Samsung Galaxy Note III - Official V1, 3rd Gen of the original Phablet !!

SUSgogo2
post Sep 10 2013, 02:27 PM

gogo2
18,672 posts

QUOTE(xproc @ Sep 10 2013, 02:25 PM)
is it just me or other will think of this... since ram is designed long time ago because processor read at ram faster than read at spinning harddisk (pc era)....

since nowadays all mobile phones all using flashed based chip storage, why they dont skip all over the ram thing, directly read at the storage chips, does it makes sense?

Instead of
processor (SoC, 1.7gHz) <> ram (2gb) <> storage (8/16/32gb)

how about
processor (SoC, 1.3 gHz) <> flashed based ram/storage (8/16/32gb)

then no more lag things happens lor... samsung is hardware maker, i root on then to do this, or maybe qualcomm or apple or intel or nvidia or amd can do this also...
RAM run at multiple of bus speed. Flash chip still slower than RAM. Also, I believe that this will prolong the life of flash chip.

This post has been edited by gogo2: Sep 10 2013, 02:28 PM
antt00
post Sep 10 2013, 02:28 PM

RescuE
10,873 posts

Fact is. Android OS itself is very optimise for smoothness. Anyone using aosp rom before will know. Its TW itself that's not smooth cos it have alot more functions than plain android. Frankly i dun think its even related to RAM. It's the TW framework itself. My note 2 is only using 0.8/2 GB ram and it's not even smooth as aosp using the same amount of ram.

And there is no reason to debate on why samsung is giving 3gb. They are and there is nothing we can do about it so just take it. They have their reason either its a neccesity or just to help sales its up to them.

And i dun see the more RAM helping in any game. I would say atm, cpu speed is more of the limiting factor rather than ram when running very high intense game.
un_id

music is soul's food
7,106 posts

QUOTE(gogo2 @ Sep 10 2013, 02:23 PM)
Maybe its just boiled down to Android OS. It just refuse to execute TW UI when doing other things. Thus, more cores are need and Kitkat need to take advantage is 8 MP.
i highlighted the keyword of the day. tongue.gif

TW is very fancy, with many features as well which is great, but due to that it requires more processing power.. Samsung realizes that, thus 3gb RAM for us in Note 3..

Direct comparison.. HTC One on Sense 5 is way smoother than XZU UI, eventho XZU having S800. Both same 2gb RAM..

again, the keyword. laugh.gif
TSjoytest

Vox populi vox dei? Quot homines,tot sententiae
13,188 posts

is it just me or other will think of this... since ram is designed long time ago because processor read at ram faster than read at spinning harddisk (pc era)....

since nowadays all mobile phones all using flashed based chip storage, why they dont skip all over the ram thing, directly read at the storage chips, does it makes sense?

Instead of

how about
processor (SoC, 1.3 gHz) <> flashed based ram/storage (8/16/32gb)

then no more lag things happens lor... samsung is hardware maker, i root on then to do this, or maybe qualcomm or apple or intel or nvidia or amd can do this also...
The RAM is a table to do the work you bring out of your cabinet (storage). I think this is called Von Neumann architecture iinm. I could be wrong since it's a long time ago.

Nobody has been able to produce nanosecond access storage cheaply enough so we are still stuck with multi tier access.
Andrewtst

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,764 posts

QUOTE(joytest @ Sep 10 2013, 02:23 PM)
We are holding computers, not phones anymore.  More RAM is ALWAYS a good thing to reduce paging. Why are in memory accelerators all the rage in enterprise database and application software??

More RAM lets you do more. Do not ever think you are using a phone to browse. It is a computer that uses your phone radio as a modem only.
100% agree you on this. Nowadays phone is like computer and act like computer.

All site we browse is heavy, and a lot user include me love to open as many tabs as it can.

My browsing tab never less than 10 in once.
un_id
post Sep 10 2013, 02:30 PM

music is soul's food
7,106 posts

QUOTE(antt00 @ Sep 10 2013, 02:28 PM)
Fact is. Android OS itself is very optimise for smoothness. Anyone using aosp rom before will know. Its TW itself that's not smooth cos it have alot more functions than plain android. Frankly i dun think its even related to RAM. It's the TW framework itself. My note 2 is only using 0.8/2 GB ram and it's not even smooth as aosp using the same amount of ram.

And there is no reason to debate on why samsung is giving 3gb. They are and there is nothing we can do about it so just take it. They have their reason either its a neccesity or just to help sales its up to them.

And i dun see the more RAM helping in any game. I would say atm, cpu speed is more of the limiting factor rather than ram when running very high intense game.
Never blame it to Android or Google, i think they have done good job to Android.. See Nexus lineage, using plain vanilla Android, less problem and smoother..

Again, the keyword is the personalised manufacturer UI
TSjoytest
post Sep 10 2013, 02:31 PM

13,188 posts

QUOTE(un_id @ Sep 10 2013, 02:28 PM)
i highlighted the keyword of the day.  tongue.gif

TW is very fancy, with many features as well which is great, but due to that it requires more processing power.. Samsung realizes that, thus 3gb RAM for us in Note 3..

Direct comparison.. HTC One on Sense 5 is way smoother than XZU UI, eventho XZU having S800. Both same 2gb RAM..

again, the keyword.  laugh.gif
In a sense yes but I suspevt that some features of tw causes what is called a "block" in Android, resulting in a "wait state" therefore it lags while waiting for the block to release.

This is a programming optimization problem.
WiLyi
post Sep 10 2013, 02:31 PM

@Ndr()iD fL@$hiNg M@n|ac
4,554 posts

I really don't understand, Note 3 is not even released nor available, yet there are so many bashing, if not because of the faux leather then about the UI.

Some people will buy a device for the hardware sake of future proof, some will buy it for the features and performance, and some will strike a balance in between. If there is a particular device that doesn't suits you then just stay away from it. I don't like i-devices therefore I have never bother to keep track on the news or lurk around the threads for the i-devices, because I don't even care about it.

If someone come and bash this and that I can only come out with 2 reasons, is either they are jealous that their favorite brand doesn't offer what another brand offered. Or the second reason could just be they wanted this device so badly.

Personally I used before HTC, Samsung and even LG and although I prefer HTC Sense UI over the other 2, but the overall performance, usability and features of Samsung beat the rest of it, especially with the Note series. So my advice to those who keep bashing on which device is better than which, is either you stay away from the device that you dislike, or you go and do your research and find a way to resolve the minor issue you have with the device (for god sake, there are plenty of solutions available which is free)

This post has been edited by WiLyi: Sep 10 2013, 02:33 PM
Baronic
post Sep 10 2013, 02:32 PM

Problem?
7,533 posts

Instead of

how about
processor (SoC, 1.3 gHz) <> flashed based ram/storage (16/32gb)

then no more lag things happens lor... samsung is hardware maker, i root on them to do this, or maybe qualcomm or apple or intel or nvidia or amd can do this also...
This

http://www.storagesearch.com/ssd-ram-v-flash.html

alexng2208
post Sep 10 2013, 02:33 PM

Why my warn is 0%? i miss my high warn
4,789 posts

QUOTE(joytest @ Sep 10 2013, 02:23 PM)
We are holding computers, not phones anymore.  More RAM is ALWAYS a good thing to reduce paging. Why are in memory accelerators all the rage in enterprise database and application software??

More RAM lets you do more. Do not ever think you are using a phone to browse. It is a computer that uses your phone radio as a modem only.
i think this is it
AOSP on note 2 is smoother and could also be due to the fact that the ROM is a slim slim 150-160 mb.
TW ranges from 500+ (for the slim builds) to a full GB for those feature filled ones. hence i think that it would take that fraction of a second longer to "read" all the files during usage. hence the drag.

RAM is good, but i think, storage is even the better. swapping out to an SSD did wonders for my mac back then. the difference in loading speed is night and day. i torrent on it, and usage as per normal but no major lags or spinning balls. hence i believe the latest eMMC chips that are faster would also do wonders together with the extra 50% of RAM compared to its peers.
TSjoytest
post Sep 10 2013, 02:35 PM

13,188 posts

Omg this thread will bust 2500 in the next few hours... I will only be home around 11pm.

Hang in there guys and gals.
antt00
post Sep 10 2013, 02:36 PM

RescuE
10,873 posts

QUOTE(alexng2208 @ Sep 10 2013, 02:33 PM)
i think this is it
AOSP on note 2 is smoother and could also be due to the fact that the ROM is a slim slim 150-160 mb.
TW ranges from 500+ (for the slim builds) to a full GB for those feature filled ones. hence i think that it would take that fraction of a second longer to "read" all the files during usage. hence the drag.

RAM is good, but i think, storage is even the better. swapping out to an SSD did wonders for my mac back then. the difference in loading speed is night and day. i torrent on it, and usage as per normal but no major lags or spinning balls. hence i believe the latest eMMC chips that are faster would also do wonders together with the extra 50% of RAM compared to its peers.
Good point. I hope joytest reference that our phones are like computers dun drag someone else here. rolleyes.gif
antt00

RescuE
10,873 posts

QUOTE(joytest @ Sep 10 2013, 02:35 PM)
Omg this thread will bust 2500 in the next few hours... I will only be home around 11pm.

No we are kicking you out and make all mighty alexng2208 the new TS.
Hianz

142 posts

the technology is changing every minute..

I used to see many people always commented why 2G or 3G or quad core or octa core are needed due to no application is available yet or no dev team to support..??!!

don't you see the technology pace is fast and non stoppable..??

some one has to take the lead and initiative to launch the new technology hence the dev team can only be worked from there and new software or application can be developed for now and future..

otherwise the technology will be stagnant forever..
SUSdestEX
post Sep 10 2013, 02:38 PM

oink oink
3,432 posts

another philosophical thing i wanna point out is:

When ipong came out 3.5" they INSIST it is the perfect screen size, but 99% of their users are in denial and they know they want larger screens when samseng comes out with it and they were amazed by it. Hence that's what drives technological advancements, human desires.

Another would be the video recording, when 1080P was introduced, haters go around saying why u need so clear video recording for? but 1 year later 1080p became a staple video resolution and now we again received the same comments when 4kUHD was introduced.

So the same thing is with the RAM, haters now comment why you need so much RAM for? samseng sucks a lot ram? etc etc but next year other phone is gonna go 3GB too, so why the fuss?

Only those that embrace technological advancement will appreciate it. If you don't then you're no different from the kampung people that wants to maintain in their own comfort zone and never changing way of life. but do realize the world will keep advancing even if you don't and one day you'll find yourself out of touch.
un_id
post Sep 10 2013, 02:39 PM

music is soul's food
7,106 posts

QUOTE(WiLyi @ Sep 10 2013, 02:31 PM)
I really don't understand, Note 3 is not even released nor available, yet there are so many bashing, if not because of the faux leather then about the UI.

Some people will buy a device for the hardware sake of future proof, some will buy it for the features and performance, and some will strike a balance in between. If there is a particular device that doesn't suits you then just stay away from it. I don't like i-devices therefore I have never bother to keep track on the news or lurk around the threads for the i-devices, because I don't even care about it.

If someone come and bash this and that I can only come out with 2 reasons, is either they are jealous that their favorite brand doesn't offer what another brand offered. Or the second reason could just be they wanted this device so badly.

Personally I used before HTC, Samsung and even LG and although I prefer HTC Sense UI over the other 2, but the overall performance, usability and features of Samsung beat the rest of it, especially with the Note series. So my advice to those who keep bashing on which device is better than which, is either you stay away from the device that you dislike, or you go and do your research and find a way to resolve the minor issue you have with the device (for god sake, there are plenty of solutions available which is free)
i have to agree with you.. haha..

more important is, user first hands experience.. until we really experience Note 3 in hands, it is just a spec sheet.
Cynox
post Sep 10 2013, 02:41 PM

Back to AMD camp!!!
5,362 posts

QUOTE(WiLyi @ Sep 10 2013, 02:31 PM)

haha.... can't agree more. why bother come here bashing here and there - we are "brainwashed" by Samsung anyway, can only see the Note III is so PERFECT!!! tongue.gif

Btw, miss out one good thing about Iphone - its UI is more intuitive, more suitable for novice smartphone user. No, I am not saying those Iphone users are novice, I am just saying its UI is very easy to get familiar with. Android is more for power users who want to do customisations to their phones. Few of my friends/colleagues who were Iphone users bought the S3 but complain it is "hard" to use - need to do a lot of settings. I think 2 of them change back to Iphone 5 after it was released, both are ladies. biggrin.gif
mudkipryan94
post Sep 10 2013, 02:41 PM

someone need a sarcasm meter?
12,000 posts

QUOTE(antt00 @ Sep 10 2013, 02:36 PM)
Andrewtst better than our alexng la..
alexng2208
post Sep 10 2013, 02:43 PM

Why my warn is 0%? i miss my high warn
4,789 posts

QUOTE(antt00 @ Sep 10 2013, 02:36 PM)
i duwan
i'll just leave the first page blank and attach samsung sales people faces

QUOTE(Hianz @ Sep 10 2013, 02:36 PM)
the technology is changing every minute..

I used to see many people always commented why 2G or 3G or quad core or octa core are needed due to no application is available yet or no dev team to support..??!!

don't you see the technology pace is fast and non stoppable..??

some one has to take the lead and initiative to launch the new technology hence the dev team can only be worked from there and new software or application can be developed for now and future..

otherwise the technology will be stagnant forever..
i agree. those haters are something. 4K = complain. this complain that complain. but they don't know how much Apple / HTC depend on samsung and its subsidiaries to produce their chips and memory stuff.
the forefront of tech will always be samsung, NOT apple (what has apple innovated and manufactured in their own factory?)
hence, why keep bashing samsung for having things that work
QUOTE(destEX @ Sep 10 2013, 02:38 PM)
another philosophical thing i wanna point out is:

When ipong came out 3.5" they INSIST it is the perfect screen size, but 99% of their users are in denial and they know they want larger screens when samseng comes out with it and they were amazed by it. Hence that's what drives technological advancements, human desires.

Another would be the video recording, when 1080P was introduced, haters go around saying why u need so clear video recording for? but 1 year later 1080p became a staple video resolution and now we again received the same comments when 4kUHD was introduced.

So the same thing is with the RAM, haters now comment why you need so much RAM for? samseng sucks a lot ram? etc etc but next year other phone is gonna go 3GB too, so why the fuss?

Only those that embrace technological advancement will appreciate it. If you don't then you're no different from the kampung people that wants to maintain in their own comfort zone and never changing way of life. but do realize the world will keep advancing even if you don't and one day you'll find yourself out of touch.
SUSgogo2
post Sep 10 2013, 02:43 PM

gogo2
18,672 posts

QUOTE(joytest @ Sep 10 2013, 02:35 PM)

calling @Andrewtst

Just kidding. rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by gogo2: Sep 10 2013, 02:43 PM

126 Pages « < 122 123 124 125 126 >Top

0.0269sec    0.28    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 06:25 PM