Folding Bicycles v2, Dahon, Tern, Java, Oribike, Bromptons
jenli_84
Jan 20 2014, 10:50 AM
Newbie here. Looking for folding bike. My budget is RM1k plus. I see most people recommend Dahon here. Which model should i go for? I saw some model is flexi adjust. any shops recommended? I'm from Setapak. Any sifu? Sifu Etigge.
This post has been edited by jenli_84: Jan 20 2014, 11:14 AM
jenli_84
Jan 20 2014, 11:41 AM
QUOTE(etigge @ Jan 20 2014, 11:19 AM) From your username, I can only assume you are a female. I think for that budget, the BEST is the Dahon Boardwalk D8. It's priced around RM1399 for the 8 speed but if you hunt around in places like Kimbell Jaya in Bdr. Tun Hussein Onn or Sew Leong in Dengkil. you can get one at RM1100, maybe less! Yeah you are right. Female but tall figure =P hopefully can support me!!! Dengkil is too far for me.
jenli_84
Jan 20 2014, 01:34 PM
QUOTE(etigge @ Jan 20 2014, 12:17 PM) No worries. The seat post of a folding bike is long and it can take 105kg. If you are nearby Cheras, then go Kimbell Jaya opposite the Petron station in Jalan Bdr. Tun Hussein Onn. only broadway for dahon for my budget
jenli_84
Jan 20 2014, 03:23 PM
okay...maybe i go have a look first.
This post has been edited by jenli_84: Jan 20 2014, 03:25 PM
jenli_84
Jan 22 2014, 10:27 AM
QUOTE(zeliustitan @ Jan 22 2014, 09:31 AM) It doesnt matter which bike as long as within your budget. Started of with < Rm1k bike is always the best option. Join the cycling community, make friends, then test their bike from various brand. Then u will know what is the best for you (next upgrade if you wan or stick to what you have)  I'm newbie. If anyone will visit kimbell jaya ajak along can give comment and see see look look first
jenli_84
Jan 22 2014, 01:26 PM
im staying at setapak...maybe i can join if i got my bike d...but will be after cny =(
jenli_84
Jan 22 2014, 02:34 PM
QUOTE(zeliustitan @ Jan 22 2014, 02:07 PM) Im in sentul, always ride to titiwangsa by cutting cross jalan pahang  i'm at danau kota. But to cycle to titiwangsa I scared. So many cars.
jenli_84
Jan 22 2014, 04:27 PM
QUOTE(zeliustitan @ Jan 22 2014, 04:14 PM) cycling alone to titiwangsa to danau kota, it is dangerous. we have some foldie veterans who are from setapak.. they either cycle down to kl via Pangsapuri Air Panas into Jalan Semarak to Kampung Baru then into KL town. Or jalan pahang to jalan chowkit via bulatan pahang. if you are alone, you can pack the foldie into the car, then drive to titiwangsa and park there. Usually there is a meet up point so no worries.. yeah better to drive. Where setapak ppl get their bikes? Where got good deal?
jenli_84
Jan 23 2014, 03:39 PM
I just got quoted by Bike Malaysia - Kimbell Jaya. Dahon Boardwalk D8 RM1300. Is it expensive? or I can get better deal somewhere or another Dahon model?
jenli_84
Jan 28 2014, 02:23 PM
QUOTE(zeliustitan @ Jan 22 2014, 09:31 AM) It doesnt matter which bike as long as within your budget. Started of with < Rm1k bike is always the best option. Join the cycling community, make friends, then test their bike from various brand. Then u will know what is the best for you (next upgrade if you wan or stick to what you have)  can broadwalk D8 upgrade to higher speed like 16 speed?
jenli_84
Jan 28 2014, 02:29 PM
QUOTE(mbax @ Jan 28 2014, 02:27 PM) no issue just change crank, add shifter, add fr hanger and fd.. roughly how much or is better to just get higher speeed?
jenli_84
Jan 28 2014, 03:03 PM
QUOTE(etigge @ Jan 28 2014, 02:51 PM) This is my wife's Dahon Boardwalk. Modded to 27 speed. Minimum components needed are, 1. 8 speed shifters (RM100) , 2. dual chainring crank (RM180), 3. FD and adapter (RM200) 4. RD and adapter (RM220) 5. cable and housing (RM40) 6. labour charges (RM??) The above is for a 16 speed upgrade using the existing cassette and wheelset, too bad the Neos won't be able to take the chain slack when the smaller chainring is engaged. PS/ A useful tip! You buy a Trinx 16 speed folding bike for RM900 which comes with most of the components needed. Take the needed components and install it onto the Boardwalk. Then re-assemble the Trinx and sell it off for 75% of the price OR keep it as a spare bike so when friends want to ride together, you have a spare. wow is equivalent to getting a new bike with that upgrade...cause i see see all mention 8 speed hard to climb hill...thinking if i happen to go uphill i scared i end up pushing the bike instead of cycling it....hahahhaaa
jenli_84
Feb 14 2014, 10:21 PM
I try to lock it cant lock...just bought it today
jenli_84
Feb 14 2014, 10:29 PM
I try to lock it cant lock...just bought it today...any sifu guide...newbie here. Anyone will ride at titiwangsa?
jenli_84
Feb 15 2014, 11:59 AM
Anyone around setapak riding foldies? Newbie here.
jenli_84
Feb 15 2014, 11:00 PM
QUOTE(zeliustitan @ Feb 15 2014, 06:25 PM) Around sentul and always cycle to titiwangsa  Hahaha...maybe we can meet one day but I still dun hv helmet. Gotta search for nice one. Any recommend?
jenli_84
Feb 17 2014, 11:32 AM
QUOTE(zeliustitan @ Feb 17 2014, 10:40 AM) any helmet will do.. if u fancy nice one like nutcase or bern.. it is ok too.. but pricey.. anywhere i can get those in setapak area?
jenli_84
Feb 18 2014, 04:54 PM
would need some guidance how to play with the gear. Currently, i saw the shifter on my left (H - L) and right (1-9) which according the the shop is 18 speed. He just told me if climb hill the shift to L if flat road and i want high speed shift to H? how bout the numbers on the right shifter. if on flat road im not cycling fast is it between H and L middle?
Sorry for the noob question. Just started cycling.