51 Pages « < 32 33 34 35 36 > » Bottom

Discussion Goalkeeper's thread, Goalies welcomed...football, futsal...

glozz
post Apr 19 2008, 05:35 PM

"Robocop"
1,681 posts

Pan Global's near PJ Old town. If the bone smarts after the game; it's probably diving technique. Try raising the elbow a 'lil when you're diving before bringing it down.

For finger protectors; any will do. They're all the same price; just that most shops may not sell them. Look for those ol' school sports shops that sell everything; they probably have 'em. As for elbow pads, you can get any to test it out but like I said; you probably won't feel the difference unless you use something like kevlar pads.
spikeee
post Apr 20 2008, 01:26 AM

2,924 posts

ahh okok
will keep that in mind!

appreciate the advice BUT any suggestions of any specific shops that i can venture to? biggrin.gif
kevlar pads.. sounds expensive!
glozz
post Apr 20 2008, 02:23 AM

"Robocop"
1,681 posts

Check out Jusco or the ss14 sports shop next to the famous fried chicken rice /wantan mee shop opposite the ss15 Public Bank row.

http://www.goalkeeping.com/en/shop/browse....8629031&pos=c33

Or some cheaper ones:

http://www.prodirectsoccer.com/prodinfo.as...TYPE=Protective Supports&BRAND=0&SS=1

If you're interested in buying from Prodirect, like I mentioned earlier; I'll probably be buying some stuffs in May/June, we could share shipping.
TStenno
post Apr 21 2008, 10:32 AM

Livestrong
3,550 posts

Good one Glozz. I guess U can take over as mod for this thread, as I've been lacking serious playing time for quite sometime now, only play once in a while. I've given one of my gloves (the Nike Tiempo Match) to my brother, so I only have 3 now, & my Lotto have been a real disappointment for whatever reason. Now I only use my Adidas Fingertip Replique for my occasional weekend games. tongue.gif tongue.gif Good luck to all keepers, & happy saving....
spikeee
post Apr 21 2008, 03:19 PM

2,924 posts

Thanks Glozz!

Interested in the Reusch Elbow Protector De Luxe Black
aiyoh size how ar. yeah let's share the shipping together.

glozz
post Apr 21 2008, 03:51 PM

"Robocop"
1,681 posts

Erm; try checking sizing charts online and see whether there's any. Should follow circumference of the elbow.

Share shipping? Boleh; bila? I need to buy 2/3 pairs of pants and MAYBE 1 glove. heh. tongue.gif

tenno,

Wahliu; don't lar like that. You can be lifetime honorary moderator man. I think it's fair to say without you; there would not have been this thread. I only came much, much, much later man. And we're not even talking 'bout playing skill. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by glozz: Apr 21 2008, 03:51 PM
kcng
post Apr 21 2008, 06:02 PM

~ Or@ng Giler ~
17,566 posts

i have an issue with my game concentration lately...

i can only concentrate for 10 mins only and after that, i am literally ball watchin..
sad.gif

unlike last time
hmm.gif

what went wrong?
FauxHawk
post Apr 21 2008, 07:30 PM

<3
1,340 posts

ur team too good until nvr reach ur half?
spikeee
post Apr 21 2008, 10:39 PM

2,924 posts

QUOTE(glozz @ Apr 21 2008, 03:51 PM)
Erm; try checking sizing charts online and see whether there's any. Should follow circumference of the elbow.

Share shipping? Boleh; bila? I need to buy 2/3 pairs of pants and MAYBE 1 glove. heh.  tongue.gif

tenno,

Wahliu; don't lar like that. You can be lifetime honorary moderator man. I think it's fair to say without you; there would not have been this thread. I only came much, much, much later man. And we're not even talking 'bout playing skill.  tongue.gif
Yups ok, let me know when you want to buy, i'll order my item too!

QUOTE(kcng @ Apr 21 2008, 06:02 PM)

i can only concentrate for 10 mins only and after that, i am literally ball watchin..
sad.gif

unlike last time
hmm.gif

what went wrong?
usually, my brain dies off IF i don't keep moving about and focusing on the ball.
You know footing technique helps keep your mind on the ball.
Keep moving about on the ball on your foot, constantly adjusting your position as the ball moves from left to right.
i guess if you keep doing basic goalkeeping techniques, it will keep your mind focused
glozz
post Apr 21 2008, 11:42 PM

"Robocop"
1,681 posts

QUOTE(kcng @ Apr 21 2008, 06:02 PM)

sad.gif

unlike last time
hmm.gif

what went wrong?
2 things I notice; it's due to both your physical and mental fitness as well as how often you've been playing. I used to be like that; but I notice i'm much better now; however, I can still make the odd mistake when I allow myself to be complacent. rclxub.gif
kcng
post Apr 24 2008, 03:29 PM

~ Or@ng Giler ~
17,566 posts

QUOTE(FauxHawk @ Apr 21 2008, 07:30 PM)
ur team too good until nvr reach ur half?
no la........
tongue.gif
siao meh... like that my team can play without keeper liao
tongue.gif

QUOTE(spikeee @ Apr 21 2008, 10:39 PM)
Yups ok, let me know when you want to buy, i'll order my item too!
usually, my brain dies off IF i don't keep moving about and focusing on the ball.
You know footing technique helps keep your mind on the ball.
Keep moving about on the ball on your foot, constantly adjusting your position as the ball moves from left to right.
i guess if you keep doing basic goalkeeping techniques, it will keep your mind focused
yeah that is what i always do too....
lets say divide the game to 2 half (futsal and field)
for the first half, i am energetic, but once the second half start....
u can see that my concentration drop a hell lot....
i become lazy and such
rclxub.gif

QUOTE(glozz @ Apr 21 2008, 11:42 PM)
2 things I notice; it's due to both your physical and mental fitness as well as how often you've been playing. I used to be like that; but I notice i'm much better now; however, I can still make the odd mistake when I allow myself to be complacent.  rclxub.gif
yeah, i just could not get my mental strength back to concentrate on the game....
its like for 5 mins i can concentrate and after resting... i am out for the rest of the session
doh.gif

rclxub.gif
i think i really need to start exercise back again...
TStenno
post Apr 28 2008, 09:19 AM

Livestrong
3,550 posts

Recently my current team, well, actually my hometown team la, wanted me to play for a football tournament that will go on for 3 months..... That means I'ma have to train again, starting now.... I dunno whether I'ma accept the request, coz I really am in no position to play seriously now.....
spikeee
post Apr 28 2008, 04:17 PM

2,924 posts

kcng - another thing i do is to play like Elias (argentina futsal keeper)

whenever the opportunity calls for it, i will open up as a 5th outfield player and take long shots (rarely dribble)

BUT during defending corners, when i catch the ball, i go for the quick release and i make a sprint/run and they usually pass me the ball, i can dribble a little because their players are not down yet, and that way, i keep my mind on the game at all times.

seriously, a good sweat-out is good for concentration
kcng
post Apr 28 2008, 04:24 PM

~ Or@ng Giler ~
17,566 posts

QUOTE(spikeee @ Apr 28 2008, 04:17 PM)

whenever the opportunity calls for it, i will open up as a 5th outfield player and take long shots (rarely dribble)

BUT during defending corners, when i catch the ball, i go for the quick release and i make a sprint/run and they usually pass me the ball, i can dribble a little because their players are not down yet, and that way, i keep my mind on the game at all times.

yesh, i do try that do.. but only in the first half also
doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif

dunno what the heck happened to me
doh.gif

=======

tenno, u go for practice first to judge how much u need to prepare for the tourney and see?
TStenno
post May 5 2008, 01:03 PM

Livestrong
3,550 posts

kcng : That was exactly what I did last Saturday. I played in a friendly, won 3-0, but it was a pretty easy game actually. My jersey nvr got dirty & I touched the ball like 3 times the whole 2nd half which I played, all were back passes. So, although it was a very lousy game, I decided to help out my team & play in the league, it's only for three months anyway. The game on Thursday was a better one to gauge my form, & it was good as I only let in 2 goals (normally would be like 7-8 goals, typical in evening games with scores going up to 10-12).

glozz
post May 5 2008, 01:51 PM

"Robocop"
1,681 posts

QUOTE(spikeee @ Apr 28 2008, 04:17 PM)

While the concept of the keeper as the 5th outfield player is good, it's only a concept. Unless the team's leading 2 or 3 goals up or trailing with 'lil time left; it's very unlikely that most coaches would encourage the keeper to come out because in futsal; quick powerful long range shots are very common.

However; if you only limit yourself to long shots and only do it when the opposite team is camping in their own half; then it's not a bad idea, as some variety's always good in opening up tight defense. But coming out with the ball to start a quick attack is really not a very good idea since futsal is played in such a tight space; a small mistake will normally have dreadful consequences. Thus goalies coming out with the ball is quite rare in tournaments and even professional leagues. Coaches would rather sub the keeper with a pure outfield player who can double as the keeper rather than have the keeper play outfield.

Added on May 5, 2008, 1:52 pm
QUOTE(tenno @ May 5 2008, 01:03 PM)
kcng : That was exactly what I did last Saturday. I played in a friendly, won 3-0, but it was a pretty easy game actually. My jersey nvr got dirty & I touched the ball like 3 times the whole 2nd half which I played, all were back passes. So, although it was a very lousy game, I decided to help out my team & play in the league, it's only for three months anyway. The game on Thursday was a better one to gauge my form, & it was good as I only let in 2 goals (normally would be like 7-8 goals, typical in evening games with scores going up to 10-12).
Good luck man; sounds like you're well on your way back into the game. Hope it goes well for you. Sometimes we all need a break to freshen up.

Added on May 5, 2008, 9:27 pmI'll probably be going shopping @ Prodirect at end of May; anyone interested to tumpang?

This post has been edited by glozz: May 5 2008, 09:27 PM
vintec
post May 18 2008, 03:00 AM

404 posts

hi guys, ex-goalie here...been playing as goalie since i started playing football 10 years ago until last year that i decided to focus as an outfield player due to lack of available training for goalie. by training i mean kick-around tongue.gif

i still play as a stand-in keeper whenever first choice keeper is out of action. still hav my puma icana glove i bought last year and worn off quite badly after serving me pretty well all these times. they are my best pair of gloves after the puma king for my first pair of gloves
saddizdd7
post May 18 2008, 12:17 PM

239 posts

thats why i luv to become a keeper,standing in front of our post....waiting for other team to make a shoot...always on toast,it make me easy to dive,
when u save the ball,big clap from fan to you....how nice feeling
SUSfuzzy
post May 19 2008, 07:20 PM

*pew pew pew*
7,106 posts

Guys, what is the difference between turf and flat surface shoes?

I need a new pair of shoes as my old ones crocodile already, and I'm looking at a pair of turfs.

Added on May 19, 2008, 7:24 pm
QUOTE(glozz @ Jan 1 2008, 01:10 AM)
Well; if you're reallyyyy serious about wanting to play, how 'bout friday nights? But the better question is; would you be willing to travel to klang to play and are you willing to play with some really tough guys? Tough as in very challenging for keepers. My Friday private fun session wouldn't mind good players (especially willing keepers) as they're running 'lil short nowadays.
You guys play in Klang? i might just join in since I live here biggrin.gif

Can go and get goalkeeping tips from you notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by fuzzy: May 19 2008, 07:24 PM
glozz
post May 19 2008, 07:48 PM

"Robocop"
1,681 posts

QUOTE(fuzzy @ May 19 2008, 07:20 PM)
Guys, what is the difference between turf and flat surface shoes?

I need a new pair of shoes as my old ones crocodile already, and I'm looking at a pair of turfs.

Added on May 19, 2008, 7:24 pm
You guys play in Klang? i might just join in since I live here biggrin.gif

Can go and get goalkeeping tips from you  notworthy.gif
Turf shoes are meant for turf and cement. Playing them on carpet, terraflex or any other surface would mean too much grip and cause injuries when you're turning. Brown flat surface shoes are meant for carpet, terraflex and the opposite of turf. Playing them on turf, cement and the wrong type of surface would mean too 'lil grip and slippery. Most just buy brown since they're more versatile.

How would you rate your playing level and which day do you want to play? I play fridays and sundays in Klang. If you're interested and don't mind playing high tempo levels and games, PM me for the details.

I doubt I'm that good to have tips for you though. icon_question.gif

This post has been edited by glozz: May 19 2008, 07:54 PM

51 Pages « < 32 33 34 35 36 > » Top

0.5969sec    0.56    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 06:50 AM