51 Pages « < 24 25 26 27 28 > » Bottom

Discussion Goalkeeper's thread, Goalies welcomed...football, futsal...

KrazyChinaman
post Jul 11 2007, 12:59 AM

123 posts

when u guys face 1 on 1 situation, will ya go for the dangerous attempt to have the ball in ur arms?

do u always "kena" hit on the face from unexpected shots?

a good goalie must have good defense, otherwise, goalie would be quite useless, agree? i always been very frustrated on this kind of situation...
glozz
post Jul 11 2007, 05:12 PM

"Robocop"
1,681 posts

QUOTE(KrazyChinaman @ Jul 11 2007, 12:59 AM)
when u guys face 1 on 1 situation, will ya go for the dangerous attempt to have the ball in ur arms?

a good goalie must have good defense, otherwise, goalie would be quite useless, agree? i always been very frustrated on this kind of situation...
I'm assuming here; but you're talking about the field football goalkeeper's cobra style slide in to grab the ball, am I right?

I'm guessing you can still use it; but considering that futsal's got not much space, it probably would be more feasible to just do a covering slide using legs which would probably yield greater success.

Getting hit in all parts of the anatomy's a regular risk of playing goalies lorr. Just have to get used to it and try to develop your reflex in order to avoid the "important" areas. tongue.gif

Well; a good defense is always an ideal lorr. Goalies have to make do with what they have. Think it applies to life as well. biggrin.gif

Added on July 11, 2007, 5:17 pm
QUOTE(fuzzy @ Jul 10 2007, 11:57 PM)
And I have to agree that if you have a good foundation, playing bare hand shouldn't cost much problem, but once you have made one too many fingertips save... gloves seem to be a lovely accessory to have tongue.gif
When making fingertip saves; try tipping the ball from underneath the ball itself rather than fingertipping the middle of the ball; in order to reduce impact on the fingers. Obviously; you'll need to be more careful that you don't tip it into your net lar. biggrin.gif Goalkeeping technique revolves quite alot around certain ying/yang principles. Try to deflect/save/parry/smother the ball using the ball's own force; rather than directly opposing the ball using your force.

This post has been edited by glozz: Jul 11 2007, 05:17 PM
Duke Red
post Jul 11 2007, 05:19 PM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(glozz @ Jul 11 2007, 05:12 PM)
Getting hit in all parts of the anatomy's a regular risk of playing goalies lorr. Just have to get used to it and try to develop your reflex in order to avoid the "important" areas.  tongue.gif
No shit man, especially in Futsal. I hate players that have no aim and most of the time, tonjols the ball straight at you. I've suffered everything from fractured fingers to bruised balls (well not really lah, but it bloody hurt!). Got pretty much the same treatment when I played keeper for my school handball team. Until today, I'm not sure if it requires bravery or stupidity to play keeper biggrin.gif
glozz
post Jul 11 2007, 05:30 PM

"Robocop"
1,681 posts

I'm thinking stupidity; at least for me. I've been stepped on my d*** before. Lucky it still works. I'm just wondering whether the number of times I've been hit in the balls hurt my sperm fertility.

Well; i look at it this way; a straight at you ball equals an easy save lorr; just have to make sure your reflex is fast enough to absorb the angle to at least make the pain bearable.
Duke Red
post Jul 11 2007, 05:45 PM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(glozz @ Jul 11 2007, 05:30 PM)
I'm thinking stupidity; at least for me. I've been stepped on my d*** before. Lucky it still works. I'm just wondering whether the number of times I've been hit in the balls hurt my sperm fertility.

Ouch rclxub.gif Dude, do you reckon cups help?

Well; i look at it this way; a straight at you ball equals an easy save lorr; just have to make sure your reflex is fast enough to absorb the angle to at least make the pain bearable.
Well it's not like I try intentionally to absorb it full on!
glozz
post Jul 11 2007, 05:55 PM

"Robocop"
1,681 posts

QUOTE(Duke Red @ Jul 11 2007, 05:45 PM)
Ouch  rclxub.gif Dude, do you reckon cups help?
Well it's not like I try intentionally to absorb it full on!
Cups? Tried it. Can't play with them. I can't stand the lack of space in that region. Makes me feel like i'm wearing a sarong. biggrin.gif Just have to make sure I move quick. Luckily I pushed his leg away before he shifted his weight to the leg on top of my 'lil brother.

Well; obviously it's not intentionally that you want to absorb it marr; that's why it's called "reflexes"? It works for self-protection too! tongue.gif I've lost count the number of times i've used my face as a wall and turned it just in time when the ball hit the face. Good thing I'm not handsome anyway. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by glozz: Jul 11 2007, 05:57 PM
KrazyChinaman
post Jul 11 2007, 09:52 PM

123 posts

Got kinda frustrated after futsal session in sports planet today, cuz my team's defense was really bad... plus, the pitch is full of sands...

like duke red said, i hate ppl who tonjol the ball with powers to net without really aim much... dafook...

damn i wish some1 can coach me in goalkeeping... only been to 2 tourneys after 2 years so far...
glozz
post Jul 11 2007, 11:02 PM

"Robocop"
1,681 posts

Well; like it or hate it; the tonjol (or known as the "toe poke") is one of the easiest methods and technique to score a goal in futsal. Just have to live with it.

Why don't you surf online for some websites teaching goalie techniques?
Confession
post Jul 11 2007, 11:38 PM

729 posts

For goal kick, how you guys kick it far and high ?
KrazyChinaman
post Jul 12 2007, 12:06 AM

123 posts

well glozz dude, i would love to try to search online, but im sure u can learn lot more n better for face to face coaching...
i know it cuz i teach taekwon-do, ahem, used to...
Duke Red
post Jul 12 2007, 11:38 AM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(KrazyChinaman @ Jul 11 2007, 09:52 PM)
damn i wish some1 can coach me in goalkeeping... only been to 2 tourneys after 2 years so far...
Why don't you try to join a proper club mate? One that actually trains. When I was with SU, we used to train twice a week, and I mean proper training with coaches. Of course it helped that we had 5 national players to impart their training wisdom on us lah. Well it's been 3-4 years since I've played competitively and I reckon I suck by now. Good luck with finding a proper coach any how. I don't think you should have problems finding a proper team given that proper keepers are in short supply.
TStenno
post Jul 12 2007, 01:19 PM

Livestrong
3,550 posts

Glad to see some serious discussions going on, keeping this thread alive. I've been away for 6 months since January, been on & off during that period. Now my course is finally over, I'm back in my office edi, & can go online everyday! Yay!

Most of the keepers I see here are futsal keepers, dunno whether U guys started playing in goal in futsal or U've had any xperience in field football be4 going into futsal. There are perhaps some difference between the 2. I've played field football for quite sometime now, dun really enjoy playing futsal, except for some occasional games with friends. I think in futsal, I do most saves using my legs for grounders, & most other times I'll be either palming or punching the ball away.

Glove choice are very personal. I agree with glozz, the fingerless gloves are pretty useless for catching, I believe catching is done with Ur fingers, not with Ur palm. So if U have no grip on Ur fingers, how to catch ? Again, it's personal preference. Use whatever works for U.

As for training, I've played for numerous teams, & unless the teams have dedicated keeper coach, goalkeepers are usually neglected. U'll be left training on Ur own with Ur second and/or 3 rd keeper (if any). I've only had 2 teams with keeper coach, & I try to learn as much as I can from them so that I can train on my own. I can tell U, keeper training is very tough, but sometimes during games U dun get to do anything at all, just watch the game. I believe some of us here have had games where the only thing U do is goalkicks, I've had a few. Goalie training involves a lot of drills, & the thing that makes it hard is the fact that U have to jump & dive around. Strikers & defenders dun do that. We have to jump, dive, roll, etc.

My last game, against the Armed Forces' staff about 2 weeks ago was a nightmare. I couldn't catch a simple high ball, resulting in a goal & jeers from the spectators, who happened to be my friends. I was under pressure, but then, it's football. Sometimes U can be a hero & the very next moment U can be the villain. Life goes on. Dun make the same mistake again.
glozz
post Jul 12 2007, 03:04 PM

"Robocop"
1,681 posts

Most normal teams just have people throwing balls at you asking you to dive and that forms your goalkeeping training.

Goalie training's one of the most tiring and harshest trainings you can experience as a football player. I'm glad I got out of it early; but I learnt quite alot from it. Then again; most goalie training is pretty much common sense.

When I was young; I used to train my reflexes by placing objects in front of me and repeatedly grabbing it as fast as I can. Want to make it tougher? Do this in a swimming pool. Even tougher? Do it blindfolded.

From time to time; I still practise my positioning and reflexes by a series of exercises I learnt along the way. One of them involves standing in goal with someone on the ball about to take a shot from the halfway line (futsal court); your back facing the person. When he hits the ball; immediately jump around and make the save. I say jump because there's no way you can make the save on time by turning. If this is too difficult, with your back facing the shot taker; bend over and look between your legs and only jump around when he hits the ball.

This post has been edited by glozz: Jul 12 2007, 03:07 PM
KrazyChinaman
post Jul 12 2007, 04:41 PM

123 posts

I dun think i'll play GK for field football, i broke my arm many years ago playing as keeper so i have phobia now.

duke red, u were in futsal or football clubs? tenno, will u coach futsal goalkeeping?

i have a team now, they will call me if there's any upcoming futsal tourny... but then, its like im all on my own to dive, save shots tru my own experience...
Duke Red
post Jul 12 2007, 05:33 PM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(KrazyChinaman @ Jul 12 2007, 04:41 PM)
duke red, u were in futsal or football clubs?
Futsal, Sports Unlimited. Started off as a handball keeper before moving on to futsal. I suck at football man, the goal seems massive in comparison. That and landing is a skill I haven't mastered given I only ever had Futsal training. A friend of mine asked me to play in goal for his team during a friendly and I conceded 4! Even managed to get my shoulder separated in the process. Took 3 months to fully heal man. Must be getting old...
FauxHawk
post Jul 12 2007, 09:26 PM

<3
1,340 posts

i once played a match where i didn't haf to do anything...my team keep snatchin the ball and blasting... won 7-0, and i didn't get to do a save at all...first match sum more, gila tension seing the ball bounce around...
SUSfuzzy
post Jul 13 2007, 07:07 AM

*pew pew pew*
7,106 posts

QUOTE(KrazyChinaman @ Jul 11 2007, 12:59 AM)

My advice, if you are confident, jump forward. Rush out fast, stand strong, eyes on ball and make yourself look big, you'll find that 80% of the time with amateur players, they'll gelabah and hit a weak shot. If you are scared about getting hit, jump forward and hands directed at the ball, but that if only when you are pretty sure that you can get the ball or that there is no harm in missing that catch. I've gotten hit a few times and while it hurts, I kinda have come to expected it.

A good goalie needs a good defence, but a good defence needs a good goalie as well. You need to take charge, shout at defenders who seems lost or lazy, make them come back to defend or tell them where to cover when the opposition are charging. For instance, when there is a 2 on 1 situation, the defender will most probably immediately rush to cover the first player, ignoring the other one which causes problem when they simply pass the ball and now, you don't even have a defender facing a one on one.

In this situation, you need to tell the defender to calm down, try to stay between both players and move back to anticipate their next move. That way, you can at least have time to adjust and cover the most of your goal and you can see some times that opposition will be forced to shoot hoping for the best, or pass it more making them lose the advantage. If during the few seconds of precious time you have by not having the defender out AND no one still have came back to help, you probably need to go berserk over them.
QUOTE(glozz @ Jul 11 2007, 05:12 PM)

Added on July 11, 2007, 5:17 pm
When making fingertip saves; try tipping the ball from underneath the ball itself rather than fingertipping the middle of the ball; in order to reduce impact on the fingers. Obviously; you'll need to be more careful that you don't tip it into your net lar.  biggrin.gif Goalkeeping technique revolves quite alot around certain ying/yang principles. Try to deflect/save/parry/smother the ball using the ball's own force; rather than directly opposing the ball using your force.
Yea, one of my big weakness is that I tend to stand too inside, making the shots i tip goes in doh.gif

Unlucky. I've been hit everywhere but my crouch, at least not seriously that I can't stand.

QUOTE(Confession @ Jul 11 2007, 11:38 PM)
For goal kick, how you guys kick it far and high ?
Easiest will be to take the ball on your hand, take a few steps forward, drop it and kick it with you life. biggrin.gif

For futsal, it's better to throw it anyway so I'm pretty poor with my kicks.

QUOTE(glozz @ Jul 12 2007, 03:04 PM)

From time to time; I still practise my positioning and reflexes by a series of exercises I learnt along the way. One of them involves standing in goal with someone on the ball about to take a shot from the halfway line (futsal court); your back facing the person. When he hits the ball; immediately jump around and make the save. I say jump because there's no way you can make the save on time by turning. If this is too difficult, with your back facing the shot taker; bend over and look between your legs and only jump around when he hits the ball.
Aye, play some fast paced video games before a game as well. It trains and readies your mind to go into action. I also usually get my team mates to stimulate what might happen in the game, so place the ball on a few spots and they hit it and you save it.

If you're playing futsal I think you need to train much on one-on-one situations because I think there is a high chance of it due to the nature of our amateur playing style. The defence will run up and fail to come back in time, leaving you stranded. So learn how and when to rush out, to look big, learn to control the situation and not the other around and force the player into a side angle or shooting unprepared.
TStenno
post Jul 13 2007, 08:58 AM

Livestrong
3,550 posts

tenno, will u coach futsal goalkeeping?

I dun think I'm good enuff to coach other ppl. & I dun really excel in futsal goalkeeping. However I'd be happy to meet up & share some pointers, & show some drills. I learned a lot during my short stint with Comic Corner, the head coach is PKNS FC's goalie coach. His drills are really tough.

If you're playing futsal I think you need to train much on one-on-one situations because I think there is a high chance of it due to the nature of our amateur playing style. The defence will run up and fail to come back in time, leaving you stranded. So learn how and when to rush out, to look big, learn to control the situation and not the other around and force the player into a side angle or shooting unprepared.

After a few games & a couple of tourneys, I think in futsal U have to be really quick off Ur line, & to anticipate opponents' movements. & U should look out for dangerous players & keep extra eye on them & their tactics. Prevention is better than cure, I think it's better if we could anticipate & intercept plays rather than face shots.

1 on 1 is a situation where experience & luck play a huge part. Experience will let U anticipate which way the player will attempt to shoot, it will also let U decide when to go full on or to hold ground & narrow the angle, it can also help prevent injuries. Luck play its part when U have apllied all of the above. It also helps to be quick. Whether I go for the ball with my hands or legs, it depends on whether I have the advantage, or it's 50-50 or the onrushing striker have the advantage. With all my playing years, I've only got 2 yellow cards from rushing with my legs first.

Yea, one of my big weakness is that I tend to stand too inside, making the shots i tip goes in

Positioning is key to goalkeeping. The only time U should stand on the line or close to it is during a penalty, defending a corner (initial position) or goalmouth melee. I think jbgoalkeeping has a diagram to show the correct positions in a game.

KrazyChinaman
post Jul 13 2007, 03:05 PM

123 posts

Thnx for the sharing guys...

i think we shall make a session for the goalies to meet up? perhaps other frens to come along as well?
TStenno
post Jul 13 2007, 03:08 PM

Livestrong
3,550 posts

QUOTE(KrazyChinaman @ Jul 13 2007, 03:05 PM)
Thnx for the sharing guys...

i think we shall make a session for the goalies to meet up? perhaps other frens to come along as well?
Tried to organize this last Jan, but cancelled due to poor response. Perhaps if there are enuff of us, we can organize again. 5 ppl should be okay. The more the merrier

51 Pages « < 24 25 26 27 28 > » Top

0.0553sec    0.73    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 08:40 AM