144 Pages « < 52 53 54 55 56 > » Bottom

Folding Bicycles v2, Dahon, Tern, Java, Oribike, Bromptons

samosaurus
post Sep 25 2013, 05:52 PM

Well, there you have it! hahahah!!! Seefu budgee already shown you the photo..

The Eclipse P7i was quoted around RM3.8K. Based on what I saw, okay la.. Got all the good stuff on it..

Best of the lot is the Eclipse S11i, very elegant bike with excellent components.. The Shimano Alfine 11 IHG drivetrain handles like a dream!

Here's a comparison of three folding bikes: 20", 24" and 26"
Sam
budgee
post Sep 25 2013, 05:54 PM

28 posts

After I got my XDS FA-16 foldable bike for less than RM750, I find that I can just leave it for hours parked anywhere decent, that is, with people walking around, place must be lighted up at night, but I will have to lock it up chained to a fixed metal structure.

With the Tern, a far more expensive bike at about RM5k , I don't dare to leave it out of my sight, heh heh.

Some more, the XdS with its small 16inch wheels allow it to be folded much smaller and this really make it easier to carry around public areas. Usually I will push it on its wheels, much easier than the Tern because the handlebars are between the two wheels when folded and it makes it more stable.

Just enjoying the cheaper, smaller bike very much ... and of course, I do enjoy the Tern equally a lot with its superior speed and build..

This post has been edited by budgee: Sep 25 2013, 05:58 PM
samosaurus
post Sep 25 2013, 06:26 PM

QUOTE(budgee @ Sep 25 2013, 05:54 PM)
After I got my XDS FA-16 foldable bike for less than RM750, I find that I can just leave it for hours parked anywhere decent, that is, with people walking around, place must be lighted up at night, but I will have to lock it up chained to a fixed metal structure.

With the Tern, a far more expensive bike at about RM5k , I don't dare to leave it out of my sight, heh heh.

Some more, the XdS with its small 16inch wheels allow it to be folded much smaller and this really make it easier to carry around public areas.  Usually I will push it on its wheels, much easier than the Tern because the handlebars are between the two wheels when folded and it makes it more stable.
Just enjoying the cheaper, smaller bike very much ...  and of course, I do enjoy the Tern equally a lot with its superior speed and build..
Really? Your Tern cost RM5K?

Sam
etigge
post Sep 25 2013, 08:30 PM

295 posts

How do you like my new rear mirror? Compact and small. It's custom made by a local and it's available at Johnny's place ( My Bike Shop ) for RM38.

I have also requested my friend to fabricate a brake booster (similar to Avid Arch Rival 50) using 6061 aluminium. It was supposed to have lightening holes but according to him the water jet cutting is calculated by inches! rclxub.gif So, he omitted the holes. I painted it and also installed it onto my bike and it really does feel different. Braking is more sure! They secure the bosses in place which tend to flex outwards when the brake is applied. The
booster adds extra rigidity to the seat stays/forks.

theotheryun
post Sep 25 2013, 09:12 PM

QUOTE(etigge @ Sep 25 2013, 08:30 PM)
How do you like my new rear mirror? Compact and small. It's custom made by a local and it's available at Johnny's place  ( My Bike Shop ) for RM38.

I have also requested my friend to fabricate a brake booster (similar to Avid Arch Rival 50) using 6061 aluminium. It was supposed to have lightening holes but according to him the water jet cutting is calculated by inches!  rclxub.gif  So, he omitted the holes. I painted it and also installed it onto my bike and it really does feel different. Braking is more sure!  They secure the bosses in place which tend to flex outwards when the brake is applied. The
booster adds extra rigidity to the seat stays/forks.

i saw at johnys fb n planning to get a pair for mysef tongue.gif
i broke my diy mirror in last trip

uuu
water jet eh shocking.gif
nice!
i tink u shud drill de holes ursef tongue.gif
hehe
but still good without de holes anyway thumbup.gif
adriankhoo
u shud fit this brake booster too
as u doin lotsof offroad
n oso look cooler when fit front n rear thumbup.gif
i bet ur ugo will look tougher flex.gif
n oso acting as otometik mud scrapper!
am i rite etigge?
hehe
myak9
post Sep 25 2013, 10:34 PM

there's a dahon mu uno for sale...
any of you guys wanted to join me...

http://bicyclebuysell.com/view_item.php?id=218527
adriankhoo153
post Sep 26 2013, 08:15 AM

So many star for what?
4,808 posts

QUOTE(theotheryun @ Sep 25 2013, 09:12 PM)
i saw at johnys fb n planning to get a pair for mysef tongue.gif
i broke my diy mirror in last trip

uuu
water jet eh shocking.gif
nice!
i tink u shud drill de holes ursef tongue.gif
hehe
but still good without de holes anyway thumbup.gif
adriankhoo
u shud fit this brake booster too
as u doin lotsof offroad
n oso look cooler when fit front n rear  thumbup.gif
i bet ur ugo will look tougher flex.gif
n oso acting as otometik mud scrapper!
am i rite etigge?
hehe
I duno but it looks like it will get much more mud stuck in between the v brakes and the booster. hmm.gif
adriankhoo153
post Sep 26 2013, 08:20 AM

So many star for what?
4,808 posts

Yesterday offroad pictar biggrin.gif

etigge
post Sep 26 2013, 08:36 AM

295 posts

QUOTE(adriankhoo153 @ Sep 26 2013, 08:20 AM)
Yesterday offroad pictar  biggrin.gif
When we say off roading on a foldie, we meant simple off road trails like when go cycling and have to pass some laterite or off road trails. It doesn't mean full technical off roading. I think you better sell off your Raleigh Ugo (not to Low Yat forummers anyway as we all know where you ride your bike tongue.gif ) and maybe get a RM700 basic XDS for your riding preference. That's before you break you hurt yourself when the foldie breaks into two. biggrin.gif I mean the folding bike will first gets loose and the frame wobbling and you still won't notice it when you are riding and then at that condition, when the frame gives up, no helmet is going to prevent injury. Seriously! icon_rolleyes.gif
adriankhoo153
post Sep 26 2013, 09:15 AM

So many star for what?
4,808 posts

QUOTE(etigge @ Sep 26 2013, 08:36 AM)
When we say off roading on a foldie, we meant simple off road trails like when go cycling and have to pass some laterite or off road trails. It doesn't mean full technical off roading. I think you better sell off your Raleigh Ugo (not to Low Yat forummers anyway as we all know where you ride your bike tongue.gif  ) and maybe get a RM700 basic XDS for your riding preference. That's before you break you hurt yourself when the foldie breaks into two.  biggrin.gif  I mean the folding bike will first gets loose and the frame wobbling and you still won't notice it when you are riding and then at that condition, when the frame gives up, no helmet is going to prevent injury. Seriously! icon_rolleyes.gif
Haha, no worries bro.. If the trail get too technical, I will jes push the bike.
My offroad is kinda light one. laugh.gif
myak9
post Sep 26 2013, 10:20 AM

any scheduled on foldie rides in penang these few weeks...
would want to ride...

and ...

do you guys know where can get sram automatix 2 with coaster brake...
penang bike shops said they can't get it...

samosaurus
post Sep 26 2013, 10:21 AM

Brake boosters! Wow! Master Wong, you never cease to amaze me! smile.gif

Haha, no worries bro.. If the trail get too technical, I will jes push the bike.
My offroad is kinda light one.

Dude, I have plenty of respect and admiration for you and your style. Enjoying your bike to the fullest! That's the way it is!

Someday, you might end up with a Scandium frame Pacific Reach and take your offroad experience to a higher level!

To put it simply, what you've shown here in your pictures are trail rides.. To go fully technical on offroad, your UGO may be damaged..

That said, +1 for your spirit and enthusiasm! Keep on Rockin' bro! thumbup.gif

Sam thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by samosaurus: Sep 26 2013, 10:25 AM
samosaurus
post Sep 26 2013, 10:24 AM

do you guys know where can get sram automatix 2 with coaster brake...
penang bike shops said they can't get it...

GH Cycles is the distributor for SRAM products in Malaysia... Call them at 03-6038 3703 and ask if they can help...

Sam thumbup.gif
adriankhoo153
post Sep 26 2013, 10:36 AM

So many star for what?
4,808 posts

QUOTE(samosaurus @ Sep 26 2013, 10:21 AM)
Brake boosters! Wow! Master Wong, you never cease to amaze me! smile.gif
Dude, I have plenty of respect and admiration for you and your style. Enjoying your bike to the fullest! That's the way it is!

Someday, you might end up with a Scandium frame Pacific Reach and take your offroad experience to a higher level!

To put it simply, what you've shown here in your pictures are trail rides.. To go fully technical on offroad, your UGO may be damaged..

That said, +1 for your spirit and enthusiasm! Keep on Rockin' bro! thumbup.gif

SamĀ  thumbup.gif
Thanks bro.. That's y I refrain from going too technical like those single trail (I have been to one and broke my bottle cage due to constant vibration:P).
Not those kota damansara, bkt kiara kind of thingie for sure. If the foldie didn't break, my balls might break. laugh.gif
Of course I know the limitation of the foldies hence I really need to execute it carefully and I believe our foldie aint that fragile. tongue.gif
A lil abuse here and there wont break the foldies.
Lastly, I always tell my mtb fren, if getting too technical, then mah push or foldup and carry lah. biggrin.gif
Again, thanks for the encouragement.

This post has been edited by adriankhoo153: Sep 26 2013, 10:38 AM
samosaurus
post Sep 26 2013, 10:54 AM

QUOTE(adriankhoo153 @ Sep 26 2013, 10:36 AM)
Thanks bro.. That's y I refrain from going too technical like those single trail (I have been to one and broke my bottle cage due to constant vibration:P).
Not those kota damansara, bkt kiara kind of thingie for sure. If the foldie didn't break, my balls might break.  laugh.gif
Of course I know the limitation of the foldies hence I really need to execute it carefully and I believe our foldie aint that fragile.  tongue.gif
A lil abuse here and there wont break the foldies.
Lastly, I always tell my mtb fren, if getting too technical,  then mah push or foldup and carry lah.  biggrin.gif
Again, thanks for the encouragement.
Dude,

I am a sucker for exploration rides.. I've been to some rides where most folding bike owners would consider it as "taboo"...

In the true spirit of getting out there and ride, I pick my "weapon of choice" which is a full-suspension bike. Its comfy and able to handle the rough and as I also picked up from Master Wong with his Maxxis DTH tires. Now, our full-suspension foldies are meant for 100% trail and offroad rides..

You would appreciate the suspension on such bumpy trails..

Rides like these makes my day!

This couple inspired us to do plenty of trail riding especially along offroad sections..

I guess that at the end of the day, you gain more experience out there riding than procastinating in front of your computer screen.. rclxms.gif

Sam thumbup.gif
myak9
post Sep 26 2013, 11:07 AM

QUOTE(samosaurus @ Sep 26 2013, 10:24 AM)
GH Cycles is the distributor for SRAM products in Malaysia... Call them at 03-6038 3703 and ask if they can help...

Sam thumbup.gif
thanks bro...

adriankhoo153
post Sep 26 2013, 11:26 AM

So many star for what?
4,808 posts

QUOTE(samosaurus @ Sep 26 2013, 10:54 AM)
Dude,

I am a sucker for exploration rides.. I've been to some rides where most folding bike owners would consider it as "taboo"...

In the true spirit of getting out there and ride, I pick my "weapon of choice" which is a full-suspension bike. Its comfy and able to handle the rough and as I also picked up from Master Wong with his Maxxis DTH tires. Now, our full-suspension foldies are meant for 100% trail and offroad rides..

This couple inspired us to do plenty of trail riding especially along offroad sections..

I guess that at the end of the day, you gain more experience out there riding than procastinating in front of your computer screen..  rclxms.gif

Sam  thumbup.gif
The last pic is damn beautiful. thumbup.gif
Where on earth is that place?
Of course a full sus like your Jetstream will be a better choice but the price is killing. tongue.gif
Hence my body, leg and hand became my shock asorbing. doh.gif
adriankhoo153
post Sep 26 2013, 11:32 AM

So many star for what?
4,808 posts

This photo was taken yesterday too by another offroad foldie buddies. He is using Dahon Vybe

This post has been edited by adriankhoo153: Sep 26 2013, 11:33 AM
etigge
post Sep 26 2013, 12:13 PM

295 posts

QUOTE(samosaurus @ Sep 26 2013, 10:54 AM)
Dude,

I guess that at the end of the day, you gain more experience out there riding than procastinating in front of your computer screen..  rclxms.gif

Sam  thumbup.gif
thumbup.gif thumbup.gif Damn!! This are really NICE rides. Can we do it one day?
Halia
post Sep 26 2013, 12:27 PM

49 posts

[/quote]

Litespeed Mtb, very nice

144 Pages « < 52 53 54 55 56 > » Top

0.0316sec    0.32    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 08:59 AM