148 Pages « < 16 17 18 19 20 > » Bottom

U Mobile Fan Club v2 - New UMI Plan!, Questions? Problems? Deals? Come here!

lulusantos
post Sep 27 2013, 12:28 AM

352 posts

is it true that the postpaid call rates is higher than prepaid?

prepaid - 18sen/min to all

postpaid - 20sen/min to other telco
TSwcypierre
post Sep 27 2013, 05:58 AM

Newbie Programmer
4,619 posts

QUOTE(lulusantos @ Sep 27 2013, 12:28 AM)
is it true that the postpaid call rates is higher than prepaid?

prepaid - 18sen/min to all

postpaid - 20sen/min to other telco
yeah, that is because postpaid users have to pay for the 6% service tax while prepaid users do not have to do so.
LostAndFound
post Sep 27 2013, 01:35 PM

6,265 posts

QUOTE(wcypierre @ Sep 27 2013, 05:58 AM)
yeah, that is because postpaid users have to pay for the 6% service tax while prepaid users do not have to do so.
The 6% service tax is in addition to that la.... what you talking?

TSwcypierre
post Sep 27 2013, 03:23 PM

Newbie Programmer
4,619 posts

QUOTE(LostAndFound @ Sep 27 2013, 01:35 PM)
The 6% service tax is in addition to that la.... what you talking?
"It is in addition to that"(postpaid users = price of prepaid users + 6% service tax), I think that probably that you've misunderstood my wording in a way or two icon_question.gif
prosibu
post Sep 27 2013, 06:27 PM

2,429 posts

QUOTE(wcypierre @ Sep 27 2013, 03:23 PM)
"It is in addition to that"(postpaid users = price of prepaid users + 6% service tax), I think that probably that you've misunderstood my wording in a way or two  icon_question.gif
Dude, you are right. Coz the prepaid charging is included 6% but not postpaid. Every postpaid plan has 6% charge extra for call and sms exclude pure data plan.

So, prepaid charge should be more expensive than postpaid charge as it includes tax

This post has been edited by prosibu: Sep 27 2013, 06:30 PM
prosibu
post Sep 27 2013, 06:28 PM

2,429 posts

QUOTE(prosibu @ Sep 27 2013, 06:27 PM)
Dude,you are right. Coz it is prepaid charging is included 6% but not postpaid. Every postpaid plan has 6% charge extra for call and sms exclude pure data plan.

So, prepaid charge should be more expensive than postpaid charge as it includes tax
LostAndFound
post Sep 28 2013, 09:13 PM

6,265 posts

QUOTE(wcypierre @ Sep 27 2013, 03:23 PM)
"It is in addition to that"(postpaid users = price of prepaid users + 6% service tax), I think that probably that you've misunderstood my wording in a way or two  icon_question.gif
QUOTE(prosibu @ Sep 27 2013, 06:27 PM)
Dude, you are right. Coz the prepaid charging is included 6% but not postpaid. Every postpaid plan has 6% charge extra for call and sms exclude pure data plan.

I think you're both confused.

Prepaid you pay RM0.18 per minute. That's it. Of course, effectively could be cheaper cos you can get 15% off reload etc. etc. but we ignore that.

Postpaid you get charged (not pay) RM0.20 per minute. AFTER that, you get taxed.

So if you make 5 minutes of call in the month, you get charged RM1. Then you get taxed. So you pay RM1.06.

Effectively, you GET CHARGED RM0.20 per minute but you PAY RM0.21.

As to why? Different market segment, treated differently. Postpaid sure pay more than prepaid, as digilife said, prepaid more benefit.

Of course, I'm primarily a data user and need overseas roaming so I don't mind using postpaid. Still cheaper than anything else except the lousy-coverage digi.
TSwcypierre
post Sep 28 2013, 10:52 PM

Newbie Programmer
4,619 posts

QUOTE(LostAndFound @ Sep 28 2013, 09:13 PM)
I think you're both confused.

Prepaid you pay RM0.18 per minute. That's it. Of course, effectively could be cheaper cos you can get 15% off reload etc. etc. but we ignore that.

Postpaid you get charged (not pay) RM0.20 per minute. AFTER that, you get taxed.

So if you make 5 minutes of call in the month, you get charged RM1. Then you get taxed. So you pay RM1.06.

Effectively, you GET CHARGED RM0.20 per minute but you PAY RM0.21.

As to why? Different market segment, treated differently. Postpaid sure pay more than prepaid, as digilife said, prepaid more benefit.

Of course, I'm primarily a data user and need overseas roaming so I don't mind using postpaid. Still cheaper than anything else except the lousy-coverage digi.
I "am" talking about the same thing sweat.gif , just that you don't get my wording.
meanwhile, for prosibu, he may have worded it a bit wrongly, but at least you get the idea.

As for the why the 6% tax is charged, I would say that your reasoning is wrong, as prepaid users don't need to pay for it because our telco subsidies it.

Source: http://www.thestar.com.my/story.aspx?file=...7457&sec=nation

dgboy
post Sep 28 2013, 11:31 PM

5,074 posts

The different rates are nothing to do with service tax, and everything to do with business.

TSwcypierre
post Sep 29 2013, 12:10 AM

Newbie Programmer
4,619 posts

QUOTE(dgboy @ Sep 28 2013, 11:31 PM)
The different rates are nothing to do with service tax, and everything to do with business.
well, you can't say there's no relation to it at all though, since if there's service tax and the telco needs to absorb the tax then it means that they'll earn less for postpaid plans so in return they'll have to charge more in order to earn the same or even higher amount of profit as compared to the prepaid plans(but of course, the telco may give you other addon or benefits to make it more worthwhile)
LostAndFound
post Sep 30 2013, 07:10 AM

6,265 posts

QUOTE(wcypierre @ Sep 29 2013, 12:10 AM)
well, you can't say there's no relation to it at all though, since if there's service tax and the telco needs to absorb the tax then it means that they'll earn less for postpaid plans so in return they'll have to charge more in order to earn the same or even higher amount of profit as compared to the prepaid plans(but of course, the telco may give you other addon or benefits to make it more worthwhile)
You claim they absorb for prepaid meaning they'll earn less for postpaid? Do you read your post ah?
sakura86
post Sep 30 2013, 08:14 AM

95 posts

any deadspots in KL & Selangor vicinity??

dunno y, but everytime travelling towards Sunway pass the "mini jambatan pulau pinang" it seems there is no connection..
Joshua_0718
post Sep 30 2013, 01:23 PM

**Keep Walking 不停地走**
8,912 posts

For termination of plan, need to go to their store for termination. Cannot do it via phone call. Suck shakehead.gif
TSwcypierre
post Sep 30 2013, 07:57 PM

Newbie Programmer
4,619 posts

QUOTE(LostAndFound @ Sep 30 2013, 07:10 AM)
You claim they absorb for prepaid meaning they'll earn less for postpaid? Do you read your post ah?
considering that the amount of subscribers are both the same, and the profit before tax is the same, then yeah. Since if the profit is the same for both plans before tax, and if the telco absorbed the 6% tax then the profit for postpaid will be less than prepaid per se.
LostAndFound
post Oct 1 2013, 09:05 AM

6,265 posts

QUOTE(wcypierre @ Sep 30 2013, 07:57 PM)
considering that the amount of subscribers are both the same, and the profit before tax is the same, then yeah. Since if the profit is the same for both plans before tax, and if the telco absorbed the 6% tax then the profit for postpaid will be less than prepaid per se.
You're not making sense. How does telco absorbing for prepaid make postpaid less profitable?

If profit before tax is same, then after absorbing 6% profit for prepaid will be less than that of postpaid.
hirano
post Oct 1 2013, 09:20 AM

凸(`△´#)
3,335 posts

Enough la... No need gaduh prepaid should br charged more or what, you don't like, u can opt for prepaid too
TSwcypierre
post Oct 1 2013, 10:05 AM

Newbie Programmer
4,619 posts

QUOTE(hirano @ Oct 1 2013, 09:20 AM)
Enough la... No need gaduh prepaid should br charged more or what, you don't like, u can opt for prepaid too
no gaduh pun sweat.gif laugh.gif
TSwcypierre
post Oct 1 2013, 10:07 AM

Newbie Programmer
4,619 posts

QUOTE(Joshua_0718 @ Sep 30 2013, 01:23 PM)
For termination of plan, need to go to their store for termination. Cannot do it via phone call. Suck  shakehead.gif
at least that its better than letting "some anonymous person" to terminate your plan via phone call, no? whistling.gif
TSwcypierre
post Oct 1 2013, 10:12 AM

Newbie Programmer
4,619 posts

QUOTE(LostAndFound @ Oct 1 2013, 09:05 AM)
You're not making sense. How does telco absorbing for prepaid make postpaid less profitable?

If profit before tax is same, then after absorbing 6% profit for prepaid will be less than that of postpaid.
Profit for prepaid will be lesser. sorry sweat.gif my fault. anyway, what I meant is that assuming that both prepaid and postpaid plans earn the same amount of profit, then if service charge is applied for only the prepaid plans then the postpaid plan's rate needs to be increased in order to reach the equilibrium.
Joshua_0718
post Oct 1 2013, 10:24 AM

**Keep Walking 不停地走**
8,912 posts

QUOTE(wcypierre @ Oct 1 2013, 10:07 AM)
at least that its better than letting "some anonymous person" to terminate your plan via phone call, no?  whistling.gif
Can always do verification on my personal information right? rolleyes.gif

148 Pages « < 16 17 18 19 20 > » Top

0.0316sec    0.56    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 07:27 AM