Folding Bicycles v2, Dahon, Tern, Java, Oribike, Bromptons
danielcmugen
Nov 30 2013, 12:50 AM
Can someone help translate this into Malaysian English?  About checking used bicycle condition. QUOTE Drivetrain: Wiggle the crankset. Side-to-side play indicates worn bearings or an improperly adjusted bottom bracket. The same applies to pedals. Replace a chain if it's rusty or has frozen links. Chains and rear gear cogs become mated with use, so chain replacement may require the purchase of a new gear cassette. Spin the freewheel and listen for the chatter of broken bearings. Lift the rear wheel — you may need help for this.
danielcmugen
Nov 30 2013, 02:31 AM
1) How to check condition of brake pad? 2) 1st pic, brake wiring tip got rust...but dunno inside got rust or not. How to check? 2nd pic, condition of my rear brake area. Is it ok? This post has been edited by danielcmugen: Nov 30 2013, 02:34 AM Attached thumbnail(s)
danielcmugen
Nov 30 2013, 10:08 PM
QUOTE(H2D @ Nov 30 2013, 05:13 PM) wah... ur bike still using dunlop/woods valve inner tube...  brake pad need to check with eye, the rust part need to take out the cable, then oni can see.. if cable got rust very bad can putus.....  Dunlop/woods valve inner tube means good or no good? Brake pad how to check with eye? How to see ok or not?
danielcmugen
Dec 4 2013, 04:37 PM
QUOTE(akeelim @ Dec 2 2013, 02:52 PM) ACE hardware is selling a folding bicycle where RM500 off 30%. Worth to buy? QUOTE(etigge @ Dec 2 2013, 03:11 PM) Buy that and you will regret!  If you want to spend RM500 for a folding, I suggest you go for a second hand unit or if you still want a new one, at least go for the Oscar Imagine. At least there's a bike shop to service you later. Ace Hardware don't service bikes.  QUOTE(mbax @ Dec 2 2013, 09:30 PM) add another 350 can get ugo alrd... I cycled almost 30km with an oscar imagine before, for beginners like me ok la.
danielcmugen
Dec 5 2013, 11:57 PM
Is brake wiring the most important part to look out for to ensure bicycle safety? How much does it cost to replace a normal 20" foldie's brake wire?
This post has been edited by danielcmugen: Dec 5 2013, 11:57 PM
danielcmugen
Dec 6 2013, 12:43 AM
QUOTE(Proclaimer @ Dec 6 2013, 12:28 AM) Generally folding bike brake line do not undergo huge stress unlike mountain bikes. If it is not severed or damaged, just let it be. If it feels rough, lube the inner wire with lubricant. Replacing with good brake line such as jagwire would cost you roughly RM100. It's a used bike, that's why I'm afraid. Well it feels normal, but I never open it up yet. I heard if it's rusty, it can break and cause brake failure?
danielcmugen
Dec 8 2013, 03:35 PM
After that I lost the cap for it  The above post is how it looks like with the cap, here's how it looks like without. This post has been edited by danielcmugen: Dec 8 2013, 03:39 PM Attached thumbnail(s)
danielcmugen
Dec 8 2013, 05:40 PM
QUOTE(H2D @ Dec 8 2013, 04:00 PM) u need the dunlop/woods adapter bro... some schrader adapter can fit... need to check...  this is how we used to pump.... http://2.bp.blogspot.com/_lgjkp7t8WGA/SpDv...-h/P1000427.jpgOk thx. But I lost the cap, normal bicycle shop got sell the cap?
danielcmugen
Dec 8 2013, 05:41 PM
QUOTE(H2D @ Dec 8 2013, 04:05 PM) huh? like this ur tayar still got air?? Completely no more edi lol
danielcmugen
Dec 8 2013, 06:28 PM
QUOTE(H2D @ Dec 8 2013, 06:14 PM) Then change both the tubes to american valve, no more susah payah...  Cost how much?
danielcmugen
Dec 21 2013, 11:50 PM
QUOTE(melvintkw @ Dec 21 2013, 06:19 PM) Can share you guys foldie & what u have or modded? Just to share share for a better ride.  Am going to FRIM for cycling tomorrow morning with my family. My foldie is very old, still using 6-speed gear  . I dun bother to mod it as I'm satisfied with how it performs.
danielcmugen
Jan 30 2014, 01:04 AM
Does the amount of air in the tyre affect the energy required to cycle? What is the optimum air pressure for least tiring cycling?