Folding Bicycles v2, Dahon, Tern, Java, Oribike, Bromptons

rkhairulrijal
post Jan 28 2014, 12:59 AM

15 posts

QUOTE(myak9 @ Jan 28 2014, 12:30 AM)
bro..
did you happen to ride along beach st this evening around 6++pm..
if so..I think I saw you.. you ride by caring a sling bag..

etigge..

ok..
will meet you at thomas place..
just give me a call..
I am free now..
my factory just close for cny............
I don't know where is beach st. but I was at the fort cornwallis around that time doing my test ride (I was lost actually) bahaha..
fat dude, wearing white t-shirt..is it?

bro etigge,
Awesome!!! U r genius la bro..
one more thing..what is the best RD for speed p8..let say I like touring n a bit of hills climbing. road RD or MTB RD?
etigge
post Jan 28 2014, 01:33 AM

295 posts

QUOTE(rkhairulrijal @ Jan 28 2014, 12:59 AM)
I don't know where is beach st. but I was at the fort cornwallis around that time doing my test ride (I was lost actually) bahaha..
fat dude, wearing white t-shirt..is it?

bro etigge,
Awesome!!! U r genius la bro..
one more thing..what is the best RD for speed p8..let say I like touring n a bit of hills climbing. road RD or MTB RD?
Hill climbing is a bit tough with 8 speed lorr! whistling.gif Slight gradient should be OK but when you say fat dude, like me also, better to have more gears. Easiest and cheapest way for you is to add front chain rings. As the front crank can accommodate another chain ring (no need to change the crank) just buy another 39 cog chain ring (RM60) and screw it on. Since you already wanted to change the RD, then get the Sora RD and FD (RM200) . Get a microshift 8 speed shifters (RM100) and an adapter (RM70) and Voila! you get 16 speed. Enough to go round Penang island. Even the Jalan Tun Sardon is possible. Sadly, I don't think any shop will do it in Penang. tongue.gif

When you come back to KL, message me. I will do it for you. icon_rolleyes.gif
kcwo
post Jan 28 2014, 08:50 AM

93 posts

QUOTE(etigge @ Jan 27 2014, 11:55 PM)
Should be around RM1800 for the lowest spec 24 speed and flat bar. But there are many other velos there, so might get something else. Who knows? It is not foldable though.  rclxms.gif
Much more cheaper than folding bike. For same spec on folding we need to pay very much higher price. Maybe I will get one later, only when my budget is allowable. One folding for mobility one mini velo for multipurpose. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by kcwo: Jan 28 2014, 08:50 AM
oxygen_
post Jan 28 2014, 09:45 AM

78 posts

hi guys..
what the cheapest way to have more gears for my ugo?

etigge
post Jan 28 2014, 09:56 AM

295 posts

QUOTE(oxygen_ @ Jan 28 2014, 09:45 AM)
hi guys..
what the cheapest way to have more gears for my ugo?

PM me if you are interested. I have a lot of 9 speed parts. nod.gif
lp16
post Jan 28 2014, 12:12 PM

411 posts

Hi, glad I found this forum.

I'm planning to buy a foldable bike for my son. Saw a Hummer replica online. Just wanna know, what's the diff between the ori and replica? Sorry for the noob Question.
mbax
post Jan 28 2014, 01:09 PM

66 posts

After so loooooonggg it was done at last... cr16 to cr24...

jenli_84
post Jan 28 2014, 02:23 PM

377 posts

QUOTE(zeliustitan @ Jan 22 2014, 09:31 AM)
It doesnt matter which bike as long as within your budget.

Started of with < Rm1k bike is always the best option. Join the cycling community, make friends, then test their bike from various brand.

Then u will know what is the best for you (next upgrade if you wan or stick to what you have)  cool2.gif
can broadwalk D8 upgrade to higher speed like 16 speed?
mbax
post Jan 28 2014, 02:27 PM

66 posts

QUOTE(jenli_84 @ Jan 28 2014, 02:23 PM)
no issue just change crank, add shifter, add fr hanger and fd..
jenli_84
post Jan 28 2014, 02:29 PM

377 posts

QUOTE(mbax @ Jan 28 2014, 02:27 PM)
no issue just change crank, add shifter, add fr hanger and fd..
roughly how much or is better to just get higher speeed?
etigge
post Jan 28 2014, 02:51 PM

295 posts

QUOTE(jenli_84 @ Jan 28 2014, 02:23 PM)
This is my wife's Dahon Boardwalk. Modded to 27 speed. Minimum components needed are, 1. 8 speed shifters (RM100) , 2. dual chainring crank (RM180), 3. FD and adapter (RM200) 4. RD and adapter (RM220) 5. cable and housing (RM40) 6. labour charges (RM??)

The above is for a 16 speed upgrade using the existing cassette and wheelset, too bad the Neos won't be able to take the chain slack when the smaller chainring is engaged.

PS/ A useful tip! icon_idea.gif You buy a Trinx 16 speed folding bike for RM900 which comes with most of the components needed. Take the needed components and install it onto the Boardwalk. Then re-assemble the Trinx and sell it off for 75% of the price OR keep it as a spare bike so when friends want to ride together, you have a spare. icon_idea.gif

This post has been edited by etigge: Jan 28 2014, 02:56 PM
jenli_84
post Jan 28 2014, 03:03 PM

377 posts

QUOTE(etigge @ Jan 28 2014, 02:51 PM)
This is my wife's Dahon Boardwalk. Modded to 27 speed. Minimum components needed are, 1. 8 speed shifters (RM100) , 2. dual chainring crank (RM180), 3. FD and adapter (RM200) 4. RD and adapter (RM220) 5. cable and housing (RM40) 6. labour charges (RM??)

The above is for a 16 speed upgrade using the existing cassette and wheelset, too bad the Neos won't be able to take the chain slack when the smaller chainring is engaged.

PS/ A useful tip!  icon_idea.gif  You buy a Trinx 16 speed folding bike for RM900 which comes with most of the components needed. Take the needed components and install it onto the Boardwalk. Then re-assemble the Trinx and sell it off for 75% of the price OR keep it as a spare bike so when friends want to ride together, you have a spare.  icon_idea.gif
wow is equivalent to getting a new bike with that upgrade...cause i see see all mention 8 speed hard to climb hill...thinking if i happen to go uphill i scared i end up pushing the bike instead of cycling it....hahahhaaa
aaronljw
post Jan 28 2014, 04:52 PM

QUOTE(lp16 @ Jan 28 2014, 12:12 PM)
Hi, glad I found this forum.

I'm planning to buy a foldable bike for my son. Saw a Hummer replica online. Just wanna know, what's the diff between the ori and replica? Sorry for the noob Question.
Hi there lp. I had that same thought a while back but based on a bit of research and inspection, learned that the replica uses a lower grade of aluminium for the frame (6061 instead of 7005 I believe) and the joints and folding locks are quite rough and not as well worked. In general, parts are of lower quality. I have a friend who owns one and bikes regularly and unless you are doing some intense offroad biking, it's still pretty adequate. Just my 2 cents. I didn't get one purely because it's not compact enough for my needs.
etigge
post Jan 28 2014, 07:26 PM

295 posts

QUOTE(jenli_84 @ Jan 28 2014, 03:03 PM)
wow is equivalent to getting a new bike with that upgrade...cause i see see all mention 8 speed hard to climb hill...thinking if i happen to go uphill i scared i end up pushing the bike instead of cycling it....hahahhaaa
Actually, "NO". If you were to buy a Dahon or Tern with the specs required, you have to pay a lot more! Just that, if you decide that it will be for long term (means you will ride it for long) and invest in one suitable, you save rather than discovering later that you need a better one, then the old one is wasted. icon_rolleyes.gif
akioen
post Jan 29 2014, 12:15 AM

106 posts

how s dahon horize compared to dahon falco?

akioen
post Jan 29 2014, 12:20 AM

106 posts

cannot get old version of speed P8 in singapore.
is anyone knows where can get it in jb or kl areas?
rkhairulrijal
post Jan 29 2014, 04:21 PM

15 posts

QUOTE(etigge @ Jan 28 2014, 01:33 AM)
Hill climbing is a bit tough with 8 speed lorr!  whistling.gif Slight gradient should be OK but when you say fat dude, like me also, better to have more gears. Easiest and cheapest way for you is to add front chain rings. As the front crank can accommodate another chain ring (no need to change the crank) just buy another 39 cog chain ring (RM60) and screw it on. Since you already wanted to change the RD, then get the Sora RD and FD (RM200) . Get a microshift 8 speed shifters (RM100) and an adapter (RM70)  and Voila! you get 16 speed. Enough to go round Penang island. Even the Jalan Tun Sardon is possible. Sadly, I don't think any shop will do it in Penang.  tongue.gif

When you come back to KL, message me. I will do it for you.  icon_rolleyes.gif
Really ah bro...thank2..pm me ur contact numb. will ring u when I balk kampung nnt. yesterday, touring alone and yes, hill climbing with P8 is a tough job. and I just pre-registered for the OCBC 2015..haha..anyone participate?

I took this during my off-road outing on Tuesday
aaronljw
post Jan 29 2014, 05:44 PM

QUOTE(rkhairulrijal @ Jan 29 2014, 04:21 PM)
Really ah bro...thank2..pm me ur contact numb. will ring u when I balk kampung nnt. yesterday, touring alone and yes, hill climbing with P8 is a tough job. and I just pre-registered for the OCBC 2015..haha..anyone participate?

I took this during my off-road outing on Tuesday
Very nice photo! Could almost be a poster shot for adventure!
danielcmugen
post Jan 30 2014, 01:04 AM

5,537 posts

Does the amount of air in the tyre affect the energy required to cycle? What is the optimum air pressure for least tiring cycling?
desastar
post Jan 30 2014, 07:03 AM

42 posts

There's so many brands and models to make your head spin! Can sifus tell me the difference between Boardwalk d8 and Speed 8? Same as Tern? What are the usual prices? Where is it cheapest?
Thanks!!

144 Pages « < 130 131 132 133 134 > » Top

0.0340sec    0.51    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 09:29 AM