I can say is, he is a bit careless sometimes especially on quotation details. Other than that, everything seems 'ok' at least up to the progress now. However he reminded me that if there is any problem occurs during the installation, just inform him immediately and he assured that he will 'kao-tim' for me... He said can't promise 100% no problem during installation eventhough his boss has personally goes into the production often to check and monitor the works. He said there still sometimes has problem of left-out certain things that the installation guy need to go and fix it second time.... The installation took place more than a week ago. They came around 11am and finished work around 8pm. Everything seems ok accept for some things that their factory has left out (doors for island, some aluminium skirting and a piece of glass door which has cracked during transportation). Luckily I had received some briefing earlier on the possibility on these to happen otherwise it will blows my head off! So now, I'm waiting for them to come and fix the left-out-pieces and the quartz top. ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() This Blum drawer system is for me to put heavier things like stock pots and wok. So, it got to be very durable for the extra weights. ![]() This is just normal soft-close drawer system as it won't be storing many heavy things. ![]() The door panels are 4g glass with full width wood-backing. ![]() This is the foc dish rack. There is also another stainless steel pull-out rack (installed at the base unit) that I requested foc but I did't manage to capture the pic here... ![]() All base unit comes with these legs. ![]() Requested these aluminium skirting so that it is more durable especially on wet-floor-mopping. This post has been edited by maxxon: Apr 6 2014, 08:21 AM |
Apr 6 2014, 08:03 AM
But the side walls still using wood?
Apr 6 2014, 08:14 AM
QUOTE(supersound @ Apr 6 2014, 08:03 AM) Takkanlah side wall also aluminium mar? Very ugly lor...The skirting in aluminium or stainless steel is good enough to keep it tahan many more years. My mum's advise. Her cabinet base is still 'pretty' after over 20 years now... We are definitely not going to pour a pail of water... Just normal mopping.. This post has been edited by maxxon: Apr 6 2014, 08:15 AM |
Apr 6 2014, 10:11 AM
183 posts Joined: Jan 2014 |
Nice! Love the full height upper cabinets, and the tip to use Blum for heavy drawers only. Is it solid wood backing behind the glass front?
Where does your hood ducting go to after it goes into the cabinet at the left? This post has been edited by azleena: Apr 6 2014, 12:42 PM |
Apr 6 2014, 10:48 AM
QUOTE(maxxon @ Apr 6 2014, 08:14 AM) Takkanlah side wall also aluminium mar? Very ugly lor... Well, 20 years ago we don't have cheapo MDF, all are using solid wood with proper treatments done.The skirting in aluminium or stainless steel is good enough to keep it tahan many more years. My mum's advise. Her cabinet base is still 'pretty' after over 20 years now... We are definitely not going to pour a pail of water... Just normal mopping.. After 20 years we have cheapo MDF, for my point of view, the bottom part should use aluminum, then it can last "forever" |
Apr 6 2014, 01:59 PM
QUOTE(azleena @ Apr 6 2014, 10:11 AM) Nice! Love the full height upper cabinets, and the tip to use Blum for heavy drawers only. Is it solid wood backing behind the glass front? Thanks azleena.. They suggest me to use frosted glass for bottom part of the upper cabinets (the horizontal cabinets). I chose not coz I just want to hide things unseen... So that i won't need to bother much on the neatness inside the cabinet. Making self tired only if those cabinet are for display purpose... Where does your hood ducting go to after it goes into the cabinet at the left? As of the door panel, im not sure actually but I don't think it's solid wood... The flex hose has to go up from inside of the cabinet. Oh ya, they going to add one more small cabinet on top of my hood to hide the hose. Can't go all the way out thru the plaster ceiling drop-down coz there is a big cross beam in the middle which is hidden in the plaster ceiling box (original cross beam before roof extention). QUOTE(supersound @ Apr 6 2014, 10:48 AM) Well, 20 years ago we don't have cheapo MDF, all are using solid wood with proper treatments done. Taiko, I'll wait till I live in a bangalow to use solid wood... Now melamine with glass door already cost a bomb... Like this already a good 18k...After 20 years we have cheapo MDF, for my point of view, the bottom part should use aluminum, then it can last "forever" |
Apr 6 2014, 02:43 PM
QUOTE(maxxon @ Apr 6 2014, 01:59 PM) Taiko, I'll wait till I live in a bangalow to use solid wood... Now melamine with glass door already cost a bomb... Like this already a good 18k... As said before, ID will charge 3-5X from the original price they got. If not, how are they going to make a living? Early 30's already own a conti car and renting expensive shop lots in prime area? |
Apr 6 2014, 10:58 PM
12,019 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(maxxon @ Apr 6 2014, 05:23 AM) Saw some Belkin's surge protector in Best Denki 1U. Now only that I understand how's the surge protector looks like the power extention and how it functions as a protector. Also, now that I understand that I really do not need that many sockets as you guys said..... That will be a more practical solution I think I will get one of those surge protector with insurance coverage like this Belkin's or Cal-lab as recommended. As it gonna be a big amount to be spent on TV and home theatre, It definitely feels better to be covered with such insured surge protector lor... I should just leave those other sockets un-used or for the less usage or less valuable appliances then... ![]() |
Apr 6 2014, 10:59 PM
12,019 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Just don't overload into one socket. (In case you have super duper 100' TV and Super Duper HiFi system)
Apr 6 2014, 11:54 PM
2,140 posts Joined: Nov 2010 |
saw that your kitchen design caters for washing machine or dish washer next to sink. Dish washer very practical and modern. You won't regret it when having those family and friends over for dinner time. Place set and forget. Next day just take them out and dry. I recommend Somat tablets or powder from Henkel of Persil fame. The Somat does it better than Finish or Calgonit especially their rinse aid is bar none.
Apr 7 2014, 02:40 AM
QUOTE(weikee @ Apr 6 2014, 10:59 PM) Just don't overload into one socket. (In case you have super duper 100' TV and Super Duper HiFi system) 100" TV? It's only in my dream... QUOTE(halcyon27 @ Apr 6 2014, 11:54 PM) saw that your kitchen design caters for washing machine or dish washer next to sink. Dish washer very practical and modern. You won't regret it when having those family and friends over for dinner time. Place set and forget. Next day just take them out and dry. I recommend Somat tablets or powder from Henkel of Persil fame. The Somat does it better than Finish or Calgonit especially their rinse aid is bar none. There is only my husband and I living in there...so the dish washing is kinda minimal. Not going to have big party often but just small gathering with family members or couple of friends over the weekend. |
Apr 7 2014, 03:19 AM
I've got a request to list out what's it consists of, for that RM18k spent on the kitchen cabinet. Instead of replying individually in WhatsApp, I'm gonna just reply it here, so that it can be shared to others as well. Moreover, I hate to type 'long-long' using hp, and mine is an iphone somemore....
So, here's what's it included: - 14' base unit (900mm height instead of their standard height 850mm) - 9' wall unit (H1500mm) - 2' wall unit (H900mm) - 3' width 2 tiers Blum drawer - 2' width 3 tiers normal soft close drawer - 3' fridge unit - 6' full height tall unit (H3000mm) - 5' x 2' Island cabinet - quartz stone top (14' +5.5' on island) - dish rack - stainless steel pull-out basket - 23' aluminium skirting - to install a double bowl granite sink under-mount - gas springs and all soft close hinges - many pcs of extra end panels * all doors are 4G crystal glass with fully wood-backing. |
| Change to: | 0.0326sec
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 06:43 AM |