17 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

Why driving a safe car makes sense

dares
post Jul 24 2013, 07:41 PM

834 posts

QUOTE(darkdevilrey @ Jul 24 2013, 07:27 PM)
If you have to die, you have to, because GOD want you to.
I see. Pls go an sleep on the middle lane of the PLUS highway for one night and see if you survive tomorrow morning.

If you die, don't feel bad because GOD wanted you to.
butthead
post Jul 24 2013, 07:41 PM

593 posts

there is always two sides to this... on a good side... everyone is safer because the cars are safer...

on the bad side...human beings are known to compensate for risks... so, when a subject is given knowledge that they are driving something safer.. they might think they have more buffer and start inducing in more risk than they would have in driving a car less safe...

and if this does happen... yes, the statistics might show less fatality in total but it might also possibly show an increase on accidents due to more risk taken (being it driving faster or multitasking while driving... etc)

so, good and bad... always do not take things for granted is the best advice... as the old people says.. buying you a superman cape does not make you a superman..
dares
post Jul 24 2013, 07:51 PM

834 posts

QUOTE(butthead @ Jul 24 2013, 07:41 PM)
there is always two sides to this... on a good side... everyone is safer because the cars are safer...

on the bad side...human beings are known to compensate for risks... so, when a subject is given knowledge that they are driving something safer.. they might think they have more buffer and start inducing in more risk than they would have in driving a car less safe...

and if this does happen... yes, the statistics might show less fatality in total but it might also possibly show an increase on accidents due to more risk taken (being it driving faster or multitasking while driving... etc)

so, good and bad... always do not take things for granted is the best advice... as the old people says.. buying you a superman cape does not make you a superman..
Risk Compensation theory

As more technology is developed to keep the roads safe, the weakest link has become the driver.

This post has been edited by dares: Jul 24 2013, 07:52 PM
E34E36E46
post Jul 24 2013, 08:47 PM

My minimum criteria when choosing and buying a car:

During 1980s Without ABS - OUT
During 1990s Without ABS + Front Airbags - OUT
During 2000s Without ABS + Front & Side Airbags - OUT
During 2010s Without ABS + Front, Side & Curtain Airbags and Stability Control - OUT
Since 2013 Without ALL THE ABOVE + Speed Sensing Auto Door Lock - OUT (Due to rampant robberies & snatch thieves nowadays)

icon_rolleyes.gif
SUSMatrix
post Jul 24 2013, 09:01 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(kadajawi @ Jul 24 2013, 07:33 PM)
Statistics show way more people die in Malaysia than in Western Europe on the roads. So you are basically saying God hates Malaysians?

All things being equal, a safe car will protect you better. Your CHANCES of survival are simply much higher. It doesn't mean you are invincible. It doesn't mean you can drive like nothing can kill you. Drive sensible, and drive a safe car, and you should be alright.
God hates poor people. You can see more people in poor and poverty countries dies like flies.

Oops...i just opened a whole can of non-related worms... tongue.gif
TSkadajawi
post Jul 24 2013, 09:04 PM

544 posts

QUOTE(Martinis @ Jul 24 2013, 07:40 PM)
Wow! Thanks guys. I looked at the aseancap site and surprised to find Honda City a very safe car. Also, Honda Jazz (or Fit overseas).
Well, the problem with the City is the lack of side airbags. Since ASEAN NCAP didn't test side impacts (yet) that deficit doesn't show up. A Fiesta is still a much safer choice (except for the Fiesta S, all other models are fine), so is a Peugeot 208 or a Kia Rio. Likewise with the Jazz. The CBU hybrid Jazz is fine, the CKD one isn't, and the regular Jazz isn't either. The results you find from overseas are probably for cars with 6 airbags, and the CBU hybrid is the only one that offered it.

One of the two US organizations that do crash tests has tested a Prius with and without side/curtain airbags. Otherwise it was the same car. But the difference was huge. From more or less deadly to perfectly safe.
wordtalks
post Jul 24 2013, 10:06 PM

ɾıɥƃɟǝpɔqɐŕ�
718 posts

true i support this thread. Driving a safer car will at least provide more safety during crash.

but guys please dont compare cars during fatal impact, coz that will be not fair then tongue.gif
mystvearn
post Jul 24 2013, 10:20 PM

6,639 posts

QUOTE(E34E36E46 @ Jul 24 2013, 08:47 PM)
My minimum criteria when choosing and buying a car:

During 1980s Without ABS - OUT
During 1990s Without ABS + Front Airbags - OUT
During 2000s Without ABS + Front & Side Airbags - OUT
During 2010s Without ABS + Front, Side & Curtain Airbags and Stability Control - OUT
Since 2013 Without ALL THE ABOVE + Speed Sensing Auto Door Lock - OUT (Due to rampant robberies & snatch thieves nowadays)

icon_rolleyes.gif
What under RM100k car has speed auto-lock? Also which under RM100k car has side curtain airbag? and both?

I don't think there are any...
6UE5T
post Jul 24 2013, 10:30 PM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(mystvearn @ Jul 24 2013, 10:20 PM)
What under RM100k car has speed auto-lock? Also which under RM100k car has side curtain airbag? and both?

You can see from his nick that BMW is his car of choice, so none below rm100k when new. smile.gif
darkdevilrey
post Jul 24 2013, 10:33 PM

Silly Fools
1,156 posts

QUOTE(kadajawi @ Jul 24 2013, 07:33 PM)
Statistics show way more people die in Malaysia than in Western Europe on the roads. So you are basically saying God hates Malaysians?

All things being equal, a safe car will protect you better. Your CHANCES of survival are simply much higher. It doesn't mean you are invincible. It doesn't mean you can drive like nothing can kill you. Drive sensible, and drive a safe car, and you should be alright.
that is your assumption only, no body even mention that.

other countries have tsunami and tornado, you dont have。

so what tokok u?

GOD hates America?

if you're driving 10ton lorry, means what ?
darkdevilrey
post Jul 24 2013, 10:38 PM

Silly Fools
1,156 posts

QUOTE(dares @ Jul 24 2013, 07:41 PM)
I see. Pls go an sleep on the middle lane of the PLUS highway for one night and see if you survive tomorrow morning.

If you die, don't feel bad because GOD wanted you to.
you are plain stupid.

you cant even differentiate suicide and God's Will.

mystvearn
post Jul 24 2013, 10:40 PM

6,639 posts

QUOTE(6UE5T @ Jul 24 2013, 10:30 PM)
You can see from his nick that BMW is his car of choice, so none below rm100k when new. smile.gif
Noticed that laugh.gif

Aside from that. Seriously no car got all those features <RM100k? Preve no auto-lock? Airbags I can see Kia having loads of that. Fiesta too? I know Accord got auto-lock, but that is RM150k.
zerohunter
post Jul 24 2013, 10:44 PM

M
6,996 posts

is the speed auto lock is when the car hit certain speed, it will auto look all the doors?
E34E36E46
post Jul 24 2013, 10:46 PM

You are right, not possible to get a car that has all the safety features I required for below 100K. The closest will be the Kia Cerato which has 6 airbags (Front 2 Side 2 Curtain2), Anti-skid Braking System, Stability Control and Speed Sensing Auto Door Lock, but at RM118,888.

That's my excuse that until now I still have not bought a car for my dear precious wife loh. rclxm9.gif rclxub.gif whistling.gif

PS Didn't anyone notice all the BMW models are more than 10 years old !

This post has been edited by E34E36E46: Jul 24 2013, 10:54 PM
E34E36E46
post Jul 24 2013, 10:49 PM

QUOTE(zerohunter @ Jul 24 2013, 10:44 PM)
is the speed auto lock is when the car hit certain speed, it will auto look all the doors?
Yep, usually between 20kph to 30kph, all the doors will lock automatically. During an accident, the doors will also unlock automatically for rescue operation. thumbup.gif
zerohunter
post Jul 24 2013, 10:51 PM

M
6,996 posts

QUOTE(E34E36E46 @ Jul 24 2013, 10:49 PM)
Yep, usually between 20kph to 30kph, all the doors will lock automatically. During an accident, the doors will also unlock automatically for rescue operation. thumbup.gif
i know forte has that auto door lock but not sure about the auto unlock when accident hmm.gif
jwrx
post Jul 24 2013, 10:57 PM

515 posts

QUOTE(E34E36E46 @ Jul 24 2013, 10:49 PM)
im afraid that means you cant buy any conti car in 2013 then....all Contis do not have auto-lock as a safety feature....BMW, Ford, Merc etc.
E34E36E46
post Jul 24 2013, 10:58 PM

QUOTE(zerohunter @ Jul 24 2013, 10:51 PM)
i know forte has that auto door lock but not sure about the auto unlock when accident  hmm.gif
Usually if the car has auto lock feature, it will also has auto unlock feature for safety reason. I am 99% sure Cerato has auto unlock function (information from Naza Kia website). I am not too sure about Forte though.
jwrx
post Jul 24 2013, 11:00 PM

515 posts

QUOTE(E34E36E46 @ Jul 24 2013, 10:46 PM)
You are right, not possible to get a car that has all the safety features I required for below 100K. The closest will be the Kia Cerato which has 6 airbags (Front 2 Side 2 Curtain2), Anti-skid Braking System, Stability Control  and Speed Sensing Auto Door Lock, but at RM118,888.

That's my excuse that until now I still have not bought a car for my dear precious wife loh.  rclxm9.gif rclxub.gif  whistling.gif

PS  Didn't anyone notice all the BMW models are more than 10 years old !
Got. Ford Fiesta sedan, under 85kk, 7 airbags, ESP, ABS, EBD, TCS...apa u mau pun ada, 5 star NCAP as well

E34E36E46
post Jul 24 2013, 11:01 PM

QUOTE(jwrx @ Jul 24 2013, 10:57 PM)
im afraid that means you cant buy any conti car in 2013 then....all Contis do not have auto-lock as a safety feature....BMW, Ford, Merc etc.
I was informed by a Peugeot SA that the 508 has auto lock feature. I will have to pay special attention when test driving the car then. Unless the Peugeot is not consider as conti car, since it is CKD in Malaysia ?

17 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0232sec    0.78    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 11:33 PM