etigge
post Sep 24 2013, 10:08 PM

295 posts

QUOTE(H2D @ Sep 24 2013, 03:31 PM)
bro r u in the spray painting biz?
ur bikes changes colour like nail polish,,,,  rclxms.gif
the blue one looks nice oso..  biggrin.gif
You are observant! Very tongue.gif Actually it's my daughter's Speed P8 or rather a Speed P27 now. tongue.gif Since it's hanging in the store for so long, I took it down and stripped everything and I noticed some rust on the frame near the bike stand. Might as well, respray the bike again. Just like reformatting a PC. I prefer to do that. icon_rolleyes.gif
etigge
post Sep 24 2013, 10:11 PM

295 posts

QUOTE(mbax @ Sep 24 2013, 08:23 PM)
FKR=bolehland tyre.. look like new but erm err  erm errr
Fung Keong Rubber (FKR) is actually quite reputable! Don't look down on it. While other users in other countries praises it, we on the other hand prefers to pay 4 times more for a Schwalbe which ironically made in India or Indonesia. rclxub.gif
jasperchai
post Sep 24 2013, 11:19 PM

361 posts

QUOTE(theotheryun @ Sep 24 2013, 08:16 PM)
yah. yellow bike is me. tongue.gif
chow after the river ride cos got things to do n rush back using lrt pasar seni. din even follow to brickfields.
jasperchai
post Sep 24 2013, 11:21 PM

361 posts

QUOTE(etigge @ Sep 24 2013, 10:08 PM)
You are observant! Very  tongue.gif  Actually it's my daughter's Speed P8 or rather a Speed  P27 now. tongue.gif Since it's hanging in the store for so long, I took it down and stripped everything and I noticed some rust on the frame near the bike stand. Might as well, respray the bike again. Just like reformatting a PC. I prefer to do that.  icon_rolleyes.gif
can u plz provide some tips on spraying the bike? using those can spray paint or those air brush paint better?
etigge
post Sep 25 2013, 12:05 AM

295 posts

QUOTE(jasperchai @ Sep 24 2013, 11:21 PM)
can u plz provide some tips on spraying the bike? using those can spray paint or those air brush paint better?
I stripped the whole bike till bare frame and took out the headset as well. So, there's 2 pat to paint, the fork and the frame. I use Pye paint remover and strip the paint part by part. You have to do part by part because if you do he whole frame all at once, it's messy! rclxub.gif First, brush on some paint remover onto the chain stay. Then after a while, you see the paint blisters and then while under running water brush the paint with wire brush until you clean the part. Only bare metal is seen. Not even a do of paint left. Then go to the next chainstay, then to the seat tube etc.etc.

Once the whole frame is bare metal, use 1000 grit sandpaper and sand the whole frame plus fork. Hang it with wire. Use a clean rag and wipe dry, really dry. Clean the whole frame with thinner again or degreaser to cleanse any oil from our hands. Thinner would be fine though. Spray a thin layer of undercoat or base coat. Silver or white colour is best. thumbup.gif Spray a few more thin layers until you finish the whole can. When the can is almost finish, don't use it anymore as pressure is decrease, it will splurt big blobs of paint onto your frame. Don't try to save paint. Throw away the can even if it still has paint! nod.gif HAng it to dry till tomorrow.

Once completely dry, use 1500 grit sandpaper and wet it and lightly sand the whole frame again. See if there's uneven paint and try to sand it away. Any defect can still be corrected at this stage. Once the colour is sprayed it's tougher. So be careful on the next stage. Once satisfied, wash clean and then dry it. The spray your desired colour, CAREFULLY! Best to do a few thin layers. Leave it to dry again When it is dry, usually a few hours, spray clear lacquer and finish the whole can as well. The thicker the better. Leave for the whole day.

The next day, use Soft 99 polish and polish till shiny! rclxms.gif Then assemble you bike back! If yours is a folding bike, you need to dis-assemble the pins and levers too. The inside of the joint is the first to be painted. Spray first layer then second layer and then use a hair dryer to dry it. Once dry straighten the frame but don't clasp it all. Then work on the outside.

You can use air brush but air brush is too small volume and it will take ages! rclxub.gif

PS/ Spray cans are not really durable and you have to be really careful. It's not as durable as the original factory paint. Happy trying!
micdy
post Sep 25 2013, 12:29 AM

406 posts

Hey guys, I am looking for tern bikes.. where can I get them in KL? please let me know. Thank you.
oracle
post Sep 25 2013, 07:46 AM

300 posts

QUOTE(micdy @ Sep 25 2013, 12:29 AM)
Hey guys, I am looking for tern bikes.. where can I get them in KL? please let me know. Thank you.
You can check with Johnny @MBS or Van's for Tern bikes. I got mine from Johnny.
valkyrie1232
post Sep 25 2013, 10:04 AM

721 posts

*after reading Etigge's post on stripping off paint*

rclxub.gif rclxub.gif rclxub.gif rclxub.gif

Etigge, why don't you open a bike pro shop already? biggrin.gif
mbax
post Sep 25 2013, 01:51 PM

66 posts

QUOTE(etigge @ Sep 24 2013, 10:11 PM)
Fung Keong Rubber (FKR) is actually quite reputable! Don't look down on it. While other users in other countries praises it, we on the other hand prefers to pay 4 times more for a Schwalbe which ironically made in India or Indonesia. rclxub.gif
yes it is good no doubt, i use FKR mostly on my motorcycle from day 1. but that one in the shop err dont know ho long it been there so better skip. rclxub.gif rclxub.gif

waah you are really master! use to do that when we are in school strip down our basikal mini, only left part that require special tool (headset, bb, chain) then sand it like mad to remove the old paint (kampung maa, dunno what is paint remover) then spray white as base coat wait till dry, then sand again with sand paper until smooth, redo again for part taht have error until you feel satisfy. then spray on the color that you like (that time mostly it will bright fluro color you can see it 1km away:lol: laugh.gif) than put the bike back together minus the fenders, front basket, rear carrier, chain cover, change normal handle to shorter one... walla old bike become new bike cool2.gif cool2.gif that was the ol good time but most of it end up being sold as scrap metal as we move on to motorcycle doh.gif doh.gif .
jasperchai
post Sep 25 2013, 02:50 PM

361 posts

QUOTE(etigge @ Sep 25 2013, 12:05 AM)
wahhh rclxub.gif rclxub.gif

QUOTE(valkyrie1232 @ Sep 25 2013, 10:04 AM)
i agree... hahaha..
etigge
post Sep 25 2013, 03:03 PM

295 posts

QUOTE(jasperchai @ Sep 25 2013, 02:50 PM)
wahhh  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif
i agree... hahaha..
Come, bring me your bike. I will do it for you for RM250 plus all the servicing and greasing. Choose any color you desire. tongue.gif I need 3 days to finish it.

Klang valley very hard to start bike shop lah! Everyone prefers nice looking shops like FB and Vans or GW Cycle even knowing that they cost one more arm and leg for the same thing. Moreover, beginners tend to lean to these shops thinking they are better. blush.gif 80 percent of the business depends on beginners anyway. I also seen another customer who took back a bike because the headset is loose and the shop can only say, " we don't know how to repair!!! shocking.gif ". But they still flock to the shop because it's air conditioned. Hahahaha.

samosaurus
post Sep 25 2013, 03:39 PM

QUOTE(micdy @ Sep 25 2013, 12:29 AM)
Which Tern?

Sam
theotheryun
post Sep 25 2013, 03:44 PM

QUOTE(etigge @ Sep 25 2013, 03:03 PM)
Come, bring me your bike. I will do it for you for RM250 plus all the servicing and greasing. Choose any color you desire.  tongue.gif I need 3 days to finish it.

Klang valley very hard to start bike shop lah! Everyone prefers nice looking shops like FB and Vans or GW Cycle even knowing that they cost one more arm and leg for the same thing. Moreover, beginners tend to lean to these shops thinking they are better.  blush.gif  80 percent of the business depends on beginners anyway.  I also seen another customer who took back a bike because the headset is loose and the shop can only say, " we don't know how to repair!!!  shocking.gif ". But they still flock to the shop because it's air conditioned. Hahahaha.
ah
dis is super!
will come to u to paint my bike tongue.gif
hopefully after i get my front fork done
hehe
kcwo
post Sep 25 2013, 03:47 PM

93 posts

Come, bring me your bike. I will do it for you for RM250 plus all the servicing and greasing. Choose any color you desire.  tongue.gif I need 3 days to finish it.

Klang valley very hard to start bike shop lah! Everyone prefers nice looking shops like FB and Vans or GW Cycle even knowing that they cost one more arm and leg for the same thing. Moreover, beginners tend to lean to these shops thinking they are better.  blush.gif  80 percent of the business depends on beginners anyway.  I also seen another customer who took back a bike because the headset is loose and the shop can only say, " we don't know how to repair!!!  shocking.gif ". But they still flock to the shop because it's air conditioned. Hahahaha.
Ettige, with your experience and know how on folding bike, you can do customize biz. Custom make the bike according to customer requirement and favour. Enjoy and profitable. Beginner like me still haven't find the right folding bike. Still searching around. rclxub.gif
samosaurus
post Sep 25 2013, 03:49 PM

You've got the admirable skills & you cycle.. All you need is guts and investors. Then you are in business.

All the bikestores mentioned: They have one thing in common: "image".

You may not need to know the inner workings of a bike, just pave it with money and the service mechanics will come.

FBT for example, knows how to manipulate the electronic, print and digital media, ever willing to come in front of the camera and sell... So much so, they kena whack by some ultra extremist blogger for showing lewd signs and had to apologize.. Read about it here..

GWC - Started as a shop selling junk bicycles. Realized there is a niche in modifying bikes and took a bold step to be the agent for Pacific Cycles after the previous distributor gave up...

Van's - A year old, supposed to be FBT franchisee, decided to go on their own, very aggressive and seems to be doing very well. Just be careful of their tech by the name of "Y.C", a prick who knows next to nothing..

Beginners market is easy to tap now that folding bikes are well-known and readily accepted.. But I think the interest will wane in a year or two when there are noting really exciting in the offing..

Sam
micdy
post Sep 25 2013, 03:54 PM

406 posts

QUOTE(samosaurus @ Sep 25 2013, 03:39 PM)
Which Tern?

Sam
I am looking for the Eclipse P9..
samosaurus
post Sep 25 2013, 04:06 PM

Right now, no Eclipse P9..

The only models readily available are the Eclipse S11i and P7i (this one like village bicycle because it was a demo bike) at the Rodalink in Bandar Botanic, Klang.. You can call 603-33259403, ask for EK, the store supervisor..

From what I was told, the remainder of the Eclipse P9 (produced in the last quarter of 2013) would only be sold in 2014, maybe in the second quarter...

Sam
micdy
post Sep 25 2013, 04:26 PM

406 posts

QUOTE(samosaurus @ Sep 25 2013, 04:06 PM)
Right now, no Eclipse P9..

The only models readily available are the Eclipse S11i and P7i (this one like village bicycle because it was a demo bike) at the Rodalink in Bandar Botanic, Klang.. You can call 603-33259403, ask for EK, the store supervisor..

From what I was told, the remainder of the Eclipse P9 (produced in the last quarter of 2013) would only be sold in 2014, maybe in the second quarter...

Sam
Thanks for the reply. How much would the p7i and s11i cost? Also what are difference between them apart from weight?
budgee
post Sep 25 2013, 04:38 PM

28 posts

QUOTE(micdy @ Sep 25 2013, 04:26 PM)
Thanks for the reply. How much would the p7i and s11i cost? Also what are difference between them apart from weight?
The Tern Eclipse S11i is a beautiful bike, with its clean internal gears, enclosed chain and disc brakes. Got its dynamo hub in front too. You have to check its total weight, though. Details can be found at Tern's website.
http://www.ternbicycles.com/bikes/eclipse-s11i
Pictured here at RM6,160 during the rodalink sale, which I think is over. So the price is back to normal.

This post has been edited by budgee: Sep 25 2013, 05:00 PM

144 Pages « < 51 52 53 54 55 > » Top

0.0232sec    0.51    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 02:05 PM