And I sometimes do take the pedals off when the bike is parked outside Sundry shops while I get my stuff. So that it's not so easy to just take it and cycle away.
This post has been edited by budgee: Nov 7 2013, 10:16 AM
Folding Bicycles v2, Dahon, Tern, Java, Oribike, Bromptons
Nov 7 2013, 09:59 AM
28 posts Joined: Jul 2010 |
When I park my foldie in the motorbike parking area, I do take the pedals off and keep them with me in the office...
![]() ![]() And I sometimes do take the pedals off when the bike is parked outside Sundry shops while I get my stuff. So that it's not so easy to just take it and cycle away. This post has been edited by budgee: Nov 7 2013, 10:16 AM |
Nov 7 2013, 10:27 AM
Folding bikes fly higher? than what? MTB or road bikes... ? this is stretching it a bit too much to do such comparisons... http://dahon.com/single-view-dahon/article...fly-higher.html |
Nov 7 2013, 11:05 AM
466 posts Joined: Jul 2008 |
QUOTE(budgee @ Nov 7 2013, 09:59 AM) When I park my foldie in the motorbike parking area, I do take the pedals off and keep them with me in the office... Why dont just carry into office? You can create an awareness of cycling to work is good.And I sometimes do take the pedals off when the bike is parked outside Sundry shops while I get my stuff. So that it's not so easy to just take it and cycle away. |
Nov 7 2013, 12:10 PM
49 posts Joined: Aug 2009 |
QUOTE(zeliustitan @ Nov 7 2013, 11:05 AM) Another way to do it is to take out the entire saddle & stem and chuck it in the backpack. This is what the college students do in US.This post has been edited by Halia: Nov 7 2013, 12:21 PM |
Nov 7 2013, 12:24 PM
598 posts Joined: Dec 2006 |
Nov 7 2013, 02:20 PM
QUOTE(H2D @ Nov 7 2013, 12:24 PM) sayang? well, a bike is for riding, so I don't keep it sitting pretty in the house. I do use the XDS and the Tern depending on mood.H2D, what about some photos of your bike or bikes? Seldom see you post any of yours.. you have a mini velo, right? This post has been edited by budgee: Nov 7 2013, 02:23 PM |
Nov 7 2013, 02:41 PM
QUOTE(budgee @ Nov 7 2013, 02:20 PM) sayang? well, a bike is for riding, so I don't keep it sitting pretty in the house. I do use the XDS and the Tern depending on mood. i think the word "sayang" means how can you leave your foldie out of your sight. Your Tern wheel so nice, cool handlebar, etc. that could attract ppl to steal. If u leave it outside office from 8am to 5pm everyday, one day it will be missing as people know your routine.H2D, what about some photos of your bike or bikes? Seldom see you post any of yours.. you have a mini velo, right? Even my cheapo UGO i also dare not to park at the place out of my sight.. haha |
Nov 7 2013, 03:09 PM
QUOTE(H2D @ Nov 7 2013, 12:24 PM) I use the Tern when I get the "need for speed" hee hee. I use the Fed hiway bike lane, and there is a stretch from EPF to Pantai Baru, where my speed is about 33+ kph, I can keep up with some motorbikes. On the way home, when I pedal down Jln Bangsar at 32+ kph, some cars are left behind, and people waiting at the bus stop look at me and their heads look like they are following a tennis ball, they try to look at who's this mad fella speeding on a small basikal...While the XDS is used when I want to go much slower. Its lighter though and can climb hills better so I use it to go through Uni Malaya. Although off and on, I still use XDS on bike lane but with my rear bright flashing red lights, make me feel safer than without the lights, because the motorcyclists will zoom past me, just inches away only.. Of course the Tern has its pros and cons.. the Tern can go fast till about 40kph on level road with some strong legwork, this is after I put on the Kinetix pro wheels with American Classic hubs. The cons are that its quite bling and can easily get stolen. I park it anywhere and people want to touch it, lift it, etc. lost one of my knogs like dat. XDS is about RM730, very basic components, nothing much to see except I always get stares from ladies and girls. Why ah? So once I had stopped with my bike and a lady passed by and said, "very cuteee lah, your beskal". Aiya, I was thinking, wat, only the bike ah, not the rider, meh? The cons is that it can't speed like the Tern. This post has been edited by budgee: Nov 7 2013, 05:22 PM |
Nov 7 2013, 05:24 PM
Now my Tern P18 is almost like the Verge X10 except for a few things, the crank is lighter on the X10, and the handlebar with stem extender..
This post has been edited by budgee: Nov 7 2013, 05:24 PM |
Nov 7 2013, 05:59 PM
58 posts Joined: Aug 2011 |
Hi All, newbie here, just finish crawling thru the V2
looking for my 1st foldies, mainly for leisure/fun rides (hopefully can join gangs here one day currently eyes on either Dahon Vybe C7A or Tern Link (TL) C7. any one experience with them, appreciate your kind feedback, ie. build quality, maintenance, product issues(if any)...etc Judang, how's ur TL C7 doing? will you recommend it to others. etigee sifu, you mentioned D8 goes on 1.5k, that seriously make me reconsider on TL C7 (around 1.4K) vs the D8... mind to share more details. beside the apparent gear differences, do they have the same frame? (I saw both on 6061-AL but FBL joint vs OCL, not sure what that means), any others differences? which do you reckon good for starters ? This post has been edited by ecneret: Nov 7 2013, 08:32 PM |
Nov 7 2013, 06:10 PM
4 posts Joined: Jan 2011 |
Nov 7 2013, 09:26 PM
1 posts Joined: Jul 2012 |
my brake i bought it from a shop in masai utama
when window shoping befor coming back to kl de shop got sell second-hand bicycles n parts as well as new bikes n parts he sold me de brake for RM 100 ony oso throw in with rotor for RM 30 both is used but stil in great condition well its realy is a bargain dat i cant refuse here de pix ![]() ![]() ![]() cheers |
Nov 7 2013, 10:35 PM
295 posts Joined: Oct 2009 |
QUOTE(ecneret @ Nov 7 2013, 05:59 PM) Hi All, newbie here, just finish crawling thru the V2 Yes, the Tern D8 can be had for RM1500 if you know where to buy and the C7 is even much less than that. I have mentioned before that if you want to upgrade later, the C7 is a better option. The so called Physis handlepost which is used on the D8 which is supposed to be an improvement BUT after so many Link P9s, it not that much good. It creaks very badly when pushed while riding. It can be rectified by either greasing it frequently or slipping alayer of plastic or rubber between the rubbing parts. Still the Dahon's handlepost is a much better design and one P9 even changed to Dahon's handlepost design while the other 4 that I know is waiting to see the results.looking for my 1st foldies, mainly for leisure/fun rides (hopefully can join gangs here one day currently eyes on either Dahon Vybe C7A or Tern Link (TL) C7. any one experience with them, appreciate your kind feedback, ie. build quality, maintenance, product issues(if any)...etc Judang, how's ur TL C7 doing? will you recommend it to others. etigee sifu, you mentioned D8 goes on 1.5k, that seriously make me reconsider on TL C7 (around 1.4K) vs the D8... mind to share more details. beside the apparent gear differences, do they have the same frame? (I saw both on 6061-AL but FBL joint vs OCL, not sure what that means), any others differences? which do you reckon good for starters ? So, if Tern is what you choose, go for the Tern C7 if an upgrade is in the works but if that's a one time buy, it's D8 If you want to upgrade to 9 speed, let me know. There are so many Tern P9 9 speed setups with me. |
Nov 7 2013, 11:30 PM
58 posts Joined: Aug 2011 |
QUOTE(etigge @ Nov 7 2013, 10:35 PM) Yes, the Tern D8 can be had for RM1500 if you know where to buy and the C7 is even much less than that. I have mentioned before that if you want to upgrade later, the C7 is a better option. The so called Physis handlepost which is used on the D8 which is supposed to be an improvement BUT after so many Link P9s, it not that much good. It creaks very badly when pushed while riding. It can be rectified by either greasing it frequently or slipping alayer of plastic or rubber between the rubbing parts. Still the Dahon's handlepost is a much better design and one P9 even changed to Dahon's handlepost design while the other 4 that I know is waiting to see the results. thanks sifu etigge. So, if Tern is what you choose, go for the Tern C7 if an upgrade is in the works but if that's a one time buy, it's D8 If you want to upgrade to 9 speed, let me know. There are so many Tern P9 9 speed setups with me. for time being, most likely to be one time buy (bumped D8 to top of my list now ; ) in fact, I do not have real preferences over Tern vs Dahon, both are good brand as I understand, will be happy with either 1. does TL D8 directly rival Dahon Boardwalk D8 ? saw Dahon D8 has cheaper RRP (dearer to my kocek what's the pro & cons TL D8 vs Dahon D8 ? |
Nov 8 2013, 12:56 AM
1,985 posts Joined: Sep 2005 From: Penang Island |
great news etigge, I'll have sat mrng off from work I have the whole mrng till about noon to cycle with u guys!
eh btw, the ride is on both sat n sun mrng zit? cuz the fb event states Sat This post has been edited by 2kia: Nov 8 2013, 07:57 AM |
Nov 8 2013, 02:53 AM
598 posts Joined: Dec 2006 |
Nov 8 2013, 07:17 AM
Nov 8 2013, 08:41 AM
295 posts Joined: Oct 2009 |
QUOTE(2kia @ Nov 8 2013, 12:56 AM) great news etigge, I'll have sat mrng off from work I have the whole mrng till about noon to cycle with u guys! eh btw, the ride is on both sat n sun mrng zit? cuz the fb event states Sat |
Nov 8 2013, 09:23 AM
Nov 8 2013, 09:43 AM