144 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Bottom

Folding Bicycles v2, Dahon, Tern, Java, Oribike, Bromptons

2kia
post Aug 20 2013, 12:30 AM

Custom member title?
1,985 posts

do u guys know any good photo upload site besides imgur, photobucket n imageshack?

been trying to upload two photos from my comp for at least 30 mins n still pending ><
TSearl-ku
post Aug 20 2013, 12:35 AM

Chlorophiliac
4,587 posts

QUOTE(2kia @ Aug 20 2013, 12:30 AM)
do u guys know any good photo upload site besides imgur, photobucket n imageshack?

been trying to upload two photos from my comp for at least 30 mins n still pending ><
upload to fb and then copy the image url ...
theotheryun
post Aug 20 2013, 12:40 AM

QUOTE(2kia @ Aug 20 2013, 12:30 AM)

i did with postimage
dont even ned to register or aniting tongue.gif
2kia
post Aug 20 2013, 12:43 AM

Custom member title?
1,985 posts

this is my adjustable handle post with QR level

it could turn right n left slightly even though the wheel isn't turning

i could really tighten the level to prevent it from turning at all, but i'm worried bout the wear n tear at the bottom of the post

this pic below is snapped when i took out the entire post

2kia
post Aug 20 2013, 12:45 AM

Custom member title?
1,985 posts

n the issue regarding replacing it is that i need to adjust it to the maximum height each time i wanna fold my bike, otherwise it'd interfere with the wheel area doh.gif
gilbertlhl
post Aug 20 2013, 08:12 AM

386 posts

QUOTE(theotheryun @ Aug 20 2013, 12:20 AM)
very very very useful (well,at least for me tongue.gif hehe)
tho mine is ony tourney rd
ther are many times i notice it realy does it job protecting de rd
against the wall, road divider, even from ur own feet
as i ride omos evriday
i glad it comes as a standard spec on my bike
it realy is useful
recomended thumbup.gif
I think its useful also when we put our bike in car...
adriankhoo153
post Aug 20 2013, 08:28 AM

So many star for what?
4,808 posts

How do u guy wash your bike when it's very dirty like kena mud etc? Can jes use sprinkle hose and spray it on the bike all over or kena lap lap? I mean u spray the water onto the gear, chain etc got any problem ah?
etigge
post Aug 20 2013, 08:36 AM

295 posts

QUOTE(2kia @ Aug 20 2013, 12:43 AM)
this is my adjustable handle post with QR level

it could turn right n left slightly even though the wheel isn't turning

i could really tighten the level to prevent it from turning at all, but i'm worried bout the wear n tear at the bottom of the post

this pic below is snapped when i took out the entire post

Just tighten the QR until it doesn't move. It tend s to move a bit after much usaga and makes the handlebar alignment go off. Another rider can't get the handlebar lower and he has to cut off an inch off even.
etigge
post Aug 20 2013, 08:40 AM

295 posts

QUOTE(adriankhoo153 @ Aug 20 2013, 08:28 AM)
How do u guy wash your bike when it's very dirty like kena mud etc? Can jes use sprinkle hose and spray it on the bike all over or kena lap lap? I mean u spray the water onto the gear, chain etc got any problem ah?
I use a hose and hose off any mud, sand or muck that can be hosed off. Then I use a damp cloth and wipe the bike. I might take off the 2 wheels if I want to clean it more thoroughly. Once in a while I take off the chain and cassette and wash with diesel (quickly) and then hose it with water and dry it. Clean the cranks and put back the chain and relube everything, the chain, RD and FD. Also the pivot joints around the V-brakes. nod.gif
samosaurus
post Aug 20 2013, 09:29 AM

Ahhhh... Okay, your telescopic stem's clamp.. I get it..

Well, this is a pain when it comes to older Dahon bikes with telescopic stems. You will have to to adjust the nut on the "turtleneck" clamp to get a good grip. Do not overtighten it as you may damage the collar used to fasten the turtleneck clamp.

Also, there is a "red dot" to indicate the telescopic stem's maximum height, do not fasten the stem beyond the recommended height as it will twist.

With stems using this adjustable height system, the handlebar tends to sway from left to right due to loosening.

One way to overcome this is to have a fixed stem. Handling is also much better with it..

I've been using my Dahon Speed P8 for five years, and the clamp tension on the handlebar's telescopic stem is something I check from time-to-time..

Sam
etigge
post Aug 20 2013, 09:43 AM

295 posts

QUOTE(samosaurus @ Aug 20 2013, 09:29 AM)

I've been using my Dahon Speed P8 for five years, and the clamp tension on the handlebar's telescopic stem is something I check from time-to-time..

Sam
Mr. Sam, Where did you get the foldable bike stand? Riding foldable bikes also means trying to get everything foldable! tongue.gif

This post has been edited by etigge: Aug 20 2013, 09:44 AM
samosaurus
post Aug 20 2013, 10:18 AM

QUOTE(etigge @ Aug 20 2013, 09:43 AM)
Mr. Sam, Where did you get the foldable bike stand? Riding foldable bikes also means trying to get everything foldable!  tongue.gif
That one is a Topeak flashstand for MTBs.. Very useful for bikes without kickstand..

This is a more "elegant" flashstand which is meant for road bikes..

Hahaha!!! My "other" hobby is collecting folding knives.. cool2.gif

Sam thumbup.gif
budgee
post Aug 20 2013, 11:54 AM

28 posts

What is your average foldable cruising speed on a level road?

For road bikes, it is normally above 30 km/hr, i think..
samosaurus
post Aug 20 2013, 12:13 PM

QUOTE(budgee @ Aug 20 2013, 11:54 AM)

Riding light? Fully loaded?

Here's my "average":

Speed P8 empty - 17km/h

Speed P8 fully loaded with panniers on both sides (average 20kgs extra weight) - 9 - 13km/h

Jetstream EX - empty on road - 15km/h

Jetstream EX - empty offroad - 8km/h

Eclipse X20 - empty/road - 25km/h

Speed P8 full loaded...

Touring ride from Slim River to Sungkai, Perak..

Riding only with a trunk bag from Kota Tinggi - Sg Rengit, Johor...

Offroading in Kampar, Perak, with our Jetstreams..

Riding from Rawang - Sekinchan - about 75km one-way offroad..

Cruising along an abandoned Tin mine near Bestari Jaya, Selangor..

Our favourite 20" bike, cranked to the max at 25km/h...

Moral of the story: the fitter you are, the better your average top-speed...

Sam
gilbertlhl
post Aug 20 2013, 12:30 PM

386 posts

I read on some forum, Don't really understand what it mean:

Do I have to pedal faster because of the smaller wheels?
No. The Swift is set up with a larger front chainring, so that the bike pedals just like a bike with large diameter wheels.

gilbertlhl
post Aug 20 2013, 12:38 PM

386 posts

QUOTE(samosaurus @ Aug 20 2013, 12:13 PM)
Riding light? Fully loaded?

Here's my "average":

Speed P8 empty - 17km/h

Speed P8 fully loaded with panniers on both sides (average 20kgs extra weight) - 9 - 13km/h

Jetstream EX - empty on road - 15km/h

Jetstream EX - empty offroad - 8km/h

Eclipse X20 - empty/road - 25km/h

Our favourite 20" bike, cranked to the max at 25km/h...

Sam
My Max speed on my hummer is 35km/h...

But for 30second only la... hahahahahah can not go d, engine to small.... sweat.gif

Sam, ur 25km/h is for how long..??
samosaurus
post Aug 20 2013, 12:42 PM

QUOTE(gilbertlhl @ Aug 20 2013, 12:30 PM)
I read on some forum, Don't really understand what it mean:

Do I have to pedal faster because of the smaller wheels?
No. The Swift is set up with a larger front chainring, so that the bike pedals just like a bike with large diameter wheels.
Its a very simple explanation on gear ratio...

For bikes with small wheels, a large chainring (50 - 52T) would give enough power transfer to the cogwheels to propel your bike.

That way, you won't lose any energy when pedaling your bike. On larger wheels (700cc, 29", 26") the bike doesn't need a large chainring (52-55T) to rotate the wheels.

On the average, you get a 50T chainring on a road bike and 46T on a mountain bike.. The only road bikes using large chainrings are Time Trial (TT) bikes..

Hope this helps..

Sam thumbup.gif
TSearl-ku
post Aug 20 2013, 01:13 PM

Chlorophiliac
4,587 posts

QUOTE(samosaurus @ Aug 20 2013, 10:18 AM)
That one is a Topeak flashstand for MTBs.. Very useful for bikes without kickstand..

This is a more "elegant" flashstand which is meant for road bikes..

Hahaha!!! My "other" hobby is collecting folding knives..  cool2.gif

Sam  thumbup.gif
Sam how much is this stand?
theotheryun
post Aug 20 2013, 01:21 PM

QUOTE(budgee @ Aug 20 2013, 11:54 AM)

QUOTE(samosaurus @ Aug 20 2013, 12:13 PM)

Sam
for not having a cyclocomputer (errr...yet sweat.gif )
i wonder whats my stats
hmm.gif
cyclocomputer is one of de last in my list (i dont even know whats de last in my own list...hehe tongue.gif )
wic end up being forgotten most of de time
but its kinda fun to know de numbers u r doing eh?
gotta get one soon biggrin.gif

actualy i wana buy knog cyclocomputer nerd
but last time i go spv subang they dont have it
i wonder if vans having them
myb in nex month shoping i guess
hehe tongue.gif

cheers
gilbertlhl
post Aug 20 2013, 01:59 PM

386 posts

QUOTE(samosaurus @ Aug 20 2013, 12:42 PM)
Its a very simple explanation on gear ratio...

For bikes with small wheels, a large chainring (50 - 52T) would give enough power transfer to the cogwheels to propel your bike.

That way, you won't lose any energy when pedaling your bike. On larger wheels (700cc, 29", 26") the bike doesn't need a large chainring (52-55T) to rotate the wheels.

On the average, you get a 50T chainring on a road bike and 46T on a mountain bike.. The only road bikes using large chainrings are Time Trial (TT) bikes..

Hope this helps..

Sam  thumbup.gif
Its mean if 20" wheel with large chainring(55T) and with the same pedaling speed, we might have same speed as 26" or 700cc??

144 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Top

0.0315sec    0.40    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 08:03 PM