Discussion Goalkeeper's thread, Goalies welcomed...football, futsal...
TStenno
May 14 2007, 08:08 AM
QUOTE(glozz @ May 5 2007, 10:18 PM) Actually mx, I noticed that your kicking needs some work; if you don't mind me saying so. Futsal goalies do alot more than just goal tending. There's a higher dependency on the goalie to be able to switch play to attack than in field football. Very true. I entered my first futsal tourney on Saturday, & I learned how a keeper can help in starting attacks. I think there was only one occasion when I had to kick the ball, the rest I started attacks by throwing. I saw the Adidas Fingersave Replique E5S the other day, & it made me feel that I'm ready to give Fingersave series a try. I guess I have to wait for any sale before I can buy it, RM219.90 is quite a lot to pay, more so for a replique model. I just feel kinda curious to try Adidas foams.
SUSfuzzy
Jun 1 2007, 04:07 PM
Well, can anyone recommend me some good and durable gloves for Futsal? I'm those gungho goalkeeper who goes for anything, thus I chirp my gloves every single time I play  (If only I can show you my current gloves, you'll cry for them)
TStenno
Jun 1 2007, 07:08 PM
QUOTE(fuzzy @ Jun 1 2007, 04:07 PM) Well, can anyone recommend me some good and durable gloves for Futsal? I'm those gungho goalkeeper who goes for anything, thus I chirp my gloves every single time I play  (If only I can show you my current gloves, you'll cry for them) In your case I guess U can just buy any cheap ones out there. Becoz for futsal U dun need to catch that much, so basically U just need protection. Or maybe U can those gloves with FPS (finger protection system), cheap ones costs around RM80, brand is Line 7.
SUSfuzzy
Jun 2 2007, 06:06 PM
Ok thanks  Becasue currently I'm using the 120 bucks Adidas ones, pain everytime I see it chirp
glozz
Jun 24 2007, 12:27 AM
Any location to buy gloves? I haven't been particularly impressed with the product range I've seen so far. Thanks.
schmeichel7
Jun 25 2007, 03:54 PM
The JERSEYMAN
QUOTE(glozz @ Jun 24 2007, 12:27 AM) Any location to buy gloves? I haven't been particularly impressed with the product range I've seen so far. Thanks. Al-Ikhsan at BB Plaza sells loads of gloves. Not only at BB Plaza but at other branches such as in Penang, Shah Alam, Sunway Piramid etc. Nike gloves you can get as cheap as RM50 something. Same goes as other brands like Umbro and Lotto. The difference is the quality of the latex foam used. Better gloves have more thicker latex foam and better grip. Adidas seems to sell gloves that are too pricey. I can get a cheaper Nike gloves compared to Adidas. But to me the best gloves are always the brands that are dedicated to goalkeepers such as Reusch and Uhlsport.
ApeKG
Jul 6 2007, 05:38 PM
is this thread still alive? i'm a futsal goalkeeper..last time play field goalkeeper during schooldays.. now only futsal... i want to find a new pair of glove..currently using Puma cheap glove..rm20 only..the palm surface is like pingpong bat surface...no grip at all..but its ok to protect the hands... now finding a better glove...not too expensive..my budget is below rm80.. aiming the nike total 90 classic black glove...is it has a good grip n protection? n any other glove to recommend? thanks
This post has been edited by ApeKG: Jul 8 2007, 12:13 AM
FauxHawk
Jul 9 2007, 04:18 PM
wooo, Bart Białkowski saves Poland u-20 against Korea
KrazyChinaman
Jul 9 2007, 04:54 PM

i'm a futsal keeper here, playing quite regularly at sports planet sunway...
been getting bruises here n there most of the time haha...
i wonder tenno the thread starter will share some tips, or even coach me for good n free...
SUSfuzzy
Jul 9 2007, 06:23 PM
I recently saw a pair that have it's fingertips cut off, I think it's a futsal goalkeeper gloves. What is the difference? Let me see if I can get some pictures  This post has been edited by fuzzy: Jul 9 2007, 06:26 PM
KrazyChinaman
Jul 9 2007, 07:50 PM

nike also got 1 which is quite similar, but the color is much nicer... it says futsal gloves...
SUSfuzzy
Jul 9 2007, 11:31 PM
Yes, it is futsal gloves, I just wanna know what is the difference because it seems abit dangerous having the tips open, seeing I've injured my fingertips a few times saving a shot.
glozz
Jul 10 2007, 12:35 AM
To be honest; I don't see the point of those gloves. You might as well just not be wearing gloves. Would give you better feel of the ball.
SUSfuzzy
Jul 10 2007, 12:50 AM
No go, some of my friends have broken fingers or painful palms from not using gloves.
And if you have played with gloves all these while, you'll find having no gloves actually impair your performance, not enhance it.
KrazyChinaman
Jul 10 2007, 01:40 AM

^thats so true... u wont give ur 100% if u dun wear gloves... i nv injured my fingers... sometimes my wrist hurt abit so i bought wrist guard... when i first started, ball always hit my balls...
glozz
Jul 10 2007, 09:56 AM
QUOTE(fuzzy @ Jul 10 2007, 12:50 AM) No go, some of my friends have broken fingers or painful palms from not using gloves. And if you have played with gloves all these while, you'll find having no gloves actually impair your performance, not enhance it. But having gloves with open fingers is not going to help with anything; so why even bother wearing it? Furthermore; they're not exactly cheaper than the normal ones. To be honest; most goalie keeping training at the early stage involves bare hands. It's important to get the technique right before gloves are worn; so as not to be dependant on them. Broken fingers and painful palms are normally the effect of bad hand technique; or bad luck. Correction of hand techniques early would ultimately reduce these occurences. Injuries happen even with gloves. If you find yourself playing worse without gloves on; you probably need to re-examine your hand technique. Without proper hand technique; gloves are worthless. Very easy test; wet the ball and try to have a firm grasp on the ball with your bare hands while swinging your hands as if to throw it away and see how well the ball clings on. That would give you an indication of how effective is your catching technique. Gloves are just a supplement and a tool. It's not meant to replace technique. I myself just bought a T90 Spyne Pro for matchday uses; after playing futsal(minimum once a week) for almost 6 years now without wearing gloves. Still waiting for my first match to test it out. This post has been edited by glozz: Jul 10 2007, 10:02 AM
KrazyChinaman
Jul 10 2007, 02:33 PM

meaning that u dun like to wear gloves or u dun wan to wear gloves when ur playing now? if yes, i salute u, u have strong hands n brave...
Duke Red
Jul 10 2007, 02:41 PM
QUOTE(glozz @ Jul 10 2007, 09:56 AM) But having gloves with open fingers is not going to help with anything; so why even bother wearing it? Furthermore; they're not exactly cheaper than the normal ones. I apologise if I've missed something as I'm just going to jump right into this one. I used to play keeper for Sports Unlimited and had the pleasure of training with our ex-international keeper, Zaidi. From what I know, some Futsal keepers choose to have have glove with open fingers to give them better control of the ball when throwing it. At the same time, the glove still helps to absorb impact when the ball hits your palms. This is my understanding as to why some keepers prefer open fingered gloves.
glozz
Jul 10 2007, 09:44 PM
QUOTE(Duke Red @ Jul 10 2007, 02:41 PM) I apologise if I've missed something as I'm just going to jump right into this one. I used to play keeper for Sports Unlimited and had the pleasure of training with our ex-international keeper, Zaidi. From what I know, some Futsal keepers choose to have have glove with open fingers to give them better control of the ball when throwing it. At the same time, the glove still helps to absorb impact when the ball hits your palms. This is my understanding as to why some keepers prefer open fingered gloves. Understand and must have been fun eh. However; open palm gloves are "neither here nor there" kind of gloves. Absorption's just so-so while hand protection's minimal if compared to a full glove. However; I can understand why some goalkeepers prefer open fingered gloves; normally because they're used to bare-handed playing and some tournamets force goalies to have gloves. Which is why my opinion is formed based on that; if you can play bare-handed, using a open palm glove is not going to be much of a difference nor offer more protection. At the end of the day though; it's an individual's choice and opinion. Added on July 10, 2007, 9:47 pmQUOTE(KrazyChinaman @ Jul 10 2007, 02:33 PM) meaning that u dun like to wear gloves or u dun wan to wear gloves when ur playing now? if yes, i salute u, u have strong hands n brave... Playing futsal; I've not worn gloves since I've started. Only wore gloves when joined tournaments which force goalies to have gloves; which i borrowed from opposing team goalies. Just recently purchased some gloves for match days for more serious tournaments. However; I still don't wear when training or playing for fun. Thus; haven't worn it yet. This post has been edited by glozz: Jul 10 2007, 09:49 PM
SUSfuzzy
Jul 10 2007, 11:57 PM
The grip of a bare hand is always definitely better compared to a glove in what I've come to discover, but nothing compares to the shock absorption that gloves can give. I found out that those Fingerless gloves are mainly used for those playing using a soft surface ball, where the power and sting of the ball definitely will decrease, thus not only you can afford to use such gloves, but also fingerless will help increase the grip on such surfaces. But I guess it won't help me since we're mostly still using leather type ones, I've not encountered more than few games where soft surface has been used as sadly, Malaysians still rank power ahead of skill, even in futsal. And I have to agree that if you have a good foundation, playing bare hand shouldn't cost much problem, but once you have made one too many fingertips save... gloves seem to be a lovely accessory to have