144 Pages « < 48 49 50 51 52 > » Bottom

Folding Bicycles v2, Dahon, Tern, Java, Oribike, Bromptons

Halia
post Sep 23 2013, 02:30 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(samosaurus @ Sep 23 2013, 02:00 PM)
Here's a nicer shot of Mr Halia..
Aiya..... EXPOSED wub.gif sweat.gif

On my way home, I saw a green shirt foldies and a lady cyclist on Federal Highway heading to Subang, who from the photo you posed, look kind of like you.
samosaurus
post Sep 23 2013, 02:53 PM

QUOTE(Halia @ Sep 23 2013, 02:30 PM)
Aiya..... EXPOSED  wub.gif  sweat.gif

On my way home, I saw  a green shirt foldies and a lady cyclist on Federal Highway heading to Subang,  who from the photo you posed, look kind of like you.
Whoah! That is hardcore!

Sam
valkyrie1232
post Sep 23 2013, 05:54 PM

721 posts

Hiya I'm new here, and very new to folding bikes (but tres excited to hopefully, be part of the foldie community!)
Been doing lots of research here and endlessly surfing bicyclebuysell for good deals on the bike.
I almost had my mind set on buying the Kalaq Q5 (rm750) or Q6 (RM9xx) based on it's awesome looks (looks a lot
like a Dahon Mu but obviously it's not lol).

After more reading and reading, I thought what the heck, might as splurge more and get something reputable and
reliable with the hope I won't ever have to upgrade (or at least, not in the near future anyway ..hehe)

Went to Vans Urban PJ branch today and bought a Tern Link P8 on a whim. They're having some promotion until 28 Sept 2013. Pretty good deal, for RM1890 they give you the bike, a free Nutcase helmet, bottle cage and a free Knog Blinker LED light.

Dealt with a guy there named YC, he was really nice and patient with me, being a noob and all. And even let me
test ride two bikes (Boardwalk D8 and the Tern P8) in their cute little track behind the store.

Gonna collect it tomorrow..can't wait! Hope I didn't make the wrong decision, but being a Tern, can't go wrong, right?

samosaurus
post Sep 23 2013, 06:02 PM

QUOTE(valkyrie1232 @ Sep 23 2013, 05:54 PM)
Hiya I'm new here, and very new to folding bikes (but tres excited to hopefully, be part of the foldie community!)
Been doing lots of research here and endlessly surfing bicyclebuysell for good deals on the bike.
I almost had my mind set on buying the Kalaq Q5 (rm750) or Q6 (RM9xx) based on it's awesome looks (looks a lot

After more reading and reading, I thought what the heck, might as splurge more and get something reputable and
reliable with the hope I won't ever have to upgrade (or at least, not in the near future anyway ..hehe)

Went to Vans Urban PJ branch today and bought a Tern Link P8 on a whim. They're having some promotion until 28 Sept 2013. Pretty good deal, for RM1890 they give you the bike, a free Nutcase helmet, bottle cage and a free Knog Blinker LED light.

Dealt with a guy there named YC, he was really nice and patient with me, being a noob and all. And even let me
test ride two bikes (Boardwalk D8 and the Tern P8) in their cute little track behind the store.

Gonna collect it tomorrow..can't wait! Hope I didn't make the wrong decision, but being a Tern, can't go wrong, right?
Dude,

You were very lucky with that "YC" guy... icon_rolleyes.gif Last time I talked to him, nearly came to blows.. hahahahah...

I think after the lady boss hammered him for lousy customer service, he improved.. rolleyes.gif

The Link D8 is a decent bike. Just make sure they tuned it up nicely for you before you take delivery.. And congrats with your purchase! thumbup.gif

Sam
samosaurus
post Sep 23 2013, 06:05 PM

Yesterday's World Car Free outing was awesome!

Riding in the Ninja-Turtle trail.. Sewer and below the city level..

My gang..

Cool mural..

Climbing out of the sewer..

Sam
valkyrie1232
post Sep 23 2013, 06:05 PM

721 posts

QUOTE(samosaurus @ Sep 23 2013, 06:02 PM)
Dude,

You were very lucky with that "YC" guy...  icon_rolleyes.gif Last time I talked to him, nearly came to blows.. hahahahah...

I think after the lady boss hammered him for lousy customer service, he improved..  rolleyes.gif

The Link D8 is a decent bike. Just make sure they tuned it up nicely for you before you take delivery.. And congrats with your purchase!  thumbup.gif

Sam
Wow, the tailou of Folding Bikes Msia Sam himself was the first to post after me. This is such an honour!
Oh he had lousy customer service ah? oops, I guess i must be lucky then
Next step, build up strength and stamina!
Ok will make sure they tune up the bike properly, anything I should know about tuning other than brakes,
derailleurs etc?

samosaurus
post Sep 23 2013, 06:08 PM

QUOTE(valkyrie1232 @ Sep 23 2013, 06:05 PM)
Wow, the tailou of Folding Bikes Msia Sam himself was the first to post after me. This is such an honour!
Oh he had lousy customer service ah? oops, I guess i must be lucky then
Next step, build up strength and stamina!
Ok will make sure they tune up the bike properly, anything I should know about tuning other than brakes,
derailleurs etc?
The brakes should grip without screeching and the shifting ought to be smooth.. If properly tuned, you will have a lot of fun with your folding bike! icon_rolleyes.gif

Also check the latch on the physis stem as well as the one on the frame.. Lock-up should be solid..

Sam thumbup.gif
d1rTyd6n
post Sep 23 2013, 06:08 PM

89 posts

QUOTE(samosaurus @ Sep 23 2013, 06:05 PM)
Yesterday's World Car Free outing was awesome!

Riding in the Ninja-Turtle trail.. Sewer and below the city level..

My gang..

Cool mural..

Climbing out of the sewer..

Sam
It was good to see you again Chief! rclxm9.gif

Damn I should have gone down the sewers with my gang! Haha will definitely plan another ride around town + Ninja Turtle route! thumbup.gif
samosaurus
post Sep 23 2013, 06:11 PM

QUOTE(d1rTyd6n @ Sep 23 2013, 06:08 PM)
It was good to see you again Chief!  rclxm9.gif

Damn I should have gone down the sewers with my gang! Haha will definitely plan another ride around town + Ninja Turtle route!  thumbup.gif
Hahahah!!!! My pleasure too!

Thirty-seven people is a big group la.. All of them ride down the sewer at once, the Pek Hoon Kia would dive into the river.. shocking.gif shakehead.gif shocking.gif

Sam thumbup.gif
CheaTeRz
post Sep 23 2013, 06:37 PM

They can't beat me so they call me Cheater. oh silly
1,400 posts

Hey guys, been 2 days im riding the foldies back and forth to class and love it so much that I even ride in formal attire lol thumbup.gif

anyway, instead of looking weird people do say that somehow it look normal and even pretty cool. rclxms.gif

not a single regret on purchasing this foldies rclxm9.gif

quick question tho, is there anything bad if I regularly fold the bike tho? like a broken clamp/hinge or anything could happen?
etigge
post Sep 23 2013, 06:47 PM

295 posts

QUOTE(valkyrie1232 @ Sep 23 2013, 05:54 PM)

I think Sam has covered most of it. thumbup.gif Welcome to the folding club!
budgee
post Sep 23 2013, 08:33 PM

28 posts

QUOTE(samosaurus @ Sep 23 2013, 06:02 PM)
Dude,

You were very lucky with that "YC" guy...  icon_rolleyes.gif Last time I talked to him, nearly came to blows.. hahahahah...

I think after the lady boss hammered him for lousy customer service, he improved..  rolleyes.gif

The Link D8 is a decent bike. Just make sure they tuned it up nicely for you before you take delivery.. And congrats with your purchase!  thumbup.gif

Sam
You almost came to blows, oh.
Who's the customer , we shld be asking.

Yup, get your bike and let's go a folding and a riding till the Sun goes down.

This post has been edited by budgee: Sep 23 2013, 09:55 PM
valkyrie1232
post Sep 23 2013, 08:38 PM

721 posts

QUOTE(samosaurus @ Sep 23 2013, 06:08 PM)
The brakes should grip without screeching and the shifting ought to be smooth.. If properly tuned, you will have a lot of fun with your folding bike!  icon_rolleyes.gif

Also check the latch on the physis stem as well as the one on the frame.. Lock-up should be solid..

Sam  thumbup.gif
Ok noted. Braking no screeching, shifting should be smooth and to check lock up hinges. Thanks!

And thanks etigge! Finally my first foldie
budgee
post Sep 23 2013, 10:30 PM

28 posts

On a Car Free Day, we went cycling ..

a mixture of foldies, including khs, dahon, birdy, trinx, hummer, if reach, and some i dun know.

on the bike lane along Fed Highway.

going under

Brickfields

budgee
post Sep 23 2013, 10:37 PM

28 posts

We bumped into another group also on the bike lane near Midvalley, with some 16 inch bikes and a Brompton,

The camaraderie was high, with greetings of Good mornings...

And fortunately for one of these cyclists, he found lots of money on the bike lane itself and stopped to just scoop it up.

Trying to outrun the KLIA express train..

This post has been edited by budgee: Sep 23 2013, 10:44 PM
mbax
post Sep 23 2013, 10:46 PM

66 posts

searching taobao for cheap chain as i just broke my mtb chain this morning (did not install properly) then i stumble into this.. can it be real? am i missing something RMB4050?

http://item.taobao.com/item.htm?spm=a1z10....&id=26824836139
H2D
post Sep 23 2013, 11:08 PM

598 posts

QUOTE(mbax @ Sep 23 2013, 10:46 PM)
searching taobao for cheap chain as i just broke my mtb chain this morning (did not install properly) then i stumble into this.. can it be real? am i missing something RMB4050?

http://item.taobao.com/item.htm?spm=a1z10....&id=26824836139
yea... should be right the price...
base on a search.. on this model n spec..
all other sellers are selling around this price....

http://s.taobao.com/search?q=DAHON+FAA083+...=itemz_20130923

y?
wana go for sea freight... and get it for total less than 2.5k RM ? drool.gif laugh.gif
d1rTyd6n
post Sep 23 2013, 11:24 PM

89 posts

I had this in mind for some time now.

How do I ride from Kelana Jaya to Jalan Raja Chulan? I know the motorists lane starts right after the butterfly bridge before Sungai Way, but it ends around Mid Valley right? So where should I go after that? Do i still ride along Federal Highway or is there anywhere that I can turn into?

Appreciate your guidance. blush.gif
H2D
post Sep 23 2013, 11:41 PM

598 posts

QUOTE(d1rTyd6n @ Sep 23 2013, 11:24 PM)
How do I ride from Kelana Jaya to Jalan Raja Chulan?
the bike lane used to go all the way to brickfields...
now becos of the new ramp... the bike lane was blocked...
u can still ride from mid valley using the bike lane,
and come out frm bfields tru ang seng area.. ( check the map )
and go to the city via jln tun sambanthan.....

budgee will be able to guide.. since he baru jalan yday right....? laugh.gif

this pic posted by budgee...

is along jalan ang seng goin to seri impiana condo ( check the map)

i think they will turn right into sambanthan1 and left into sambanthan then all the way to Daya bumi...

This post has been edited by H2D: Sep 23 2013, 11:47 PM
mbax
post Sep 24 2013, 08:57 AM

66 posts

QUOTE(H2D @ Sep 23 2013, 11:08 PM)
yea... should be right the price...
base on a search.. on this model n spec..
all other sellers are selling around this price....

http://s.taobao.com/search?q=DAHON+FAA083+...=itemz_20130923

y?
wana go for sea freight... and get it for total less than 2.5k RM ?  drool.gif  laugh.gif
Tempting looo.. Jp8 less than 3k... But afraid what i receive will be different.

144 Pages « < 48 49 50 51 52 > » Top

0.0178sec    0.00    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 04:52 AM